Formstack Forms Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Formstack Forms

Formstack Forms is a cloud-based solution that helps businesses automate processes of creating digital forms and collecting data for surveys, leads, registrations, and more. Key features include data routing, file uploads, data...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
3.7

Browse Formstack Forms Reviews

106 of 106 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/12/2018

All the Basics You Need for Your Data Collection

Making the move from paper-based forms and needing to collect increasingly complex data, Formstack was able to meet and then exceed our expectations. The data export features were just what we needed at that time.

Pros

Formstack allows users to customize forms to meet their needs. It simplifies both the form design and the collections process. For form design, it offers an intuitive interface that is easy to get started with and includes many ways to control the behaviour of each section on the form. What we liked most about FormStack was the quality control features they had built in to make that forms were being used correctly. Submitted forms could either be approved or rejected before being added to the data pool.

Cons

We didn't have any paper-based issues with Formstack. Formatting the look of the forms themselves was a bit of a pain sometimes with limited options available in the interface.

Alyssa
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/02/2020

I like it!

We use this for new customer registration and have it attached to a payment portal. It's great because the customer can check box all the agreements and use one signature for everything. Families can fill out all their information and Pay in less than 5 minutes. HUGE time saver and we get more business, because people don't have to ever stop and come back to it or flip through pages.

If you are a martial arts school and are trying to figure out how to do new student intake and payment without using the really expensive companies like Mind Body or Zen Planner. I highly recommend using along side a merchant system like MXmerchant or a couple of the others Formstack has listed on their website and is compatible with.

You can look at my website to see how we have done it ourselves, and saves someone else all the headache we went through before coming up with this. https://www.fitandkick.com/

Pros

As soon as I started the trial it was easy to navigate through, and I could pretty quickly figure out what I was looking for. Everything is organized intuitively for a new user. That is probably what made me happiest about it. It also has great options for keeping data protected. That was something we struggles with a lot looking at other form generators.

I can also generate a ton of different forms at no extra cost. I even use this if parents are signing for our annual potluck.

Cons

I don't get a lot of control manipulating the text for each field or heading. My biggest struggle is making the forms easy fora customers eyes to follow the page and be easy to fill out. When all the text is stuck the same size, the question and list of checkbox answers, it is kind of overwhelming, and customers in a hurry get lost and have to go back and re-read.

David
David
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

1
Reviewed on 10/10/2022

Formstack didn't meet our needs during development and now we're stuck with the bill

At first, our experience with Formstack was promising. However, it clearly became evident that formstack for Salesforce was ill-equipped to handle extensive forms with little formatting needs without passing data to the object.

Pros

We like that the product was a native salesforce integration and that it was capable of attaching the response PDF to the account object. Unfortunately, Formstack failed when it came to our formatting needs.

Cons

The BioSpine Institute needed a short term patient paperwork solution to attached the response PDF to the Account Object.

Unfortunately, we ran into several PDF formatting and rules issues. Our forms required hundreds of rules to hide and show fields based on the patient's input. The rules engine was not user friendly and cumbersome, forcing the user to search for existing rules by clicking through pages. We spent weeks trying to make it work. Our PDFs were 26 pages long when they should have been closer to 8. It was so long because hiding certain pages was impossible.

Formstack Forms produced an unacceptable product as it would slow and hinder Clinic operations.

Formstack's solution?

Formstack suggested using Documents, a feature we had not purchased, to format the PDF the exact way we wanted it. Unfortunately, this would require us to create hundreds of fields in Salesforce and pass the data from the form into Salesforce. We specifically discussed during the sales process that we wanted very little if any patient data in Salesforce. If this were known at the time, we would have looked for another solution.

After multiple meetings and communications, we expressed our desire to cancel the contract due to Formstack's inability to meet our needs as promised.

However, Formstack denied our request and is currently billing us every month for a product we can't use.

If you're looking for a form solution, don't use Formstack for Salesforce.

Alternatives Considered

Docusign

Reasons for Choosing Formstack Forms

We need a native form solution that could attache the response PDF to the Account Object. This works, but you have little control over formatting without also purchasing the Documents product. But in order to use the documents product, you must build the fields on the account object to store the data. This was a no go for us and discussed during the sales meeting.

