Microsoft SharePoint Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Microsoft SharePoint

Microsoft Sharepoint is a knowledge and content management system (CMS). The product also provides collaboration tool capabilities. The solution offers typical CMS features like document and digital asset management, case and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Support
4.1

Browse Microsoft SharePoint Reviews

5,176 of 5,176 reviews
Sort by:
Madasamy
Madasamy
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 03/05/2024

File sharing

Pros

content sharing through links is simple to send.

Cons

some error occurring when retrieving data.

Gloesha
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/05/2024

Love the familiar file and folder management

I find Microsoft SharePoint a great way to work collaboratively across countries and locations. Documents update real time and you can see what's going on as soon as you open a doc.

Pros

SharePoint is easy to use, particularly if you've been a Microsoft user before. I love that you can move a document to a new folder and the original link you may have shared will still work.

Cons

Sometimes hangs, which is frustrating. But is pretty reliable the vast majority of the time.

Annika
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 02/05/2024

It's invaluable

Microsoft SharePoint is integrates with Microsoft 356 which eases documents sharing with teammates.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint is invaluable software which is easy to use in documents management, it organize files and easy to send documents to teammates.

Cons

Microsoft SharePoint is simplifies document sharing.

Top Microsoft SharePoint Alternatives

Alfresco Digital Business Platform

Derek
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 04/03/2024

Microsoft SharePoint for government

I have used Microsoft SharePoint for multiple years and it has enhanced our organizations productivity. It has made it easier to collaborate, share files, and organize pertinent information for our staff.

Pros

How easy it is to create SharePoint sites. Prior to SharePoint, our intranet was managed by our IT department. This created challenges when you needed to update or change things on the site. Moving our Intranet to SharePoint gave us the ability to manage our intranet ourselves. It is very easy to create SharePoint sites and manage them. You don't need to know how to code websites.

Cons

There really isn't anything to dislike about SharePoint. It is a great product for any business.

Michael
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 05/05/2024

One of the most handy organizational tools at the office

SharePoint has saved me a lot of valuable time throughout my career through hosting of reports and projects.

Pros

Hosting of projects which users can access and view from anywhere at any time, hosting eliminates emailing project work or presentation to a distribution list, ease of use.

Cons

Took a long time to get to know all of the useful ins and outs because there's so much functionality, but have been using for years so no problem at all.

Fernando
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 24/11/2023

Not complet

It must improve in file explorer option. As a Microsoft product, I think they will improve in managements files.

Pros

Fast search files, great store option in cloud

Cons

Difficult to navegate on the platform. Maybe, a good option will be use a file explorer like in windows system.

Alternatives Considered

Dropbox Business and Google Drive

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Because it's Microsoft and I consider is the best platform for allocated files and data in cloud system.
Tucker
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 22/02/2024

SharePoint, a good addition to 365, but not the best out there

Fair, it was easier to adjust to this platform but lacks the features we are looking for

Pros

Able to collaborate with teammates easily, low education barrier, editing features were good

Cons

Not a nice looking UI, tracking changes is not efficient, and it could be organized nicer to show progress of certain files

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/04/2024

SharePoint has potential

Pros

Sharing is mostly functionally reliable and is great for collaboration on Office 365 files.

Cons

Sharing methods within the interface and SharePoint site navigation could be simplified or improved. Syncing with OneDrive is also a bit confusing for users. The amount of options needs to be reduced and user-friendly language for essential functions needs to be redone.

Emma
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/05/2024

The best file management tool

Very positive, I would not use anything else for file management.

Pros

It is easy to keep your files synchronised with others in order to collaborate on things all all be able to access the same versions.
You can also invite people to edit your documents or share with them to view only.

Cons

There is nothing I dislike about Microsoft SharePoint.

Ennio
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 06/05/2024

Sharepoint a point of succesfull sharing

Pros

The facility of use and the affidabilty

Cons

There is not enough assistence in the use at the beginning

Chirag
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 07/04/2021

Great collaboration with SharePoint; don't go overboard

Since we were strict with our permissions and governance, we had the fortune of having a clean environment. In my past jobs, SharePoint was free for all and it used to be an absolutely disaster. Based on those learnings, we have chosen to use SharePoint only for collaboration. Anything more complex than taking notes, sharing documents, versioning and Visio is moved out of SharePoint. In the first year of use, people became comfortable with our limited and right-sized use of SharePoint. That's our sweet spot and we enjoy SharePoint for collaboration.

