Microsoft 365 Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Microsoft 365

Microsoft 365, formerly Office 365, is a suite of office collaboration and productivity applications. The software encompasses modules that enables the use of Microsoft Office suite and cloud-based solutions such as Skype,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.6
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Microsoft 365 Reviews

13,525 of 13,525 reviews
Sort by:
Phil
Phil
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/01/2023

"Microsoft 365: Productivity and Collaboration All-in-One"

Overall, Microsoft 365 is an excellent solution for individuals, teams, and businesses seeking a comprehensive set of productivity and collaboration features in a single package. It's perfect for online collaboration and remote work. It can also enable users save and share files, documents, and presentations on the cloud, making it easier to view and communicate with others from anywhere.

Pros

Microsoft 365 is a complete productivity and collaboration package that includes Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneDrive, and Teams.It lets users edit files from anywhere with an internet connection.Microsoft Teams' real-time chat, videoconferencing, and file sharing enable teamwork.Microsoft 365 allows real-time creation and sharing of documents, spreadsheets, and presentations, making project collaboration easier.

Cons

Some features are only available at particular membership levels, thus users may need to upgrade in order to gain access to certain tools.For using some of the more advanced features and functionalities, there is a learning curve.

Alternatives Considered

LibreOffice

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft 365

Many people prefer Microsoft Office for its robust and flexible productivity and collaboration tools. Word, Excel, and PowerPoint—popular word processing, data analysis, and presentation apps—included. These programs include several capabilities that make it easy to create and change professional-looking documents, spreadsheets, and presentations.
Ivy
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 30/10/2023

Software as a Service continues its march

Overall it's easy to deal with for most things, and things that aren't easy are rarely impossible, just incredibly irritating.

Pros

It's nice to have a single fee that covers basically all of the common use software for an average worker, including their OS.

Cons

I hate the notion of an OS being a subscription service, and the administrative panel changes a lot in ways that make it seem like Microsoft is not entirely sure how to make things work on the backend.

Sechaba
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2024

The ultimate productivity suite

An overall pleasant experience, and I'm looking forward to the integration with Co-Pilot to ramp up my productivity.

Pros

The tight integration of the Office 365 apps means I never have to leave the ecosystem to accomplish my tasks.

Cons

Memory consumption of Outlook could be better.

Top Microsoft 365 Alternatives

Jeanne
  • Industry: Law Enforcement
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 19/01/2019

50/50

I'm on the fence about Office 365. Some of the features work really well like the applications. Other features like OneDrive aren't as trustworthy as I had hoped. Our company has had issues with accessing files on OneDrive and SharePoint. Microsoft tech support usually has the problem resolved within 24 hours. But for a 24 hours facility, sometimes that's not fast enough. Ultimately the decision was not mine to move to Office 365. Had I known it wasn't very reliable, I would have waited to transition to it.

Pros

SharePoint is a good function for a medium to large sized business. We use it to post documents that our staff use consistently so they can find everything in one place. The documents can get kind of buried in the file structure but it's ideally the same as Windows Explorer once you get used to it. It's nice that you can personalize the sites with background photos and text. Another great feature is the downloadable apps that you get with an E3 account. You can download the apps on a number of computers so you can use it anywhere. Additionally you can download the apps on your phone or tablet.

Cons

OneDrive has given me some trouble when I've got the folder linked with my computer. If you upload things to the OneDrive via internet browser, it's great. Once I added it to my desktop and opened the file window to be used in addition to the web browser, it got questionable. I would open files from the file explorer window and edit them and they wouldn't upload to OneDrive when saved. It's something you really have to keep an eye on. Maybe it was my network card or internet connection. But when you have more than one person editing the same files at different times, you never know if you're getting the most up to date version of that file. I've lost a lot of data because of this. Also when you create Groups and try to use that group for an email, you have to be sure to expand the group or it won't be sent as an email. It will send as a group message and most of the people I work with don't know how to view that.

Namrata
Namrata
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2023

Empowering productivity and collaboration anytime /anywhere

Pros

it is designed to help individuals businesses, and organisations be more productive and collaborative, it includes a variety of applications and services that cater to different needs, and it allows user to access their documents and services from virtually anywhere with an internet connection.

