GitLab Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About GitLab

GitLab is a cloud-based project management platform that allows software developers to develop and manage codes collaboratively. The platform can be deployed either on-premise or in the cloud. GitLab helps developers manage the...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.2

Browse GitLab Reviews

1,101 of 1,101 reviews
Sort by:
Onur
Onur
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/08/2023

Gitlab Review

I really like using Gitlab CI. We are building and deploying our applications using Gitlab CI mostly every day. It's very stable and fast. So that m overall experience is very good with Gitlab CI.

Pros

The working style of most of the CI/CD tools are similar in the background. The ones that has better UI and fast responses are making a difference in the market. Gitlab CI, by far has the best UI. The button clicks, flows and placement of the features are very well-designed.

Cons

I cannot say least but I would be happier if Gitlab adds more UI features in CI/CD level.

Alternatives Considered

Circle and Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We were not satisfied with the CI/CD tool that we were using because of stability problems.

Switched From

Jenkins

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We just compared the UI/UX experience of all alternative producsts and Gitlab and decided to move forward with it. In technical terms, also Gitlab CI is very satisfying.
Andy
Andy
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/08/2022

The first step to using Git on your computer is from this tool

I think it's good that you can use it in basically the same way as GitHub, and that you can manage it by making use of your existing knowledge. Also, I think it's nice that GitLab has unique features that are easier to use, such as a feature that changes the display of the file icon for each file extension.

Pros

Using Git as a configuration management tool is already common sense (essential), but I think this software is the most used for remote (distributed) development. There are many cases where you install Git on each person's terminal and operate the commands, but if it is team development and you can't use an "external (public Internet) repository", it is better to set up and operate a Git repository with GitLab I think it will be the safest and standard way to use Git.

Cons

I guess there is no choice but to get used to it, but I would like to see more visual changes and expressions (messages) when conflicts occur that are easier to understand for beginners. After all, I'd like to see them develop an interface that makes it easier to understand the concept of Git configuration in the first place.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

With the end of MS-VSS support and the trend of the times, it was necessary to use Git for configuration management, and I was looking for a Git configuration management tool that could be used by groups (and remotely) instead of individuals, so we decided to implement GitLab.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

I think it is the first candidate for managing the configuration of development assets in internal development (because the use of Git itself is a global standard). There was a feature that changed the display of the file icon for each file extension, and it had the advantage that it was possible to reduce the file selection error. Also, unlike GitHub, it has not been acquired by Microsoft, so I think it is an advantage that it can be used with confidence in terms of security.
Emiliano
Emiliano
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 22/09/2020

It's good but, definitely not the best

It works fine, and it's a good alternative for the usual Bitbucket, Jira and Bamboo (or Jenkins) combo that's commonly found on the corporate world. I'd recommend to consider Github Teams or Github Enterprise.

Pros

- Unlike Github, it can be installed locally, it also makes it highly customizable
- It has CI/CD functionality integrated
- It has code search and indexing
- It's integrated with a docker registry and multiple code repositories

Cons

- It's highly monolithic, if some feature fails, most of the times everything fails
- It's not easy to clusterize the service
- It's not easy to update, nor to migrate to a new server
- It costs the same to use the self-hosted than the cloud-hosted version
- Gitlab CI/CD shared (both free and paid minutes) run on a GCE Kubernetes cluster without any fixed IP address so it's hard to access your servers unless you open ports publicly or create a VPN tunnel

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

It was more modern than Bitbucket, and Github lacked a self-hosted version

Top GitLab Alternatives

Deepak
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/03/2024

Best tool for source code repository

Pros

Easily manage the versions
Able to create ci/cd pipeline

Cons

Na.

Gregory
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 09/01/2024

A good product if you stay within its limits

I would not choose Gitlab over Github if I have a choice because the CI system on Github is better and so many people know how to use Github that it's just a better place for open source software I believe. If I am working on closed-source software and Gitlab has already been selected then I wouldn't object, it'll get the job done well.

