Tebra Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Tebra

Looking to harness the full power of the Tebra platform? Our practice success platform includes a certified electronic health record solution built to empower today’s providers with robust clinical charting, streamlined documentat...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.6
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
3.7

Browse Tebra Reviews

1,255 of 1,255 reviews
Sort by:
Sarah B.
Sarah B.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/08/2019

Helpful to streamline your practice

Pros

I like that Stripe is automatically connected to the biller to easily transfer payments from patient to practice. I like the automatic texting and emailing to patients to confirm appointments.

Cons

This software contains codes for all insurance billing purposes; however, if you are cash-based practice and entering in supplements to sell, the manual process by which this is done is clunky and inefficient.

Debbie
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 04/05/2021

Kareo Review

The support team is usually very helpful. We appreciate the ease of use of the clinical and billing (besides the issues with the medication portal). The only issue we have now Kareo and our other EMR system was having issues working together and getting a issue we were having resolved (its been 2 months). I had to get involved and now it seems as though both parties are working together to resolve our issue we is much appreciated.

Pros

Scheduling, Billing and ease of use with the EMR system (except for one issue).

Cons

Med Portal. Kareo uses a 3rd party at that controls how providers are allowed to send medications. We are a Pain Management Practice and at times need to be able to send pain medications outside the parameters that the Kareo 3rd party sets (1 pain med per 24 hours) this caused us set backs during clinic and we had to change to a different EMR system. We did not want to change but were forced to due to the parameters set by this 3rd party controlling the Medication Portal.

Alternatives Considered

Sevocity

Reasons for Switching to Tebra

Our billing company uses Kareo Billing and they suggested it. We would have only stayed with Kareo if it didn't have the restrictions with prescribing pain medication as we were impressed with the ease of use and having all in one system (Scheduling, EMR and Billing) was very helpful.
Anthony
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 10/04/2024

Nothing left since pandemic

Again, for the first year it was a good product. Post pandemic, it's garbage like most companies today that can't pivot with challenging times.

Pros

It was a better system than what I was using prior to the pandemic. There WAS direct phone contact with service. There WAS free onboarding and training for up to 1 hour for each new employee, there WAS ease of use with proper guidance and training. The amount of information that is compressed into this software could take years before you become an expert. So to just drop all training and help is sloppy and unacceptable.

Cons

No direct contact to a human by phone. All CSR help is an email to 1 person who is most likely overwhelmed and doesn';t get back for days. The videos to help you train on are outdated and don't make up to the updated software versions currently in use. Basically for $300 -$400 a month you're on your own.

Top Tebra Alternatives

Alphonse
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/03/2024

User friendly & amazing transition!

Very happy with my experience and transition from Epic

Pros

User friendliness
Interface makes sense

Cons

Some template spacing issues are present when making templates

Tracy
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 13/11/2020

Kareo has great reporting

Kareo has been an improvement from our previous software. I appreciate that the cost each month has been predictable and fair.

Pros

The reporting capabilities and customization of reporting is the most valuable feature to us. We are able to give our clients a more comprehensive view of the financial health of their practice. Contract management reports and analysis reports help us to give suggestions and analyze the data coming in so that providers and practice managers can see how claims are processing and where the money is coming from and going to.

Cons

The ERA enrollment process has been a nightmare. I feel like this process was not adequately described to us, and it has been dramatically more time consuming and labor-intensive than we thought it would be. Customer support has been inconsistent. In some circumstances, the representatives have been very helpful, but in others, they have been disconnected and unable to adequately resolve issues.

Reasons for Choosing Tebra

We needed more reporting capability and we felt that there were manual processes that could and should be automated to save labor hours.

Switched From

Practice Mate

Reasons for Switching to Tebra

Cost, workflow, reporting capability, reviews.
Julie
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/09/2021

Great for 1st time EMR users

Overall it has worked well for our smaller company. We are still finding beneficial shortcuts in the system making our workload easier.

Pros

Kareo makes it easy to navigate through the system from start to finish

Cons

Sending medical records out, I wish there was an option to insert a date range.

Alternatives Considered

AnyDesk

Reasons for Choosing Tebra

Total MD was what our billing company used, they had no knowledge of the EMR side of the product, so we just started researching and decided on Kareo

Switched From

TotalMD

Reasons for Switching to Tebra

The easy of Kareo and the support
Michele
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 21/02/2024

Stay away unless

wishing I would have gone with a different program or just sucked up the expensive costs of the one I had, which had no issues

Pros

Claims reports are good. Clear and easy to understand.

