MySQL Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About MySQL

MySQL is a scalable database management system, which enables organizations to securely record, update and manage data in compliance with GDPR, PCI, HIPPA and various regulatory standards. Features include data masking, audit,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.2

Browse MySQL Reviews

2,061 of 2,061 reviews
Sort by:
Ravindu
Ravindu
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/07/2019

A thought on MySQL

As currently I have developed inventory system, clinic system, an backend application for a private company to manage huge no of memberships and ads, and a UK company for manage Business Name , Limited company, trademark and domain registrations and renewals. All of these used with mysql its those are running smoothly. Never had any headaches as through sql queries can manipulate easily and had fast responses for even complex queries and for huge no of data Frameworks used are spring boot and laravel.

Pros

Known and used by most people as most secure and reliable relational database management system. Accompanies 99.99% uptime. Nothing to fears as open source. Can have millions of helps through community. Offers a wide scope of high accessibility like cluster servers master slave replication. Provides high performance even for large volume projects. Growing and improving frequently. Best for cloud applications and big data applications. Supports by huge no of frameworks.

Cons

Red Hat Enterprise Linux, openSUSE, Fedora, Slackware Linux etc moved to MariaDB.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Relational Database, Free of charge, unlimited help from community. Light weighted, Supports by huge no of frameworks.
Aleksandr
Aleksandr
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/04/2021

Great overall but has some very important caveats.

Mysql as any other tools has it's advantages and downsides.
It may be fast, ACID-compatible, it may serve as memory cache.
It has some dark corners and sometimes may hang on complex queries, or even corrupt the data (this is really rare case, but I faced it more than 10 times during my experience).
Consider your scenario carefully.
And always, always, ALWAYS make backups.

Pros

There a whole world of documentation, best practice, books on mysql. It can be found on nearly any cloud, system, paas.
It is really fast (on MyISAM), support transactions (InnoDB), may perform as in-memory cache (memory), or even CSV (never use this one except for testing or reports).
Deploy and set up takes next to no time, it consumes very little resources.
Actually I feel it is hard to write a review on MySql because over decades of extensive usage it become the standard de-facto, even LAMP has (M) for MySQL.
It is a mature if, well known RDBMS with tons of extensions and forks (not sure I may name them here).
It is worth to mention though that MySQL is a default backend storage for a whole number of software.

MySQL is compliant to SQL standard though with some differences. It may require some changes to your codebase but still, they should not be critical. What will really surprise you is that ORDER by lacks "nulls first/last" clause and that collates may surprise you. In a somewhat unpleasant way.

Window functions, virtual tables, temporary tables are here as well and trust me - this is quite important matter, something that is a vital part of any DB.

You will find a lot of web and standalone management tools to work both with server and data, some of them are free, others are not, chose yours.

Cons

First and biggest cons is that MySQL is not suitable for big amount of data. It always had and still have troubles performing complex joins.
Database may get corrupted under some scenarios when significant selections is performed same time as other clients perform batches of inserts/updates (basically, there is a long lasting bug in memory management).
Transactions are available in a single engine InnoDB and it is much slower than MyISAM.
Worst thing is that in scenarios with multitenant databases with somewhat mediocre load MySQL starts to leak memory. This i a known well-issue, and there is no cure at this moment, you have to reboot the database instance. This is simply a disaster.
Performance insight is something that could enjoy some more love.
While Mysql is compatible with most of standard SQL, there are still some hard to explain differences.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Mysql is still used in some of our projects, but we are on our way to switch to another RDBMS for the reasons I described above.
keerthi
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/05/2024

Good beginner database product

Pros

MySQL is very user friendly and the queries used are easy and well suited for beginner and small scale applications

Cons

I am not a fan of the UI of MySQL as it’s pretty basic

Top MySQL Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 30/04/2019

Almost all my sites run on MySQL

I hardly think about MySQL because that is how it functions - quietly and in the background 24/7. But MySQL is an totally ESSENTIAL part of my online presence, as my websites would immediately cease functioning without MySQL. It is that important! While it does its job most of time, if there are errors in MySQL for whatever reason, then to repair the problem can become a bit expensive. Apart from this small risk, MySQL is one of those "must-have" software if you run any independently hosted websites online.