Pros

I like Gitlab in most ways. It has great task management that integrates well with code changes. As a Git server, it does everything you need. It's relatively easy to administrate. If you stick with the well-supported features then Gitlab will serve you well.

Cons

The technology is showing its age and can be frustrating to use. Integrating custom runners can be shockingly painful. I have run into UI bugs that allow tasks to be run before their dependencies are met which has caused serious release problems. Designing pipelines without a system like Github actions is incredibly fiddly and error prone.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

The choice of my employer, made before I joined the team

Switched From

GitHub
Matthew
Matthew
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/09/2021

Powerful toolset that are available on premise!

I am happy with the toolset - very grateful to the gitlab community for the work done on this. It allows small startup companies to create their own instance and manage gitlab CI deployment pipelines.

Pros

I am not constrained at all by a company like GitHub or Bitbucket. It allows my team to have faith that what we are working on - remains in house. For piece of mind - without using git native.

Cons

Difficult to setup for the uninitiated linux administrator. Administration and upgrades are also difficult to do.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

I needed to ensure that our repositories are private and held on premise.

Switched From

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

GitLab is totally free and can be hosted on premise.
Brad
Brad
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/07/2020

GitLab is a must for development teams

Pros

I love the Boards for tracking Issues in their life cycle. Customizable Columns and Labels make it quick and easy to see where an Issue is, giving a high level for management and the rest of the team, while having all the details and attached code branches and merge requests for the developer and stakeholders. I love how it's able to connect code from several projects to Issues, no matter where they live, so you can have as many boards and projects as you like! It's well put together and seems natural with everything I try to do organization-wise. Integrates really well with developers' workflows.

Cons

GitLab is always improving and enables you to request features, so if you want something, suggest it and they'll get to it! Sometimes that's a bit slow, but you can usually work around it.

Bruno
Bruno
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 03/08/2019

Why use Github when we have GitLab?

Pros

I can have private software git repositories by free. Differently by Github, that charges you to have a private repository. The interface is beautiful, has a wiki, and the commits work fine from Linux.

Cons

Doesn't exist an app to make the commits (like in GitHub), thus you just need to use the terminal line (which shouldn't be a problem for any programmer), and the community isn't very well developed, thus you still will need to go to Github to find software repositories.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/11/2023

Gitlab: Your source code manager

It promotes my productivity while coding, by helping in debugging the code with many excellent features and functions

Pros

I like the level of flexibility it provides and number of features to control my source code is really good

Cons

Some features of the privious version are missing and it's set up is really complex for new people

Nathan
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/03/2024

GitLab for Mechanical and Electrical Engineers

It's great for small teams! It's hard to get people to use this over a "sharedrive", but it has significantly more features.

Pros

It has all the necessary features for revision control for projects with a few people on it.

Cons

There is not a great way to teach this to people who are coming in from a CAD system like Catia, Solidworks, or Creo. There is not a great way to teach this to PCB designers that are coming from KiCAD or Altium. It would be great to have a GUI for those that aren't using a traditional codebase.

Luca
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 26/09/2019

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

Pros

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more.
I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

Cons

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Edward
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/07/2020

Git Awesome

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

Pros

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

Cons

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Alternatives Considered

Jira , Bitbucket and Confluence

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.
Morgan
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/02/2022

A great hosted Git SCM solution

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

Pros

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

Cons

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Pius
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/05/2022

Gitlab

Satisfactory! Started out on the free plan, and as the project grew and I needed more space and developers on it we upgraded and even got more access to more tools to better streamline our DevOps processes and overall project development.

Pros

Gitlab offers you a secure space to store and manage your git repositories, for personal use and or for your organization's development team. You can easily assign tasks to team members, and track and follow up on them with clearly laid out and categorized Kanban boards.