Cons

Where to start? Billing is a joke - each claim line counts as a claim in the total you get each month - not per patient date of service as described and indicated multiple times by the sales person. Training was supposed to be weekly checkins, and actually training time. Our trainer literally did one session, and then we never heard from her again. When we were approached by customer service to see how we were doing, we flat out explained all the issues, no training, any time we did reach out to the trainer we were told to go look online when we already had, enrollments had not communicated an important step and it cost us nearly $1000 more one month due to their errors, etc. Supervisor took notes, explained how training should have been and was sorry that did not happen, yet specifically made mention how the trainer would not be reprimanded or counseled in any way on this issue, no one time adjustment on fees since we did not get the training we were promised in writing. Did suggest filing a case with accounting to see if we could get some of the submission fees refunded - that has been going on over 6 months now with no response - don't exepct one at this time
Reports overall are missing - cannot get a detailed A/R report to print that shows both insurance and patient on the same print out - I can do patients, or I can do insurance but not both on same report
System likes to lag when trying to change screens - IT has been out and its not our systems, its Tebra
Not being able to do everything in a cloud based system is frustrating - apparently front desk and providers live in the cloud based side, billers and accountants live on the desktop side - this should be fully cloud based by this point in time - other systems have figured it out years ago

Vincent
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2024

Easy-to-Use Billing Software

I use it daily and it makes my therapy practice so much easier! Billing a whole day's worth of appointments is less than 10 minutes with the SALT feature.

Pros

I love how easy it is to bill for services!

Cons

I think there needs to be more control around changing and/or deleting billing slips where there are errors. Rather than have to re-bill and re-submit. . .maybe a 'delete slip' function?

Doris
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2024

Doctor reviewing

Pros

I like the eforce, appt reminders, communication with patients and pt can email us through the portal. Love the broadcasting.

Cons

You can do better on the referral system. It needs to be improved stream line and intergrated. Also there are dx that I can't find and I have to google ICD10 because it doesn't come up.

Durwood
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 30/04/2024

Initially good but is now unusable

It was initially good but over the past couple of years has been terrible. As a mental health provider there have been no features added that helped us at all. The template system is worthless.

Pros

Initially, the Kareo team seemed to understand the needs of a mental health practice from a business and functional standpoint.

Cons

The customer service has to be the worst in the industry. Their method of deactivating a provider is absurdly laborious and lengthy. I've spent as long as 2 hours on the phone with them just to deactivate a provider.

Jacob
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/09/2019

Kareo Billing Software

Overall we've been pretty happy with Kareo. There are a few features we miss from our old software but some of the features we gained by switching to Kareo mostly make up for the difference.

Pros

The main reason we were drawn to Kareo was it's API. It helped that it is cloud based and user friendly but our focus was on the ability to get the data out for use in reporting and our proprietary software and we were able to do that with Kareo.

Cons

The canned reporting is okay but most of the reports export to excel in an unusable format (or at least a difficult to use format with filler cells and merged cells).

Alternatives Considered

MDsuite EHR

Reasons for Choosing Tebra

We wanted to move to a cloud based software with an open API.

Switched From

MDsuite EHR

Reasons for Switching to Tebra

Mainly for the API and familiarity as a few key members of our staff had used it in the past.
Shirley
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/02/2020

Easy to learn and use

When we first went to Kareo, we were coming off a system that had brought us to our knees: nothing worked right, clients were frustrated and we had no faith in things reported in the system. Kareo changed all of that for us--we were able to have reports we could trust, true transparency for the clients, and so many functions we were able to do more efficiently.

Pros

We love that the software is intuitive, and we can teach a clinic how to use it (on a basic level) in about an hour. The reports are accurate and easy to use. We can set up favorite reports, and generally get help whenever we're "stuck"

Cons

Enrollments--getting providers enrolled properly and getting assistance with those enrollments. Also, we really dislike that they offshore their help desk. It's challenging to get someone who can help us when we get an offshore rep.
We also wish there was a better defined collections procedure/status in the system which would help us better monitor what's gone to collection.
We cannot bill UB04 charges for facilities out of Kareo.

Alternatives Considered

AdvancedMD Billing Services

Reasons for Choosing Tebra

It was a horrible platform for us. Reports were inaccurate, and the system was hard to use. We couldn't file corrected claims, couldn't see the path of a claim, etc.