Cons

So far I haven't found anything which I don't like, we are using it here daily.

David
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/01/2024

MS 365 - DR

easy to use, easy to sync and access online and on my iPhone.

Pros

easy to use, can access all of my Microsoft tools here

Cons

no cons, everything related to microsoft that I use is here with Microsoft 365

Maxime
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/01/2024

Good software

Pros

Easy to use, easy to integrate with the whole suite

Cons

Some advanced parameters require time to set-up

Jorge
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2024

Microsoft 365

Excellent experience, I can share any file, meet my team and check my e-mail from the same software

Pros

Everything is online and you can share all you want with who you need

Cons

Could be expensive but it is a great software

Rema
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/01/2024

Microsoft 365 is the future of online desktop

Microsoft 365 is a platform for all company's needs in one place.

Pros

Microsoft 365 is rich in new functions and features like high availability, smooth and easy to use, and good price with many plans.

Cons

Microsoft 365 in some areas is complicated.

Cody
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2024

Microsoft 365

Excellent! Wouldn't use any other application

Pros

I love how it's so easy to use and it's so clean and not cluttered.

Cons

I don't know of anything I don't like about it

Esther
Esther
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Best Option for Automatically-Updated Office Installs, But Not the Greatest Value

Office 365 fits a very specific purpose, but it's a purpose that is very common in office environments: ensuring that you always have the latest version of Office applications available to you, including on multiple computers if you choose one of the higher-priced packages. Gone are the days of needing to purchase each new edition of Office every 3 years, because Office 365 automatically upgrades whenever a new version is released. The downside is, you're then locked into a monthly subscription, and then if you cancel it, all the money you spent leaves you with no access to the applications. This may not be a problem for everyone, but it is frustrating at times to realize you are essentially just "renting" access to the software. Its activation system is also a bit buggy, as Word regularly asks me to sign into my Microsoft account to re-activate the software, despite nothing on my account changing. If you can get beyond these issues, however, Office 365 definitely fills an important niche.

Pros

Always provides the latest version of all Office applications, can be used on multiple computers (depending on package purchased), offers OneDrive storage included with the packages

Cons

Becomes expensive over time, local installs of the applications sometimes need to be reactivated due to bugs in the activation system, locks you in to a specific software ecosystem

Alternatives Considered

LibreOffice

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft 365

Wider support for various document types, and needed advanced features of Office that were not available on open-source alternatives.
Mir Fida
Mir Fida
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/02/2020

Suitable package application software for small to large scale business

Overall we are very much satisfied with the Office 365 subscription service. It's our daily to use tool for every project. Performance is always up to the expectation. Never encountered any serious bug or error halting an important bug. Still, some minor issues are faced rarely but nothing that cannot be handled. When utilizing each and every feature and app included in Office 365, then it will definitely prove a great asset to your organization which will boost sales and eventually profits in the long run.

Pros

Office 365 is the most beneficial package for our small business IT company. Including top-rated desktop applications Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Outlook, Access, OneNote, One drive ..etc all are tools increasing daily projects productivity and efficiency. One of the fantastic features is that it's also available with a web cloud app and mobile app, making team collaboration available anywhere. Some Educational organizations can get free of cost features for staff and students to boost learning using technology.

Cons

Minor bugs occur rarely. Pricing is but high for initial and beginning level business and office. But in the long run, it's is useful if all of the apps and features are utilized to full capacity. The PowerPoint interface can be made easier and more user-friendly. Word has some difficulty handling a hundred pages large project docs and often messed up formating. One Drive synchronization and naming could be better. For Startups, I think the libre office provides a budget-level choice.

Alternatives Considered

LibreOffice

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft 365

As it was best compatible with our Windows system and cross-platform support for many other devices. Our clients also mostly had Office so we could give accurate services. Various productive features, shortcuts, macros and quick settings helped us in working on projects, collaborate with teams and complete assignments on time. Learning is easy from previous to the latest versions user interface. Security features are also considered for selecting this package. Support is better for any problem. For using advanced features we just read online official documentation, course, faqs, and tutorial to implement the latest functionalities. These compelled us to use it.
Mohsin
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2021

Microsoft 365 has helped us collaborate easily with a remote team

Microsoft 365 has helped us collaborate easily and transform digitally across various processes in our business.

