Microsoft Project Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Microsoft Project

Microsoft Project is a project management software designed for enterprises of all sizes. The tool includes project scheduling features, which allow management to create a project schedule, define and assign each project task,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.1
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.1

Browse Microsoft Project Reviews

1,886 of 1,886 reviews
Sort by:
Syamir
Syamir
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/05/2021

Planning and executing project easily

Overall, i am still satisfied in using this software to managing and managing our collaborative project and it really helpful for us to tracking and finish our project in the allocated time. It has increase our effectiveness in planning and executing a project.

Pros

Microsoft Project is really good in planning and executing my project that my team and my colleague collaborate. It let us to distributing task among us and be clear which member are responsible for the task and avoid confusing while executing the project. The Gantt chart really helpful in planning the project time of completion.

Cons

You will need quite a considerable time of training to properly get expert and get comfortable in using this project management software to the maximum usage. Some of the feature or tools is quite hard to be understand the usage and the manual is not explaining the tools in details.

Andrés J
Andrés J
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2021

Good alternative, but a bit pricey

As an experienced user, I've never had any major issue. The bottom line is that it works, and it does its job. I just wish they will upgrade the experience, in regards to interface design.

Pros

For many years, it was the de facto software for project management and if you were in the field, you had to use it. So many older users like me, use it mostly because of this reason.

Besides that, it's well designed and a solid alternative. For experienced users, is one of the best tools in the market. And in this case, it's quite easy to start a new project.

Cons

It looks like Microsoft Project got stuck in time. Newer alternatives are easier to use, and the design is prettier. Microsoft Project like other Office apps, are just to boxed into the Office style apps. In other words, it lacks innovations and doesn't help the users' creativity.

Alternatives Considered

ClickUp

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Project

Many years ago, it was the de facto project management tool, so I didn't have many options. And I got hooked and have been a user since then.
Chris
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 26/05/2022

I want to like this product as it has potential, but...

This product has so much potential if they could resolve the bugs, interface, and integration with other Microsoft software. It truly could be a one-stop product if they could dial this in.

Pros

This product is incredibly affordable, especially when it comes with the entire Microsoft Suite. It also is familiar when compared to other Microsoft products.

Cons

Unfortunately, this product feels dated and clunky. It's visually not as appealing as other project management software and is the least intuitive in design. This product also is riddled with bugs that prevent tasks/projects from updating or saving properly, which can be devastating to an entire team. Additionally, this product is very clunky when integrating with other products, especially with other Microsoft software, which is genuinely disappointing.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com and Asana

Top Microsoft Project Alternatives

zeeshan
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/04/2024

Review of Microsoft Project

It really depends on the scheduling standards of the company you are applying for and their delivery approach. If they are following adaptive/agile life cycles, they may get by without using a traditional scheduling engine.

While familiarity with a specific scheduling tool might be asked during an interview or part of a job description, I've never heard of it being a "must have" as it is fairly easy to learn how to use one of these tools – the hard work is facilitating the development of the WBS and network diagram, which are the prerequisites for its use.

Pros

Excel-like interface
Flexible project planning
Team collaboration
Extensive reporting capabilities.

Cons

Switching between Microsoft Project applications
Extra steps for online syncing
Few integrations outside Microsoft.

Nadeem
Nadeem
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2022

Project Planning Made Easy

It is a beautiful Planning and Scheduling Tool that helps all size of organizations in carrying out/managing their day 2 day and long term projects.

Pros

If one knows the Planning and Scheduling Concepts, it is extremely easy to use this software to carry out planning/scheduling.

Cons

It has its own proprietary format. Though can be saved as PDF and shared but it would be better if it can be opened directly in different formats.

Alternatives Considered

Primavera Unifier

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft Project

It is simpler and less complex. Easy to configure and use.
Antony
Antony
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/01/2020

Easy and Comfortable Planning Software

Project Planning , Cost Calculation, Cost Control , Optimizing resources to optimize project output ,

Pros

Task Adding Feature of ms Project is very Easy and We can Easily Edit order Without Any Problem, simple planning and scheduling

Cons

Cost Of resources Added Feature is Less also there must be option for creating Some regulate chart like planned progress vs Actual progress , Sn Curve Etc

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Primavera Cloud

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft Project

Easy to use and comfortable to export result in excel
Ed
Ed
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 27/03/2020

No brainer for Project Management

Handles most of my large projects and allows easy reporting to people. Used for years now and don't plan on changing. Done a few online courses to learn to use it properly and well worth it.