Pros

MySQL is the standard database software used by virtually all the PHP-based scripts for database creation and functioning. It is a standard add-on software for most webhosts as part of the cPanel plan. As long as you are not hacked, the database software works quietly in the background 24/7 and delivers your website to the world. As an "add-on" software it is free in that sense (or may be part of my monthly hosting fees), but this is a trivial point. MySQL is like a set-and-forget kind of software, and indispensable to nearly all webmasters.

Cons

The database is not very efficient, and this often leads to errors, if some script overloads it or if your website is hacked and compromised. If there is too much traffic, things also can break down.

As anything database related is hard to repair, it is best to get an expert on MySQL, who can be expensive, to fix any issues in the database. Many additional plugins create further tables or rows in MySQL which remain there for life even if the plugin is removed later on. This leads to bloat in the database.

Enrico
Enrico
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/01/2024

Quick and easy database management solution

We set up a MySQL database to store and query data from our application, which writes daily to the DB. We never had any issue with it, which is just great.

Pros

MySQL consistently delivers exceptional performance, making it an ideal choice for a wide range of applications, from small-scale projects to large enterprise systems. Its optimized query execution, indexing mechanisms, and caching strategies contribute to efficient data retrieval and manipulation.

Cons

Fine-tuning settings for optimal performance can require in-depth knowledge, and improper configurations may impact system stability.

Emiliano
Emiliano
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/05/2021

MySQL has always been one of the best relational databases

Many of our relational databases work nowadays with MySQL, we find it easier to maintain than PostgreSQL or other alternatives, as well as it's knowledge more broadly distributed due to it being very beginner friendly for web projects, joined with PHP usually.

Pros

First of all there's a free community version, as well as alternative software like MariaDB and Percona Server which have an open-source approach as well. There are multiple services to manage MySQL like Amazon RDS as well as similar products on GCP or Azure, so it's not entirely required to have expert knowledge to use these databases if you are willing to pay for support.

Cons

The upgrade process for MySQL requires downtime and it's not easy to perform a rollback either (on some cases it's entirely impossible unless you restore a backup). Managed services don't provide a zero-downtime upgrade process either, except for migration all your info and deltas into a new database (which sometimes is not entirely available)

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

We find it easier to maintain than PostgreSQL and also more teammates felt comfortable with this software since they were quite familiar with it and possible debugging on the future.
Manasseh
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/09/2023

There is no better database management system than MySQL.

I've used MySQL for a few years, and I'd heartily recommend it. It is a very capable and flexible solution for managing your server-based data.

Pros

Despite being available for free, MySQL has numerous functionalities that are also present in commercial products like SQL Server.

Cons

The majority of other databases, save for MySQL, offer data transfer between DB and distributed file systems like AWS S3.

Leah
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/03/2024

Great firewall an VPN features

So far it's doing and running better then most

Pros

That it has a strong firewall keeps safe with VPN and alerts fast to help and prevents loss

Cons

Nothing is perfect. But this is darn close

Soon Kit
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/03/2024

High quality data management tool

Pros

Advanced data management tools. it has all the features needed to create, operate and archive data

Cons

High license cost. Some features are not needed for smaller projects

Álvaro
Álvaro
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/04/2024

Easy to set up. Great compatibilty

Pros

Ease of use and learning. Is compatible with a wide variety of platforms. It is known for its ability to scale and handle large volumes of data without compromising performance.

Cons

Has some limitations regarding maximum database and storage size. Query optimization in MySQL can be a challenge for less experienced developers. Uses table locking to manage transactions, which can result in slower response times.

Lilantha
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/10/2019

MySQL Review

We resolved over DBMS issues with MySQL. It is free therefore We resolved our cost issues. It has the best community. We resolved our all issues very easily. Queries are very easy, Therefore we saved over time. If we think to use relational database MySQL is the best. We can recommend for anyone. Drivers are there for any programming language.

