User Reviews Overview

About Salesforce Marketing Cloud

Audience Studio is a data management platform (DMP) designed to help businesses deliver personalized marketing experiences by capturing and storing data signals from multiple sources. Advertisers can utilize machine learning...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3.5

Browse Salesforce Marketing Cloud Reviews

272 of 263 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 31/07/2020

Streer clear of Marketing Cloud if you're a small company

It's 2020 and this product has the UX of the 2000's and a backlog of tech debt and bugs for a premium price. For a small business I'd HIGHLY recommend going with something else. Not only do you pay a PREMIUM price for Marketing Cloud, but you'll also end up spending more time than you should trying to figure out this product.

There are "features" that exist, like data conversion on automations, but you'll have to spend time figuring out that they exist so you can e-mail support and request they turn them on, when they should have just been there in the first place.

Pros

I like that Send Time Optimization was included, this was extra with the previous e-mail marketing product we used.

Cons

First, we ended up in Google's black hole even when following the plan laid out by our integration partner. That you need an integration partner to get a small business setup should have been a huge red flag, but we thought we were stepping up to a more powerful e-mail product.

There are bugs everywhere. Our integration partner had many tips like making sure to unselect an e-mail reselect it and stop and start a trigger to make sure the new e-mail is used, these are things that should be handled by the UX and not tribal knowledge. We used alias in our e-mails to aid in reporting, but sometimes they show up in the report and sometimes it shows the original URL. We opened a ticket and months later it was closed with no resolution, because there's a back end bug in their system that they believed was causing the issue.

There's a lot of duplicated functionality that has different features. Want to manage your data extension you can do it in Email Studio or Contact Builder, BUT the features are different between the two. You can only easily add records in one of them so you have to remember which one you can do a specific action in.

Their reporting is limited on Journey's and you'll need to extract all the data to do any deep dives. You'll need to use Journey's if you want to use send time optimization or any of the AI logic, so you're guaranteed to have to build your own reporting in your own tools. We needed this to realize we were in the Google black hole.

Kristen D.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 07/08/2019

Incredible tool, make sure you have an infrastructure

An incredible tool when an infrastructure is in place that will allow for collaboration between marketing and sales as well as support in place for the sales team so they don’t get bogged down with the administrative component. If you are a Manager then you will love these reports.

Pros

As a provider of digital marketing automation (email, social, ads) and analytics, is great when it comes to connecting the dots between what you know about customers and what marketing materials you should send to them. The Journey Building feature is incredible for this. This also allows you to set triggers and make intelligent automation decisions.

Cons

Make sure you have an infrastructure in place that will allow for the immense amount of data entry and data maintenance necessary to keep the CRM up-to-date and allow intelligent marketing insights and automation to even be possible. You don’t want to make marketing decisions based on an accurate CRM information.

Nick T.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/10/2015

Salesforce is Still King of the Hill, even in Marketing

Salesforce is the central repository for our business. All of our user activities like signups, payment history, the apps they have used and when, our marketing communications, our presentation collateral, and our customer support....all lie within the Salesforce cloud. It is the key to our customer facing business, and the Marketing Cloud is just one more piece to the puzzle.

Pros

Marketing Automation is hugely important to any business looking to scale their user base. SFDC's Marketing Cloud allows all communications that go to customers to be tracked, seamlessly within your overall SFDC instance. Campaigns to different groups are a cinch to setup. They have a nice, graphic UI for overall management, much better than the core SFDC stuff, for sure. Overall, this is a great tool to add to your company toolkit.

Cons

Maybe I am in the minority, but just about anything in Salesforce takes a little bit more time to learn than it seems like it should. Their UI is a touch clunky, and it certainly could use more design.

Top Salesforce Marketing Cloud Alternatives

Kristina W.
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/07/2018

Salesforce super easy

Pros

Easy to find accounts and account information. If I need to know who their customers account manager is, Salesforce will tell me who is assigned.

Cons

Wish it was linked up with our system SAP. We have accounts that get transferred out of reps names and into another. Just wish the salesforce would stay in tune with that information.

Kyle B.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/05/2018

Great Tool for Managing Large-Scale Deliverability

Pros

This product is great and really assisted our team with getting our clients messages delivered efficiently to the inbox. The level of reporting is stellar and the company is great

Cons

Great products generally cost a premium and this is no exception. While not really a con, you need to know what you can afford and see if what you get meets the demand.

