Practice Fusion Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Practice Fusion

Founded in 2005, Practice Fusion offers a cloud-based EHR that includes a suite of integrated features like charting, e-prescribing, patient scheduling, lab and imaging integration and more. Additionally, practices can qualify...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
3.2

Browse Practice Fusion Reviews

423 of 423 reviews
Sort by:
Michael
Michael
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2018

Practice Fusion is so easy to use and I create my own templates that fits my Chiropractic...

The streamline of my notes and the ease of using this program. I like customizing my notes based on my practice. The customer service is impeccable. I have already referred many friends to PF.

Pros

The ease of using this software and I get to create my own templates which I love. I have been using this software for over two years and it keeps getting better. Plus it's complimentary with CMS.

Cons

I understand that information are being updated daily and it's hard for the folks to update everything on the site. There are still clicks that don't have the required informations that is needed. I'm sure it's coming!

Alexandra
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 22/03/2023

Solid Software

I like practice fusion for my smaller clients that are not looking to grow or expand their practice. I would not recommend for extremely high volume or high complexity specialties.

Pros

Practice Fusion is a great software for smaller practices that don't need all the bells and whistles. It is very affordable and easy to set up.

Cons

The customer service is terrible and it is very difficult to get a live person. They do have a lot of support videos but sometimes you need to speak with someone when you cannot find what you are looking for or none of the support videos are addressing your needs.

Alternatives Considered

Tebra and AdvancedMD EHR

Reasons for Switching to Practice Fusion

The price point was great and was a solid software for smaller clients.
Connie
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 26/03/2021

Practice Fusion woos

They are in LA so you have no support until 11 am or 12 pm if you are in the midwest or east. Virtually no speaking support at all. Constantly cant get in and have to get a new password. Puts you way behind . You have a person that is suppose to let you in your account but may not be available. It is cheap but recently raised their rates by 50% without giving any added features. Patient portal is hard to access. The self scheduler is non existent . Patients have to remember a full website address to access. They do not help with the QPP constantly wanting you to redue depression screens and diabetic screens that you already did. So there health maintaince is horrible as is getting labs and investigations to the chart in the patients chart. Lots of extra time. Non existent IT

Pros

Cheap, although they just raised their prices by 50% with no added features.

Cons

No support, now Allscripts owns. They recently increased the monthly fee by 50% but not giving any new features. Templates are a joke. They are not coordinated with P aware or any state prescription service . Still they could not get the labs around me to put them in my charts. Its impossible to up load anything without a hassle. They keep raising the prices and offering less. My billers could never access and you cant talk to anyone they send you instructions in an email. I have to pay for 4 providers when I am only one. Multiple times its down and unusable. They were in trouble with FDA for trying to get providers to prescribe opiates for a kickback and now allscripts owns the company. The referral process is a joke. They only send the face sheet and you still have to fill out all the referral information. Everything is extra now.

Top Practice Fusion Alternatives

Harlan
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/09/2020

Manage patient records

From the beginning, Practice Fusion allowed our practice to fully switch to government mandated electronic medical records. And with that switch it allowed us to earn rewards from the government. As practice fusion has grown, we have grown with it. Although no longer free, it does offer a free 2 week trial period with out having to even put in a credit card number. I highly recommend you give it a try!

Pros

I was an early adopter when this software was offered free. For a small practice that was vital in getting us to switch to electronic medical records.

Cons

As crazy as it sounds, that fact that it was originally offered free made it seem like it was just Cheap That could not be further from the truth!

Alternatives Considered

EpicCare

Reasons for Switching to Practice Fusion

The choice was easy, Practice Fusion was free!
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/08/2020

I like it

Very positive.

Pros

It was free in the beginning which was cool, but I still find value in it. Once the templaters were done, things are simple and easy to dictate.

Cons

Would like a little easier way to chart and dictate and change things. I saw a mutate button on a competitor to change the order of the note.