Pros

Microsoft 365 is reliable and always online. We have seldom faced an outage and if there was one, it was only for a subset of features.

Cons

Mobile app could be more powerful, especially in allowing access to archived mailboxes where users on the move in this mobile first world need to be able to find what they need on the go.

Alternatives Considered

Google Workspace

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft 365

Storage, file management and server administration

Switched From

cPanel & WHM

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft 365

Our users are well versed with Office Software products so it was definitely a plus being from the same vendor.
Billy
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/01/2020

A Bridge That Should Be Burned

Were it not for the desktop app (particularly Outlook) compatibility, this would be a stellar product. As offered it is a stellar product with a trap door that casts users and IT staff into anti-productivity blackness.

Pros

This is a viable contender to Google's G-Suite. It offers a smoother transition from the old Microsoft desktop world of programs.

Cons

In offering a transition from the old world, Microsoft adds a compatibility layer that accommodates desktop apps while at the same time providing cloud/SAAS versions of the tools.

Herein lies the hazard.

The cloud/SAAS shift offers great opportunity to simplify the Byzantine features and controls that grew like tumors on desktop applications. They are the very things that users obsess over and spend a lot of their time adjusting, managing, customizing... wasting time on. Those "features" drown employees, who in turn are rescued by IT staff. It is a cost multiplier.

I spent entirely too much time recreating the desktop environments, Outlook being the worst, because employees wanted to click on a familiar icon and experience exactly what they experienced prior to their move to Office 365. With that completed, everyone is happy and they have no interest in exploring the cloud, not even to share files. They still use thumb drives.

I'm sure other work environs are different, but I'm just as sure that what I just experienced is not unique.

I see this as Microsoft's missed opportunity to do the job right. Instead, they chose to milk the legacy cow at the cost of impeded future progress.

Alternatives Considered

Google Workspace

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft 365

Moved client from all in one domain/web hosting/email/marketing/SEO service to in-house managed components.

Switched From

Microsoft Outlook

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft 365

Employee familiarity with Microsoft. In retrospect, I regret it.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/11/2018

Office 365 Review

Overall, cloud technology is appreciated from a convenience perspective. Also, constant updates provide smooth operating experience. This comes at a cost though. I've also found the web based apps to be less streamlined than the desktop apps. Overall, the shift to a subscription based model was not a necessary shift by Microsoft for the consumer. More of a move that benefits Microsoft. That said, product is still robust and well produced and supported.

Pros

Accessibility is the biggest asset of Office 365 for the user. The ability to use a computer as a platform to reach the cloud allows for interchangeability and access from anywhere. Having less desktop applications has allowed me to cycle through our corporate computers seamlessly as no data is actually stored in my hard drive (3 computers 3 years.) The mail app also runs smoother in the web browser when you are sharing calendars. This function used to consistently crash our computers when sharing a calendar on the Outlook Desktop Application.

Cons

Overall, I like Office 365 much less than I like my Windows Desktop Application Suite. Specifically, there is less functionality in the web based apps. I like several windows open in Outlook which is easier accomplished within the desktop app. I also do a lot of work without access to WiFi. Desktop Apps allow you to at least create content which can then be shared upon access to internet. Our office internet is also very slow and unreliable. We try and reduce the amount of reliance on web pages. I think it will be hard to ever have the full functionality that a desktop app has, but this is a good temporary solution to access your email or word docs on the move.

Pricing - Office 365 is now subscription based. You used to be able to buy a license and only pay again when you wanted to upgrade. Now you get constant upgrades, but this comes at a cost.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/05/2019

Office 365 provides value and lowers the cost of email ownership

I have been a user of Office 365 both personally and professionally since the product's early days. I have migrated email from on-premise Exchange servers, Google Suite, and ISP Pop accounts to Office 365. Early on I used 3rd party tools for the migrations. Office 365 now offers (for a little while now) the ability to migrate with no costs (such as using a 3rd party app) and utilizes Azure storage to get the job done. Office 365 is feature rich and truly offers a lower cost of ownership.

