User Reviews Overview

About MYOB Business

MYOB Business accounting software is designed to help businesses of any size across Australia and New Zealand take care of GST, invoices, reporting, expenses & payroll (including Single Touch Payroll). Designed to save time,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.5
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3

Browse MYOB Business Reviews

91 of 91 reviews
Sort by:
Lynley A. Lynley A.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/11/2021

MYOB Business review

Pros

Bank feeds, scan bills, look up and search functions. Also the general ledger allows headings and subheadings (Xero does not)

Cons

Could connect to more third-party software.

Paul T. Paul T.
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/06/2021

MYOB for Tradies

I had little to do with the software save reading my payslips and annual payment summary. These werre accurate and easy to read.

Pros

I received my payslips from the office and they were done on MYOB. They were easy to read and showed everything necessary

Cons

There was no app for my to use at the time to record timesheet activities. I had to make a google spreadsheet and email it. If I had an app then my pays would be uploaded and so less mistakes would have occurred.

Adam K. Adam K.
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 18/09/2020

not to bad...quit easy to use.

Customer service can be slow to respond. That said when you do get onto them they do know how to assist.

Pros

Simple and easy to use. A good range of add on products.

Cons

No real ability to grow with your business.
Its really only suitable SME

Top MYOB Business Alternatives

Adam C. Adam C.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/08/2017

A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow

This software is easy to use and organize. This software allows me to track and update information easily and in a timely manner

Pros

I like the dashboards that show the flow of information from beginning to end. Reconciling the bank is very easy to do as well as enter in new sales and purchases. It's also very easy to export data into excel if additional analysis is needed outside of MYOB.

Cons

Generating sales reports, P&Ls, and BS is a bit cumbersome. It would also be nice if it had a 'dashoboard' feature, like xero, that shows all the relevant information on one page. Having one spot to go to for most of the day's relevant information would be very helpful

Mark S. Mark S.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 26/08/2020

MYOB Review

Pros

I like that it has been around for many many years, and the functionality has NEVER changed or been improved

Cons

The lack of development and modernisation of the product

Alternatives Considered

Xero
Michele H. Michele H.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/12/2018

ease of use

Makes my work life convenient

Pros

Helps a lot with accounting work for clients. Myob essential version allows me to log in and work on in where ever I’m located (as long as I have internet access)

Cons

Only worked when there is internet access available, not available offine.

Ellie P. Ellie P.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/11/2018

Friendly user

To be more flexible on forms and reports

Pros

Editing and backup easy to manage and restore function for any error or lost of data to be fixed easily

Cons

Cannot customise report and limited on letters and character to be insert. Control on printing page is not user friendly

Karen Y. Karen Y.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 16/01/2019

MYOB for business

Pros

I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB seems the only one which is capable of doing accounting tasks in Australia

Cons

I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB online version seems poorly designed, not suitable for multitasking

Ivan M. Ivan M.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/09/2018

A Solid Piece Of Software

Pros

I have used MYOB for years, it's perfect for getting the job done, and easy to use.

Cons

Sometimes the ability to change or delete transactions is a little bit dangerous.

Harinder S. Harinder S.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 03/03/2019

Call center people don't know what they are doing or how to setup licence properly

Horrible experience so far with MYOB, time I have waste every day to get my MYOB going is beyond limit as I have other things to do.

Pros

Overall software is not bad but support team is not trained enough to sort out all the issues customer might have. I know my licence issue not been resolved from last two months!!!

Cons

I'm trying to sort out my licence issue from last two months but unfortunately it is still keep going. I have to spend couple of hours on phone to get it sorted and they assure it won't happen again but after couple of weeks and sometime every next day it stop working and keep asking for renew your subscription.
I'm very much pissed off with support people as it seems like they don't know shit and I'm thinking to change to xero instead.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 12/06/2018

Good software for offline accounting. you can work on Myob for all your accounting &and...

Good for accounting & Book-keeping offline.

Pros

Its functioning is good. You can easily get your Accounting data customized by preparing P&L account & Balance sheet

Cons

1. You have to take backup by your self no self backup facility.
2. Difficult to understand the reporting process.

Ian B. Ian B.
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 16/07/2021

AccountEdge support discontinued. MYOB recommended Essentials

Pathetic

Pros

After speaking to the sales lady I was impressed and once downloaded and data migrated it looked great. However the further I delved into it the more disappointed I became. Really the sales lady should never had recommended it. I've now wasted a week loading data to find that it 's not suitable for my needs. My big mistake was not taking a free trial first. Unfortunately I went on the sales ladies word. That word was worthless. Oversold and under delivered. It's a very basic accounting package.

Cons

Lack of features compared to AccountEdge for Mac. It's clunky and even difficult to find workarounds.

Elizabeth W. Elizabeth W.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 23/08/2021

Upgrade of platform rubbish

Very frustrating, dissatisfaction and disappointment.
Will be looking at Xero.

Pros

Nothing about the new upgraded platform, all information has to transferred over.
Too many gimmicks of cartoon characters , boxes with useless information and graphs taking up half of the dashboard. Support of myob is very inexperienced and wasted 3 hrs on the phone to resolve payroll issues.
Did not ask or want the upgrade now paying more for a useless product.

Cons

Navigation is too complex, nothing is clear and simple.
Super is not calculated correctly, some of the information has not migrated over with the new platform had to re input details. A lot of wasted time.