Alternatives Considered

ChiroTouch and eHealthFiles

Switched From

ChiroTouch
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 30/05/2018

EMR that is easy to learn and works well for small offices

Pros

This software is a breeze to teach to new and existing employees alike. New features are few and far between but seem to be easy enough to implement. Software use to be free which was a real pro but the cost is not outrageous now. We are hoping that with the cost per provider, we will be seeing some feature upgrades that will make it more of a time-saver.

Cons

The cell phone 2 step login seemed like a great idea until I watch my employees waste time, potentially violate HIPAA/privacy policies because of the cameras on every phone now and because they have to re-sterilize after using their phones to log back in. You can't bill insurance companies directly, which is a con if you have a dedicated billing person that is capable of billing for less that what you pay the clearing house (Gateway). Lastly, the customer service is pretty bad. Another thing I'm hoping will turn around after having to pay for the service is the commitment to resolving issues and responding to feature requests. CRM is lacking as there is not electronic appointment confirmation in the scheduling so my staff has to still make appointment confirmation calls. Most softwares have this built in or allow a third party to integrate. Practice Fusion does neither

Kathleen
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 21/06/2023

Couldn't wait to switch

Negative

Pros

Not one single thing. Billing was ineffect. No customer support team.

Cons

Templets were not conducive for our practice. The price was great until they raised their prices considerably.

Jeanette
Jeanette
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 05/04/2022

Practice Fusion is decent

It was a good starter EMR for me but it was not practical - even though it was free. I ultimately bought a different system even though I could purchase a paid plan with Practice Fusion. I was too frustrated that it wasn't worth me trying a paid plan.

Pros

When I used Practice Fusion, I had a free version so as a start-up clinic, this was obviously very affordable. It gave me a web-based documentation system that was HIPAA compliant. Plus, it was better than me handwriting my notes because I can type faster.

Cons

There were no templates for physical therapy - just basic SOAP note format. I had to type everything! It was very time consuming. I understand that now the system is very different and the free version I had is no longer available. I am sure there have been many upgrades in the past few years.

Gianna
Gianna
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 14/12/2017

Practice Fusion has odd limitations and customer support does not resolve glitches quickly.

We benefit by having a free EMR that does electronically send superbills to our billing software (Collaborate MD).

Pros

The best part about Practice Fusion is it's free. I'm very excited that for 2018 we can submit Meaningful Use Data through Practice Fusion directly, which is going to save me a lot of time this year.

Cons

The scheduler is inefficient - I pushed my company to use CollaborateMD (our billing software) for the scheduler because of how awkward and inefficient Practice Fusion is in this category.

Andrés
Andrés
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 28/11/2018

The paid version is bettter.

Excellent Serivce,

Pros

I'v e been using the system for years and it's very simple and straight forward. After it bacame a paid model there sudeenny were less ads and less intrruptions. It's creat.

Cons

Conpared with other new ones on the market it does not integrate very well and I have the e-rx systme.

ann
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 26/01/2020

Do not sign up with this EMR. Look elsewhere. False advertising.

've been with Practice Fusion for 7 years. When I joined, they promised that the service would always be free. Seriously, that was there main selling point. Always free. About 5 years in, they sold the company and now the story has changed. Now it's $99/provider/month. I tolerated the issues with PF when it was free because I was saving so much money that I could deal with the short comings. Now that I have to pay for it I want to warn people not to join. Once you join an EMR, it's hard to switch so I feel stuck. There is NO customer service. I've been trying to reach my rep for over a month and no response. When I created a customer service ticket, again, no response. Basic things that should be simple to do are impossible on Practice Fusion. For instance, I can't set up automatic reminders for patients to come in for their annual exams. If a patient wants their chart to be released, you have to download each document one by one. It takes an hour to download a chart. I've come to dread records released requests. If you want to create reports, patient lists forget it. Basic reports are not supported. I've been asking for the same basic technology for 7 years and all I heard was " great suggestion, we will send it to our development team". Then nothing happens. Now, it's gotten so bad, I can't even reach a live person. You have to submit a ticket for issues and no one responds. My office manager has tried to set up meetings with our rep (you can do it online) and he doesn't ma

Pros

Easy to use. Started with the company 7 years ago because it was free and advertised that it would always be free. They lied.