Reasons for Switching to Tebra

Pricing and system flexibility. We ultimately ended up with both to be able to accommodate the UB04 billing we need to do for some clients.
John
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 15/12/2020

Not designed for a medical practice

This brief trial of the product has been revealing. My practice is simple, and my requirements are simple. I need to prescribe medications to sick patients. This organization cannot meet the most basic requirement of an EHR in the 21st century.

It is a billing platform. That is the priority. THE HEALTH AND WELLBEING OF YOUR PATIENTS does not enter into their business plan. This is a corporation. Their goal is to make lot of money. Period.

Pros

There are no advantages to this EHR vs other comparable EHR's.

Cons

This corporation has not prioritized clinical practice. It is essentially a long-standing billing platform that threw together an EHR to get more money from clinicians. You can not reliably and consistent order medications with this platform. There is always some sort of failure in the system, either electronic prescribing, or electronic prescribing of controlled substances, or both. There is no meaningful customer support. A physician, or even the owner of the company, is unable to explain simple issues to IT. Instead, regardless of who you are, or what your status in the organization is, you must call customer support and waste an inordinate amount of your valuable time only to have, essentially a low-level telephone operator tell you THEY will "escalate" your issue to IT. There is no follow through, nor accountability. Nothing will be fixed or addressed. You can not speak with anyone who is capable of actually DOING anything.

Reasons for Choosing Tebra

Similar IT/Support issues. Customer service/satisfaction must be first - in any business. That's Business 101. They get an "F".

Switched From

Practice Fusion

Reasons for Switching to Tebra

My biller uses Kareo. That was THE ONLY REASON. It was to facilitate billing. Bad decision. 😒.

Response from Tebra

Hello John, Thank you for sharing your experience with us here. We sincerely apologize for any difficulty you've had with our system and value the feedback you have provided. We have looked into your account and your specific complaints listed therein, and we recently have updated our software to overcome the concerns you have raised. Someone from our support team has reached out to you and has discussed this with you and your office.

Thank you again for your time and working with us towards a resolution,

Kareo

Replied 05/01/2021
Shirley
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 27/05/2023

own

Initially, I found the product very difficult to maneuver since it has numerous steps that one needs to take to do one simple task.

Pros

Appointment, scheduling, submitting claims,

Cons

Invoicing, posting checks, and reconciliation of payments.

Libby
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 02/11/2023

Kareo now Tebra is laughable

Terrible. I would never recommend this company to anyone. I honestly cannot believe they are still in business. The support team is not helpful when we run into a problem, the administrative team is nonresponsive.

Pros

The telehealth feature when it is working is nice.

Cons

Kareo is the worst EHR system I have ever used. It is constantly breaking, they take away features and products on a monthly basis without warning. It only works on a windows based computer.

Alternatives Considered

TherapyNotes, LLC, SimplePractice and TheraNest

Reasons for Choosing Tebra

We wanted something a little more robust than carepaths were able to deliver at the time.

Switched From

CarePaths EHR

Reasons for Switching to Tebra

They promised a more robust operating system and promised that they valued mental health and integrative care.
Joy
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/06/2023

Satisfied customer

I have remained with Kareo/Tebra because the features I use daily work for me and my practice. The cost is affordable and overall it has been a seamless process. I do enjoy having the ability to review steps around multiple areas of need via the Kareo University at my leisure. Customer service has been amazing in being able to guide me through billing insurance and and answer questions that have had in the past year.

Pros

Setting up new patients has been an ease, as well as navigating the calendar, collecting cash and credit card payments, and texting or receiving messages from patients via the portal.

Cons

Online scheduling features created duplicate patient records which have been cumbersome to fix. I have lost patient notes, either through user error or the system timing out. Billing insurance has been a nightmare to say the least.

Alternatives Considered

Zoom Workplace

Reasons for Switching to Tebra

Easier for patient to receive notifications and the ease of selecting during the scheduling process
Jeffrey
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

1
Reviewed on 15/10/2017

Extremely frustrating, very poor functionality. After 1 year I left the company.

From Kareo: no significant benefit, mainly frustration.
From your program to review Kareo: this was easy, helpful and productive. You know how to keep a person on-point.

Pros

Initially, the electronic software (EHR) was free, which allowed considerable forgiveness of the product. I initially appreciated the technical support from people who cared about their product and service. Unfortunately, the most common replies to questions from I.T. were apologies for not being able to provide what customers wanted and needed the most, see below.

