QuickBooks Desktop Pro Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About QuickBooks Desktop Pro

QuickBooks Pro helps to automate the billing and invoicing process and work order management from a single reconciliation window. With 'Bank Account Reconciliation' feature, users can link their bank accounts and define workflows...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
3.9

Browse QuickBooks Desktop Pro Reviews

1,963 of 1,963 reviews
Sort by:
Ayesha
Ayesha
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 24/08/2022

Highest Effective Accounting Software!

I've been utilizing this software for a while now. The best accounting software comes from facts. It offers all the features required for routine accounting work. But it does need some guidance and practice. If an accountant starts with the right skills for using the software, he won't need any other alternatives.

Pros

It is widely utilized on a large scale. Customers are at ease utilizing it. It gives flawless data reporting and synchronizes with other platforms and software. This makes all accounting tasks simple. The wonderful thing is that it advances daily.

Cons

The cost is the only negative aspect. Undoubtedly, it is a worthwhile investment, but less privileged users would benefit much from flexible planning.

Ana
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/03/2024

Great Product

Overall is good. I do recommend Quick books to keep your company organized.

Pros

It has all the features needed to run a company.

Cons

That with Quick books Desktop you cannot work remotely and one cannot customize different business models.

Michael
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

2
Reviewed on 04/12/2018

Dinosaur on its Way to Fossil

Pros

I am hard-pressed to find an enthusiastic pro that I can add here. After years of all the limitations, and looking at other products, can't really praise the beast.

Cons

This software is bloated and uses out of date technology. It's entire substructure is based on Internet Explorer technology. That's right...Internet Explorer. The only real "cloud" solution they offer is to pay (a lot of money) to a third party service to host a remote desktop solution. Companies have been limping along this way for years. Imagine being a Quickbooks consultant to many different clients, all with different databases. Management becomes untenable. Intuit, a giant company with boundless capital continues to build on this ancient technology. It should have started from the ground up to plan for concurrent technologies, but it opted not to do so. Here is an example that happened with our organization. We wanted to move from a local hosted sever instance to a cloud-based version. Quickbooks recommended that we go with Right Networks. Right Networks, but there are major limitations and it adds $4000 a year to the cost of using quickbooks as a solution. But when your controller travels to Equador or Peru, and they need to be able to work, it was our only option. Because Quickbooks has chosen to stick to relic technology, we have this unnecessary added expense. When we moved to the hosted solution, our Enterprise license should have given us Online Backup functionality. However, the hosted instance of Quickbooks kept prompting us to activate online backups. Over and over again. Because, it uses Internet Explorer skinned prompts, it would not allow us to move forward. Quickbooks was not able to assist because it was a hosted solution. At the time of this review, Right Networks was still publishing remote desktop sessions on Windows Server 2008 R2. It is almost 2019. They are using technology that is at least ten years old. Another limitation with Quick Books and Windows Remote Desktop hosted solutions is Microsoft does not allow competing remote disk technology to run on their servers. Some time ago, our company got rid of our file servers and we moved everything to Google Drive (the corporate version). It allows end users to have access to TERABYTES of shared team data without it taking up space on their local workstation. It has turned out to be a beautifully elegant solution. As an event management and production company, our end users are constantly managing receipts. Quickbooks has no way of "browsing" to Google Drive to attach a receipt to a Quickbooks transaction or invoice. And because there is not a true enterprise-class, truly cloud-based offering from Quickbooks, we are not allowed by Microsoft to integrate Google Team Drive into our Quickbooks solution. Effectively, Quickbooks is a true dinosaur well on its way to fossildom. Even outside of our specific "power-user" needs, I have other complaints. The invoice template design functionality is quite literally out of 1992. It is truly an inelegant solution that looks ancient from the moment you open it. Let's say you have 4 accounting assistants producing invoices. If user A created an invoice based on template number 2, then when users C, D and E go to create an invoice, then their template is defaulted to template number 2. This a user-experience headache. Quite often, invoices get generated with the wrong template because of this "feature". If you want to design branded email templates that get generated when sending an invoice, there is no way to customize the email unless you design the email template using Microsoft Outlook. So you are either bound to Microsoft Technologies, with its attendant costs from CALs, Service Licenses etc. Suddenly, owning Quickbooks becomes even more expensive. Because Inuit wants you to use their payment platform (for accepting cards), they do not allow many (if any) 3rd party payment processing platforms such as Authorize.net. Our company has negotiated an aggressive 10 cent per transaction fee with Authorize.net, and Quickbooks can't compete with that, so we cannot even accept payments directly through Quickbooks. If I were a new business looking for an accounting solution, I would tell them to run far away from Quickbooks. It is terribly outdated for a twenty-second century organization.