Pros

MySQL is a powerful database management system. It is free. Easy to learn and use. I someone new to DBMS. We can recommend that person to MySQL without any trouble. It is supported to any environment. If your server/PC windows, Linux or Mac. It doesn't matter. MySQL support for all Operation systems and very easy to set up in any environment. We can tall like this if we think about the setup and configuration process "MySQL is the most easiest DBMS system to set up and configure". We can create databases and tables very easily. As well as It is a relational database. We can keep up table relations. It supports many data types. Int, Double, Flote, Varchar, Text, Date,Timestamp...etc.We can create table, views,functions,procedure,trigger..etc. It support many character sets. We vey easy to take backups. We can use text files, CSV file, excel files to data upload. bulk data upload support. MySQL queries are very easy. It supports joins, subqueries,union,group,order and so many things are there. Many free client applications are there for MySQL like MySQL workbench, sqlyog, phpadmin. We can run mysql in custom port. We can limit privileges by user roles. Best thing is support. And also MySQl drivers are there for any programming language. If It is Java, PHP, Node...etc doesn't matter. There are many resources for MySQL. MySQL is a world most popular, powerful, easy, wonderful DBMS.

Cons

Actually, It is a relational database. Therefore before the database creation, You want to create ER-Diagram otherwise you are in trouble. When the relationships are increasing. Hard to insert data. As well as. MySQL is not good for large databases. If relations go very hight. data retrieving speed is going down. If table storage is hight, data retrieving speed is going down. If connections are going hights. It returns too many connection errors and MySQL down. We want to restart.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB and PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

It is free. Easy to use. Easy to setup. Have a big community.
James
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/12/2019

Stellar platform. A bit of a learning curve when downloading to get the right tools.

Compared with 20 years of Microsoft SQL database work, the switch to MySQL was far superior. Code level language . Remote administration is vastly superior to Microsoft SQL.

Pros

The platform is stable - always working. Documentation is consistent. Updates are coherent and stable. We use it in 95% of all our projects, and it has been a life saver for our bottom line.

Cons

Choosing the right tool to download was confusing. Obviously written by developers instead of management. I'd suggest a 2-4 step process to help in choosing the right packages. The setup process could use a bit more explanation and be more lucid.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Workflow speed, cost, support, quick learning curve. Support by ISP's is better, cheaper. Online resources are plentiful and free.

Switched From

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

The two primary reasons were: Cost and workflow speed
Aivar
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2021

Balanced solution for most use cases

It takes some time to become good at properly configuring it and designing data structures, but once you do, it can handle unbelievable and complex loads.

Pros

Large and experienced community. Any question you have - someone has already asked it and received a good answer.
Unbeatable stability.
Decent performance.
Keeps improving over the years without many breaking changes. You can be almost sure that code written 10, 15 years ago will work in the newest versions.

Cons

Misconfiguration can lead to freezes and crashes, default configs aren't a good choice in most cases.
Takes a long time to restart.
SQL will not perfectly match your project logic - you have to learn to think in SQL if you want to have a data architecture that works well.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

MySQL has better performance with mixed loads. Postgres administration tools aren't as good as phpMyAdmin.

Switched From

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

I have considered using MongoDB for Node.js projects, as the native data structure makes the development easier, but in my experience, it was too unstable, and performance in complex loads is not a strong suit of NoSQL.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/08/2022

Free high-performance relational database

I started working with MySQL around 2002. I was looking for some low cost database to use and let old DBF structures in the past. Found MySQL and have never quit working with it since then, not even when I started working with other databases like Oracle and MS SQL Server

Pros

It is free to use and have a large known community of users all over the planet.

Cons

It is free to use, as long as you don't develop the applications using some strict and exclusive commands. I don't know if this have changes and by and large people don't seems to care about it, not even the owner for I have never seen or heard of anybody charged or asked about it.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL, Oracle Database and IBM Informix

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

MySQL enabled me to have a significant upgrade in my security and data integrity and could handle a lot more payload at a single time with little cost.

Switched From

dBASE Plus

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Little cost at all necessary actions (install, configure and maintain), quite bigger community and simplicity
Oussama
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2023

MySQL: A Comprehensive Review

MySQL is an incredibly powerful and versatile database management system that is suitable for businesses of all sizes. Its features are comprehensive and allow users to customize the system to their needs. However, it can be difficult to understand and use for those who are not experienced with databases.

