SurveyMonkey Audience Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About SurveyMonkey Audience

SurveyMonkey Audience is a market research solution designed to help businesses collect customer data using surveys and analyze results to streamline decision-making processes. Managers can add custom screening questions to...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.2

Browse SurveyMonkey Audience Reviews

41 of 41 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/08/2020

Expensive, but totally worth it for professional purposes

Its great features and simple design make Survey Monkey the best option to build customized surveys with a professional look and feel.
Ideal for consultancy business who need to customize studies for its clients.

Pros

Survey Monkey allows high levels of customization offering a really professional look and feel with great features.
Also, its blog has very detailed information, very helpful for beginners and advanced users.

Cons

Could have facilities to pay the product by surveys, it would be useful for businesses which make studies less frequently.

Alternatives Considered

Maze, Typeform and Optimal Workshop
Norman
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 10/03/2021

Straightforward Feedback Application that has become the Default Standard in my Work

Pros

- Easy to create feedback forms and questionnaires
- Easy to send distribute forms to clients for feedback.
- Commonly used across different sectors of my company which make compatibility/retraining easier for cross-functional projects.

Cons

- Once a person submits their feedback form they cannot change their answers after the facts. It would be nice if users have a unique access code to allow them to update their feedback.
- Better tabulation functionality to allow aggregating and analyzing the data gathered from the feedback forms.

vincent
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 01/11/2023

research on SurveyMonkey

when completing surveys read instruction first and bare in your mind that there is little payment.

Pros

free registration and easy to read and understand templates.

Cons

survey early screan outs, and more work but little payments.

Top SurveyMonkey Audience Alternatives

natia
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/12/2023

See feedback in a minute.

As i mentioned SurveyMonkey Audience helps me greatly. It offers me to create survey and stay employees confident.

Pros

SurveyMonkey Audience is very easy to use. It's a very useful software. I can create my own survey and get feedback quickly. It helps me to find out employees views about any cases.

Cons

All is good, but i would change the name of the software.

Valerie
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 27/01/2020

Great for Simple Surveys

Pros

I enjoy using Survey Monkey when I need to create and distribute a quick, simple survey. This product is easy to use for basic projects and I have found that, due to name recognition, people are apt to complete the survey.

Cons

While the basic functionality is great, it is very pricey to upgrade for enhanced features. There are comparable products that are much less expensive.

Alternatives Considered

Sogolytics and Strategy & Research

Reasons for Switching to SurveyMonkey Audience

Ease of access, ease of use, and name recognition.
Peter
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/10/2023

User-friendly platform to create and distribute survey

As marketing professionals, we need to gather insights from our customers to improve our services. After offering marketing services to our clients, we gather feedback from them to know what needs to be improved. SurveyMonkey has a simple interface and accommodates many question types. It helps us make sound decisions based on the responses we get. However, the cost is relatively high since we are a relatively small business, but it is helping us grow in the right direction.

Pros

I like the survey templates because they save me time when creating a survey. With the survey questions ready, it takes only a short time to choose the templates and customize the survey. I also like the drag-and-drop feature because it is easy for anyone to get the hang of it, even those without previous experience. It supports many types of questions and answers, including rating scales and multiple choices.

Cons

The only major thing I don't like about SurveyMonkey is that it is ideal for people with basic online skills and with access to computers or smartphones. Some equally important clients who don't have or rarely use these devices might not respond to surveys. I also feel that SurveyMonkey does not allow full customization of the survey. They also access and store respondents' data which could raise privacy and security issues.

Charles
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/10/2023

Versatile market research tool

SurveyMonkey helps us collect market data from our clients target customers to guide their decisions. This tool is easy to use and provides a broad range of data for analysis. It has a simple customizable dashboard and fairly good real-time reporting function. It meets our market research needs but has limited customization options.

Pros

I like SurveyMonkey because you can use it to collect different types of data. It offers many ready templates that you can customize to collect the appropriate data. I also like it because you can send the survey using email, embed it on the client's website for site visitors, or share on social media depending on the target audience. The customer support is friendly and helpful.

Cons

SurveyMonkey offers limited customization features and the survey might look like any other especially when you use the pre-existing templates. I also dislike the fact that SurveyMonkey stores and owns the data collected, which is a primary privacy concern. It requires learning and experimenting with different questions to capture the required data.

Tina
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/05/2020

Very user friendly

This is a great tool to gauge the thoughts and responses of your target audience.