Pros

Tight integration with Microsoft Outlook (unlike other email platforms). This is most noticeable with contacts and calendars, including sharing. The subscription-based model allows for easy updates to the latest Office software while being able to control if those updates should be deployed at all. This helps to keep all users on the same version without the concern of having to buy upgrade licenses and perform a traditional software rollout. The ability to save directly to OneDrive and/or Sharepoint with applications such as Word or Excel is extremely valuable and is a great solution for small organizations that have no local central storage or tend to save items directly on their own PCs. Email accessability is simple via web, mobile, and desktop. Storage space is sufficient and can be expanded easily (for an additional cost). Tenant management is very easy to use and navigate - most areas are very self-explanatory (help is easily accessible as well).

Cons

Office 365 has matured quite well. Early on, tenant management was a little clunky and over time features have been added. A wish-list item would be wider acceptance for OneDrive integration with 3rd party apps - similar to DropBox.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/06/2019

Microsoft Office 365 Review

The ulitmate best experience possible out of all software suite packages that I use!

Pros

The software suite of apps are so Robust and you have them both on the cloud and on the desktop to use whatever way you desire. The MS software apps are the best money "can't buy" - meaning you can't buy any better apps than MS provides for each category you are dealing with. Their phone and/or remote session tech support is beyond the word "fantastic", and they immediately answer the phone when you call and get righton having remote sessions and finding and fixing the issues that need to be troubleshooted and rectified. All of this support is 100% free and for every application in the suite of apps provided...from Onedrive to OneNote to MS Word...and on and on!!!

Cons

Each app is so ROBUSt that it truly takes a gargantuan amount of time to really learn how to work with them if you really want to use them to their fullest potential. There is no "easy fx for this" and you have to expend the time and energy to learn the "ins and outs" of each app to know "how to work it". Consequently, the ONLY big issue I have is with OneDrive and OneNote...as they are 2 separate apps but the reality is that they are really ONE...meaning unless OneDrive is configured properly...OneNote will NOT work...and vice-versa. Therefore, it does take time to figure this all out as a new user...but now that I'm an experienced one, with many dozens of hours of tech support history "under my belt" - I now know what to do when I have to do a "clean install" of Windows 10 and reinstall the desktop apps again....as I learned the "hard knox way" what must be done from the "get go" to get BOTH theses apps going in the right flow! I recently purchased a brand new computer and i did NOt need tech support to assist me in installing Office 365 because I had learned all the "tricks of the trade" from past experience already, and I was able to do just fine installing the entire app suite alone without getting tech support on the phone!

Veronica
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

1
Reviewed on 23/06/2020

where did all the tools go?

I hate it, I no longer use it and have dropped back to MS office 2010. Ill build a separate system if needed to allow this to run another 10 years if need be, or until MS figures out they dont need to pry into every email I write, and its soooo obvious especially when dealing with overseas vendors, it takes twice as long to compose due to the insistent review of what I am typing.
I am not a terrorist, I am not making bombs, I am trying to run a business and office 365 fails in that category, completely. May be great for an individual who doesn't need to organize folders, rules and email controls ect. but not good at all for business.

Overall, its clear MS thinks its OK to have everything on cloud based computing and has either lead the way or given in to government pressures to track and record all your emails - as you write them. Cant they just simply do it the old fashioned way, and get a court order to get emails of suspected persons of interest instead of trying to capture everyone's emails?

Pros

it was easy to install and set up.
It will handle multiple email accounts as one inbox - most likely a Redmond tracking / snooping feature to capture all your communications in one place.