Top QuickBooks Desktop Pro Alternatives

AVG Antivirus Business Edition

Sage 200 Evolution

Deltek Costpoint

Gerard
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2023

QuickBooks excels in facilitating Real Estate accounting tasks

I'm happy with it. I was thinking of changing to Buildium, but the effort is too much, and the fact that every accountant knows QuickBooks made my decision to stay with QuickBooks.

Pros

Easy to use.
Lots of reports.
Every accountant knows it.

Cons

Subscription cost.
Annual license
Expensive fees to collect rent with Intuit

KATHY
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

5
Reviewed on 02/04/2024

Quick Top Desktop

Pros

Ease of use in order to accomplish day to day activities.

Cons

THE EXPENSE OF HAVING TO PAY FOR IT OVER AND OVER AND OVER AGAIN!!!

LORI
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/02/2024

QUICKBOOKS REVIEW

Pros

VERY EASY SOFTWARE PROGRAM TO USE FOR ASPECTS OF ACCOUNTING

Cons

I DO NOT HAVE CONS ON USING QUICKBOOKS AS OUR ACCOUNTING PROGRAM

Melissa
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2024

Love the software, but not the price increase

Pros

Ease of use is good. Happy with product but not price.

Cons

Not happy with price change, but otherwise good

Diana
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 05/04/2024

Good for basics

Pros

It is easy to use and good for a general bookkeeping and tracking for financial services. Also very versatile for various industries.

Cons

Lacks some functions of other programs. A little too basic for special requests.

Courtney
  • Industry: Alternative Medicine
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/03/2024

Great Resource If You're Willing To Train

Pros

This software is extremely versatile and can handle payroll, invoicing, accounts payable, accounts receivable, and sales.

Cons

As someone who had never used it before, I can see why you need to be an "expert" to fully utilize the potential of this software.

Lance
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/03/2024

Quickbooks Pro, easy to install/administer

Not as comprehensive as Sage, but handles most of what our small businesses need and users tend to find it easy to use.

Pros

We provide the infrastructure support for QB Pro. It is easy to setup and administer/backup.

Cons

Sometimes we have challenges with the app going into a single user mode and causing access problems for multiple/simultaneous users.

Gary
  • Industry: Wine & Spirits
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 29/04/2021

Good, but...

I have used QuickBooks for two decades and for eight years in my current position. It fully meets our needs for day to day accounting, preparing reports for our Board and for processing payroll. However, their support is very poor and reaching a human being is incredibly frustrating.

Pros

QuickBooks Desktop is a powerful accounting package that offers good value for the cost. It has a lot of features that can address most of the needs of a small business.

Cons

QuickBooks will let an inexperienced user do just about anything they want which can result in a real mess if you're an accountant trying the prepare financial statements or tax returns. But with some training from an experienced accountant/user, a lot of the day to day accounting can be accomplished by a relatively inexperienced person. Some supervision is advised.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

QuickBooks is somewhat less expensive and is easier for inexperienced users to master. Peachtree is a wonderful piece of software, but has a more traditional and rigid accounting driven process. QuickBooks Online is expensive and lacks some of the features of the Desktop version.
Brenton
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/09/2021

QuickBooks Desktop is Fast, Customizable and Easy. Best of the Best.