Pros

The leading software in Project Management. Used for a few years now and it allows me to input everything i need to run projects, execute them and then monitor. incorporates all the principles of PM WBS, critical path, leads and lags. Cost management is also a worth while feature allowing you to monitor costs in detail or quick look to see current status.

Cons

Not the best for collaborative working if other staff are not trained properly. I think this is more of a company specific problem where staff are included in projects and data in put but not necessarily trained in PM

ELENA
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 03/08/2021

The PM´s right hand

I started using MP in the 90´s when joined a consulting company. It was amazing to learn we had a software to manage the diverse aspects of a project and have a visual-real time control, it helped the team to keep focused on objectives.

Pros

MP facilitates the PM´s job and makes easier for the team to keep focused in the main activities, overall progress and resourses optimization. It is also flexible to manage small, medium and big prjects. MP demands time and effort to become an expert but the results makes it cost worth.

Cons

The learning curve is long and steeped. It demands a formal training to learn how to use at full capacity . Most people learn the basic but miss the opportunity to benefit plenty. It is also costly because requires an additional license to the Office suite.

Elias
Elias
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/08/2022

Microsoft Project for independent consultant

If you need to keep track and record of your activities in a daily basis, this platform is a must have!

Pros

I found that this softwares allows me to set, control and track my own activities regarding to every single project

Cons

It´s some time hard to understand the process, but once you are into it you can get used to it

Giacomo
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 06/06/2024

Advantages & disadvantages of Microsoft Project

Pros

First of all, It has a large storage of documents and datas in order to be updated on the development of your activities. Furthermore, It has many feature to be applied and preferences to adjust.

Cons

I personally think the price is a bit out of hand for people who start their own project and beginners might face adversities due to the high quality of tools. Additionally, you have to keep up with the developments in order preserve good outcomes

Joshua
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/04/2019

The Project Management Tool for the Microsoft Power User

Overall, Microsoft Project does a really good job of allowing experienced project managers to create complex project plans for both large and small teams. The platform offers extensive schedule and resource management - enabling teams to accurately allocate their resources in order to achieve maximum efficiencies. My experience with Project has been positive. I work in a small to mid-sized team that creates implementation plans for customer recommendations. I have enjoyed the synergies that working with other Microsoft tools provides. Furthermore, Project has enabled me to be effective in those pursuits. It definitely takes some time to learn more complicated aspects of the program - but that time and training and can really benefit a team.

Pros

The greatest strength of Microsoft Project comes in the name. Microsoft develops some of the most popular and effective tools for modern businesses. Project integrates extremely seamlessly into the overall Microsoft ecosystem of work. This enables the platform to truly maximize on all the efficiencies created by keeping your work within one platform. Project also does a fantastic job of allocating and scheduling resources. Furthermore, identifying critical paths for a project is relatively straight forward. Project managers can do specific call outs for key steps along the way as well. There are also a lot of additional benefits for project that help the quality of life for anyone in control of a project.

Cons

Project is a complicated piece of technology. While creating initial project plans seem easy, there are so many features of project that not only go unnoticed - but also can be incredibly cumbersome to learn and master. An additional pain point that I have experienced has related to working on multiple project resources while also viewing the Gantt chart. Finally, sharing a project also holds its own difficulties as well - as users must have Project installed on their own device.

Ahmed
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/12/2021

The ideal solution for project management and calculating completion rates

Microsoft Project Help in the proper planning of projects, as after adopting the plan, you will be able to use Microsoft Project to follow it in a correct way, as it will work permanently when updates are made by giving you a comparison between the actual and planned implementation, and through it you will be able to find activities that are not being implemented according to the plan , so that you keep it under surveillance permanently, which increases the chances of the success of your projects and finish them on time.

Pros

It is one of the best programs for project management, and to complete the scheduling and planning processes in the correct contractual ways, which allows the preparation of an integrated work program that includes all activities within the scope of the project. The integration of Microsoft Project with other Microsoft programs, especially Excel, facilitates the processes of entering activities directly from Excel tables, which facilitates the process of building work programs.
Linking activities to each other according to priorities is very easy, and also allocating resources. Microsoft Project enables you to find the critical path of the program, and also filters that can be customized as needed, among the distinctive things that benefit from Microsoft Project.
The update processes are easy, and also the calculations of completion rates for the activities and for the project in general are very simple, and you can also filter the delayed activities and know the exact amount of delay by using Microsoft Project.

