VWO Testing Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About VWO Testing

VWO Testing helps businesses design, deploy and manage custom tests for websites and mobile/web applications. The platform enables organizations to create A/B, split and multivariate tests to run surveys and analyze customer...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.4

Browse VWO Testing Reviews

90 of 90 reviews
Sort by:
Jamie
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2018

The most comprehensive website testing and optimization tool on the market

Pros

VWO started off as a typical website testing tool, with visual selection tools (i.e. no coding required) to create a range of dynamic A/B and multivariate tests. They started to implement some new functionality and now, they have an advanced and fully comprehensive testing and optimization solution. You can create hypothesis and theories for each test with the top-tier of their product, whilst making observations along the way (during the life of each test). This can help you to better understand what you're doing, what's working and how future tests could be conducted to better the outcomes.

Cons

The basic solution is good but feels somewhat limited in comparison to their top-tier optimization product. However, their pricing for all products is expensive. Their optimization product (full suite of tools) is far too expensive for most businesses and requires a lot of management time - it's not a case of switching on a button and seeing results, the tools only enable you to create tests and track their progress. It's an ideal tool for a larger team of marketers and website testers.

Christopher
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/04/2019

Easy to set up tests and analyze your results

Over the last several years I've run a lot of tests, and it's been pretty good. We've had some good wins. On the other hand, if every successful test really increased our conversions by the percentage amount each test claimed it did, I'd be typing this review on a mega-yacht in the Med right now, so there's something about testing that seems to make it over-state the gains you get. Not sure what the other factors are or why, though I have noticed that if you let a test run long enough, long after you get a statistically significant result from the test, eventually pretty much all tests converge or come darn close to converging (i.e. no difference between version A and version B). That's definitely led to a lot of disappointment over the years, but we did get a few huge wins that really stuck and were verified over the years whenever we'd re-test them or accidentally re-test them (for example by accidentally running the old version of the page for a while and seeing sales drop).

Pros

It's super-easy to set up tests, whether they're tests using the built-in editor to edit individual pages or spilt tests where the test redirects the control page to a different url. Both are good, and the results are easy to understand. The only thing that's funky is you might start a test and get to 95% right off the bat, then later it drops way less than that and you're like "well gosh, you were a lot more sure back then!" But I guess that's the stats talking, not VWO. Overall in testing I've done with VWO, I've discovered that there is way more variance/luck than you might think, and it really is best to run tests a long time, even if it seems like you have a winner quick.

Cons

While goals are easy to set up, it can be pretty tough to analyze certain things, like aggregating lifetime revenue for version A versus version B... You have to manage all the cookies yourself using a third party platform, so we eventually gave up on it because it was so complicated. If you just want to compare revenue at time of conversion, though, you can do it, just need a little help from developer to pass the checkout amount to the VWO tracking code so that it gets recorded by VWO for that version of test.

Response from Wingify

Thanks for sharing your detailed feedback, Christopher. Regarding your feedback around stats, we would want to arrange a discussion of yours with our Statisticians and Data Scientists to discuss all the thoughts so that we can gain valuable insights. Let us know at [email protected] if you are available for such a discussion and we will be happy to take it forward. And we have also noted down your feedback around making aggregated revenue available. Thanks for your inputs! - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Alessandro
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 07/06/2021

Don't waste your money. It' better Google Optimize

Pros

The support is kindly even if they were not able to solve the bugs

Cons

A significant part of the users cannot see the a/b test.
The deploy function doesn't work properly. At least 10% of the users see alway the old code.
Google spider doesn't see the deploy version. So for instance you cannot use to deploy SEO code.

Response from Wingify

Hi Alessandro, sorry to know about this issue! Google search console uses low network mobile devices to check for indexing. This can cause VWO smart code to timeout. You can increase the timeout values in the async smart code which should help with both issues.
~Neha from VWO

Replied 13/07/2021

Top VWO Testing Alternatives

Tree
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2019

Going on 6 years with VWO

We will never use anything else. VWO is awesome and is always rolling out new features to their platform. They offer all of the features you will need for A/B, split URL, and multivariate testing. They even bundle heatmap/clickmap features. If you are considering a split test platform in your organization, don't look elsewhere.

