MasterControl Quality Excellence Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl is the #1 QMS in the life sciences with more life sciences customers than any other QMS provider. For over 30 years, we’ve helped companies of all sizes bring their life-changing products to market sooner. We...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.5

Browse MasterControl Quality Excellence Reviews

420 of 420 reviews
Sort by:
Joanne
Joanne
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/01/2020

MasterControl Quality Management system

MasterControl has allowed us to replace book shelves of policy binders, file cabinets of employee training and competency forms. Staff can all access the same document at the same time instead of waiting for the binder to be free. Regulatory requirements are easy to track within the system.

Pros

This system is flexible enough for a any regulated industry. It includes a document management module, employee training module, Quality module that included Deviations, CAPA, Change Control, non-Conformance; Quality, risk management, etc.

Cons

The suite of modules has not been certified as HIPAA compliant, except for the Documents module. Full HIPAA compliance is on their timeline for 3rd quarter 2020.

Sara
Sara
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/10/2023

Connected and Compliant eQMS

I have been a MasterControl admin for over 8 years. From the start, it was apparent that MasterControl is super customer focused and wants their customer to succeed in implementation and beyond. Their support is much better than what I've experienced with other software vendors and they value feedback and suggestions from the customers.

Pros

I love that all of MasterControl's modules are connected. Document management, training management, and Quality Event Management all talk to one another and help to streamline our processes. It's also very easy for basic users to learn.

Cons

My biggest complaint has been the lack of flexibility in Quality Event workflows. This is being solved by the new Advanced QEM product, which I'm super excited about.

Alternatives Considered

Qualia

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

Prior experience with MasterControl by employees involved with the implementation lowered implementation cost and made the process easier
Katja
  • Industry: Nanotechnology
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/05/2024

MasterControl electronic Quality Management System

MasterControl has a great amount of functionality to offer already and continues to develop its products, with ambitious and exciting roadmaps.

Pros

Moving our document change review and deviation processes from paper based into MasterControl has been an absolute game changer - the risk of losing records has reduced dramatically. We now have much greater visibility at which step in a process a document change is and who is involved in deviations.

Cons

Some of the user functionality can be not entirely intuitive, making it slightly more difficult to navigate for users who use the system only occasionally.

Top MasterControl Quality Excellence Alternatives

Ideagen Quality Management

Qualityze Suite

MIRYANG
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 01/05/2024

Overall, I'm satisfied, but there are areas I want to improve on the MasterControl

Many authority errors occur, and complaints from users often occur. If this part is improved, the other parts are generally satisfied.

Pros

It is easy to manage documents and quality issues. In particular, the "Report function" can be customized and used, so it is possible to grasp the real-time status.

Cons

It's inconvenient that I can't set up in detail during my absence. I wish I could do each of the absent settings for each permission.

Brandee
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 05/02/2024

Great Quality tool/resource

Pros

When comparing MasterControl Quality to our previous system, MasterControl is far more user friendly when it comes to searching for documents and overall organization of everything. The design is also more modern and nice to look at.

Cons

There are some areas that are a little bit more difficult to navigate or that aren't as intuitive to users that are not as familiar with technology.

Laurentiu
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 30/04/2024

MasterControl Training module

Pros

Switching from paper based training to electronic MasterControl training module made a big difference in having a fast overview on the training status for employees, would not go back to paper never.

Cons

No complete compliance training report is available, you have to browse multiple default Jreports, ended up creating a custom report with the aid of MC.

Evelyn
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/05/2024

General review document system

It helped to get our quality to a higher level

Pros

We are able to manage documents and training again as this was not workable on paper anymore.

Cons

Some reporting functions are still not that easy to use (for example tracking pending tasks)

Andjela
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/05/2024

Thank you for the review presents

Always a good cooperation with both management and support teams.

Pros

The fact that it brought standardization of quality processes into a global system used world wide.