Cons

There is nothing worth mentioning, I have used Microsoft Project daily for many years, and I did not find any technical problems in it, and all the results that I get by using it, are considered accurate and reflect the reality of the work in the project.

Anurup
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/06/2022

best tool for design work schedules, monitor project % completion, and maintain control.

Microsoft Project helped us develop and approve a base schedule, and link it to later versions to compare the actual and expected progress of all project work, and it protects the team, especially when preparing claims and calculating delays.

Pros

Microsoft Project has the capabilities to create an integrated project schedule so we can track project expenses, manage human resources, calculate delays, and manage time claims. The development of Microsoft Project and the addition of cloud storage capabilities set it apart from similar applications, simplified the process of sharing updates and engaging additional members to collaborate on setting and tracking schedules. I like the fact how powerful the calculations that Microsoft Project does, especially with regard to Total Float and Free Float, which are great tools to help understand the behavior of different activities, as well as calculations of actual progress against planned progress and other tools that always help in decision-making the appropriate. Because it is integrated with MS Excel, it saves a lot of time and enables us to export and import data easily. I enjoy how easy it is to present resources, costs, and activities, and how the most recent dates appear automatically.

Cons

With proper training and practice, I believe users will be able to easily develop and update software and extract achievement percentages. It's worth noting, that sometimes when you make updates in Microsoft Project with tampering with base table activities, it can be difficult to notice these changes due to the limited capabilities that Microsoft Project provides. To unravel that process, which produces biased analyzes. Microsoft Project reports are, in my opinion, too simplistic and require more improvements to be added.

Mohammad
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2023

A Comprehensive Project Management Tool

Overall, my experience with Microsoft Project has been positive. As a project manager, it offers a comprehensive set of features that have helped me manage complex projects effectively. However, the steep learning curve and high cost may not make it a suitable option for all users. Additionally, for my programming needs, I am happy using Pycharm as my Integrated Development Environment (IDE) as it offers a range of features and customization options that meet my requirements.

Pros

Comprehensive project management features: Microsoft Project offers a wide range of project management features, including task scheduling, resource allocation, budget tracking, and more. This makes it a powerful tool for managing complex projects.Integration with other Microsoft tools: Microsoft Project seamlessly integrates with other Microsoft tools, such as Excel, SharePoint, and Teams. This makes it easy to import and export data, collaborate with others, and share project information.Customizable templates: Microsoft Project offers a variety of customizable templates for different types of projects. This can save time and effort in setting up a new project, as you can start with a template that already includes the necessary tasks and timelines.Visual representation of data: Microsoft Project offers various visual representation options, including Gantt charts, timelines, and task lists. This makes it easy to see the progress of a project and identify any potential issues.

Cons

Steep learning curve: Microsoft Project can be complex and overwhelming for users who are not familiar with project management tools. It may take some time to learn how to use all the features effectively.Expensive: Microsoft Project is a premium tool and can be expensive for small businesses or individual users. The cost may not be justified if you only need basic project management features.Limited collaboration features: While Microsoft Project offers some collaboration features, such as sharing project information and assigning tasks to team members, it may not be as effective as other collaboration tools like Asana or Trello.

Neelakshi
Neelakshi
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/11/2023

Review of Microsoft Project

As an IT company, our experience with Microsoft Project has been positive. It offers comprehensive project management tools, integrates well with the Microsoft ecosystem, and has been particularly valuable for managing complex projects. The Gantt chart visualization, customization options, and scalability have all contributed to our project success.

Pros

Comprehensive project management features
Effective task management and Gantt chart visualization
Resource allocation and management
Seamless integration with the Microsoft ecosystem
Robust reporting and analysis capabilities
Collaboration features in Project Online and Project for the Web
Customization options for tailored project management
Scalability for small to large projects
Cloud-based solutions for remote work
Mobile accessibility for on-the-go project management.

Cons

Steep learning curve, especially for beginners.
Costly, especially for the more feature-rich versions.
Overwhelming for simple projects.
High system requirements.
Compatibility issues when sharing files with non-Microsoft users.
Limited native Mac support.
Less support for Agile methodologies without customization.
Some collaboration features are restricted to higher-tier editions.
Expensive upgrades to access advanced features.
Limited portfolio management capabilities compared to dedicated tools.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/10/2021

The best project management app so far

Being an experienced user, I have gotten hold of all technicalities involved in its operation and this app has always been highly resourceful in all my project management tasks. It has further helped my team in seamless planning and deployment of projects.