Switched From

Jotform

Reasons for Switching to Formstack Forms

We chose formstack because of it's native integration with Salesforce.

Response from Formstack

Hi David,

We love to earn 5 star reviews, but this feedback is even more valuable to our team.

We're sorry we didn't have the features you were looking for here. I'll make sure to pass your feedback to our product teams to consider for future improvements. If you have any other feedback you'd like to provide, just shoot us an email [email protected]

Thank you!

Replied 20/02/2023

Top Formstack Forms Alternatives

Steven
Steven
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

Favorite form provider!

Pros

Love Formstack! We switched from Wufoo and haven't looked back. While the investment was a bit steeper, it was worth it. The user-interface is extremely intuitive; multiple team members including myself were able to jump in right away with minimal orientation/training. We've had no issues with the service or support whatsoever.

Cons

If only to be nitpicky, canned reporting would be nice (conversions this month, conversions last week, etc.) rather than having to manually set the date range. Some sort of safeguard against bogus form completions (asdfasfj@asf;sdfsd.com) would be nice as well.

Response from Formstack

Hi Steven!

Thank you for taking the time to review Formstack! We are thrilled that you love our product!

We are continually updating our product and would love to hear from you with any ideas you have to improve the app. Please visit https://ideas.formstack.com.

Replied 20/11/2017
Randall
Randall
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/12/2016

Best and Easiest to use Form and registration service that I have ever used

I have used Formstack since the have begun and really have seen them go from a great product to and even greater product through the years. I always explain it to say it is like Google Docs on Steroids. User interface is great and the customer service has always been amazing. Rather than spending an hour googling some solution to a problem I am having with a form I can always contact them by email or phone and get a great response spoon.
The integration with third party services are great as well as the custom notification emails sent to attendees of events based on how they fill out their form.
I can't recommend them enough for people who are trying to do online registration with groups of people.

Pros

Ease of Use. Integrations of third party services, customer service

Cons

Really not much. Any time I have had a negative I have called and they have fixed or shown me what to do.

Response from Formstack

Thank you for the wonderful review and for being a loyal customer!

Replied 05/04/2017
Earle
Earle
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 09/10/2018

Uggh....

I wish I could tell a different story, but unfortunately,​ we had a terrible experience with the software and the "support" team.

Pros

It is completely web based. That is really the only good point about the solution.

Cons

Where do I begin? Our team who used this software constantly received Error: -1 (Submission could not be updated) when editing a form. This was our Care team and they were typing notes from a meeting, and this error would cause all the notes to be lost. We contacted support, and instead of being helpful, they blamed it on the browser (when we had tried all possible browsers (IE, Firefox, Opera, Chrome, Safari, and even Edge) and were able to replicate the issue on all of them. Then support said it was our internet connection. After receiving this error, we performed speed tests and were getting higher performance than what our contract said we should get (well above the recommendations Formstack had). Then they said it was because we were using a VPN (which we were not). After all of this, the next person told us to try a different browser, then test internet speed, and then turn off VPN. This nightmare went on for weeks when we finally cut ties with them.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Formstack Review

Overall, Formstack gives me the ability to get responses from large groups of people in a seamless way.

Pros

What I like most about using this software is the ability to gather information digitally. You can send out a link to your form and multiple people can make responses. One of my favorite features of this software is the ability to extract the information as an excel. It give you information all the way down the the exact time that the person submitted their response to the form.

Cons

What I like least about this software is the inability to find certain settings. For example, it could be difficult to find out how to disable a form after a certain time or number of responses unless you already had knowledge of it.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/04/2018

uses form to trigger work flow for contract management process

Pros

the ease with which one can develop a robust form that is easy for use by end users and does not have to have further training to use

Cons

it lacks a certain level of malleability when it comes to the structure and what is standard offerings (ex: i need 5 columns and it only has 4, unable to edit email sent out to end users)

Zecharia
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Formstack is good for companies that need to scale up forms and do complex things

Product is good, support 0/10.

Pros

Ability to iterate on form development was good.