Pros

MySQL is an incredibly powerful and versatile open-source relational database management system. It is easy to setup and use, and it is highly customizable, allowing users to tailor the system to their specific needs. The sheer number of features and capabilities available makes MySQL an ideal choice for businesses of all sizes.

Cons

MySQL can be quite difficult to understand and use for those who are not experienced with databases. The complex nature of the software can make it difficult to troubleshoot and maintain. Also, some of the features are not always as intuitive as they could be, which can make it difficult for novice users to understand.

Caleb
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 21/02/2019

MySQL - One of the best FREE sql DB

I believe your experience with MySQL will vary based on the option(s) you choose to interact with it. As mentioned before, you can use the CLI which is used mainly by power users; however, the average Joe can simply use a open source GUI which will make life a whole lot easier. Just to name a few of the FREE GUI software on the web:
* HeidiSQL
* PhpMyAdmin
* SQL Workbench

All are excellent options to make the user experience absolutely the best.
Ever since I began using the software, I felt this bond with the ease of use, ease to remember commands and a large community support backed by tons of online documentations and tutorials. I would say this is one of my best experience using any software and would highly recommend for beginners and power users.

Pros

Currently we have many different types of DB on the market (No SQL and SQL). I spent the past 3 years working with MySQL and completely feel in love with the many of its' feature.
* Once you become familiar with the features and the commands, you will find it is super easy and flexible to operate. I interact with it via both the CLI (Command Line Interface) and GUI (Graphical User Interface) and just love the experience.
* It has some easy to use commands that are human readable.
* Ton loads of useful documentations on the web.
* It is an amazing open source RDBMS (Relational Database Management System).
* It can be found bundled with many current software stack (LAMP, MAMP, XAMPP) etc., just to name a few.
* You can create and cutomize databases, tables, routines, procedures which will all make the workflow super easy to manage your data with many advance tools available at your disposal.
* There is the CRUD (Create, Read, Update and Delete) features that are simple to learn and master in your everyday workflow.

Cons

Looking at the NoSQL DB (MongoDB) which uses a document type format to save data in their DB, I would say one of the feature I believe is missing or could be improved, is the way data is stored. What I mean, is that currently in MySQL, if the field is not created, you can't insert data as it will not automatically create necessary fields, while with MongoDB, if the particular field has not been created before data was inserted, it will be done on the fly while uploading or inserting data.

Ayesh
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/08/2020

MySQL for Software Developer

Overall MySQL is very good data base platform for any one who getting start with programing database software specialy for beginners to get familiar with data base software.Good service and worth for every money you spent on it.Highly Recommended

Pros

MySQL is very fameous data base software.It is a first data base software which I use to develop my first POS system program.It was recommend by my friend and he said that it is very fast and reliable data base program but also it is very simple to understand and work with it.There for I choosed it and he said true.It is very easy to learn and work with it and I simply got familiar with it in a small time.I very like it simplicity and can highly recommend for any one who looking for a data base software to do their software developments.And also MySQL can operate within from many programing languages and I used JAVA to program my software so it need small library to import to the JAVA program and with that it can operate very fastly from using simple codes.MySQL also can operate from many coding IDEA l platforms like Visual Code , NetBeans or InteliJ and it become very helpful feature to make working easy with MySQL.MySQL is the very fast and reliable data base software I ever used and it get well fitted with my programs. There for it helps to work fast your software and there for I think using MYSQL is a good investment for developing a software.

Cons

Mainly MuSQL is my favorite data base software and I havent many drawbacks of it.I think it is better to replace more user ffriendly commands in MySQL library for JAVA.Some times it get tricky to some commands in MySQL from JAVA by using the library.But it is not a big deal.Many Programing softwares are suggest many programing key words ttherefore coding is getting very easy.But when getting to code MySQL commands , some programing platforms were unable to suggest key words and cods ththerefore I think that must be improve more.Considering security I heard that there are many more secured data base software in the feild.So I suggest to improve the security of MySQL data base.