Pros

Managing a project is centered on service delivery as at when due and this software allows to keep track of all projects and schedules of all tasks. The Microsoft project is a very easy to use application even for beginners and its capacity for collaboration is seamless especially when working and viewing projects with other teams.

Cons

Time allocation to projects while working with multiple teams is a setback to the app. Some of the features are sophisticated but also requires a high level of technicality to operate them, it should also be noted that the Microsoft Project doesn't perfectly integrate with other project management apps. This should be attended to by the developers.

Thuffail
Thuffail
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2021

Basic Project Management Software

I used Microsoft Project for small to medium level projects . The different tools were used for the proper planning of projects. Also the ongoing projects progress was monitored and assessed by the software. About 3-4 weeks were taken to familiarize with the software.

Pros

It is a software used worldwide by middle level and top level managers. It can be easily integrated with other Microsoft products and applications. This software can be used with or without internet. It has developed and improved its features over the years . The software has many tools for the effective management of projects. The tasks related for the projects can be tracked with responsible persons. The resource and budget allocation for each task can also be depicted. The progress of projects can be monitored when necessary. The responsible departments for tasks can be given access to the project, so that they can update the progress and changes related to their tasks. This can also be accessed from any place and it can be viewed and edited through the mobile application. It also supports the uploading or linking of documents needed for the project. Also it provides the ability of generating basic reports to be presented to the top level management.

Cons

This will not be compatible in complex projects. Its integration and collaboration is limited to Microsoft 365 based applications. It is not focused on a particular industry and its features may not be compatible with some industry based projects. The communication is limited as it does not support any third party communication tools. The project files can not be opened without the availability of the software. The mobile application is hard to be used in editing.

Dario
Dario
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/03/2020

This is the reference for Project Planning but you might find better options

I used this product at a large bank and they used this to keep track of every.single.thing. developers did, so it was really time consuming updating everything on a daily basis. PMs had a nightmare maintaining everybody's schedule and making little changes to the plans so they would adjust to minor variations and unexpected stuff. The bank had build an automation engine for Project so every file was crunched by it and used to calculate everything from bugdet updates to productity bonuses. It was really a grim time when some tool told you the bonus wouldn't be available to you in the current quarter.

Pros

Microsoft Project is the 200-pound gorilla that most enterprises use, mainly because their companies already have all the Office bundle and this software might come included. Make no mistake, this is a compelling and thorough piece of software, but sometimes it's a little overkill for simple, quick tasks (like sketching a project while it's being pitched) and it really focus on being a good-for-everyone without much emphasis on usability or friendliness. Other newer options have emerged in the last years, so there's a big possibility that you could find exactly the software for your needs on a cheaper, even free option.

On the plus side, MS Project supports really giant plans, as well as collaborative efforts and automation. The fact that it can be automated through code written in C# might be its more appealing feature for enterprises and large companies.

Cons

Like most MS software lately, this can be a memory and CPU hog. It really has tons of features so finding the right tool can be time-consuming. The usability could be much better, especially for my use case which is quick prototyping of projects in order to create budgets and proposals.

Lilians
Lilians
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/05/2018

I think it is a very efficient software, it has been an indispensable tool to plan my projects.

It has brought me many benefits, among them it has allowed me to plan my projects in a faster way, since with this tool I can take control of the execution time and the budget with a clearer and more global vision, it has been a tool for me great utility and has more functions than those used daily.

Pros

The software has several advantages, mainly it organizes my projects in a more complete way, because before using it to my Excel plans, with the difference that Project has daily the progress of the project with graphs and diagrams for a faster analysis, Without exceeding the available budget, also plan from small to large projects with the great advantage that I can link them or work them separately. I find it interesting that the project control allows to save the line of the original project to compare it with the modifications that are made in time. On the other hand you can save the file in other formats to facilitate printing.

Cons

In my personal opinion Project is not easy to use for beginners, initially I found it a bit complicated for the basics of the program, even for other more advanced functions it should be easier, for example at first I did not understand because Project sometimes my activities with a duration in decimals even when I assigned him the full day. I think it could be used by students as a tool to plan their activities so that later in the professional field they are more familiar with the software, but for that it must be more user friendly.
On the other hand, I think that its biggest disadvantage is that the activation of the license is a bit expensive.

Susan
Susan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/07/2019

It ensures the full management and productivity of the projects.