Cons

1. Creating progress notes frustrating. Must save notes before changing screens, otherwise all information LOST. No auto-save. Saving data prior to change in screen, must save and CLOSE the document. Multiple steps to re-open again. Always inefficient.
2. Doctorbase is an "answering device for providers" to provide caller's phone number. The glitch for NEW callers: NO NAME provided, no message recorded. 10-15 "unknown" callers by end of day: 1/2 -3/4 were salesmen or bankers wanting to give loans.
3. When I changed companies, unable to transfer data in bulk. Had to transfer every patient individually. Other companies ALL had ability for bulk transfer. Would have to transfer emails individually, all 15,000.
4. Limited & unsophisticated ability to create progress notes to limit key strokes.
5. Requesting program upgrades: infrequent, rarely helpful, never quick or responsive even for minor change requests.
6. Initial support staff NEVER heard from again. I had to sort out problems by trial and error . I had 10 years prior experience in sophisticated programs before this disaster.
7. This is only a few of the problems I had before leaving. 6 months later, I received a call from Kareo asking how I would like to improve my experience & upgrade the system. They apparently did not know I was long gone.
8. Working with pharmacies never smooth or easy.
9. Many more issues, unfortunately, that I have suppressed.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 22/02/2023

Left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. Vandalized my practice.

Hard to say all that is bad. I so wanted to like this service. They falsified reporting to me. To try to inflate their influence they reported more than one patient as having written positive reviews weeks before the patient's first contact with me. Then, they denied it. I asked them to not do anything with my account from then on as I couldn't trust them. Over considerable time, I built out my own Google business profile which they had access to and deleted!I specifically asked the salesperson before subscribing if I would have complete control of my own website. She assured me I would. Well, I don't. They control MY website and ALL the analytics! This makes it impossibe for me to grow my own Facebook/Google analytics. The algorithms can not learn about my practice because they control the data! This is very close to fraud.I want control of my website back.I want control of my Google analytics.I want my business page, that I built out, not Patient Pop, restored!What makes it all worse is that NO ONE takes responsibility for anything at this company. Very nice people give you promises and a constant run around. One person fixes something and another person undoes it all the while leaving me out of the process. The website they built for me used a boiler plate template with no originality or professional look. The text they provide reads like it was written by a high school student. Not at all the impression I want to give of my practice.

Pros

Ease of access to analytics. The people were quite friendly, but one didn't know what the other was doing.

Cons

1.) The disorganization of the staff. One person did not know what the other was doing. No one took responsibility for anything.2.) Can't get a straight answer from anyone, or at least not a consistent answer.3.) The sales people are deceptive. I specifically asked if I would be in complete control of my website and I was assured I would. I have no control.4.) THEY control all of your data, not you. This is extremely important if you want to run Facebook or Google ads. The algorithms these companies use can not learn about your website or direct traffic to you because PP pools all your data with others so that THEY can benefit from your site, but not you!5.) I built out my own Google Business Page. PP had nothing to do with it. They deleted my work. All of it! They vandalized my most important source of exposure to my community for my practice. Spite? Ignorance? Incompetence? Some combination? I don't know. But I'm the one who suffers. Stay far far away from this company.

Patrick
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 16/04/2020

3 year review

Overall Kareo has been a good learning experience for me to determine what I expect and need from an EHR system. I have been looking into others systems and expect to be with another company within a year. For a small clinic, this may work well for a provider. For a Group Practice that is expanding, it is lacking the support for the amount of issues they are working to fix.

Pros

Price. As a new practice, price was very influential in the decision to go with Kareo.

Our Success Coach was very helpful at first. Kareo appeared to have a high turnover initially which made it difficult during the first several months. However the Success Coaches were the highlight of Kareo's customer support.

Cons

The fact of the matter is their customer support lacks the manpower to answer calls in a timely manner to be helpful. I have had staff/myself on hold for over 30 min waiting to get through to customer support on several occasions.
Just in the last couple weeks I opened a case file. Kareo says they will have someone call you within a certain time-frame. A week later I had my staff call to only find out that the case was closed out without anyone calling us and the problem still persisted.
We have issues with provider super billing that rearranges diagnosis codes from the provider view to the billing view. Provider lists diagnosis in a certain order and when billing receives it it is in a different order.

Response from Tebra

Hello Patrick, Thank you for sharing your candid feedback with us. We are committed to working with you on overcoming any obstacles you've experienced, and will have someone reach out to you directly to discuss your concerns more in depth.

Thank you again for your honest feedback, and we look forward to speaking to you soon,

Regards,
Kareo

Replied 23/04/2020
Kyle
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 08/09/2020

Run Away. Kareo is Awful and Could Ruin Your Practice. It Nearly Ruined Ours. Stay Away.