Cons

Their customer support was terrible. They used some legacy scripting which cost us alot to mitigate even though I had asked them to updated their legacy script calls.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/11/2017

Great tool, great customer support

Enabled us to capture information and have it automatically put into salesforce.com. The tool provided some features that we weren't able to get with just Salesforce such as attachment management (the ability to require attachments at various places in your form).

Pros

I used the FastForms version of this software. This software is fantastic for basic form needs that require salesforce integration. The software provides an easy to use form builder with a styling tool. Advanced customizations are possible with css and javascript.

Cons

Although it is great that we can customize with css and javascript it would be better if some basic things were included out of the box without requiring javascript or CSS. I'd like to see page specific styling and character counters as out of the box features that don't require custom CSS and javascript. However their customer support is fantastic and they went above and beyond to ensure that the customizations I needed were provided.

Response from Formstack

Thank you for taking the time to review our Formstack for Salesforce app. It is an awesome product!

We are continually updating our products, and would love to hear from you with any recommendations you may have. Please visit our ideas site at https://ideas.formtack.com and please define if your idea(s) are for the Formstack form builder or the Formstack for Salesforce app.

Replied 20/11/2017
John
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 30/10/2019

Formstack Tech support

Field service request support

Pros

I think the software can fill many gaps in our current technology platforms

Cons

the support is way to slow, I have had a ticket open for 2 weeks with no reply and we are in the proof of concept stage as a gap filler in our technology platform- i have sent several follow up emails pleading for support with nothing back

Alternatives Considered

123FormBuilder

Reasons for Choosing Formstack Forms

more features

Reasons for Switching to Formstack Forms

features, familiarity had used the product before

Response from Formstack

Hi John, we're really sorry to hear this. It seems like there may be a disconnect in our communications. Our Support Team typically replies within a 24 hour timespan. We will forward this review to them to reach out as soon as possible and investigate the communication issue further. If you would like to reach out to them as well, you can email our team directly at [email protected]. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback as it helps us continue to enhance our product and customer service.

Replied 05/11/2019
Umer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 08/06/2023

Good retail experience followed by horrible B2B experience

Deceptive sales practices. High pressure sales.

Pros

Initial retail product was easy to use and set up

Cons

Deceptive B2B sales practice after we reached out to their sales team. Should have stuck to the $50 dollar per month product but they forced us to pay over $1,000 per month with a 1 year contract because apparently we require a BAA due to being a healthcare organization, even if we are in Canada where US law does not apply. Service was also not set up correctly and could not go live as intended. When we requested to cancel within a couple of days, never having gone live, they sent the $16k to collections. This company put a small business under a lot of distress. Sending threatening letters and court action, and has now in large part help push a business breaking even to insolvency and 4 people have lost their job now. Thank you!

Vali
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 27/06/2023

Buyer Beware of their poor practices

Horrifying

Pros

When the difficult to build forms were actually built, the functioned

Cons

Poor customer service, extremely difficult to built forms, they force you into contracts to look good for their investors, the company run by so many amateurs,

Trish
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/09/2022

Functional Use for my Small Business

Overall I recommend this product for small businesses that need a tool to help them collect customer information and/or process payments. It is helpful that it has logic that allows you to better customize to customer needs. For example, we use it to collect cancellations and can upsell / cross sell to people based on the reason the cancel.

Pros

I like that it's easy to use and can be self taught. It is also helpful in that you can use it to process credit card payments and embed the form on your website if you don't have that software already built into your site. I've also found the "live" form that shows up right away to be a useful tool to determine if the form is built correctly and useful.

Cons

The formatting can be tricky and if you are building out logic it can be confusing. I've found myself making mistakes occasionally because of the logic and it not being clear what I'm about to do before I do it.

Response from Formstack

Hi Trish,

We really appreciate you being a customer and helping to share the word about us. Your feedback will be shared with out product team. We're here for you anytime.

Replied 19/09/2022
Anil
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/06/2022

Form creation with Formstack

I used Formstack over 6 months to create my forms and surveys with templates, it helps you alot with creation well designed templates.

Pros

Formstack is important feature to use while you are creating form and surveys.

Cons

Formstack has impressive feature but it should offer more template to create.

Response from Formstack

Thank you for leaving a review! If you are logged in you should be able to use any of our 400+ templates from our main templates page here: https://www.formstack.com/templates! If you should ever need any help, please reach out to us!