The questions most people have is QuickBooks Desktop or QuickBooks Online. As a bookkeeper with multiple clients, it's a no brainer for me, QuickBooks Desktop!!! I refuse to work with QuickBooks Online. QuickBooks Desktop is lightning fast. There are numerous shortcuts with the keyboard that help process the daily routines. With being online, those keyboard shortcuts go away and now you have no move your hand from the keyboard to the mouse. It may not seem like much, but it's huge. The reporting features in QuickBooks Desktop are superior too. Yeah, your customer may not be able to have 24/7 access to their books, but if you're doing your job properly and getting them timely reports, most shouldn't need that.

Pros

Accounts payable is amazing. From tracking bills to writing checks to entering vendors. So easy. It also helps to make sure your 1099's are correct and in place for year end. Printing checks is a piece of cake and consistently easy!
Accounts receivable is awesome. Whether you are tracking tenants or customers, they can be easily set up.
Weekly, Monthly and Year End reporting can be done in a click of a 3 buttons, seriously. 3 Buttons pulls up your common report batches. Then you can print, save and email them.

Cons

When sending reports by pdf, I'd like to preview them first and adjust how they appear. Sometimes they can appear all wonky and not clean. The work around is to print to pdf. Then you can do it, just one extra step though.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

I'll attach what I posted above... The questions most people have is QuickBooks Desktop or QuickBooks Online. As a bookkeeper with multiple clients, it's a no brainer for me, QuickBooks Desktop!!! I refuse to work with QuickBooks Online. QuickBooks Desktop is lightning fast. There are numerous shortcuts with the keyboard that help process the daily routines. With being online, those keyboard shortcuts go away and now you have no move your hand from the keyboard to the mouse. It may not seem like much, but it's huge. The reporting features in QuickBooks Desktop are superior too. Yeah, your customer may not be able to have 24/7 access to their books, but if you're doing your job properly and getting them timely reports, most shouldn't need that.
James
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2023

QuickBooks Desktop Pro: The CornerStone Bookkeeping Software

Overall, it's a wonderful product that is the cornerstone of the bookkeeping industry. The features and functions are plentiful and the computing power is enough for most small businesses and any startup.

Pros

Most existing accounting pros know this software well enough to jump into a client copy or backup copy to send back to the client etc. For years, this has been the value play in accounting software due to being able to host multiple companies under one subscription. Features are plentiful, more than you'll probably need unless you're running a large operation with many accounting staff.

Cons

Lack of cloud based development environment is the number one con for QuickBooks Desktop Pro. It seems like much more (friendly) integration is available through QuickBooks Online

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

We chose desktop for construction purposes, building assets, we wanted to use items in the traditional way they're used inside desktop.
Tony
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 14/02/2023

Quickbooks Desktop Premier Plus

We have been using Quickbooks for years. Apparently, their goal is to get you "hooked" on the software and go up on the prices every year. There are several add-ons that can be used, for a separate fee of course, such as Payroll. We do our own Payroll at my company so this makes things much easier. However, adding additional services can get quite expensive and they tend to change plans almost every year. They are now charging annually for software that we use to be able to purchase once and then use for 3 years. Those days are gone.

Pros

This is a great product for income as well as expense tracking. We enter every transaction that comes through our company and we can easily compare previous years earnings and losses, up to date

Cons

This product is way too expensive for a small business and unless you have been using the software for years, it is very difficult to understand and use. Customer support is lacking when it comes to unusual problems. It seems their customer support team can only "change batteries" so to speak.

Alternatives Considered

Quicken, Zoho Books, FreshBooks and NetSuite

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Because we have always used this software and with our rather large database, I was leary of changing
Kala
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/03/2022

General Contractor's review of QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Overall we are very pleased with this program. We use it for tracking our accounts receivable, our expenses and payroll. We will be longtime customers!