Cons

Gitlab's UI and UX are quite overwhelming for a first-time user. If you are new to Gitlab and you haven't used a similar platform like Github or Bitbucket before, you will definitely need a little training to fully utilize your Gitlab space. Make sure to get through the entire onboarding tutorial to avoid feeling lost because it's all going to seem very clunky and difficult to find your way at the beginning.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We did not entirely shift. We work with both Gitlab and Github for different projects within the organization.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We were already working with Github and found that Gitlab was a powerful solution we could add to our stack. We use GitLab for specific projects that are more timebound and we need to move fast on.
David
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/04/2023

Gitlab review

We really like GitLab, we were able to use it for fully automated development procedure which saves us large amount of time and help us to isolate the bugs before switching to production.

Pros

Gitlab gives us sufficient features to support source code management, user administration and Continuous integration for reasonable pricing

Cons

There is really nothing in my mind which I specifically do not like about the GitLab but If there would be room for improvement, We would appreciate more features for CI/CD integration testing.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

We transit after the Github was acquired from Microsoft. We were not sure which path GitHub will takes after the acquisition. the transition to GitLab was super easy and safe solution.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

pricing and security features
Istvan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/08/2019

Gitlab: A Feature-full alternative to Github

We are utilizing gitlab to handle our code versioning and our continous integration and delivery pipeline. This includes our whole workflow from writting code to building it, testing it and deploying it to production.

Pros

- Excellent UI that is easy to understand: many of our developers are migrating for the first time from other software (github, bitbucket) and a constant comment is that the ui is intuitive and easy to understand compared to previous software. The transition is always smooth.
- Feature-full product: Gitlab offers a variety of features that I have found to be excellent and of high quality. The code-review process in gitlab is always smooth with the ability to resolve or re-open discussions, address specific comments or the whole of the discussion, the ability to suggest and even apply and commit code from the ui is also a huge plus. The IDE is decent and the file editor is also decent. The CI/CD integration with gitlab runners is smooth, the notification system is great. I get an email whenever a test fails. All from the gitlab ecosystem, i do not need to go to circleCi or some other provider for all of this, which allows the ui and experience to be consistent.

Cons

At this very moment there is no feature or issue that I have found to be detrimental to my experience.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

At the moment of the switch, Gitlab offered free private repos. At the moment both Github and Gitlab have this feature; however, I would not switch back to Github due to the ecosystem i've grown accustomed to in gitlab.

Switched From

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

At the moment, mostly private repositories. Over time, it became a matter of more bang-for-the-buck: more features, a friendlier Ui, more polished software.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/02/2021

The All-in-One orchestration tool for CICD

Overall, I am very pleased with the GitLab experience since it provides a single stop window for developers and admins

Pros

GitLab provides all-in-one capability for developers to do Source Code Management, CI/CD automation, Security and coding standards checks. Earlier we used to have separate tools for each of the above functions, but moving to Gitlab we now have a single stop-shop for all our Application Development and Automation needs. I see many other companies are trying to follow the gitlab methodology but gitlab is way ahead of the competetion.

Cons

Project and Portfolio management can still have improvements to provide Roadmap and Grantt views in future versions

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Moving to a single stop window instead of disparate tools

Switched From

Jenkins and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

GitHub has just started GitHub actions and will take at least a year to provide similar capabilities
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/08/2022

A must have tool for version controlling and software development process

GitLab is my everyday tool which I use for my course project management. I am really happy with its simple and easy-to-use open source support.

Pros

Gitlab has features to set up project wiki, deployment, CI/CD pipeline and managing the project with role management with adequate space for personal projects.

Cons

The documentations are bit confusing and third party plug in integration is bit difficult and confusing.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Open source and easier to use.

Switched From

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Gitlab is easier to use compared to GitHub and BitBucket.
Londou Jacques
Londou Jacques
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/05/2023

GitLab one of the best code versoinnig tools

GitLab has a large and active community of contributors who help maintain and improve the platform

Pros

GitLabprovides a complete end-to-end solution for software development, from source code management and version control to deployment and monitoring. This can be very convenient for teams who want to consolidate their development workflow in a single platform.