Cons

No customer service. Cannot perform basic easy functions. Cannot send patient reminders to have them call for an annual appointment. If a patient wants their chart released or an insurance company needs there chart, you have to download each document, lab one by one. It can take an hour to copy one chart. The only bulk thing you can download are the notes but everything else has to be downloaded one by one. I've been requesting basic functionality for 7 years and nothing gets done. Now you can't even get them to respond to help tickets or scheduled online meetings.

Silvia
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 09/04/2020

Stay away from this electronic system - its a scam!

HORRIBLE

Pros

I had many times over the last years when it did not work with numerous errors given from pharmacies as the prescriptions did not go through.
The practice fusion customer service is INEXISTENT. You try to call and they tell you same thing all the time, that "its huge volume of calls and to send them an email", and then you email them and you get an answer in 2 weeks, but no...your problem is still unsolved. And be prepared when you realize this hardship is overwhelming and that you cannot prescribe medications to your patients and you decide to stop subscription, you will have extremely difficult time to have them let go, they will claim you have contract and that you are STUCK with them for year.

Cons

-errors frequently
-inexistent customer service

Paige
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/10/2017

We are a small outpatient psychiatric office and Practice Fusion was great for our budget!

Great value for the price. We are just starting to implement the patient portal and find it is another useful tool for some patients.

Pros

We love the price, as a small office (2 providers) our budget was limited and this was appealing. I knew other offices larger than ours that used it and they recommended it as well. There is a lot that Practice Fusion is capable of and I think we are only hitting the surface of how it can make our jobs easier. I really like how updox (faxing system) coordinates with Practice Fusion and we can upload what we need into the chart so easily.

Cons

I felt it was difficult to navigate Practice Fusion, but then when we started using it I was also setting up a private practice so that made things more difficult because I really didn't know what I needed as far as intake templates and how to set up my notes to make it quick and easy. After some tries I think we are doing pretty well. The only thing I wish was different (and maybe this can be done and I just don't know how) is that I could duplicate the previous note on a patient and then I can see in one glance what was discussed at our last appointment and then type the new note over the last note. I list their current medications and past medications at the top of the subjective section and so if this could be brought forward on each additional note then all I would need to do is make changes as the occur and not have to keep a "master" word document that I have to update and then copy and paste.

Amy
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 06/02/2020

Practice Fusion Customer Service and Use Issues

We do use practice fusion for multiple providers who find that it works well to integrate with the billing software

Pros

Practice Fusion does allow practices to pretty easily link up with multiple billing softwares, and it allows for simple tracking of patient records and note keeping. It is pretty simple to run a report and see why a claim is not populating into the billing software from PF.

Cons

The option to keep documents in a patient file is not entirely user friendly, as you have to scroll through all of them to find what you are looking for. I often run into glitches in the bridge built between PF and the billing software we use. I also have trouble with customer service at PF every time there is an issue, as you are not allowed to call any more (the automated message will hang up on you) and the online support ticket is slow and cumbersome. I would expect kinder and more efficient customer service now that practice fusion is a paid service

Alternatives Considered

Tebra
M.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 17/05/2018

Recent sale to Allscripts has users abandoning this once promising platform

Worked with this platform for many years until the sale of the company. EHR requires cell phone 2 step log in. The EHR also logs users out repeatedly after periods of inactivity,This results in bacteria and germ transmission among employees frequently breaking sterility protocols to check their cell phones to log back in and results in employees frequently being distracted with personal cell phone use issues.

Pros

Use to be free. Was easy to start learning. The companies logo was "Practice Fusion is Free and Always will be for users." Company was sold and now has physicians leaving in droves.