Pros

The software is nicely designed and has a clean interface. It's very user friendly. I enjoy taking surveys with it.

Cons

I don't have any complaints about the software itself, but when you go to the website, it is a little misleading that the first page offers you all the paid plans, and only if you scroll down do you see that there is a tiny link to create a free account. It leads people to think that they must purchase a plan. I generally don't like misleading advertising.

Sara
Sara
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/12/2019

Great but Pricey

SurveyMonkey Audience has allowed my organization to reach a wider spread of survey participants. Instead of merely sending out a survey to people you already know (and if you are in a niche organization where there is a small group of core supporters this can lead to repetitive answers you already know), you can send the survey out to a wide audience, fenced in by gender, geography, income, or a variety of other more specific categories like time spent watching television or number of credit cards they have. That's pretty great! Be aware though, that with great data comes cost. If you are used to sending out a Google Form for free, be prepared that SurveyMonkey Audience will likely cost a few hundred bucks. Also, the longer the survey or the more specific your demographics, the more expensive it's going to be. Happy surveying!

Pros

I love the ability to survey a wide spread of respondents and the capability to choose a variety of demographics, such as education, job industry, marital status, etc. If you are creating a free survey (say, with Google Forms) and then advertising (say, on Facebook) there are less options to really distinguish your audience. The more data on the audience, the better the results!

Cons

The price. I know that sounds terrible, but with so many free options for software and applications online today, it does hurt to pay!

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/01/2020

Wonderful resource that can be used independently

I have had a very positive experience with Survey Monkey Audience and expect to continue to use it and to tell others about it.

Pros

This software offers the fantastic ability to reach customers and learn without the expensive of an outside firm. Reaching our audiences has been relatively easy with the help of customer service.

Cons

I would like more education on how the audience works so that I can better design my audience. This might mean engaging more with customer service, which I haven't tried much. I would envision some additional explanations on the audience design page as well.

Chris
Chris
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 01/07/2020

Professional Market Research Tool

Excellent. DIY market research for when you have to make more informed decisions but can't afford to wait around ages for the results

Pros

As a small business, we’ve used Survey Monkey Audience a number of times to undertake fast and effective market research in a relatively short period of time. The pay as you go service especially is useful for gaining feedback on new inventories and surveys before introducing them to our clients – kind of like beta testing our latest ideas, without the need for any long term commitment with a big market research agency.

Cons

We work mainly in corporate environments - particularly with HR professionals and quickly discovered that you have to make sure that the audience panel created is really representative of your target audience – both in terms of geography, demographics and sector – otherwise any results gathered become quite meaningless. We've also found that there are a few situations when using something like Google Forms would work just as well (small sample sizes)and wouldn't cost anything.

Phil
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 18/02/2023

Simple survey solution

Pros

It’s fairly simple to set up basic surveys.

Cons

The aesthetics and design of the servers look outdated.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/01/2020

Above and beyond service

Overall very good and especially the effort and follow up from the audience customer service team.

Pros

I like being able to combine the survey creation tool with SurveyMonkey's audience offering. That way we can very quickly get the survey answered by a large number of respondents.

Cons

If you're trying to narrow in on a very specific audience you may find that you can't target the way you want, or the respondents who meet your criteria are too few.

Andy
Andy
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/06/2020

Survey Monkey is a good resource

I liked Survey Monkey, never had a problem with it.
The only reason we switched from Survey Monkey to Google Forms is because Google Forms is free to educational entities.

Pros

Ease of use
Easy to create surveys
Easy to share survey links
Easy to collect responses
Ability to segregate responses

Cons

It was more expensive than the free version of Google Forms we are able to use as an educational entity

Dawn
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/04/2020

Effective and free - great combo!

We use is so share and print our daily tasks as well as gain customer feedback and even get employee goals.

Pros

Love the simplicity and ease of use. It’s also for great brand recognition so others are used to and comfortable using it. I like how easy it is to go back and change answers. You don’t have to scroll to and from pages where some people end up getting lost.

Cons

Nothing comes to mind! Overall, I enjoyed the switch from Google and wish I’d done it sooner.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 24/02/2020

One of the better options

I use this to poll end users of a system I support.

Pros

Good option to use if you're looking to gauge opinions from surveys. This is a relatively easy tool to use, and the base features are adequate.

Cons

Wish the free version had a bit more to it. There are good analytical tools that I wish were included.