Pros

I love that SharePoint makes collaboration easy. We used to take notes on pen and paper and reconcile our thoughts via emails. Now, we whip up OneNote online and write our notes before the meeting, discuss our thoughts in the meeting and write take-aways in OneNote. Decisioning has become really easy. We also share news across the company using SharePoint. That has worked very well.

Cons

Workflows and debugging is not the best in SharePoint. We have been bit by gotchas in workflows. They were had to debug. We just gave up on workflows in SharePoint and switched to doing those activities in a different manner.

Alternatives Considered

Confluence

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

We were debating whether to do documentation in SharePoint or Confluence. We use Jira, which connects with Confluence very well. We noticed that our documentation will need AD permissions, documents, versioning, videos and more - all of which was built right into SharePoint the way we were using it. There was no point in investing thousands of dollars in another system just for documentation. We feel we made the right decision as SharePoint is working really well for us for documentation.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 06/07/2021

It's the standard, but...

Upload speeds can be slow, but we've managed to use Sharepoint folders as helpful places to store, transfer, and collaborate on files. Some team members miss the simplicity of dropbox or google drive, but we're managing with Sharepoint.

Pros

The 365 suite is the standard for many organization with cloud based team work, and it does allow for this in some ways that weren't around a decade ago. It works - you can share files between team members, and that's the key thing.

Cons

It's not as intuitive as it should be. Maybe I'm too used to other ecosystems, but I find that Microsoft products have too many ways to get to the same common places, and then convoluted ways to get to specific places. In my use and rollout of it, almost every meeting has a few minutes of "where is that file again?" or "Oh, I thought I put it in the main folder, but it must be over here somewhere...". We can usually get it to work, but it's not a seamless experience, and it's Sharepoint feels less like a great tool to use and more like a necessary evil if you're in the 365 world.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 06/01/2022

THE online sharing platform

Very, very satisfied as our customers are. Some things could be smoothed out, but overall the experience is positive.

Pros

Very fine access control and permissions, great interoperability and integration with everything and guest users. Solid cloud platform.

Cons

The sharing logic sometimes implies less than intuitive rules "a guest user cannot delete the files he uploaded" and so on, upon which you can stumble a bit. Then as with every Microsoft product, the strong capabilities are there, but finding a good online reference or manual to really leaverage them isn't always easy.

Alternatives Considered

AWS Lambda, AWS CloudFormation, Google Drive and Google Cloud

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SharePoint

We switched because our customers grew and so their online collaboration needs, and Google couldn't deliver enough flexibility and reliability.

Switched From

Google Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Stability, ease of use, consistency, number and depth of features, integration capabilities.
Ashley
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 19/05/2022

SharePoint for small businesses

Not all of our employees use SharePoint because there can be confusion between platforms. The concept of file sharing and working in real-time is excellent, as well as how it's integrated with the other Microsoft Programs. However, the way it is designed leaves a lot of room for error or lost files.

Pros

Multiple people being able to access and work on a document is helpful, especially with people working remotely. It eliminates multiple files being emailed back and forth, and reduces the chance for error. The most up-to-date version will always be the one available. It integrates with all other Microsoft products.

Cons

The concept can be confusing to some, when trying to differentiate if it's a cloud, what is different about it from OneNote, how to save files, etc. I believe files could be misplaced or have multiple versions unless all of those platforms are monitored.

Alternatives Considered

Google Cloud Storage

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SharePoint

A gmail address is needed, and in the health care field that is not a secure messaging system, so we could not use gmail as a means for email.

Switched From

Google Drive

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

It was the most "secure" file sharing option available, and there were no other secure alternatives at that time.
Pawan
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/01/2023

"Streamlining team productivity with Microsoft SharePoint: An in-depth review"

Microsoft SharePoint is an incredibly powerful and versatile tool for team collaboration and project management. It provides a central location for the organization and sharing of files, documents, and information, making it easy for team members to access and work on projects together. The task management and email management features are also very helpful in improving productivity and accountability within a team. Additionally, it allows for easy coordination of tasks and projects, making it an efficient tool for managing team workflows. The interface is easy to navigate and the ability to integrate with other third-party software makes it even more versatile. It's a great tool for businesses and organizations of all sizes and across all industries.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint is widely used and popular for its ability to improve collaboration and communication within teams. It allows for the organisation and sharing of files, documents and information in a central location, making it easy for team members to access and work on projects together. It also offers task management and email management features which improves productivity and accountability within a team. Additionally, it allows for easy coordination of tasks and projects, making it an efficient tool for managing team workflows.