Cons

I no longer use this product, I couldn't stand it at all. Not everything needs to be cloud based and this is one which certainly belongs in that category.
I didnt like or cant stand the following:
comparing to the MS Office suite - Outlook specifically:
1. no way to open easily the email in a separate window,
2. when creating an email, I have to WAIT for the program to "read" my typing , feels invasive
3. spell check - its like asking a baby to check your spelling. Typos where keys right next to one another should be discernible to a computer, are not, its the dumbest spell check ever
4. when trying to correct a spelling error, since the system is so dumb, and its takes so long for the spell check to figure it out, I typically was correcting it manually.
5. not many options available
6. Rules options, are non existent so I cant make a rule to handle emails as they arrive.
7. no text formatting
8. no HTML / RTF / plain text formatting options
9. Cant simply drop a signature file in, its cumbersome
10. its not MS Office Outlook - you took a successful product (outlook) with useful tools and stripped it down from a high performance sports car to a wagon, and I mean a little red wagon!

sameer
sameer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/10/2020

Office 365- The ultimate software package that manages all day to day work related tasks.

My overall experience with Office 365 products has been really amazing. I can assure that for me these products are the real work companions who help me manage my teams and work in very fast and effective manner . I cannot imagine my laoptop without these products and without these it would be really impossible for me to manage such large data and teams. A big shoutout to Microsoft for all that they do!

Pros

Well, as it is a bunch of softwares including excel, PPT, Word, onenote, outlook, teams, skype etc. I specifically use the above mentioned softwares on a day to day basis and each one has there own set of unique advatages and functionality that the others don't have. But I were to generalize, I would say that the seamlessness, smoothness and the cutting edge technology with which all these applications work is the part is like the most about these softwares. For example, data handling and data comparison with formulaes like Vlookup, Hlookup are the best and most unique features that only Excel provides.

Cons

The only thing that I least like about the Office products is the sudden shutdown of these applications whenever we have opening a bit heavy files on these softwares. Once, they show the sign of "Not Responding" , I just prepare for loosing my 2-3 hours of heard work since in sudden crash, these softwares are at times not able to retain the work done in last few hours (though once in a blue moon they are able to recover but most of the times they don't). On the communication side, one feature of skype for business that I like the least is that once the laptop is started it takes quite a lot of time to connect to the server as compared to other similar products available in the market and thus at times wastes some time of the end user who wants to chat to someone on an urgent basis. Last but not the least, some work could be done for sure to make the GUI of teams a bit user friendly since for me it was quite difficult and i took some time to understand its features and functionalities.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/12/2020

Decent option for teamwork across an organization

Overall, their Teams app has been a key tool for our organization to stay in touch virtually and manage projects together. It's a great alternative to Zoom. You can create multiple channels based on topics/projects to collaborate across an organization.

The Word and Excel apps are fairly easy to use to edit shared content.

We use Planner for project management, and it's much like Trello, which I don't love, but some people do. You can assign tasks, easily move them around, and set deadlines, etc. I really wish they had something like this but in a calendar format so you could see the deadlines on the days, not laterally across a screen.

I also wish they had a better file storage/sharing app. OneDrive does house a lot of files, but it's not easy to view them, share them, or integrate with their other apps.

Pros

Office 365 offers a variety of apps that integrate with one another and are fairly easy to use. In particular, Teams is a solid app that can be used for chatting, video/phone calls, and generally staying in frequent communication across an organization.

Cons

There's not a good calendar-planning tool to help you manage projects and deadlines. They haven't been staying on schedule with planned upgrades and new product roll-outs.

Michael
Michael
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 13/10/2017

This software suite is aptly named - pretty much all of our clients use it. Microsoft is...

Pros

O365 is the gold standard, right? Yes, there are other spreadsheet composition apps you can use but they're all compared to Excel. The measuring stick for how a word processor or document editor holds up is how similar it is to Word. PowerPoint is such an industry standard that people use it to describe a sequence of slides prepared for presentations even when the creator used a different piece of software. And so on.

Cons

Real talk - Cloud Tech Smart is principally an IT services provider for small businesses. Tier 1 help desk stuff is our bread and butter. So, if a client's Outlook is being weird or whatever, it's me who calls. Not them. And I have to say, Microsoft's customer support DOES eventually resolve every ticket I bring to them but they don't make it easy. First they want to make sure I am who I say I am. Clarifying that the person who originally purchased the license has outsourced his IT department to us is insufficient - sometimes I have to log in to their admin portal and send an email as whatshisname to tech support to tell them to trust me. After we get through all of that, the tech working on the issue insists on going back through the troubleshooting process starting from Step 1, no matter how much of that I've already done in the hope that I could resolve the issue without calling him in the first place.

