Retail Pro Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Retail Pro

Retail Pro is a specialty retail management software platform featuring POS, replenishment, inventory management, promotions, customer management, back office, performance, and KPI reporting capabilities. Retailers can use...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3
Features
3.9
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Retail Pro Reviews

79 of 79 reviews
Sort by:
Daniel
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 26/03/2014

Retail Pro gives us a competitive edge!

Pros

Our operation is very seasonal, and we gear up from 0 to 100 in a short amount of time. The accuracy the system delivers for inventory management gives us the confidence to make rapid decisions that impact our bottom line. We especially appreciate the level of support that we receive. That level of trust in the product and support is important for us since we have such a narrow window for our business.

Cons

No software is perfect. However, our experience with Retail Pro has been significantly better then our previous vendor. Our least favorite thing about the software is how it behaves with our unique discount structure. However, we have found ways to make it fit our operation.

Mohamed
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/04/2018

i'm working with retail pro since 2013, it was wonderful experience.

i got the knowledge that gave me the chance to implement and support our customer in the market, very important thing is that i learned how business operate with one of the biggest retail solution ever

Pros

very powerful inventory management solution, full of function and features. the second thing is the scalability and durability the solution can support large number of stores & POSs in one big database "oracle database".

Cons

it takes much time to recover database especially in the main server, 2nd thing when upgrade from old release to a new one with large number of stores and POSs.

Natee
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 08/07/2020

Don’t buy. My on hand inventory is wrong. It’s a bad decision that I bought this product.

It sucks. Don’t buy. We have been trying to use it for over a year but now we have to start everything over because the inventory is not correct. We have to do manual adjustments a few times. Our products are high value watches with serial numbers and we have only less than 10 transactions per day!!
We can’t imagine how this software can handle larger businesses with hundreds or thousands of transactions per day. Either the local solution provider (Adasoft) didn’t implement it correctly or the software really sucks!

Pros

Ease of use interface.
Multiple stores capability.

Cons

- It could not even calculate inventory correctly.
- Regional Support is extremely slow and local solution provider could not help much.
- We have been trying to use it for over a year, it has always been miscalculating the on-hand inventory and the actual inventory in the reports.
- Upload tool is very difficult and confusing to use and can cause duplicate records and mess up the product database.
- Slow.
- We have been using it over a year just to find out that either the product or the implementation is sub standard.

Top Retail Pro Alternatives

craig
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/11/2016

Retail Pro review

I have been working with R Pro version 8 from 2003 to 2015 with Valentino and now with version 9 with Philipp Plein, as far as a retail system, from both the POS and the logistic side, its an excellent software. Easy to manage and use. The ONLY downfall is the EFT. At the POS, you really need to have a good, reliable, and when working with luxury retail, a sleek device to expedite EMV transactions. The 2 options offered by Cyan , your ONLY EFT choice, are for mass merchants, not a luxury boutique.

As far as support, One Step Retail has been my partner of choice and they are second to none in support and sales. Over the years I had many special requests from upper management, and OSR were very quick on assisting and "making it happen".

Pros

The simple structure of the POS. Very easy to learn.

Cons

The EFT module. Cayan is HORRIBLE!!! Please go back to Shift 4. Better support and nicer devices.

Amogh
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 31/07/2018

Strong Customization but can still be improved

Pros

* Very strong customization options.
* Its EMV compatible which is a big plus
* Its got strong Employee and customer management modules
* Strong reporting capabilities

Cons

* Not having ability to “edit” the preloaded report formats to suit our needs.
* There are few glitches here and there especially with a preloaded cards but customer service is usually quick to respond

Ann
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 17/03/2014

Big Hairy Dog is Top Dog in Glamour House's Book!

Pros

Hands down, what I like best is that our service is through BHD. I purchased Retail Pro in 2003 and have had bumps along the way (e.g.-hard drive crashes, lost data/backup issues, questions on operation, etc.). Customer support has always gone over and above the call of duty to solve my problems in a friendly, efficient, and cost-effective manner. Also, it is comforting that their support staff have longevity in the company. I also like the intuitive features of use and easy integration with Quickbooks.