Cons

One potential limitation is the complexity of the platform. While GitLab's comprehensive feature set can be a strength, it can also make the platform more challenging to use and configure, especially for smaller teams or organizations.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 02/05/2019

Awesome Git Service

Pros

GitLab is a great place to host git repositories - for both private and commercial use. With its pretty and intuitive design, GitLab offers a great experience to work with. Collaboration is managed in a really great way.
Their pricing is also amazing: it's mostly free to use. We've had multiple private repos on GitLab for years now and haven't had any reason to upgrade to a paid plan so far.

Cons

GitLab's customer support team is really slow at responding to support requests. However, since I'm on a free plan, that's okay and I think they probably allocate all of their support resources to their paying users - and that's totally fine.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

We first hosted all our repos on Bitbucket, but GitLab allowed us to add more users to our repositories for free. It also offered more integrations such as Sentry which was a big selling point for us. GitHub didn't offer free private repos at the time which was the main reason we went for GitLab instead.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 18/07/2019

Very solid Git server

Very satisfied and will consider it also for the next professional projects.

Pros

The installation is pretty straight forward and easy. It's the only free git server solution I found that offers LFS support. We started our project without the support of Git LFS but as the project grew, we had to find a solution and transfer our repository to an LFS ready server. GitLab offered the perfect solution, allowing us to keep our existing SSH keys for authentication, existing LDAP users and transfer our existing project pretty easily. Since then, we never ran into issues and the server is running smoothly since the first day.

Cons

The server is based on RoR so it's heavier than a simple Git Server. You need to make sure you have enough resources to get it to run properly.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

SSH authentication + LFS, installed on our own server.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/12/2018

Great Open Source Software!

The overall experience was good. It's highly recommended for companies who want host their code in their own infra and are ready to maintain the code hosting software itself

Pros

I use the GitLab Community Edition (CE) and the first thing I love about it is it's Open Source! I am a believer of Open source software! In my company, we host our own instance of GitLab CE and it's been smooth. We use it for source code hosting and for CI/CD. Source code hosting has been great. CI/CD is nice too. GitLab has all the features required by a code hosting software - groups, groups within groups, repos, role based access control for members. Members can also be grouped with names - helpful to create a group for a team and add members to the group and give access to the team/group. It has forking, SSH/HTTPS git repo access, Notification/Watch repo features. It also has lots of integrations. We use slack a lot and we have integrations with slack which GitLab provides, and we have configured it to get notified for different things, starting from commit pushes to pipeline failures. We also use the GitLab pages for hosting the Wiki site for repos. It's pretty neat! The GitLab CI/CD has the concept of runners which run the CI/CD tasks/jobs. Runners have tags, and you can easily use the appropriate tag in the config to run the task in the appropriate runner. We use different runners for different things like, pushing to a Docker registry (requires special permissions), accessing a prod DB/application, running normal tasks (scripts) etc. All in all, it's quite good

Cons

Although GitLab has lots of features. I do have some complaints about it. I hope that newer versions will make my complaints obsolete! Starting with the CI/CD, it's quite good. But it lacks some features and flexibility which we expect in the upcoming versions. Features like one CI/CD pipeline triggering another pipeline (not present in CE, not sure about Enterprise Edition) and things like grouping jobs in a stage. Also, the CI/CD UI is not very good. It has glitches, there's no auto refresh in all the UIs to show the status of a job - if it's successful or if it failed. The job UI also isn't very great, like, if the job names or stage names are big, it becomes tough to read. Also, when the job log is very big, it reloads the page when the job finishes and truncates the output of the job and makes it available for download instead. This can be good or bad, based on the use case. For us, it was mostly not a soothing experience.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/12/2019

Great platform to host your project!