Replied 24/06/2022
Angie
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/02/2022

Quality Reporting of Data

Pros

the way that the data is provided and the customization of how you want the data reported is great.

Cons

It is user friendly, but because of the ability to customize there is a small learning curve.

Alyssa
Alyssa
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 16/01/2020

Survey

Formstack is not user friendly. You must know how to use HTML code.

Pros

Formstack allows you to create simple forms to use internally. The reporting features offered by Formstack are very easy to Navigate.

Cons

Formstack creates very generic templates to collect data that do not look professional enough to use externally. It can be very challenging to format the forms.

Staci
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 24/10/2018

Basic registration form

I've only used Formstack for a quick event registration form. I think it's fine for that basic need.

Pros

We use this software for a quick registration option on our event webpage. It's so easy for the user to put their name and email address in the form. No signing in or verifying email addresses. Easy peasy.

Cons

I think the back end is a challenge, until you have a chance to really figure it out. I stick with the basics on getting our form on the event page. I don't find it super user friendly. It's also hard to people to change their registration (i.e., cancel) with the form, which can make for some unknown cancellations at the event.

Karen
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2016

Formstack has freed my time up for other projects!

I love Formstack. We went from an entirely paper-based registration system to using Formstack and now I only get 1 or 2 paper registrations a year (instead of 500+). It was intuitive and easy to set-up. So far, there have been options for everything I want to do. Plus, I can then keep digital records of my registrations instead of having files, and files, and files of paper. I particularly love the "emails and notifications" feature that allows me to set-up automatic notifications to each of my 45 parishes whenever someone registers, plus automatically send a detailed registration confirmation, another time saver for me! I've also used the Google-docs sync feature to communicate registrations to other people I work with across the state. I can set it up to share only what they need and keep other information private. I use the download to Excel and download to PDF functions to save data and manipulate data as needed. I loved using Formstack so much, I converted everyone in my office to it as well, and now we offer online registration for everything. Hello 21st Century!

Response from Formstack

Thank you for sharing your success using Formstack! We're glad we've been able to free up some of your time for other projects!

Replied 05/04/2017
Nate
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 16/01/2019

Spotty submissions, slow support response - we bought a car with no engine.

Pros

Helpful Salesforce integration saves times, very customizable branding options to designed multiple types of forms, fairly appealing interface.

Cons

We bought an engine with no car. Our users are submitting forms that are not recorded anywhere, and the support options are either incredibly slow, or, require you pay extra money every month.

Gregg
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/10/2021

The Best I’ve Used for Forms

Pros

Creating complex forms was easy for me and I’m not a programmer. Lots of options for how to present and collect responses. Good integration with Google sheets for using the data after collection.

Cons

This is specific, but bummed it doesn’t integrate easily with NetSuite, which we just started using this year.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/08/2018

Formstack Review

Creating events with external partners, taking applications for events, submissions for journals, financial side is strong - been great!

Pros

Flexibility, individuality, ease of use, tutorials are strong

Cons

Can't seem to change design of submission pages (add logos etc) to make it a nice document to add into reports when needed

Sergio
Sergio
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 09/05/2018

Gets the job done.

It can be integrated to many apps i already use.

Pros

Very easy to use, you just have to drag and drop the fields you need in your form. If you are looking for an app that only makes regular forms this one is for you.

Cons

Not so powerful features, i have tried another free apps such as Google forms and it does almost the same the only difference is that those apps have the same functionalities for free!.

Rick
Rick
  • Industry: Public Safety
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/03/2019

Formstack for Small Business

Pros

East of use and customization. Easy integration.

Cons

Pricey if you just need one form and are a small business getting started

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 26/09/2018

Formstack

Pros

Customer service is friendly and timely with responses in emails and over the phone
Easy to setup and add integrations for 3rd party products
Good interface for customizing confirmation and notification settings

Cons

When billing issues arise, we were given no notice, and all forms were shut down and unavailable
Export options aren't very user-friendly or easy to read
Not too many options to customize styling and make small aesthetic changes to form
Form user-interface can glitch sometimes and doesn't save

106 reviews