Stephania
Stephania
  • Industry: Executive Office
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 22/03/2020

Really Good!

Over all I would recommend this to users who are looking to create a 1 time survey or max of 3 because of the ease and functionality of it. Simple to use and User friendly.

Pros

I love how customizable this is. I love creating surveys and keeping track of the responses. This helps our company improve by listening to our employees suggestions. I love that the survey creates a link and you can send out to your employees.

Cons

I don't like that there is no Google integration or synchronization. Our company is very Google based and to keep things together is important for us.

Erik
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/02/2020

Very useful for quick surveys

We needed to send out after-learning surveys asking how the course was, and asking for feedback. Others in the company were using Survey Monkey, so we used it as well. Eventually we moved to another product that was more integrated with some other software we were already using. That said, Survey Monkey did fit our needs when we used it.

Pros

Survey Monkey was super easy to build feedback surveys in. It had a fairly robust set of question types and features. Giving people a link for the survey was very easy.

Cons

Getting the results of surveys was less easy than creating the survey in the first place.

Eric
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/12/2019

SurveyMonkey - the smart way to gather information

Very, very pleasent!

Pros

The flexibility in what even the basic account is able to do is amazing. Additionally the Support isn't afraid to go out of their way of earning money and will tell you, if theres a solution for free (for example to duplicate an Survey instead of needing to upgrade the account to a more expensive version).

Cons

From the head of my mind I honestly can't tell. I guess sometimes its a bit laggy/slow, but maybe thats up to our bad connection.

Rich
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2019

Excellent Experience

Pros

Good customer service which allowed me to set up complex consumer survey. Quick and thorough results that were easily to analyze and cut. Affordable vs. alternatives so would recommend if you have good understanding on how to build a survey and capture answers appropriately.

Cons

Couple of downsides: 1) If you are on a basic subscription ($99 p/m) you will be charged $0.15 per response over 1000 even though you are technically buying the audience from SM. 2) Only wanted the survey to be sent to desktop/laptop users which I wasn't able to do directly so had to screen them out which meant it cost me a lot more than anticipated (and an extra question in my survey).

Daren
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 26/10/2020

We got the data super fast but most of it is unusable

It was easy to use, fast to get results, we ended up getting more respondents than we paid for, but in the end, based on inadequate reliability scores and hard to believe data, it was unusable.

Pros

We tried Audience recently and were eager to see the reliability of the data. Unfortunately the panel appears to be comprised of people who have become professional survey takers. Perhaps we should have increased our sample (we only requested 250), but if I did and the data was still unusable, it would be a costly mistake, I tried to add weights, exclude outliers, etc. it didn’t help. I have experience working with panels & have never been so disappointed. I would recommend trying a lower cost alternative like amazon Turk.

Cons

The data, the fact that I asked age, and some of these didn’t align with the age variable supplied by SM.

Josiah
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Great Support

They assisted me getting the survey configured towards the targeted group. When an issues arouse in the responses I was getting, they noticed before I did. They then went the extra mile to make sure I got want I needed and that I did not pay for things that were beyond my control.

Pros

Easy to use, was able to get a survey up and ready to go in a short time frame.

Cons

Hard to get the right people to take a survey these days; not really a flaw in the product, just a fact of life.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 16/04/2020

Outstanding for surveys!

Honestly, my experience with survey monkey has been very good. They have mastered the art of surveys, and I've had great interactions with tech support!

Pros

What Monkey is how easy it is to put together and manage surveys. In addition, they put together the relevant statistics and graphs on the responses in really time- love this!

Cons

Honestly, the only issue I have is that it's paid- and there are several free tools available (like Google Forms). Survey Monkey is certainly the most robust and professional, bit sometimes I don't need all it offers, and something free is better. Just keeping it real. :)

Stevie
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/05/2021

Great program for gathering info

Pros

I like that this software is easy to use and is an excellent tool for gathering data on customers, as well as for getting feedback from customers.

Cons

There wasn’t really anything that I didn’t like about this software.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2020

Easy-to-use panel survey tool allowing to collect feedback from worldwide panel of respondents

Overall the product is good and most importantly it is very cost effective. You can get a survey filled in by plenty of people within an hour or so after the survey is published.

Pros

Easy to setup and customize. Cost effective. You get the best value at lowest cost. A massive force of respondents.

Cons

integrating it with a third party software like MS Access to build reports out of collected dataset is a time consuming task.

41 reviews