Robert W.
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 10/10/2017

Great for managers to pull reports - HORRIBLE for salespeople who create teh informationi on...

As I said, this produces great reports for managers.
And managment is the deparmtnet that ends up making purchases of solutions like this.
Without ever consulting the actual in-the-trenches sales team.
So they buy it for their needs butn not for the needs of their sales reps.
Consequently, the number of meetings increases trying to fiuge re out why sales have dropeed and outbound calls have dropped, etc.
And this takes motre time away from active selling.
Salesforce creates a downward spirtal in sales.

Pros

It's better than using 3 x 5 index cards

Cons

Too many boxes to be checked on every single contact attempt that is made.
Difficult to use.
Extremely slow for a sales rep trying to mak any number of calls.
I used to use GOLDMINE and made twice the number of calls daily than I could when I had to use SaleForce.
These are very true numbers. easily made 70 - 100 calls a day with Goldmaine.
Only able to make about 30-35 tops using Sales Force.

Dick J.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

1
Reviewed on 25/09/2018

Buggy Buggy Buggy!

All in all this solution has a long way to go before it's a good product. There are much better alternatives in the marketing automation space. I have faith in this solution long term because it is owned by Salesforce.com.

Pros

Features are good in concept. Support takes at most a day to get back to you on cases. Support can usually help you, but not always.

Cons

Documentation is poor and almost always not descriptive enough and outdated. The system itself is very buggy. The typical response from support is "Just start fresh" in regard to whatever you're working on. We have a Sales cloud integration which does not work well with Marketing cloud. The connector is antiquated and it's impossible to leverage synchronized data extensions in journeys and other marketing content.

Nilesh K.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/11/2017

Easy to use

Pros

Good customer support.
Integrations all over the place
Easy-to-use drag and drop email templates.
Good reporting tools.

Cons

Outdated Interface.
It is somewhat in the costly side.
Sometimes it does act slow.
It can get very messy.

Cody S.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 07/11/2017

Great software for fundraisers!

Good product for your money!

Pros

I worked in fundraising and this software was great for when you needed to send out targeted emails to specific campaigns and/or reports built through Salesforce. It also integrated well with Exact Target.

Cons

You are going to want to familiarize yourself with Salesforce in general before using. Also, customer service is almost nonexistent.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/03/2021

Helpful tool for work teams

Pros

You are able to view and respond to emails from all of your coworkers which helps with workload management.

Cons

Often has glitches that needs IT help to fix.

Mark J.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 14/04/2017

SalesForce for Nonprofits

SalesForce has a long learning curve. A rudimentary knowledge of it can take you a long way, but you will not be making full use of it -- especially as a nonprofit, that normally would have limited resources.

Pros

There are many great features about SalesForce, including the AppExchange. It gives us a lot of flexibility with regards to events, volunteer management and donation recordings. The feature of recording contacts is easy and prominent, unlike other systems where it is hidden.

Cons

Although it advertises itself with a feature to compose and create newsletters, the feature is not user-friendly and it is awkward to use. It is easy to create text but tough to format. Several apps in the product are repetitive when creating a contact, especially in the Auctions for SalesForce feature.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/10/2017

The main player in their space

Pros

Salesforce is a household name when it comes to marketing and sales automation in the cloud. They have been around for quite some time.

Cons

Can be expensive and may not be worth the value if you are too small of a company or don't use many of the features.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/06/2018

Data Segmentation

Pros

I like that Marketing Cloud is reliable. You can count on the product to do what you tell it to do. Be sure to double check yourself several times to ensure you are asking the server to do what you really want it to do, as it will only do what you instruct it to do.

Cons

I wish the SQL queries and import file functions did not time out at 30 minutes. This is very limiting for some of the queries that we need to run. What would be nice is to have a loading/ processing bar that showed the amount of processing time left for the query or import file.

Udaya Y.
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 08/09/2016

Salesforce is cloud based and is user friendly .

Pros

Its very user friendly from the beginning to the end of quote generation, store the price list, store contacts as data base, request a follow up reminder, create customized templates.

Cons

First time user need a free training, as there are loads of information to digest.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/08/2018

Lots of features

Pros

Salesforce Marketing Cloud has a lot of very useful features from tiggers, to custom drip campaigns.

Cons

Honestly you almost need to take a course to learn how to use their software, because there is so much to it. Also I wish their UI didn't look so old school.