Pros

This software is so easy to use! We are able to invoice our customers and keep a running balance of our A/P and A/R so we can track our monthly income. Easy referencing for customers by their name, account number, address and any other identifying information to easily access the account you are looking for. We have also linked QB to our CRM and each invoice created and payment links to both programs so the sales team can track their accounts, without needing access to QB. We love this program!

Cons

The only issue I have had, is when we do link payments to our CRM program, sometimes there is 5-10 minute delay before it registers. I can't say if this is an issue on AL or QB, either way, if we need access to the updated invoice immediately, it is available in QB.

Alternatives Considered

Webex, Adobe Acrobat Sign and Weebly

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

QuickBooks has the best reviews and ratings overall. We needed a program that we could rely on to track our business's progress. QuickBooks has done that!
Zuzana
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/06/2023

Desktop Pro is great as entry to manufacturing

I've used QB for 20+ years and this program does it all in a complex business environment until you grow enough to need enterprise. (From a manufacturing standpoint)

Pros

It's reasonably priced and does all the features I currently need pretty well. Customer service is great.

Cons

Inventory management is slightly clunky unless you bump up to enterprise which is a commitment. Adding users is also clunky but do-able. Working on desktop remote and in the office or some variation on that is VERY clunky but also do-able if you can find the right solution for your situation.

Alternatives Considered

NetSuite and QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to QuickBooks Desktop Pro

The others are Significantly more expensive.
Annette
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 09/10/2020

QuickBooks for the Small Nonprofit Organization

The program itself is excellent as seen from its popularity. My greatest need has been customer service technical support. I have been using QuickBooks for more than 20 years. Over this time I have been very happy with the improvement of their support. Depending on the level program chosen, there are varying degrees of support. I think this is the most important part of a program as complex as this. I am also very happy with the way payroll handles all the procedures automatically and that they build in the new legislation and regulations from all the states so the user is sure about what they are doing.

Pros

QuickBooks has a sufficiently wide variety of products/service agreements to satisfy the needs of small nonprofits. I find that the service has improved greatly over the years. The customer service people are extremely able to solve problems or explain processes. Also, since the user can choose between accrual and cash based accounting, small organizations can choose the system the best satisfies their particular circumstances. The payroll package is separate, so the customer can choose whether or not to do their own payroll or have someone else do it. The payment of payroll taxes is well supported and easy to use.

Cons

Because this software is so professional, there can be a steep learning curve for those without accounting or bookkeeping experience. It would be advisable for the new user to become familiar with entry level bookkeeping at least. QuickBooks also recommends that new users locate a current user to serve as a mentor. There are specially trained users who serve this role.

Sylvia
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/09/2022

QB Desktop Pro Is A Great All In One Small Business Solution.

My overall experience has been that it's great for my purposes. I have not had the need to look elsewhere as QB does everything I need it to do.

Pros

I like the fact that I can do all my invoicing with various different types of forms. It is also super easy to send Purchase Orders, check inventory, change pricing for items etc. It's a great all in one tool for running a Small Business. I also like the fact that the Desktop version is much cheaper than the online version where the subscription never ends. They try to justify it by saying you will have an updated version each year, but I have used the Desktop first in 2013 then didn't upgrade again until 2020. There wasn't really anything different aside from the fact that I couldn't get updates for the 2013 version anymore and some things were not working properly anymore. Other than that you can get many years of use off a one time payment rather than the expensive subscription for QB Online.

Cons

I don't like when certain glitches happen and there is no way to fix them. For example, I used to be able to set Thunderbird as my default email client when QB was going to send an email. All of a sudden, the selected email wouldn't open anymore in Thunderbird, and would only send through QB. I hate doing it that way because it doesn't save a copy in my sent folder. I tried to get help from QB but they had no solution to provide. I still don't know if it was a glitch or a change that happened because of an update because a lot of the support team don't even know much.

Mike
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/06/2017

Quick Books Pro online is awesome, scalable for large and small organization

Great value, when possible still work with a book keeper and accountant.