Cons

I am concerned that at some point they will no longer support Version 8, and Version 8 works just fine for us. We don't want to be forced to buy more than we need.

Sally
  • Industry: Museums & Institutions
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4

4.5
Reviewed on 30/03/2014

Happy Retail Pro User!

Pros

First off, we have really enjoyed working with Big Hairy Dog for the last five years. We have an awesome trainer, who is fantastic on his followthrough, which is extremely important in the retail business. Our support rep is also very quick to respond when we need technical assistance. The software is very user-friendly and so diverse, covering most of our needs at the WOW.

Cons

Being my first time using POS systems, I have no complaints because of the training that we had from the very beginning. I have also talked with other Retail Pro customers, and they all feel the same when using this product.

Tricia
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 20/06/2014

Retail Pro & J.D. Associates -A Winning Combination!

Pros

Retail Pro and J.D. Associates are the total package! As our business continues to grow, they provide the necessary software/hardware, training, and all-around retail solutions to help us achieve our goals. Email updates keep us well-informed of industry changes, as well as any new products available that will enhance our POS experience. Webinars are also offered as an integral part of our training experience. I can always count on their expertise and professionalism to keep us moving forward.

Cons

Not having ability to "edit" the preloaded report formats to suit our needs.

Urmi
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 09/06/2014

Solid Retail Pro User

Pros

Retail Pro provides a great POS system that allows me to track down inventory in my store and also lets me see instantly what other stores have in stock in case a customer is looking for something I am out of. One Step Retail has provided great support to all of our stores, including the installations for our new stores.

Cons

I wish there was a way of detecting when someone does not have enough funds on a prepaid credit card, because we get a lot of tourists in our stores. Sometimes there are a few glitches with the system, but our support is always quick about getting back to me.

Rachel
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 27/05/2014

Grand Canyon University Arena Team Shop

Pros

I like the ease of use and the availability of the Retail Pro and One Step Staff. One Step Retail Solutions has shown me and the GCU Team Shop that they are committed to providing us with the highest level of customer satisfaction possible. They have worked with the GCU Team Shop on our mobile store and provided continual support as our store has evolved.

Cons

The system is easy to use, but I know there is so much more to our point of sale system. I wish there were classes or webinars offered for free to explain how to use more of the features.

Benjamin
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
3

1
Reviewed on 16/06/2017

Unbelievably terrible

Nothing. I loathe this software and I wish its developers absolutely nothing but the worst.

Pros

I guess it technically runs. Beyond the fact that it's easier than using a pen and paper to keep track of products, there is nothing I like about this software.

Cons

It is disorganized, inefficient, difficult to use, has memory leaks, no database support, closed-source and expensive to upgrade, bizarrely laid out, and just overall a pain to use on a day-to-day basis.

Response from Retail Pro International

Hello Benjamin. We¿re sad to hear you aren¿t getting to experience the best of Retail Pro. Are you on a very outdated version of Retail Pro software? Please contact us at [email protected] and let¿s see what we can do to get your problem resolved.

Replied 29/06/2017
Ismail
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 18/11/2018

Waste of money

Pros

Very heavy software and it loading takes 2 minutes in clients machine , one more problem is may be shut down your computer without closing retailpro you should activate licence until it’s not open

Cons

In this software we can costomize any thing like i want also security permission setting is good.

Tony
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 18/02/2020

My view

Good and quick to setup . Easy to configure.
Some nice retail type features

Pros

Ease of use.
Stock entry
Reports
Back end features
Sales entry screen
Customisable buttons.
Sub menus

Cons

Old look dated interface.. lacks some high end features. No cloud option..some peripherals are hard to add on.

John
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/06/2014

Retail Pro with our business partners at J.D. Associates

Pros

We have been using Retail Pro for a number of years now and have been partnering with J.D. Associates, Leominster, MA since the start. J.D. Associates have helped up with moving us from Retail Pro 8 to RP9, as well as their normal day-to-day support. Because of the uniqueness of our business, we often have odd uses or requests of Retail Pro, but J.D. Associates helps us work through each request and challenge to help us move our business forward.