Cons

Some users may find that Microsoft SharePoint can be complex and overwhelming to navigate, especially for those who are not familiar with its features and functionality. It also requires a good amount of training to be able to fully utilize its capabilities. Additionally, for those who are not using the enterprise version, the cost may be a concern as it may be considered as expensive. Furthermore, some users may experience difficulties in integrating it with other third-party software.

Alternatives Considered

Trello and Asana

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

Microsoft SharePoint is often chosen over alternative products because of its wide range of features and capabilities. It is a comprehensive collaboration and project management tool that allows for the organization and sharing of files, documents, and information in a central location. It also offers task management and email management features which improves productivity and accountability within a team. Additionally, it allows for easy coordination of tasks and projects, making it an efficient tool for managing team workflows. Microsoft SharePoint is also known for its integration capabilities with other Microsoft products, such as Office Suite and other third-party software which makes it a great option for organizations already using Microsoft products. Furthermore, it is considered more secure than the alternatives and with its enterprise version, it offers a lot more features and functionalities than the alternatives.
Nhlanhla
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/06/2023

Enhance Workflows with Microsoft SharePoint

While SharePoint offers a robust set of features, some users may find certain customisation options and advanced workflows rather complex. Integration with non-Microsoft systems can require additional effort and technical expertise, depending on the specific requirements of existing business processes.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint offers impactful collaboration tools, comprehensive content management, and seamless project tracking. While there is a learning curve, the platform provides user-friendly interfaces. Integration with existing processes varies, with smooth integration with Microsoft tools but requiring effort for non-Microsoft systems. SharePoint enhances productivity and teamwork in organisations.

Cons

While SharePoint is a robust platform, some users may desire more advanced customisation options, improved user interface for certain tasks, and enhanced integration with non-Microsoft systems to further enhance flexibility and ease of use. But I am ok with features available

Bisi
Bisi
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 17/10/2023

Hats Off To Sharepoint

SharePoint is a robust platform, but it still lacks certain features that could enhance its functionality. Additionally, better native support for offline access and mobile device optimization could make it more versatile. Advanced task management and project planning tools are also features that some users find lacking, desiring more seamless integration. Lastly, stronger data analytics and reporting capabilities would be valuable for organizations seeking more in-depth insights from their SharePoint data

Pros

SharePoint offers numerous benefits, including streamlined collaboration, centralized document management, enhanced security, and powerful integration with Microsoft 365 applications. Its ability to facilitate team communication, content sharing, and version control makes it an essential tool for boosting productivity and efficiency in organizations.

Cons

I would like more intuitive user interfaces and simplified navigation to improve the overall user experience. The absence of intuitive user interfaces and simplified navigation in SharePoint can significantly hinder the user experience. Users may find it challenging to locate and access the features and content they need, leading to frustration and reduced efficiency. The complexity of the platform can result in longer learning curves, requiring more extensive training and support. This lack of user-friendliness can deter adoption and limit the platform's effectiveness in facilitating collaboration and document management.

Alternatives Considered

Huddle and ClickUp

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

It was a senior Management decision based on demonstrations and budget.
Karla
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/07/2020

Sharepoint is very robust but more than many small businesses need

I currently use it to archive old client data. I have found One Drive to be easier for me work with for current files.

Pros

I like Sharepoint for being a secure location to have all your documents in one place in the cloud. And I like the ability to share documents via a link with both team members and outside parties. I like the ability to use metadata tags to facilitate searching for documents.

Cons

I find it hard to set up and did not find it to be very user friendly. It is not easy to get assistance or guidance as to the best approach in the setup. We were told by our consultant NOT to use a folder structure, but a Microsoft employee told me that was not good current advice.

Alternatives Considered

Google Drive

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SharePoint

The hosted desktop was terribly expensive and I was switching from desktop to cloud based software and did not need hosting any more. Sharepoint is part of my Microsoft 365 subscription and I trust Microsoft security so it was an excellent value.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SharePoint

I prefer the microsoft spreadsheet and word processing over Google's versions and I feel less secure with how Google might treat my and my clients' security and privacy. To my mind Microsoft is the standard for a business.
Andrew
Andrew
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 04/11/2018

Sharepoint is a frustrating experience for web novices and seasoned web designers alike

We are running a college-level web presence with roughly 200 websites, consisting of both internal and external communications. This system allows us to quickly do basic sites, but does not have the flexibility we need to do more custom websites efficiently.

Pros

SharePoint is at its best when used as as a CMS for intranet (internal) websites. I appreciate the ease with which you can launch an out of the box site with no frills and easily start uploading documents and granting user permissions to access those documents. The GUI interface also makes it somewhat approachable for individuals with little coding experience.