Pros

My business is only 2.5 years old and I have used QuickBooks from the beginning. I did my own accounting up to a few months ago as my business has grown and I don't have time to do it anymore myself. My experience with the desk top version 2015 was ok, but I wanted didn't fit my needs well as I traveled 90% of the time. When I subscribed to Quick Books Pro Online, my experience has been nothing but positive. The interface is easy to use, and its rich feature set allowed me to activate job costing features as I needed them. Now that we are in the 2 to 3 million range my book keeper and Accountant log in and use my same subscription. I save on accounting costs as I can pull my own reports which are easy to find and customize and do not need the Part time CFO(except quarterly) feedback as I can get it on my own. We will probably double or triple are gross sales next year and have no plans to change our accounting platform. Support comes free with the online version.

Cons

Subscription charges double your second year of using the product. The first year you get a bundled deal to experience all of the different pay services offered by Intuit. The first year is great, but after that it can get pricey. We aren't going to change accounting platforms, but for smaller companies, you will want to scale down to the minimum subscription amount to fit your needs.
You also have to buy checks directly from Intuit as they don't support third party cheaper check services(There are services you can print your bank information on the cheaper checks, but all come with set up fees).
Online App for your phone still needs work. For me this is the weakest link in Intuits online platform. It is getting better, but still not where it needs to be. You can add expenses now and also send invoices which are improvements, but still lacking,

Lamini
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/10/2023

Efficient and Comprehensive Financial Management with QuickBooks Desktop Pro

My overall experience with QuickBooks Desktop Pro has been positive. As a Senior Tax Manager and Director of Finance, it offers a comprehensive suite of financial tools, though it could be more user-friendly for those with limited accounting expertise. It greatly streamlines financial and tax management tasks.

Pros

QuickBooks Desktop Pro has been invaluable for me as a Senior Tax Manager and Director of Finance. Its comprehensive financial tools, including accounting, payroll, and tax management, offer an all-in-one solution. I appreciate the extensive customization options, allowing me to tailor reports and documents to my organization's specific needs. The integration with financial reporting streamlines data tracking and analysis. It excels in tax compliance, reducing the risk of errors and audits. The user-friendly interface accommodates varying accounting expertise levels, and its scalability ensures it grows with the business. In summary, QuickBooks Desktop Pro simplifies financial management for professionals in tax and finance.

Cons

While QuickBooks Desktop Pro offers comprehensive financial tools, it can be complex for those with limited accounting knowledge. The software may benefit from more user-friendly features for individuals and small businesses without dedicated financial departments.

Ron
Ron
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 03/06/2022

Solid product

Good experience! I highly recommend this software.

Pros

This is just a very good all purpose accounting software application. It has all the features you will need to run a small business. The desktop interface is easy in part because Inuit has leveraged familiar tactile forms in the user interface. (Entering a cheque, looks like a cheque). Lots of time saving features such as “Quick Add”, “Memorized Transactions”, etc. make repetitive tasks easy. A variety of valuable business rules are incorporated into the functions of the software based on configurable Preferences.

Cons

I think the biggest detraction from the software is Intuit’s support. I have used Quickbooks for over 18 years and I have learned how avoid most issues, but if I encounter an error, I know it’s the start of a painful process. It can be a hit or miss experience as I have reached some good support staff. But in general, Intuit makes it very difficult (by design) to communicate with support. There are very few defects that remain (example: recording a PST commission has never worked correctly), but again, over time I have found work arounds. Some of the features such as banking integration were good concepts, but have not been refined to make them useful for the average user. Maybe there is a way to configure this functionality to work as desired, but again the lack of access to good support staff has caused me to give up on this feature.