Cons

There are shortcomings with Retail Pro 9 reports. This is a known issue and shouldn't be a surprise. Other challenges we have seen could be due to how our system is configured, but we are working through that.

Kathryn
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 06/12/2016

RPro Gets the Job Done but Not Without Glitches

RPro is easy-to-use and works as a POS system in retail. Visually, it's outdated and the UX can definitely be improved. It's pretty quick but has its glitches, one being gift receipt printing. When printing gift receipts, you have to print it a few times in order to get the items you want on it. I've also used MindBody as a POS and found that superior to RPro.

Pros

Easy to use, gets the job done

Cons

Outdated UX/UI, glitchy

Andie
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 15/03/2014

Homeroom at Madison Crossing

Pros

I like the accountability and availability, the pleasant customer service with patient providers, and the long-lasting hardware.

Cons

It would be difficult to state a true "dislike." Obviously, they treat their employees well and/or have a good product because of the consistency and long-term tenure of their staffing. I would like one improvement in the format of their sales and on-hand inventory reports having the ability to be combined or melded.

Samantha
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/03/2014

Best point of sale system

Pros

Retail Pro is an amazing system. The reports are so easy to understand and use. I get all the information I am looking for with simple reports. The service is above and beyond amazing; the techs are always there to help and answer any questions. They are really a great great company.

Cons

The only negative I have is that in the entry process, you must go to a different screen to add a picture to a matrix.

Bill
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 25/02/2014

Retail Pro with Big Hairy Dog

Pros

Retail Pro Version 8 - flexibility in the product mix we sell; by the item, weight, or volume discounts.

Big Hairy Dog - response time is great! Things are going to happen, and when it does, we know that our support team at BHD will respond and get us back on track, day or night!

Cons

The issues that seem to limit reporting capabilities are addressed in the upcoming upgrade version.

Stephen
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4.5
Reviewed on 13/06/2014

Business Owner

Pros

The response time from service department is very good. It covers all categories for us. Layaway, special orders, time in/out, etc.

Cons

They charge per seat. If you use a main server to control the points of sale, the server is considered a seat. I know it is hard to have a billing structure for different types of companies, but small independents have a tough time.

Eric
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/07/2014

JDA and RPro

Pros

JDA not only provides the support we need but is also forward looking, allowing us to plan for the future. Retail Pro consistently gets the job done for us.

Cons

I'd like to see some improvements in store-to-store data transfer. Real time information at the central hub is a must.

Julius
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 13/07/2018

POS Easy is very easy to use and still efficient.

You could consider POS Easy specially if running a small store.

Pros

Easy to use, cheap to purchase, easily integrates with available accounting system and software, makes it easy to keep paperless records, allows you to print receipts for customers and makes it easy to handle big number of clients.

Cons

Slow customer support response team the rest are great although additional features could do it great.

Quentin
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
4.5

4
Reviewed on 23/12/2014

Test for Growth Strats and the perception behind it.

Pros

I like the core set of products and customer service. I'm easily able to integrate it into our system.

Cons

The price isn't great. It wasn't that easy to learn for most of the team. The system crashes at unexpected times.

Karthikeyan
  • Industry: Supermarkets
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3.5

3.5
Reviewed on 23/12/2014

Retail Pro Review

Pros

I like the reliability and better customer service. Issues get resolved very quickly.

Cons

The cost is bit higher. It could be bit cheaper. Sometimes we feel that the value is less for the price we pay.

Frank
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3

3.5
Reviewed on 23/12/2014

POS is easy and works fine

Pros

This product works well. Even when it breaks sometimes, we can fix it ourselves.

Cons

I don't like this product sometimes. It easily takes paper, although it can be fixed.

Loc
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/12/2014

My Review of Retail Pro

Pros

I like their services and delivery, as well as their customer service and helpline.

Cons

Their price is a little bit too pricey (toward the high end).

79 reviews