Cons

Price, lack of functionality in linking with labs and imaging centers. Cannot be used in medical fields such as surgical centers where sterile fields are required because the EHR repeatedly logs out and requires repeat log ins by users with cell phone code entry. Aside from cell phone mediated bacteria transmission staff/employee, cell phone personal use becomes a secondary problematic issue due to the EHR platform requires employees to frequently get them out.

Matthew
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 20/04/2018

Great software when it was free...not so good if you have to pay for it!!

Not a bad software package, but it has its limitations.
Customer service has deteriorated over the 7 years that I have used the program. You generally never can get a live person to discuss the issue. Everything is by email. If I have to pay for software, I will find one that does everything I want.

Pros

The software is easy to navigate and has the basic features of an EMR. Being cloud based, it was easily accessible from any internet based pc. It was practice specific in many ways, with certain shortfalls. Vaccine inventory was very good.

Cons

As a pediatrician, I must record a patient weight in pounds and ounces, which you can't do with practice fusion. The basic templates can not be modified and you had to be careful when composing notes (I don't come across too many 2 month old infants with teeth!) either not to pick those elements or go back and really proof read the notes. Log in from a machine that you didn't use previously is a nuisance, in that you have to be verified with a security code.

Cynthia
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2020

Practice Fusion User Friendly

Overall great system for the price. We chose to stay with them when it went from free to subscription because it was so user friendly and the cost affordable.

Pros

Super intuitive when you first set up Lots of templates available. Customer Service is great about helping

Cons

We never fully integrated with the practice management system recommended by Practice fusion at the practice managements suggestion that it would not work well, which was confusing.

Phoebe
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 06/03/2019

My experience with Practice Fusion...

You get what you pay for. We started using Practice Fusion when it was still free. Since they started charging for it, it is has had several upgrades that are really improving the workflow. There are still many things I would like to see change, but for what it is, it's a reasonable software.

Pros

I'm so happy they finally allowed us to add a sticky note to patient's charts. It was very difficult to have communication between departments to notify other members of the staff of patient needs. It is very helpful that it interacts so well with Kareo's Billing Software.

Cons

This program is a little clunky. In the last year they have been making improvements to the usefulness of the system for interaction between departments but there is still a great deal of room for improvement. The reports function is still a work in progress and leaves much to be desired in the information provided and the ease of finding information needed to monitor the flow of a practice.

Anita
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 31/03/2021

Bad EMR for Medical practices

Initially Practice fusion was free and then all providers had to pay a monthly price. What I am mostly disappointed is the contracts that have the providers sign. Be careful what you sign with them. I had a nurse practitioner in my practice and had to sign for 2 providers, then when she left after 8 months , Practice fusion team said I have to pay for her license for 15 more months that my contract ends --ridiculous answer. I asked to speak with a supervisor and she confirmed the same. This EMR is not worth it for the way the notes look and what you pay and what they have you sign ..... Now I am stuck for 15 more months with this EMR , paying monthly for a second license that we never use

Pros

It was free initially and simple, it was the 1 st EMR I used even their customer service was not great

Cons

Bad features, the notes look very plain
customer service no great
The contracts that you sign are not for 1 year or monthly , I would never use it again

Angus
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/07/2017

Fantastic Web Based EMR

Pros

It is web based EMR. Our office found it easy to implement. It is great that any computer with internet access can be your work computer. I compared to other EMR's - it as a clean modern interface. It is built to get you meaningful use and other quality measurements. It is completely free to use, so you can try it out. The support is also superb - chat support is better than phone support most of the time. Our office productivity has gone up after we implemented it, something I have never heard about another clinic after implementing an EMR.

Cons

I wish I could eRX narcotics in California. I wish there was a view that had in order all the things that as happened: refills, encounters, messages, documents. I also wish in the summery view there was a pane for tasks in the patient summary.