For me , it has already saved me tons of time and allows me to be more productive and able to manage the projects in a quicker way. We can easily mold a rough draft of our work into something much more valuable and viable with the help of this tool. It has allowed me to perform various operations of managing my tasks in a much better way.

Pros

Microsoft Project Management offers the most easy and viable solutions to sort out our daily routines tasks and implements a total calculated solutions for our projects. We can input the required info and get the detailed and visually aid solutions for our projects. We can easily view progress better, collaborate in an efficient way. We can easily set out tasks and keeps a thorough surveillance of our work. It allows us to make decisions independently.

Cons

In order to gain full advantage of this tool, one should have a fine knowledge of using this tool. So it requires a training and sound knowledge of operating the management tool. Just because of its complex operations, one can have difficulty in operating it. The overall license purchasing expense is a bit higher and it gets bit difficult for us to measure the overall productivity of the projects.

shanti
shanti
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 19/09/2021

Ideal solution for medium and large-sized organizations

I have been working with this app for many years and I must say this in not good for new entry level people. To use this you have to take some training and have to understand its feature first.
Ms Project is very ideal for large and complex project but for small one I will not suggest you to use.

Pros

Easy to edit and customize report according to your project need. Time allocation and tracking feature is also good and very effecting for large projects.
Gratt chat feature provide a overall view to the project and with nice amount of data.

Cons

Lack of integrations options and in app communication is also very poor.

Amy
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 08/06/2017

Microsoft Project, Good tool for an average budget

For the cost per licence and the ease of use, Microsoft Project is my go to tool for Project Management Software.

Pros

Most business have some form of Microsoft Suite, Project doesn't come in the standard suite but so adding additional licenses for Project is more cost effective than most Project Management Software. Because it is a Microsoft product, the user interface is like most Microsoft products, so learning how to navigate around Project doesn't take a lot of time. There is so much to this tool. You can do small and/or large project on it. The capabilities that it has are endless, you really can do a lot with this tool.

Cons

It can be a complex tool, when I first began using Project I had a manager working with me on the Project and helped me get used to Microsoft Project. She had been using it for years, so she had a wealth of knowledge that she shared with me. Without her help, I do think it would have taken me a lot longer to get used to it and be able to use it to its full ability. That being said, the tool can do so much more than I ever thought it could.

Daryl Edwine
Daryl Edwine
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 21/03/2023

Control your projects with Microsoft Project

Pros

Integration with other Microsoft products: Microsoft Project easily integrates with other Microsoft products such as Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Microsoft SharePoint, Microsoft Teams, etc. This allows users to work in a familiar environment and easily share data and information with other team members.

Cons

Information overload: Because of the large amount of information and data that Microsoft Project can store, it can sometimes feel overwhelming with details. It can be difficult to know what information is important and relevant to project management.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/12/2021

Just OK

It is a great starter program for timelines, it does a good job calculating critical paths, or increasing or decreasing the overall delivery of a milestone as the project ebbs and flows. They also give you many options to build your chart using all of the latest buzzwords executives love to hear.

Pros

This software was at one time the gold standard for GNATT charts. It was one of the only ones on the market worthwhile.

Cons

It was hard to use vs. other systems. I am generally tech-savvy, and I attended a two-day training course to learn all the deep in's and out's of the software. That in itself should explain the ease of use to really use all the tools it has to offer. Once I knew them they worked well, but trying to share a sheet with a co-worker and have them adjust using the toolset I used became difficult. It was almost as if the whole staff needed to be trained. Again, that in itself is a dilmea as we all have 10% more on our plates than we generally should.

Craig
Craig
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/04/2019

Track your progress with MS Project

Pros

We use MS Project for progress tracking and scheduling. MS Project allows you to set timelines, track schedules and view/add items that need to be completed before you can move on to the next phase of your project. As things slip, you can adjust your project schedule to accommodate for those changes. Without MS Project, our company wouldn't be able to function without knowing where each project is at and we wouldn't be able to make the informed adjustment decisions as a project schedule slips or speeds up. Also, the ability for us to create project templates helps us get a project off the ground and we can adjust as needed. There is also functionality of a MS Project server and if you are doing multiple projects/schedules and concurrent accessibility and change management is needed, that might be your way to go with this application.

Cons

There are an abundance of features and options that are not at first intuitive, so having some dedicated MS Project Training is a must. There are some things that MS Project is lacking and from what I have seen the only other option out there to complete some of these lacking tasks is Primavera. When evaluating software, best to compare them both before making your decision.

1,886 reviews