Cons

Performance issues whilst mass uploads or mass downloads

sabine
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/05/2024

System made for users not for admins

Pros

Easy for endusers
Easy to configure based on your needs
Eforms - digitalization is easy :)

Cons

FBS workflow tracking
Reports for tarining module not all required information in one master report available

Predrag
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/05/2024

MasterControl review

Overall good experience with MasterControl.

Pros

User friendly system. Easy to track all the changes.

Cons

Sometimes it cracks, and works slowly, but that issue resolves quickly.

Lutz
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 31/08/2023

7 successful years with MasterControl

We have been using MasterControl since 2016 and since then we have NEVER received an Audit finding (neither by our ~global customers, nor any regulatory body like DQS, district government or even FDA).I feel secure and relaxed, knowing our quality documents are in a secure, validated system that I can access from anywhere, and that they sit in a system even our customers and the regulators themselves are utilizing!As a Pharma/MedTech logistics company, an electronic QMS system is a necessity and we are looking forward to utilizing more innovations with our imminent move to the MasterControl Cloud, especially because of the very promising AQEM solution!

Pros

Document Collaborations, Deviation/CAPA forms, training structure (Course/Exam/JobCodes/Trainee) is excellent

Cons

Too many bugs in necessary utilities like Action Items and Extension Requests, Management of Change module not up to our quality standards, Jreports are very user unfriendly

Alternatives Considered

OpenText Documentum D2 and Veeva Vault

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl was much cheaper than the others and offered a comprehensive "all in one" solution that we needed
Debbie
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/05/2020

Quality Changes Everything

We are currently upgrading from and older version of MasterControl to their new cloud based offering and the updates to the training module will make keeping track of employees training status much quicker and easier.

Pros

The user interface makes this software so much easier to use than others that I have tried, even the most technophobic people in our organisation are willing and able to get on with MasterControl

Cons

There are a couple of areas where we would like to hide or remove buttons so that they don't confuse the end user, but I'm sure these suggestions will be looked at the way MasterControl evaluate all customer feedback and will eventually be implemented.

Alternatives Considered

Veeva Vault and Ideagen Quality Management

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

Offered everything that we needed in a much cleaner and easier to use package
sharon
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/05/2020

With A Quality Eye

It maybe confusing at first but once you understand how all the modules work and how you can adapt it to meet your needs it's great.

Pros

All documentation is in one place and excellent traceability. Electronic signatures reduces paper and time gathering wet signatures.

Cons

The system does require daily administration which needs to be recognised by business owner. The audit module isn't user friendly and could do with some improvements.

Ed
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/10/2022

MasterControl Works

Overall experience with Qx has been excellent. Implementing most of the quality event forms had been relatively easy and end users have expressed having a good experience using the system.

Pros

I like how easy the software is to use for end users. It is also set up to be easy for admins as well.

Cons

The only con is that some of the features aren’t configurable for admins, so there are a lot of workarounds needed.

Alternatives Considered

Veeva QualityOne EQMS

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

Feedback from other customers who used MC recommend it.
Shaun
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/10/2023

Solves problems

MasterControl solves a lot of problems for us but it’s difficult to sell to our employees

Pros

QMS required training verification and retention

Cons

The difficulty in transitioning to new upgrades.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

Purchased through our sister company at first
Susan
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 09/11/2020

Why MasterControl

Pros

What we liked most about this product was the ease of use for employees

Cons

The training module can be a bit cumbersome to use

Alternatives Considered

Veeva Vault

Reasons for Choosing MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl offer so many more options including a Quality Management system

Reasons for Switching to MasterControl Quality Excellence

MasterControl best suited both our needs and our budget
Donna
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2023

Gold Standard for SUPPORT!

We have been using MasterControl for document control for 23 years. We added the Process module over 15 years ago, and created many custom processes for quality management systems. MasterControl assisted us with the development of the 1st system, and provided continued support throughout the years as we added more and more. We added the field based solutions to ensure industry best practices and to streamline validation process. When we experienced compliance issues with our previous learning management system, we knew the answer was to add the MasterControl Training system.