John
John
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/06/2018

MySQL is a super database program and it's free!

First, I pay nothing for this software, its open source and freely downloadable on as many computers as you want. Second, it is reliable. Backups are a breeze with mysqldump statements, and restores are just as easy and quick. Third, it is very fast. Do yourself a favor. Take the time to learn this database software. You won't regret it.

Pros

When I first started keeping a customer database, I started with MS Access because it seemed the fastest and easiest option and I had MS Office already. Then I discovered the Linux operating system and decided I wanted to use open source software whenever possible. And the first program I found was MySQL. I converted my ACCESS database over to MySQL and haven't looked back since. This was in 1998. Soon thereafter I found that I could write PHP web pages to display my customer database records in a lot of neat ways, so I learned to how to write PHP pages. I've been using MySQL and PHP pages ever since. MySQL is fast, it has all the features you want, and don't worry about number of records in your databases it will handle all you need.

Cons

I was familiar with the linux terminal when I started using MySQL so that wasn't completely foreign to me. Of course I quickly realized database language is completely different, so I had to start learning select statement, insert delete etc. But since there weren't many complicated things I needed to do (mostly just select statements insert delete update statements) it didn't take me long to be able use the MySQL cli. Although there are GUI tools for MySQL, I never really spent much time on them, other than phpMySQL, which is a great tool for MySQL. The downside of MySQL is you have to learn its language. And that takes time. But then again that's the beauty of MySQL.

William
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/11/2016

I started in Access/Excel, then MSSQL. Now: The only DB system we use is MySQL

A couple lifetimes ago I worked with Lotus1*2*3. In my next life I eventually settled on Microsoft Excel and Microsoft Access for data storage and manipulation. I maintained the necessary tech memberships to allow access to all forms of Microsoft software, and built example systems for existing clients in both Microsoft SQL and MySQL. Hands down the MySQL based systems have always won the client vote, sometimes simply for the pricetag and sometimes for the simple open-source power of the community of available implementations.

MySQL can work faster and it can work more securely. I have had a few clients who have preferred PostreSQL (because they were already married to it) and we've written a few applications for it. We've also modified many legacy Microsoft SQL applications.

Usually, however, we're called in to migrate from MSSQL to MySQL any time a company actually performs any form of study to determine what's best moving forward. The criteria is simple: If the change is due to an internal or external check to find what their best answer is: The answer is always "MySQL". If, however, the solution was determined by "someone got ahold of the boss/owner/CEO and a unilateral decision was made without any other input", then the solution installed was two things: Expensive and short-lived. No joke.

This applies to any software that requires data storage that we've dealt with in that last 10 years (IE: "This" lifetime). From CRM to Telephony and Web. I gave up my TechNet subscription over 6 years ago because no client had chosen a Microsoft solution for Server-side operations in three years.

Pros

Cost. Reliability. Ease of installation. Power.

Cons

While I have had some complaints about error locating in the MySQL code we write, I understand that the underlying technology would be degraded by more checks and balances within the system. Plus: This concept applies equally to every version of SQL we use (Postgre and MSSQL included).

Suyogya
Suyogya
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 06/08/2023

My experience with MySQL

Overall, my experience with MySQL has been great. Every developer in my office prefer to use MySQL for the database. I myself have a huge fan of this classic database management system. I even tried using other DBM Systems but I couldn't have anything as easy to use as MySQL. This is why I recommend everyone to use MySQL every time.

Pros

Without a doubt, every feature MySQL offers is very useful and effective. The database management system that MySQL provides is very important in the field I am in. The developers in my company use MySQL for the data management in backend. Our company itself stores the data of its employees in the database using MySQL. I myself have used MySQL a lot. I completed my final year project in university by developing a website which store all of the user's data in MySQL database. It is very easy use and understand. The way it performs even with huge number of data is also very impressive. Data filtering and monitoring are also fluid and easy to carry out using MySQL.

Cons

MySQL is heavily based on queries or commands and it is quite confusing sometimes. Personally, I have a habit of forgetting small details in the queries and commands which I have to google search later. I would prefer to have a GUI based options to work with MySQL or suggestions with commands. But, that is a personal preference, not all users will forget the queries. Other than that, I don't have any complaints with MySQL as of now.