Pros

We run some fairly complex tests with VWO and have always had excellent support from their team, when it comes to implementing custom solutions. The software is very easy to use, well within reasonable pricing, and is so much cheaper than the competition that it's a no-brainer.

Cons

Over the years, there have been a few changes to the site interface. Most of these have been great improvements, however, there have been some changes to the results dashboard that we just weren't a fan of. This isn't to say that it's bad - not by any means. It was just a personal preference.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to know that you have been with us since so long. You can certainly let us know what you did not like in the interface (reach out to us at [email protected]). We will share it with the relevant team for consideration. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 03/04/2019

Fantastic for split testing landing pages

We have solved the ability to find winning variations of landing pages for multiple different businesses with this software.

Pros

I love VWO! This software is excellent for split testing landing pages, which is extremely important for a new product launch where we want to optimize and get the most bang for our buck with the highest converting landing pages. This tool makes it easy to set up split tests and analyze.

Cons

Sometimes I question the split testing ability and have had multiple discussions with VWO about changes some things to make it better for the user / more optimized and haven't seen any changes go into effect.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to know that you like the split testing feature. Our team is constantly working on making suitable enhancements to provide more value to users. And feedback from all our customers is very valuable to us. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Lakhan
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/12/2019

VWO Feedback

Have a very good experience. After this tool we can do A/B testing more frequently, we can change text, image, change the size more frequently.

Pros

I am using this tool for last 3 years and have very good feedback on this. It's easy to use and help us to increase the conversion.

Cons

Conversion tracking options.
It tracks only one visiter for a campaign i.e a visiter come 4 times via a campaign it tracks only one time.

Response from Wingify

Thanks for sharing the feedback. We are glad that you liked our platform and had a great experience with optimizing your website using the tool. Regarding your concern about tracking unique conversions, it's true that VWO primarily base itself on the concept of unique visitor tracking. However, if you have any specific requirement of tracking repeated visits, then reach out to us at [email protected] and we will be happy to assist. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Rodrigo
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/03/2019

Great UX testing tool

I'm in charge of setting up tests on several websites and forms that belong to our company, I've been working with VWO since 2015 and it helped us to increase our revenue in the last years.
VWO tools also helped us to find bugs on our pages through heatmaps for example, and help our sales team to measure our conversion rate on our forms and pages. In 4 years, we moved from few A/B test monthly scheduled to a full department and team dedicated to improve our User Experience using VWO as main tool.

Pros

There are a lot of functions and tools, some tests are very easy to set, the tool is quite easy to implement and results are quite accurate.

Cons

Sometimes it bugs on some pages, depending on page content and files included, making the results not accurate, and we cannot test to be 100% sure that's going to work.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to know that VWO is helpful to a lot of teams in your organisation. Regarding your other feedback, we would advise to follow a stringent QA procedure using our Live Previews feature across devices, browsers, etc. to ensure campaigns work well. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/09/2018

Great tool for site variation testing

We are using VWO to test changes to UI elements on our web, and we like it so far.

Pros

I've been using VWO for months now, and I like it very much. It is easy to set up and there are a lot of different testing options available (A/B, multivariate, split URL, etc.). Their editor is also very powerful and their support was always quick to response and was really helpful.

Cons

I don't like that the script you need to include on your site aren't hosted on some known CDN, which gives your site lower score on sites like WebPageTest. Also, their editor doesn't work well all the time - if you are making some big change on the page, you will sometimes see in the editor that your change is applied correctly, but in the preview the change isn't there - so you need to find a way how to insert it correctly.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Great solution for startups with AB test

Pros

Once setup it's a plug and play growth hacking tool that allows validation of theories.