Overall, GitLab is a good for development. Most commonly used features such as MR and code review work very well on GitLab. The best feature on GitLab is CI/CD, it has everything you need to build an automated pipeline, from build agents to container registry.
However, the exploration feature is not as robust as other services and there is still a lot of rooms for improvement.

Pros

GitLab CI is great. The GitLab CI/CD language allows us to build complex pipelines easily, pipeline's configs are stored in the repository as well, so we can manage everything in one place. GitLab also has built-in Docker registry. We have both our build pipeline and our images hosted on GitLab.
The pricing is also flexible, I recommend it for both startup and large enterprises.

Cons

Explore Projects feature can be better, it would be more useful if we have a filter to select projects by technologies.
Should support templates on the job level, so it can be reused between multiple environments.
Lack of integration: there are not many 3rd party services that integrate with GitLab for now.

Alternatives Considered

GitHub and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitLab

Better CI/CD

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitLab

Better CI/CD
Prince
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/10/2022

GitLab - The Forefront of Source Control which Helps You Move Forward

Overall, GitLab has been a really solid addition to our workspace. It allows us to collaborate much easier and gives us the opportunity to add tests and validations in our pipelines so that whenever code is deployed, it can be checked for quality assurance and take the appropriate actions based on the results. The amount of features GitLab is packed with, it may be a while before I am able to learn it all but also be able to make use of it all. I will say this however is that whenever I do learn something new, it is often a welcomed change and either myself or my team is ecstatic and excited to not only implement the newly discovered feature, but also to reap the benefits of the sweet update or enhancement! Great job GitLab, cheers!

Pros

GitLab does its best to help you with what you may need in order to promote quality code deployments with tools and resources to become a more collaborative team. With source control and hosting repositories as its primary objective, GitLab extends to its users an extensive suite of tools and controls to ensure only quality code is committed and only by those that is desired. With features like code reviews, pipeline validations, and allowing for integration of automated tests, its hard to imagine low quality or bug infested code to get through to your production or master code branches.

Cons

Honestly, its not easy to pick out cons of such a great tool in your arsenal. Given that so much goes so well once you've integrated everything properly, the only things that come to mind are more of a annoyance rather than an issue and coincidentally, they're all based on the UI or aspects that don't interfere with the workflow or the work itself. One of which is that GitLab does not offer a dark mode of its UI. Given we are developers and spend most of our time looking at computer screen, It would be lovely to be able to darken the UI so that its not so straining to our eyes. Secondly, we have split up our GitLab in to various teams where each of the teams have access to their own folders/repository. Unfortunately, whenever someone from ANY of these sub-repos is given access, opens a new merge request, or is making comments on a merge request, everyone gets an email about it. It can be very frustrating and I'm not really sure if this setting can be changed from a User level but I would really love it if they can.

Noel
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 13/10/2020

Powerful version control with a confusing UI

Overall I have enjoyed working with GitLab. Our build pipeline was very customized so that it matches the exact process we wanted, and when there is a build issue, the problem is easy to identify and correct. The UI is a bit cluttered and unintuitive but it just takes a bit of extra time to get accustomed to.

Pros

Gitlab has been a great collaborative tool for us which allows for very customize-able build pipelines and easy issue tracking. The ability to add comments to code snippets and open up un-resolved threads allows you to stay on top of suggestions. Having to manually resolve those threads on your code comments before merge means that you are unlikely to accidentally push code forward without addressing those suggestions. There are also a good number of settings that allow you to control options such as how you want to handle merge commits, giving you complete control over your repository.

Cons

The main issue I have with GitLab is that the UI can be confusing and unclear. I am not a fan of the stacked diff view when comparing code changes. Compared to another version control system like BitBucket, I find it a bit more work to sort through the changes in a merge request. It's something you get used to, but initially is a bit unintuitive and less enjoyable.

1,101 reviews