Kerry F. Kerry F.
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/12/2016

Easy accounting

I have used MYOB in different formats and found this the simplest and quickest to use and would recommend to anyone running a business.

Pros

Quick to use

Cons

Reports

Kirsten R. Kirsten R.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/10/2018

A good option

Pros

That it is pretty user friendly and you can do most functions you want to

Cons

You need to have a good understanding about bookkeeping

Ludovic C. Ludovic C.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/05/2017

Very easy to set up and to use

Pros

Payroll is very easy. Bank feed, bank rules and reconciliation help to save a lot of time. Very simple dashboard. Good support.

Cons

No scan of documents on the go. No app to use the software yet. Don't offer all the functionalities of the computer version

Dave B. Dave B.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 23/01/2018

Low J. Low J.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/05/2021

Great accounting software

For accounting and statistical analysis of market survey data.

Pros

Feature-rich, more than enough features.

Many built-in functions and formulae that can be used to speed up the process.

Cons

Design can be sleeker and more customisable, to make it more user friendly.

Inability to charge bulk transactions.

Joanne R. Joanne R.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/02/2021

MYOB - easy to use, does what you need

Offers features that I need to do to manage the Company Financials. Support has been great and responsive.

Pros

MYOB is intuitive for the user to use, easy to use, simple to setup, has all the features you need to manage the Company finances. Also when regulation changes it quickly incorporates those changes and explains easily how to use the feature.

Cons

MYOB can get quite slow around EOFY - needs more grunt put in place around these times for cloud hosting. There is no live chat within the application for support.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

Pricing and easier to use.
Lee P. Lee P.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 22/05/2017

The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a...

For a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work Breakdown Structure requirements it comes up short and becomes a limiter for the company. I get very frustrated with the after sales support system. It is not customer focused and leaves you wondering why you pay for it.

Pros

Good basic internal controls so novice bookkeepers can run day to day.
Easy to install and set up.
Reasonably cheap for what you get.
Handles GST well.

Cons

Not the best for Job costings.
Payroll system ordinary serious reporting drawbacks as far as information flow to the General Ledger.
Tends to freeze in reporting production which can lock out users.
Support service is very poor, you get the feeling the staff could care less in resolving issues.
Interactive screen supports not used you have to send a file and wait for a response.
Wait time on the phone for support is very bad.

Joe B. Joe B.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 29/12/2020

Manual System Converted into Digital

MYOB has changed the way we work, simplifies book keeping to take away so much pain

Pros

- Easy to signup and simple setup to get things started
- Pricing - Special offer for new start ups
- Invoice reminders
- Invoice templates look very professional
- Invoice shows when customer / vendor have viewed (SUPER HELPFUL)
- Intray for emailing receipts and tracking

Cons

- Not being able to invoice in multiple currencies, have to workarond this by invoicing in the charable foreign currency then after payment is recieved adjusting the template to the local amount that is received.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Choosing MYOB Business

Made the switch from doing everything the slow manual way! Can never turn back now

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

Price and special offer for new startups
Chris C. Chris C.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 16/10/2021

Not my first option but still a good system

Overall it is not my first preference and I prefer to use a competitor.

Pros

I stated my career using MYOB which was my favorite software. It couldn't be beat. But that was over a decade as ago. Since then other contenders have surpassed the software in both useability and practicality. MYOB is still good at the core, especially for accountants and people with an accounting background. However for business owners I think it could be a bit confusing and slightly intimidating.

Cons

One of my biggest pet peeves for MYOB is the rigid structure and inflexible ways to treat transactions. For example, if a bank transaction doesn't match to the cent, there is no quick way of recognizing the rounding error and processing the transaction. Instead a series of clicks into the transacting to edit the amount is required, disrupting your workflow.

Matthew K. Matthew K.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 18/05/2020

Don't start your business accounting with a regrettable decision, look elsewhere!

Underwhelming to say the least. I was partially sold on the fact that they have a customer service number to assist if need be, don't be fooled by this either, the call centre workers are rather unfamiliar with the MYOB product (unless I was unfortunate enough to speak with their newest member each time) and all my queries had to be looked up each time and they read answers from a screen which I could find on-line myself , they weren't able to elaborate nor answer any further questions I had outside of what was written in front of them.

Pros

Reasonably easy to use but have found Xero to be much better in almost every way.

Cons

Limited features and limited expandability compared to Xero. No was to have a back up of accounting file on your computer. If or once you decide Essentials ins't for you, they do not offer a way to transfer to their own Account Rite product nor do they off to export data to Xero. They will give you 1 month access as a read only before all data is deleted off their server unless you pay $25 Per month for the remaining 5 years you're required to keep the data

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

The only reason I foolishly chose MYOB was because of their time and name in the industry and I knew someone else who used MYOB and found them ok at the time but who is also now in the same situation as me and wanting to change over to Xero.
Michael B. Michael B.
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/05/2021

MYOB keeps us on track and informed

Pros

Ese of use, accessibility, features are simple, seamless integration, reporting functions, governance

Cons

None, it is clear and easy to use daily.

Chris F. Chris F.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/02/2017

This is great accounting Software thank you

I have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well
Especially after it went to cloud based

Pros

And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds

Cons

The cons are that it is too expensive for what it is

91 reviews