Cons

Very hard to get running without a developer if you are using React.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 08/08/2018

Good value, expensive in overall

In general good, it has worked so far for what we need, running into a couple of obstacles on the way but those obstacles would have been also present in other AB testing softwares.

Pros

Compared to other AB testing tools, VWO succeeds in a more reactive visual interface.
Many core features are available with some of their starter plans, which only happens with more expensive plans on other AB testing softwares, like user segmentation and geo targeting.

Cons

Still expensive for the value it can provide, many of the really useful tests you can apply require complex behaviors which can be done through VWO but need technical knowledge.

Jacob
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Great software with a few glitches

Using VWO allows us to run sophisticated A/B tests for our clients and help them grow their business.

Pros

Using VWO you're able to run more sophisticated tests than other, free software.
Support is helpful.

Cons

Some of the features in their reporting don't work very well, ie reports with old data and bad graphs for data over time.
Seems to have more negative affects on site speed than other platforms.

Response from Wingify

Thanks for sharing the feedback, Jacob. We are glad that you liked our platform as well as the service provided by our Support team. Also, we are already working to enhance our reporting and would love your feedback on the same. And we would like to discuss about the site speed issues too as ideally, it should not happen. Please reach out to us at [email protected] so that we can discuss this further. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Sarah
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/12/2019

Great tool for marketing agencies!

At our agency, we mainly use the heatmap, visitor recordings and A/B testing tools to better service our clients. I really like how the reports can easy be shared with the clients and represent the data well.

Pros

The program is very user friendly, specifically the visual editor in the A/B testing tool. It makes it easy for people who don't know coding and web dev to create an A/B test. Additionally, it is great that you can segment traffic very thoroughly throughout all the heatmaps, visitor recordings, and A/B tests.

Cons

The thing that is most frustrating is that we can't store data forever. For example, if we are running a heatmap it only will store data for the last 60-90 days.

Response from Wingify

Thanks for sharing the feedback. We are glad that you liked the platform and especially the Insights features. Regarding your concern about data retention for Insights, we have given the maximum duration for 90 days as it has been noticed that businesses usually get to see a trend by analyzing the data for a quarter and can take their decisions accordingly. And you can also download data and store it for future reference. However, we have surely noted your feedback for consideration. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Michele
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2019

So easy to use!

Great! It’s an amazing tool.

Pros

I’m not a web developer but a designer. I just have basically html knowledge. VWO doesn’t even require that. I’m able to impress my boss by running A/B tests all on my own without her needing to involve developers. It’s pretty amazing. And if I ever have a question about how to do something, they’re very prompt in answering my emails.

Cons

Sometimes it would be difficult for me to do design the variation. I would click on something, and it wouldn’t act how I wanted it to. Took me a bit of time so get the variation to look exactly how i wanted it to.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Please write to us at [email protected] if you have any specific feedback around UI and we will be happy to discuss about the same. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Jeremy
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/04/2019

Fantastic testing platform

Great way to quickly setup and deploy optimization tests.

Pros

Ease of setup and use, targeting and segmentation of data.

Cons

I wish there was a way to override or reset variations that a user has already been cookied for.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for your valuable feedback, Jeremy! Glad to know that you find VWO easy to use. Regarding your feedback on resetting the variation, a user always sees the same variation so as to maintain a consistent UI experience for him. However, if you can share further details of your use case with us at [email protected], we can surely have further discussion around it. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
William
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/02/2019

Takes and Implements Feedback

We were able to dramatically increase conversion rate, with not only the tools but their expertise.

Pros

We were able to a part of their beta program where they would roll out the most recent updates to our account. This was a great way to try new features and be able to communicate our feedback to the team.

Cons

It is a little pricey, but we got a lot of value, so no real complaints.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, William! We really appreciate it. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Bart
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2019

Powerfull tool and great support

Understand how users navigate on our websites, so we can test hypotheses based on data gaterd by VWO.

Pros

The easy of use and speed to set-up an A/B test.