Anyway. Like I said, I've never opened a ticket that couldn't be eventually closed with a desirable resolution. But I do know one client in particular (a lawyer) who wanted to litigate over a problem that took literally days to fix, was ultimately Microsoft's fault, and the solution for which was to just delete and reinstall the software, which is what I wanted to do in the first place but was explicitly told not to by the tech who took my ticket. So there is that.

Vikas
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/09/2021

Great colloboration & Productivity tool which can do almost anything one can think of.

My overall experience with Microsoft 365 has been phenomenal. Half of them time I am away from my desk and I needed a software which allows me to keep working on my files/presentations even when I am not near a computer. And with a single license I can use MS 365 on my office smartphone, my personal Iphone and as well as on my son iPad.
And the integration with OneDrive has made it so much easier to share the documents with my teams immediately after I am finished with it.

Pros

Microsoft 365 contains all the common products everyone is using for more than 2 decades.
Word, Excel, power Point , outlook are the products which are known to everyone and then the new products like One Note and OneDrive has greatly extended the features and capabilities of Office/Excel and Power Point. While using PowerPoint we can make beautiful presentations or using Word we can document any thought or processes, and using excel we can do any numbered/mathematical tasks one can think of, by combining them with OneNote and OneDrive we can collaborate and share all out documents/presentations/sheets with other team members and even with people who don't have 365.

Cons

One of the drawbacks of Microsoft 365 is that we needs internet access to access the documents/sheets/powerpoints and other files. There has been instances when team members are in a remote location/underground subway and they don't have stable internet connectivity , it makes really hard for them to work on it.
Another concern which has been raised by our security team is that all confidential files and data are not shared on cloud instead of being on premises which makes it vulnerable to be hacked.

Maranda
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/10/2021

Essentials for students

My overall experience with Microsoft 365 has been a positive source to get my personal and professional activities completed. Microsoft 365 provides a unique blend of productivity and collaboration tools to help simplify work while providing the freedom to be creative. I have been able to take advantage of these features for both my personal and professional life. The use of Outlook creates a safe place for everyone in the office, regardless of skill set, where they can collaborate with coworkers or brainstorm new ideas. One feature that I have found very helpful is Microsoft Teams which allows groups from different organizations from around the world to communicate easily without emails or phone calls.

Pros

Microsoft office suits me well as a Full-time college student by making it easy for me to organize my work and stay on top of deadlines. I have been working with the office suite for years now, and it seems to work well with my needs. I can stay organized with the calendar tab along the side of the screen, finding what I need right away on any computer I enter.

The OneDrive tab is also convenient with its cloud backup-saving feature, so if anything were to happen to my computer or laptop I could simply log in from another machine and all my files would be there. My favorite feature in Office is the online version, which allows me to access my documents from any computer with internet access for when I don't have easy access to my own laptop. With all these features, Microsoft Office has ensured that I am able to get work done on time and easily manage my workload.

I would highly recommend Microsoft Office to anyone who needs software for school or for home. It is so handy and user friendly that I could not see myself using anything else.

Cons

One con I do have about Microsoft office is that it can be difficult to 'get your head around' the various features. This program is more complex than many of its counterparts, which can make it difficult if you are new to this type of software. I find that where there are complicated features in Microsoft office programs, they will often have tutorials on how to use them available.

I am not an expert in computers but I do know something about using Microsoft Office and all of its features. For the past few years I have been using it for my class work and other data processing tasks that we were assigned to complete back then.

Simon
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 27/04/2022

eh?

Disappointment and forced bondage (we've always used powerpoint for presentations, so we're going to carry on doing that, even if they're a pain to update and many more modern, better options are available).

Pros

Familiarity, I guess, I mean, if I could literally use anything else, I would.

Cons

Microsoft are one of the biggest software companies in the world, with more software engineers than I can count, yet each new release of this software is basically a "where do I find that feature now".

Nothing new, nothing useful added, just the shelves rearranged so I have to take time out and learn where they've moved something to this time and when working across devices with different versions I have to increase my mental load on using the application to recall how to do things rather than spending that mental load on completing a task.