Vassili
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2022

Good overall

QB is easy to use even for someone who doesn't come from accounting background. I would strongly recommend that you enlist the help of your CPA to setup your accounts correctly in the beginning, it will save you a lot of time and headache. If your accounts are setup properly and you remember to enter your transactions and make sure your books balance it mostly works flawlessly, will be a good accounting system for years. As it is de-facto industry standard it is also easy to share information with your CPA

Pros

-Easy to use. Set it up correctly and a lot of things simply happen naturally- Good reports. They provide good info out of the box and you can customize them- Very solid billing/invoicing- Easy to share with your CPA

Cons

Sometimes things don't work right and as they have the monopoly they have no urge to fix them. Example: the software will not automatically apply credits to invoices or show them, you have to remember that the customer has credit.Also while their support is good overall and will genuinely try to help you sometimes you bump into completely incompetent reps. Then sometimes they just stick to the script and say they basically cannot do anything for you

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

5
Reviewed on 17/04/2018

We love it - when it works

I personally did not choose this software and would readily change to another software if it was my choice.

Pros

It's a real workhorse and it does everything that we need it to do in the realm of accounting and payroll for our small business.

Cons

Customer service is Very bad. We upgrade every year, but we spend at least 4 or 5 hours two or three times on the phone until they get it right. We have three user licenses and five computers (some users have laptops), and somehow the company file gets inaccessible and other problems keep returning. One person did something to one computer and it never worked right again, and they actually told us on the phone that they don't guarantee that what they do remotely isn't going to screw up the computer. We're in the middle of another "upgrade" right now, and again, they've managed to screw up the network. We host our company file on one computer, and all the other ones have to access it there, yet they installed the new software as "store file on this computer" for all of them yesterday. Today, we're on the phone (going on three hours) again, this time to undo all the screwups from yesterday. NOT pleased. Also, now we have to save the accountant file to media and hand deliver b/c the file is "too big" and the only way to solve that is to compress all the old data, which we need to be able to use frequently. Not happy with the customer service.

Melissa
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/08/2018

QUICKBOOKS PRO IS THE WAY TO GO

It has made it a lot easier to keep track of the progress of the business. We can monitor the customers invoicing, their payments including methods of payments, dates of payments, as well as dates of services and what services were conducted with the codes that were readily available to be put to use. This is ultimately going to make the business a lot more valuable as we will be able to calculate the gross and net values produced by the business for any given season/month/year from now on; and when the time comes for retirement we will have a hard copy to show what the business is valued at.

Pros

Setup is so easy and efficient. Once you have your account information entered you log in and you're set to begin entering your customers/vendors/accounts. As you create them it's simple to sync them and enter payments all within the ease of clicking a button.

Cons

The first time of backing up the system was a bit of a challenge as I couldn't find the file on my computer; however, I do believe that was a personal fault of mine and had nothing to do with the program itself.

Response from Intuit

Thanks a ton for taking the time to leave us your review, Melissa. Your comments are affirming to come across, as I loved reading QuickBooks is helping Lowers HVAC continue to grow. We're proud to be backing you and your team, and I know just where you can go should you ever have questions.

When you get a chance, explore our Community forum space a bit. This live Q&A space doubles as a troubleshooting library, and a perfect example of what you can find there is this article on system backups: community.intuit.com/articles/1436816. Even though I'm confident you're a pro at backups by now, the article above highlights what the Community has to offer.

Delighted we're doing our part to keep you on track. I'm wishing you continued business success, so when the time for retirement comes around, you'll have nothing to do but celebrate.

Jess, The QuickBooks Team

Replied 13/08/2018
Marlon
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/11/2022

My Quickbooks Life ♥

Like what I said above that the product is highly recommended, easy to use, affordable and we can use it when we have small business.

Pros

For 5 years of supporting people using the software (Quickbooks) and me myself using it I really recommend the product because it is easy to use and user friendly aside form that you can also send invoices through email without mailing it to customers. We can track and see expenses and where our business was. We can file taxes and pay also liabilities through Quickbooks. We can create payroll on this software also.

Cons

It should have reminder or notification if the patch is not updated or need to update the software to make sure we can use Quickbooks smoothly aside from it I can't think of any problem with Quickbooks. I hope that we can improve more the software like having memos and guides in YouTube for beginner who wants to use the software.

1,963 reviews