Cons

It's when you want to do more than the basics with SharePoint that the many flaws start cropping up. It is not a very scalable system to create public facing websites with. In its attempts to be approachable to both coders and end users, I feel that it alienates both by inhabiting an awkward and unintuitive middle ground. The HTML/CSS (not to mention Javascript) editing in page is clunky and barebones, while the controls for adding different content types via web parts might make some sense to those with a technical background, but seem nonsensical to the less technically inclined. Training content contributors and interns has proven difficult, as the WYSIWYG editors in SharePoint cause the creation of countless <span> and <div> tags and messy inline CSS styles, which eventually muddy the code up so much that editing page content becomes next to impossible, and it becomes necessary to redo the page from scratch. After a dozen or so edits to a clean page consisting of only a few paragraphs, headers, and images, the code has been modified by SharePoint to include literally 1000s of lines of code that are mostly made up of the aforementioned tags. This junk code can be deleted manually, but it is a huge waste of time.

Finally, the fact that anonymous users can't even download office documents on a public facing website is perplexing and frustrating. Since SharePoint is a Microsoft product, you'd think there'd be more flexibility in how Microsoft document formats are handled, no

Evan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 03/04/2019

Daily user and administrator,

We use SharePoint primarily as version control for documentation and also for request tracking via a SharePoint list. It is an adequate solution for these needs but leaves some things to be desired.

Pros

Convenient way to share files in and outside of your organization. It is truly loaded with good features; whether or not your instance will be capable of utilizing them all is another question (see cons).

Cons

Occasional integration issues with Microsoft's other apps such as OneNote. I had the hardest time moving a OneNote from one SharePoint to another and wound up having to do so one page at a time.

SharePoint lists are our only recourse within my company for external user request tracking, and they are clunky at best. Users do not like the front-end form no matter how much tinkering we do in the provided form design tools SharePoint Design and Infopath.

Poor visibility of who has access to what. The permissions hierarchy and inheritance is just not clear, and clean-up of any SharePoint you take ownership of will be a hassle.

Many useful and seemingly rudimentary tasks are made difficult by integration issues with our corporate network, however this could have as much to do with our excessive security protocols than SharePoint. As such, I have not considered it in this review's score but gone ahead and included this complaint as a point of reference for anyone considering adopting SharePoint at their company. If your company's infrastructure and security model is already difficult to navigate, then it is unlikely you'll be able to take full advantage of what SharePoint has to offer without a very talented implementation team.

David
David
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 29/08/2019

SharePoint and File Storage

My overall experience with SharePoint has been positive across the many years I've used it. One of the best features I learned about in recent years was the ability to map SharePoint to a drive on your computer. This has really helped in terms of uploading and downloading multiple files simultaneously. If you plan to use SharePoint, I highly recommend looking into this feature as it will save you a ton of time and enable you faster access to your files versus accessing them from a browser window. Mapping is extremely easy and, in my experience, invaluable. You will also find that you can post graphics on your SharePoint pages. We frequently post "work anniversary" or "birthday wishes" for our team. Lastly, the calendar is extremely helpful as you can block out vacations, conferences, and other events, and know, at a glance, what's happening each day without having to search through Outlook or other resources.

Pros

I've used SharePoint for over a decade. Long before "the cloud" was the tech buzz word, SharePoint was providing users with web-based storage access, and it still does. There are many things to like about SharePoint. First and foremost, it functions much like a web site. Users can easily navigate to their SharePoint home page and set up additional pages, upload and download files, add calendars and calendar events, and much more. SharePoint also creates archives of all files, so if you revise a file and then later need to see an earlier version of that file, you can use SharePoint's versioning functionality to do this. It's a great utility for storing files of all sorts that others on your team need to use. Uploading and downloading files couldn't be easier. We created different landing pages based on our company's needs. For example, we have a Marketing page to store our collateral, a Content page for manuscripts and legal documents, and an HR page for human resources-related materials.

Cons

It can take users a bit of time to understand the unique functionality of SharePoint. However, if you navigate around the toolbars you should find what you are looking for. In terms of design, SharePoint is relatively basic, so users looking for something with a bit more visual flash might be disappointed. Though if you are mainly looking for a reliable place to manage countless files, SharePoint is probably right for you.

sameer
sameer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/09/2020

SharePoint- The best file sharing tool by Microsoft.