Speaking of different versions, of course they render files slightly differently, or don't support some of the limited new features over the years so you're dissuaded from using them, does xlookup work better than vlookup? Yes, can you use it? No, because the file may go to a client with an version that doesn't support it.

Appreciate I may sound contradictory, of complaining of no new features, and then those new features not being backwardsly compatible, but this is the annoyance of using this. Then you go to the web versions that are even more kneecapped, need to use a macro to achieve something? Not online you don't. Now you have to open the file in a desktop version, run the macro, and re-sync to the cloud and close the app, go back to the webversion, gah, all such a faff for an application that's older than any of my interns.

kimberley
kimberley
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 05/04/2023

I was using microsoft 365 before i even knew about it

Microsoft 365 is an awesome suite of productivity tools that combine Microsoft Office with features for collaboration and communication through the cloud. With this tool, you can access your documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and email from anywhere, at any time, and on any device, which is super cool!Microsoft 365 has a variety of features, including Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, and Outlook, among others. These applications are packed with features that make it easy for you to create, edit, and share your work. Additionally, Microsoft 365 has intelligent tools that use AI to help you work more efficiently, which is pretty neat.What's great about Microsoft 365 is that it's affordable and flexible. You can select from different plans that cater to your specific needs and budget. It's perfect for anyone who wants to be productive and connected, whether you're an individual, small business owner, or a large enterprise.However, Microsoft 365 does have some drawbacks, like compatibility issues, performance issues, and connectivity issues, especially when using older or less powerful devices. Also, the subscription model may not be suitable for users who prefer to pay a one-time fee for their software.Overall, Microsoft 365 is a robust and versatile productivity suite that provides users with a comprehensive set of tools for their work and collaboration needs. It's a fantastic choice for anyone who wants to stay productive, organized, and connected.

Pros

First of all, one of the things that makes Microsoft 365 so great is that it's a cloud-based service. This means you can access your files and documents from anywhere, on any device. So, if you're working remotely or traveling, you can still get your work done without missing a beat.Another awesome thing about Microsoft 365 is that it includes a comprehensive set of applications, like Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, that are packed with features to help you get things done. Whether you're writing a report, creating a budget, or designing a presentation, there's a tool in Microsoft 365 to help you do it.One of the best things about Microsoft 365, though, is how easy it makes collaboration. With real-time co-authoring, comments, and chat, you can work together with your team members on projects and get things done faster. Plus, with security features like data encryption and multi-factor authentication, you can be sure that your work is safe and secure.Finally, Microsoft 365 includes some really cool AI-powered tools, like Ideas in Excel and Presenter Coach in PowerPoint, that can help you work more efficiently and effectively. These tools use artificial intelligence to suggest improvements to your work and provide feedback on your presentation skills, so you can make the most of your time and be more productive.Overall, Microsoft 365 is a great choice for anyone looking for a suite of productivity tools that are versatile, easy to use, and packed with features to help you

Cons

While Microsoft 365 is a powerful and versatile suite of productivity tools, there are some cons that are worth considering before you decide to use it. Here are a few of the most common ones:Subscription-based: One of the biggest cons of Microsoft 365 is that it's a subscription-based service. This means you have to pay a monthly or yearly fee to use it, which may not be ideal for everyone who prefers a one-time payment model. This can add up over time, especially if you need to purchase licenses for multiple users.Compatibility issues: Some users have reported compatibility issues with Microsoft 365, particularly with older versions of Windows and certain devices. This can cause frustration and potentially impact your productivity if you have to switch devices or upgrade your operating system.Learning curve: While Microsoft 365 is generally user-friendly, some users may find that there is a learning curve when it comes to mastering all of the features and tools available. This can take some time to get used to, especially if you're coming from a different productivity suite.Performance issues: In some cases, users have reported performance issues with Microsoft 365, such as slow load times or lag when working with larger files. This can be frustrating and impact your ability to get work done efficiently.It's important to keep in mind that not all of these cons will be relevant to everyone, and some may not be a big deal depending on your specific needs.

13,525 reviews