Horrible. Kareo managed billing was absolutely horrible. We lost tens and tens of thousands of dollars to incompetence and mistakes. Collections were so bad it nearly cost us our practice. We were told they had knowledgeable billers and coders, but the opposite was true. It got so bad that Kareo has to sell off their managed billing department, which took this nightmare to a whole new level. We are still trying to clean up the messes that they made. But there was only so much we could do and the providers never got paid. The people who took over said that they had never seen such gross incompetence.

Pros

Nothing. The interface is modern looking, but it hides the abominable lack of functionality. The EHR is a poorly thought out and is missing basic functionality. The whole system is clunky and you and your staff will waste countless hoursuyiuyi

Cons

I do not have enough room to write a complete list of how terrible Kareo is. Basically, the EHR is a poorly thought out and is missing basic functionality. The whole system is clunky and you and your staff will waste countless hours trying to create work arounds. Your system will go down in the middle of your clinic and you have no recourse. During a particularly bad couple of days of no and/or unusably slow service, we had no choice but to close our office.
Kareo will say they are fixing issues or updating functionality, but the fixes are generally meaningless and the updates are mostly ineffectual. Customer support is also terrible. The calendar is very poor and does not interface with well with the rest of the EHR. In just one example, we were having issues with Kareo creating ghost appointments and randomly deleting patient appointments. It was throwing our practice into disarray because nobody could figure out what was happening. Imagine your patients being emailed for appointments they don’t have and showing up for clinic on random days or patients not showing up at all even though they are on the calendar. Kareo knew about the problem, saw what was happening and could not fix it. . It was yet another Kareo glitch due to the badly executed and buggy software. This is just one example among dozens of how Kareo will make it very expensive and difficult to successfully run your practice.

Response from Tebra

Hello Kyle, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and truly value your feedback. It is important to us to understand where we may be falling short so we can continue to focus on providing a world-class experience for our customers. Although our managed billing solution is now managed by a separate company, this was not due to inadequate management or a lack of customer focus.

Regarding our EHR, we apologize that we were not a fit for your practice. Kareo has offered our EHR solution for years and we are proud that customers have consistently utilized our system as a tool to provide simple and reliable patient care. Although we did have latency issues recently, these have been resolved and we are constantly working to ensure we learn from these experiences.

We see that you have been in communication with our loyalty team, and they will continue to assist you with any questions or concerns.

Best,
Kare

Replied 30/09/2020
Daniel
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 17/06/2021

Eprescribing is virtually unusable and company does not care

Software looks slick to an administrator but is absolutely frustrating if you are busy and trying to diagnose and prescribe for patients. Get something that does the basics well.

Pros

It looks slick in a sales presentation and has numerous features for collecting bills.

Cons

1. There is no way to refill an eprescription.
2. There is no way to verify whether eprescriptions are received except to call the pharmacy which takes forever. At irregular intervals eprescriptions are not received. Patients are upset.
3. You have to manually enter your NDEAN for every single rx for buprenorphine. This is an incredible waste of time. The company doesn't care.
3. It does absolutely no good to call customer support and tell them there is something wrong with the software. They are not interested. They will tell you you can recommend a "future improvement". I even tried this and never heard back. You are stuck with it.
4. The fonts are designed to look artistic to an administrator but the contrast is low and hard to read (dark grey on light grey) to fonts are large and there is so much unused space you have to frequently switch screens.

Response from Tebra

Thanks for the review. Kareo allows refills of standard eRX and EPCS requests. For EPCS requests(Specific to Schedule iii and iv medications only), you can add up to 3 refills when creating the prescription(or up to 90 days of refills). For Schedule i and ii, refills aren't allowed but you're able to set future refill dates the pharmacy will not fill until the specified date. For errors with eRX or EPCS requests, Kareo has a section specifically for send failures under the "Refill Request" section that gives visibility to any problems. While our system does require you enter a NDEAN number when submitting EPCS requests, we are looking to further develop that function and begin participating in the NDEAN waiver program as soon as possible.
For font, we use Helvetica, Sans Pro & Arial to provide a professional and easy to read experience with our platform. If text is too large or small, it may be your web browser settings. We will be reaching out to you to go over these concerns.

-Kareo

Replied 22/06/2021
James
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 28/01/2022

The worst of the worst

You have been warned, don't use Kareo. Customer service is zero! Literally none. I have written multiple times about this issue. It either gets ignored or I get a reply 6 weeks later that says to "clear my cookies".