Pros

MasterControl from Day 1 has let us know that we were part of the team! We have always been supported and knew we could depend on them on this journey for continuous improvement and greater compliance.

Cons

As a long-time user, we have had open honest conversations over the years MasterControl continues to improve their products, and I know they listen to their clients.

Jonathan
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/09/2023

MasterControl User Feedback

Overall experience is good! Their customer service is definitely top-notch.

Pros

It's definitely a great quality compliance QMS that helps to control the quality. Everything has a record and cannot be simply removed or revised without a reason or explanation which makes it easy for auditing purposes.

Cons

Ease of use. I think this is the downfall of MasterControl Quality Excellence. The system itself is not intuitive and sleek. It's definitely a system designed based or how an engineer thinks but not so much of a normal everyday user will be using. User Experience (UX) is extremely important as more people are using digital applications and platforms.

Alternatives Considered

Veeva Vault and Cornerstone LMS
Mitchell
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/04/2020

Supplier Module

Overall not a bad experience. Wish the cost for classes was a bit less.

Pros

The supplier module, if set up correctly, allows the firm to set up all the various suppliers and link them to one another. The linking feature allows us to build a picture of the supply chain. Be sure to set up specific "Infocard" numbering schemes that match the various suppliers. For example, "Manufacturer-0001", "Vendor-0003", "Packager-0004". This way, when you link the infocards, you will immediately know the the entity is prior to opening the infocard. The ability to add custom fields is absolutely critical.

Cons

The contacts field needs a persons title field. Currently have to add the title next to the name of the individual which does not contain enough characters.

Matthew
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/10/2023

MasterControl Quality Excellence

Overall, my experience with MasterControl has been very positive. From the product to the overwhelming customer support, if we don't have what we need it is probably because we don't understand or know about all the capabilities or haven't implemented a module yet.

Pros

We currently use docs and training and having all of that automated has been super helpful. Tracking metrics around training and docs has been much easier with data that can be downloaded at any time. Time spent chasing down training has been significantly reduced and has made the quality team more effective overall.

Cons

With the modules we currently use, I wish classes worked a little better. They are a bit difficult to set up and don't seem to integrate well with employee calendars, so extra invites are sent outside of MasterControl.

Donna
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/09/2023

Master Control Quality Excellence is a compliance gem

My overall experience has been great and the support team always has a live person to speak to for any questions or problems you run across.

Pros

I've been working with Master Control for over 20 years as a end user. I've seen the product and services grow over the past 2 decades. It is a robust software that allows me to centrally control all Quality Management System activities. When faced with a regulatory body audit, we are able to quickly retrieve documentation and satisfy the requests. I have been complimented on how easy the system is adaptable to our companies needs as we grow.

Cons

The only con would be Master Control has recently been modulating costs, so my advice is to be sure you are asking for explanation of what is and what is not covered when requesting a service.

Macky
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/10/2023

Mdxhealth review

We love the system and is supporting our growth

Pros

Integration of all the modules - easy and usable

Cons

Nothing that I can think of, we are very happy about the product

Cindy
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/10/2023

MC review

Pros

Going through integration now. Team is very helpful.

Cons

Going through the integration now. Nothing to report on least.

Lindsey
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/10/2023

Quality Excellence Review

Pros

Like that workflows naturally mirror our quality processes

Cons

Wish action item completion dates would automatically populate in capa

John
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 05/09/2023

MasterControl Quality Excellence in a heavily regulated industry.

Pros

The ability to have all of our documentation in one place is vital. Especially in case of any regulatory audit.

Cons

Bugs in the system create significant problems for end users. These bugs in some cases also eliminate the ability to use or even in some cases access features or utilities that are being paid for and are supposed to be included in the system. In most cases if the issues being seen are not able to be duplicated, there is no root cause which proves in and of itself to be extremely difficult to document and explain in a heavily regulated industry.

420 reviews