Cons

The organization of run tests and results could be better.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Please write to us at [email protected] if you have any specific feedback around UI and reporting, we will be happy to discuss about the same. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Martijn
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/03/2018

One of first intuitive and value for money WYSIWYG AB testing editors

AB testing without the hazzle of needing IT support

Pros

- After implementation, setting up AB tests is very easy; no IT needed anymore
- Value for money is compared to Optimizely better

Cons

- For setting up more advanced AB tests, still coding skills are needed
- The contact support can be a little slow

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/03/2019

Easy to Use and Understand

Pros

My tests were quick and easy for the team to set up and quick for me to jump in and see the results clearly.

Cons

It sets a high bar to choose a winner, so the test took a little bit more time than I had hoped.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to know that you like the product. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/04/2019

Easy to use

Pros

It was super easy to use. Setting up an A/B test or a split URL test takes a very short amount of time and often needs know developer time.

Cons

We experienced some issues with the tool causing a flashing affect on our website, since it runs as javascript over the page.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback! Glad to know that you find VWO easy to use. Regarding your feedback on flash effect, this might happen if VWO smart code is either added via an asynchronous tag manager or at the bottom of the page. If you are still facing the issue, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected]. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Jérôme
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/03/2019

Very good software for A/B tests

I use this software for at least 3 years and it's the easiest one I've found.

Pros

Very easy to use, just copy/paste the script and create the test in the WYSYWYG, and that works
Some special features, like heatmaps, are great too.

Cons

The stats are sometimes hard to understand (especially the real difference between quick learning and the other options).

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to let you know that we have revamped our reports on the basis of this feedback. And are continuously working to make them even more useful. Keep on sharing your valuable feedback with us. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Richard D.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/04/2019

Really helps understand behavior

We wanted to know how people navigate our site and VWO heatmaps clearly show user behavior from page to page.

Pros

VWO is simple to implement and use. It truly helps you understand your user's behaviors and usage patterns on your web pages.

Cons

My only challenge is that we haven't used all of it's capabilities yet! VWO offers a lot of features that we haven't dug into.

Response from Wingify

Thanks for sharing the feedback, Richard! Glad to know that you like using the product. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Laura
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/04/2018

A thorough and complex A/B Testing tool yet simple to use

Pros

The most advantageous feature for me is that you can customised traffic to different variables and have more control over segmenting the audience; you can customise a new segment yourself should you wish to. Another cool feature is that when setting the parameters for the campaign, VWP takes into account the number of visitors that would be exposed to the campaign, your current conversion rate for the original version of the page and the minimal conversion rate that you care about.

Cons

Overall I'm well impressed with VWO, but for my small business I find it to be quite pricey. I understand that they have a certain audience in mind, I wish there was a smaller package for a more affordable price.

Jamie
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/02/2019

Decent software, not a great UI

Pros

A good amount of features for the price compared to competitors

Cons

It seems they got caught up in the trend of single-page javascript framework apps. Looks pretty, but clunky and not particularly easy to use.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Jamie! We are already working on the UI aspect of the VWO app and you will see some valuable enhancements soon. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2019

Apparel Website A/B Testing

Gave me the data that I needed to make changes to the site that helped drive revenue. So excellent experience.

Pros

Pretty easy to set up tests and see results.

Cons

It's not an intuitive software, so it did take quite a bit of training for me to understand how to set up tests.

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to know that you like using VWO and find it easy to use. Regarding your other feedback, we are continuously working on the UI aspect of the tool and you will soon see some valuable enhancements. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
Laurie
Laurie
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 04/04/2019

AB Testing Made Easy

We wanted to better understand how variants of our website would impact the conversion rate for property bookings

Pros

The ease of which it enabled me to enact AB tests to different segments of website traffic without much input from IT beyond the initial tagging.

Cons

At first I didn't find the surveys tool as easy to use as I would have liked, but subsquent updates streamlined this and it's now FANTASTIC

Response from Wingify

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are really glad to know that you like the product and find it easy to use. - Venus from VWO

Replied 18/06/2020
90 reviews