Ashish
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/01/2018

Best open source relational database for beginners and experienced professionals

I are working on a recruitment drive management software. I use MySQL database to store all my dynamic application data like user, college, company, recruitment drive, student etc. MySQL provides easy to use interface to make db queries to read, update, create and deletion of data. I got benefit using MySQL in terms of reliability, speed, easy to use interface, simple query syntax and support of joins. MySQL provides easy to understand documentation to understand its insights to get the full benefit from it. I recommend MySQL to all entry level and experienced developers, administrators and engineers. It support all types of basic and enterprise level needs of storing relational data. MySQL is easily adaptable with all programming languages.

Pros

MySQL is the simple, fast, popular open source and freely available database for software developer. MySQL provides adapter to integration to almost all types of programming languages. MySQL query syntax is easier to learn compared to all other database management software. It also support highly complex and advanced SQL queries. It is being maintained by Oracle. MySQL has good documentation. MySQL provides a tool called Workbench to write queries and look in the table data. MySQL provides the indexing and hashing for faster reading of data.

Cons

MySQL doesn't support complex data types like: JSON and ARRAY. MySQL does not support SQL check constraints that is used to validate data stored in a column. MySQL doesn't support common table expression. MySQL doesn't support full outer joins. It is costly to increase connections limit in MySQL.

Hasan
Hasan
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/06/2021

Best Open Source Database Tool

I have been using this tool for more than 3 years and it benefited me a lot. It helped me to manage multiple databases, optimization of queries and extraction of data. It is a perfect tool for every newbie.

Pros

MySQL is a powerful tool for handling large databases without the fear of any data loss. It enable users to integrate with different tools. There is a huge collection of free plug-ins. Despite it is an open source, it provides a high data security that helps to protect data in a well organized manner. Solutions are readily available on forums for any type of problems. The web interface has made the installation setup and configurations much more easier.

Cons

It does not support most of the useful features that modern database tools support like ROLE and COMMIT. It does not handle large databases efficiently and performance is bit low. I believe you do get what you pay for. Although, it is a great free of cost product.

Sami
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2023

Best RDBMS tool.

It is a useful relational database for storing data.
I always use it with the projects that I create.
As I have seen it as the simplest and easiest among other databases.

Pros

A light program on the computer.
It features a beautiful control interface that makes it easy to use in creating databases, tables, relationships between them, or other services.
It is characterized by taking a backup copy and restoring it smoothly.

Cons

When I am writing queries I found that some are different from the other and I have to search on the Internet to make them work.
Sometimes the large amount of data slows down the insertion, updating and selection process.

Patrick
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2020

Best Database Solutions

Every web based application needs a good database to handle the management of its users, eCommerce solutions and website structure to keep everything running and out out all the data management solutions out there MySQL is the best! Installation and and implementation is as simple as a few clicks and the MySQL Interface allows for easy customization and control. The website you are reading this from uses MySQL to store all these information and keep tract of submissions and statistical information. Never had any issues and i use it in my everyday life daily.

Pros

I been using MySQL Since it's invention. I use MySQL to create user databases for user profiles, Order tracking and website user data management and it has done perfect on the website software i use such as WordPress. vBulletin and a range of other website based applications. I also use MySQL for my video/audio chat application to start users chat profiles.

Cons

Sometimes hen your importing large MySQL databases from one host to another it can be challenging. Sometimes the process breaks during upload or importing and you have to start all over again or the import doesn't fully import everything and there is website issues so keep that in mind. I found a way around this alot of times by just using big dump. Other then that over the years it has been getting better and better as of the latest version i must say that it is running so far flawlessly.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/09/2022

Reviewing MySQL database usage as a hybris dec

Pros

Backup and restoring the dump comes very handy for the local environment setup. Refreshing lower environments with prod data is amazing feature.

Cons

Some built in query functions are not supported like HSQL db. Requires a workbench tool to access db directly.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and SAP HANA Cloud
2,061 reviews