My overall experience with the software has been really amazing till now. Intially, it took some time for me to understand the interface since it is a bit complex but once I got a hack of it, I can now say that this software is really helping me work seamlessly and saving a lot of my time during my day to day files sharing with my clients.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint is one of the top file sharing platforms right now. The primary reason why this software is my personal favourite is that it has the capacity to share very heavy files ( I have tried till 400MB) with our clients. This exclusive feature is not supported by most of the other platform as there is always a size cap till which one can share a file with the client. Also, the file upload time is very less onto share file as compared to other applications available in the market.Last but not the least, the best feature that I like about this software is that it can add n number of people in a specific project within sharepoint.

Cons

There are very less cons about this software product. However, if we still want to mention, I would like to mention that the when we click on the sharepoint , it takes quite a lot of time for the home page to load/ be visible. this is time is very large as compared to other file sharing products that are available in the market since their URL's come up very fastly on to the home screen. Last but not the least, I would also like to mention that the Sharepoint's interface is a bit confusing, it takes some days to understand how things are working on this software which is not the case with other softwares.

Tanner
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 31/01/2022

From the Ground Up

Overall, I am very pleased with what I have been able to learn from and create with SharePoint. There are ups and downs, but many of the cons are more preference than necessity.

Pros

Being someone who has not gone to school or had much formal training in web design, Sharepoint started as a learning experience. We switched from using a WordPress-made site and attempted to recreate the content within SharePoint. At first, this seemed daunting, but I found that I quickly found answers to almost every question I had through the amazing support articles and forums. Through trial and error, I have set up a functioning and organized site for our company that has consolidated our internal content. I am very pleased with the ease of use from both a user and admin perspective. The consistent communication and updates from Microsoft are great.

Cons

With a current emphasis on branding initiatives, our company sees a growing need to have consistency across all of the platforms we use. Though there are many customization options within SharePoint, there is room for more. Being able to add our own fonts natively on the site or adding more advanced web parts would bring the program up another level. With the out-of-the-box web parts, we can accomplish what is needed to set up the site, but having more options would allow for a much better user experience and a more modern look to the site.

Hester
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/03/2022

Microsoft SharePoint is a fantastic platform that can handle the majority of your demands.

Small, medium-sized, and large enterprises with multiple teams and collaboration programs can all benefit from SharePoint. Furthermore, setting up a SharePoint is rather simple for an enterprise with an IT department.

Sharepoint has helped me become more efficient in a variety of areas, and I'm hoping that one of its functions will allow me to make a process more collaborative, controlled, and automated. Currently, the entire organization has access to the software, and the transition from local servers to Sharepoint has been gradual, owing to people's apprehension of something new and unknown.

Pros

SharePoint is particularly user-friendly when it comes to co-authoring. Simply open the online version of the document you want to edit, and you'll be able to make changes to the content while others in your team do the same. This feature makes it simple to manage shared documents and provides visibility into who is making changes and when.

The capacity to communicate and work with anyone within our firm, as well as the option to transfer information outside of it, is tremendously beneficial.

SharePoint crams a lot of functionality onto a single platform, making it a powerful tool for teams that can integrate it with their existing processes. It may take some time to learn everything there is to know.

Cons

Even though your Office 365 subscription includes a free SharePoint online license, you'll have to pay for further customization, deployment, training, and administration.

You should think about integration concerns ahead of time because they may add time and cost to your project, and there's a potential that if it fails, it will reduce employee productivity.

SharePoint may be overkill if you're searching for a simple document management system. It is, however, a terrific alternative if you're searching for a dynamic platform that gives excellent flexibility and simultaneous collaboration, as well as the ability to scale up with your growing organization.

Ck
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/09/2022

A robust collaboration platform

Pros

The best thing about Sharepoint is how well it integrates, not just with Microsoft products like Office 365, Teams, AD, OneDrive, etc. but also with 3rd party tools like SAP, Adobe, Jira, etc. I really like the fact that it encourages live collaboration, especially when used with Office 365 to edit the same documents by multiple people. The content management functionality is also top-notch. It's effortless to customize and modify quickly. From the security standpoint, it has all the bells and whistles of other Microsoft products, like MFA, password policies, at rest and in-flight encryptions, etc.

Cons

As someone who had the misfortune of setting it up, Sharepoint migration and setup can be a daunting and complicated task. You must do extensive research and/or work with Microsoft partners to configure it. Otherwise, you are bound to run into issues, which can be very challenging to troubleshoot. However, if done right, it results in a very powerful tool.

The other thing to be mindful of is the cost. Both the licensing and the support can be expensive.

5,176 reviews