MYUNGHAE
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 14/06/2018

NOT EXTREMELY COMPLICATED TO USE BUT NOT SIMPLE OR VERY EASY TO USE EITHER

ok TO UTILIZE FOR NOW BUT PROVIDERS MAY BE LOOKING INTO SWITCHING IF NO ADDITIONAL HELP IS AVAILABLE

Pros

WAS FREE BEFORE BUT NOW CHARGING. this PROVIDE CHATTING ON LINE FOR THE QUESTIONS BUT SOMETIMES NOT EASY TO USE

Cons

NOW CHARGING AMOUNT PER PROVIDER AND NO TEACHING AS TO HOW TO ACHIEVE TO OBTAIN THE CREDITS UNDER mips BY CLICKING WHICH CHOICES THEY HAVE ON THE SCREEN & THIS PRODUCT HAS A LOT OF CHOICES BUT YOU DO NOT KNOW YOU WILL BE CLICKING THE RIGHT BUTTON UNTIL WAY LATER- NO IMMEDIATE FEED BACK. also PATIENTS MENTION THIS PROGRAM MADE THE PATIENT PORTAL DIFFICULT TO ESTABLISH & TO OPEN WHICH IS THE REQUIREMENT FOR ehr mips REPORTING THIS YEAR . tHIS IS A HUGH DOWNSIDE BEING USER UNFRIENDLY ESPECIALLY THE OLDER POPULATION WHO AR NOT COMPUTER SAVY

Chris
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/04/2023

EMR Easy

I highly recommend the user-friendly EMR, from scheduling, downloading, and uploading sensitive documents the customer support is very good and you can't beat the price.

Pros

Everything about Practice Fusion is very well done from integration to customer support. Very easy friendly software.

Cons

I haven't found anything that I don't like about practice fusion.

Marla
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/04/2017

Overall Great EHR.

Pros

I love that this product can be accessed from anywhere at any time on any computer with an internet connection. It is very easy to use and easy to customize. I find that the ease of customizing the software is one of the best features for myself as a chiropractor using a software designed for medical doctors.

Cons

I wish there were more reports including patient demographic reports. I have a separate billing company, so I have not been able to combine Practice Fusion's features with a billing software yet. Because of that, when I want a patient list for a mailing or something similar, it is not easy to do unlike running some of the other reports that are built in.

Suresh
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 07/06/2019

NOT FREE!

Horrible customer service and business practice! Judging by other customer reviews of bad quality product I would dissuade anyone from signing up for their subscription software! Would not recommend signing up for this software subscription to anyone.

Pros

I have never used this software but I am stuck paying for it thanks to the fraudulent business model that this company follows to gain revenue

Cons

I signed up for Practice Fusion on March 21st 2019. Due to pending litigation I was forced to delay the opening of my clinic and sent in a email as well as physical copy of cancellation notice on April 10th (well within the 30 day time window for cancellation without charge. Despite several attempts to cancel service, The company continues to bill me citing I had a year long obligation even though their contract clearly states that I can cancel within the first 30 days of signing up without any obligations.

I recently received a notice that my account is being sent to collections in June 2019. I am trying to reach the company to find out why I am still being charged without any response from them. It seems their business model is to sign people up and keep charging them even after cancellation on one pretext or another. Horrible customer service and business practice! Judging by other customer reviews of bad quality product I would dissuade anyone from signing up for their subscription software!

Shirley
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 16/05/2018

It was a great Free EHR, still a decent deal with the cost version

It's a relatively easy to use EHR, especially for practices who don't have a lot of complicated setup and need something affordable.

Pros

Our billing company recommended this product to several of our offices who needed EHR but couldn't invest thousands of dollars. This was a great option for them at the free level. Now it is a paid subscription. It's still a reasonably priced version, but needs some enhancements to compete.

Cons

Getting help was complicated--and getting enhancements implemented was also complicated. We had several clients ultimately abandon it when it became paid because they could get more features with other platforms.

423 reviews