Brilliant suggestion, I am a moron and never thought of that.....and guess what? That solution doesn't work at all! You can disable cookies it doesn't matter. You will be logged out over and over for the rest of eternity. My wife is dealing with it as we speak.

Also payments through Kareo is a complete joke. This is 4th grade software, and isn't worth the price. Spend $50 more and get something that actually functions.

Pros

It's a fairly simple layout with easy navigation and basic functionality. Easy to learn and get started because it has almost no functionality. Notes are somewhat easy to write.

Cons

This is the single most frustrating EMR I have ever seen and I have used at least 8 different ones. I had heard this was a problem from other reviews but I figured they were doing something wrong or it wouldn't happen to me.

Here is the issue: Kareo has a timed automatic logout feature. BUT.... it doesn't work like anything else I have ever seen. It will log you out in the middle of a note, when you are entering demographic data or any other time if feels like it. There is no warning (sometimes there is but it still logs you out anyway) it will randomly log you out. All that work you were doing is GONE.

Do you enjoy doing your notes 2, 3 and 4 times? This is the perfect system for you then!! Sign right up and you can spend 2-3 hours per day trying to write one note! Or when you have a patient on the phone and you are trying to schedule their visit, the system will continuously log you out over and over!

Did I say that it keeps logging you out? Yes....yes I did! As an added bonus, there will be random times (a few per month or more) where once the system logs you out and you log back in, it will automatically log you back out. That's right....you will get to log in and be automatically logged out over and over and over and over and over and over and over....until you give up for the day!

Think the issue might be related to the type of computer you have? Nope....this convenient logout feature works on all computers!

Brian
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 27/06/2023

Since the merger you failed the customer

Kareo was great tebra no good

Pros

The user experience using the software tele health function and billing

Cons

I own a small private practice with 2400 patients. I started out with kareo in 2020. For the most part the system was fine. Now since the merger to Tebra I am having a tremendous amount of difficulty getting through to people and a straight answer to open tickets. I ask direct questions on certain matters. I do not get an email back until days later if ever at all. When I do get an answer by email it's a boiler plate with acronyms in text. How do I know what your acronyms mean? The patient portal doesn't work, I have 2 providers unable to send narcotics, and the system is down at least twice a week. these are the tickets that are not resolved 02594906,04485694 02744350.0274902402758921 0259490

Michael
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 22/09/2020

You can do better...

Egg, you could do better. We are only using this at the request of our billing company

Pros

The text reminders are great and that's included. The app has a lot of features, maybe too many features.

Cons

I dislike how often it is down for repairs and maintenance. Sometimes, it happens right in the middle of the day putting us behind. The app has too many features but can't get a simple itemized statement.

Response from Tebra

Hello Michael and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our software. We apologize that you've experienced any difficulties with our software. We have had a couple of instances of latency with our system the last two months but have taken steps to resolve this. We understand how much of an impact this has on practices, which has been our motivation to push forward with system improvements. We will continue to focus on developing our existing product to minimize latency issues as this is currently our main priority. I also apologize regarding the limitations you mentioned with our statements. I am confident if you reach out to our support team, they would take every effort to ensure we exhaust all options in attempting to find a solution for you. Please contact us at 888-775-2736 with any questions or concerns that you may have.

Thank you,
Kareo

Replied 13/10/2020
Sheri
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 25/03/2020

Terrible Software. Your practice will lose money

Very disappointed. I don’t know what issues they are having but too frequent problems accessing a software that I may a lot of money for. If you can’t access it then you are not getting what you pay for and it cost you money in the long run

Pros

I like that it’s link to the billing software which makes it easier for billing

Cons

Software frequently crashes, sometimes all day which means you have no access to patient information, cannot check in patients or collect co-pays. Basically you end up rescheduling patients which results in hours of lost work time and staff unable to work. We’ve lost thousands of dollars in revenue because of this faulty, nonfunctional and unreliable Kareo software. And don’t bother trying to call customer support because you will not be able to reach anyone live. You’ll hear the same prerecorded message saying “we are aware of the problem.” There are better and less expensive softwares out there for your practice. Do your due diligence and think twice about investing in Kareo

Response from Tebra

Hello Sheri, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience with our product and our support staff. We sincerely apologize about the obstacles you've encountered and are committed to working with you to overcome your concerns. We will be reaching out ASAP to discuss this in more depth with you.

Thank you again for your time, and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Thank You,
Kareo

Replied 27/03/2020
1,255 reviews