Shah abdul latif B.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 17/01/2018

A Mega tool for a mega campaign

Despite the lack of a free trial, this application has its own potential and that is severely huge. It could be an overkill in features for most of the small business who require promotions via simple email newsletter, but if there are dedicated teams working for this purpose, then this program is a huge asset up in their arsenal.

Pros

Complete solution for Email, Mobile and Web marketing. Lots of features to select from and can be expanded by integrating with other Sales force tools. It has a powerful API to support developers further expand its potential. Predictive content, Automation Studio, Custom roles and real time Data Segmentation add up quite a lot to its sleeves.

Cons

Steep learning curve, Poor Customer service, Fairly expensive for most of the users. No free trial program

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/09/2018

World Class Marketing Communication Platform

Creation and distribution of marketing newsletters to our customers as well as journey building to measure the success of our tradeshows.

Pros

You don't have to be a web designer to create marketing newsletters and promotions. Before this tool, we used to have to rely on our marketing agency to create all of our marketing newsletters. Once the template is created, it is easy to modify its contents and tailor the design for our various communications. We have also be using this tool to identify leads gathered in tradeshows. With the journey builder, we can identify hot leads and measure the success of our tradeshows.

Cons

I have no dislikes for this software as it has greatly enhanced our ability to communicate effectively with our customers and enables us to measure the success of the communication.

Samantha K.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 06/06/2017

Salesforce Experience

We can see how much this will help our business!

Pros

We have a Roofing company and it really suits our business model and increases our productivity. We have all the info we need in sales to manage our clients, and there are so many other aspects to the software we can roll out over time. The Trail head training is great.

Cons

There is so much functionality, some more basis set up examples would have been helpful, but we were able to find everything we needed

Elaine S.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/01/2017

A very complex system

When you send hundreds of thousands of emails, it seems you're destined to be tied into a system like this. It's very powerful, but it's extremely complex. Even for an experienced email developer, it takes awhile to get used to building triggers and actually sending emails.

The tools keep improving somewhat, but they're still very cumbersome. I wish they would spend more time making things easier and lighter weight instead of complex and bloated.

Pros

Very powerful. Good support.

Cons

Extremely expensive and complicated.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 08/04/2021

Powerful, complex outreach marketing suite

We are a business team and not the direct owners of the CRM layer. Using Salesforce occasionally for project-specific campaigns requires a lot of assistance from expert consultants or more experienced coworkers.

Pros

End-to-end campaign management for direct emails and omni-channel customer journeys. Powerful tools to segment, address and followup the customer base.

Cons

Very powerful but very complex interface: mastering its potential requires significant knowledge and hands-on experience.

Angela S.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/03/2018

Great Business Software

Pros

Salesforce has released a new interface that makes their system better than it ever was. There is so many options in this software that will help automate your business processes.

Cons

I have always found the reports a little confusing. They are extremely robust but take a little while to get used to the learning curve.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 21/11/2018

Helps let you know where prospects are in sales process

Pros

This program is great for letting you know where prospects are in the sales process. For instance, I can generate a report that details who has opened most of our company emails; accordingly, it gives insight as to who to market to further because he or she likes our brand/service offering. Consequently, as a marketer I can focus more efforts on converting those leads.

Cons

The program has a lot of functionality, including bells and whistles that can seem intimidating at first. To really maximize the value of the program, I will need some additional training. Salesforce does provide some when evaluating the product but not enough.

Maria C.
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 16/08/2017

Time consuming, no customer support

Pros

It has basic email marketing functions, so you can do content creation and send out an email campaign, as well as tracking the results

Cons

There is no customer support at all, the pricing is very high, especially the email per send rate. It would cost b2c companies a lot of money for every email campaign.

Shari R.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/06/2021

Stellar Software for Marketing Endeavors!!

My overall experience with Salesforce Marketing Cloud has been satisfactory. Suits all of my marketing management needs.

Pros

What do I like most about this software? EVERYTHING! The platform allows you to manage multiple things in an organized and clear manner. Highly recommended for developing marketing plans, achieving marketing goals, and managing teams.

Cons

It will require some sort of training, whether through your company or from training courses online to fully understand how everything works. It’s possible to learn on your own, however you will definitely catch useful things in a training course.

Jody Z.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 02/02/2017

Good for hotel Sales

I have used Salesforce many times in the past. It is flexible and I like having the app, so I may enter notes in my car right after a sales call. It adapts to my business very well.

Pros

I like the phone application

Cons

It is a bit pricy.

272 reviews