Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews

4.7
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage

Backblaze is a leader in the open cloud movement—fueling customer success with cloud storage built purposefully to unlock budgets, unburden administrators, and unleash innovators, B2 Cloud Storage offers always hot, S3 compatible...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.7
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage Reviews

138 of 138 reviews
Sort by:
Christopher
Christopher
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2019

Best Backup on the Market for Business

For our small business, the software was a huge success and came in handy when one of our back drives went bad. Setup on our server and workstations was seamless and easy to manage from any device.

Pros

The best part of this software is how easy it is to configure and setup. A few simple clicks, a private key for encryption, and it runs quietly in the background when connected to the internet uploading data as specified in your options. Cost for the amount of storage is lower than most providers without having to rely on cold storage options.

Cons

Backblaze relies on the computer state for backups, and doesn't give a huge number of options for data recovery. If you lose a file, you need to make sure to restore it before the next backup kicks in and removes the file for good.

Software does not run on network drives or NAS very easily. NAS sometimes has software to integrate, but usually not a dual direction backup. Upload was pretty slow.

We are on 400/400 fiber and the 600GB upload took almost 3 days.

Response from Backblaze

Hey Christopher-
Thanks for leaving the review! Just a quick note- Our Computer Backup software is one not intended to run on network drives or NAS devices, we have B2 Cloud Storage for those use cases. Why? Our Computer Backup service is one of the few remaining unlimited services around. By being truly unlimited, we had to draw some lines around what backing up a `computer¿ means (within the context of unlimited). So that might explain some of their haplenges you had backing up your NAS.

But checkout B2! It¿s $0.05 /GB/month (1/4 of the price of S3). And is integrated into most NAS devices already. You can find more information at https://www.backblaze.com/b2/solutions/backup-and-archive.html

Cheers!
Ahin from Backblaze

Replied 02/04/2019
Jamison
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Great, cost-effective option for remote backup

I've been using BackBlaze for over 2 years and haven't had any issues with the software, it does a great job notifying me when an employee's machine hasn't been backed up and does a good job of well, backing things up.

Pros

Business licensing allowed me to purchase all the licenses my team needed. The simple invite method works great. This is one of those things you should have but hope you never need

Cons

Migrating computers really isn't a thing with Backblaze. It'd be nice to have a migrate options available.

Robert
Robert
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 25/11/2022

Backblaze let me down

Disappointing.

Pros

Used them successfully for many years. Then suddenly, they stopped backing up my external HD on my mac for an undetermined amount of time. After discovering this potentially catastrophic situation, I contacted customer support which finally told me that BB couldn't backup a mac external HD with Time Machine. What? But it did in previous years? why wasn't I alerted my backup was essentially backing up ONLY my desktop, which has almost no files? Wasted money. Worse, it could have cost me my business.

Cons

Unreliable and their customer service seemed clueless.

Top Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage Alternatives

Joseph
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/05/2022

Just go with Backblaze

I love Backblaze. They offer exceptional products for way below the competitions pricing.

Pros

I use their B2 backup on my NAS. I needed something that was affordable but also reliable. B2 checked those boxes for my business

Cons

I don’t have any cons for this product.

Alternatives Considered

IDrive

Reasons for Switching to Backblaze B2 Cloud Storage

Straightforward product offerings. Not pushy to buy more services.
Thomas
Thomas
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2022

Backup Server with Backblaze

Pros

I've used Backblaze for years with mixed results with regard to using it as a backup for computer files. For the most part I've moved to Google drive for that because it works much better for my use case. But what I really like Backblaze for is remotely backing up my cpanel production servers. We used to use Amazon S3 to backup our servers. But it was a little expensive. Backblaze is way cheaper than AWS and just as easy to set up and even easier to use if you need to access files.

Cons

The smart phone app can be a little buggy at times when trying to connect or download files.

Scott
Scott
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2018

Backblaze was a simple solution for what has always been a complex problem.

The peace of mind that if you're office burns down or floods and your harddrive backups and their contingency drives die you still have a backup in the cloud... It's worth the few dollars. The value per dollar is stunning with Backblaze!

Pros

Being able to have your entire database and archive in the cloud, automatically synching everyday, is a huge weight off of a company's shoulders. It's incredibly cheap for what you're receiving and the options to get your data back are very convenient.

Convenience is the key to Backblaze's success. A program runs in the background and is transferring your files in the middle of the night (or whenever you set it), ease of mind with no extra work. The setup is easy and takes minutes and the updates are informative.

Cons

One issue with Backblaze is you literally need to upload ALL of your data so depending on your ISP you may hit some data limit caps. I also found the upload process to be very slow. It took a couple weeks to upload a dozen terabytes. However when it was all finished, there is no issue in keeping up with the daily influx of data.

Bryan
Bryan
  • Industry: Design
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/03/2018

The simplest cloud backup solution

Pros

Backblaze is very easy to get running on a new computer and has configurable bandwidth limits. It doesn't backup the OS or applications which is great since it is unnecessary. It makes sense to have physical on and off site backups as well for critical data, but backblaze is so affordable that it is a great addition and adds peace of mind without having to always worry about if physical backups are 100% up to date.

Cons

I understand that they need to put limits on some things so people don't game the system, but I wish it was possible to keep a single external HD backed up without having to keep it plugged in all the time. If the external HD is unplugged for a certain amount of days, the data from it will be cleared. For teams that travel often, they may not always be able to have that external drive plugged in.

José Luis
José Luis
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2022

I have used Backblaze for over two years and I am VERY happy with it.

I am just plain happy. My intention is to renew again and again my yearly subscription with them. The reason I started using this software is that The New York Times uses it as well. If they use it, the software must be fantastic!

Pros

Ease of use. Security. Peace of mind. Everything works in the background. I don't even need to update the software because it does it automatically.

Cons

I cannot think of anything. They send a regular newsletter, and many of the articles they send are too tricky for me to understand. Maybe if they wrote some of those articles in a more user-friendly language for people like me who are ignorant about IT.

Nate
Nate
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/07/2018

The biggest success of this software is that I never have to think about it

Pros

First off, the biggest endorsement I can give for this software/service, at least for me, is that it is picked by The Wirecutter as the best online cloud backup service.

The first important thing to realize is that EVERY hard drive will eventually fail. Not if, but when. So you need a backup plan. And any backup plan that requires you to remember to do something is doomed. That's where BackBlaze comes in. The setup is dead simple (easier than other services I've used, like Crashplan), and then you simply let it do it's thing and run in the background. That's it! All you need to do is relax knowing that all of your data (and I mean all--the service allows unlimited data storage) is now safely backed up offsite.

Cons

I have yet to run into any issues with this sofware and service. I fortunately have not had the need to try out their data recovery features, however, so I can't opine on the quality there yet.

Jessica
Jessica
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/10/2018

Affordable option for business backup

I got tired of the regular price increases of the cloud backup solution that I had been using for years and in my research Backblaze came highly recommended, the price was right so I decided to do a trial. I have a lot of files so the initial backup took a long time but by adjusting the settings to use more bandwidth while I slept, the backup completed in a fraction of the projected time.

So far it has done a great job at backup up new files within hours thus giving me peace of mind. I haven't had the need to do a full restore yet (knock on wood) but I did conduct a test restore before the end of my trial, I had to go to the website to do so and it's not as instant as my old solution but it worked well. I like that in the event of a catastrophic hard drive failure I have the option to have a drive shipped to me.

The software has been running on autopilot since I signed up and I am saving money.

Pros

The price is a great value when compared to the products that I had been using before. Setup was easy and straightforward and it automatically backs up new and changed files giving me peace of mind.

Cons

Customizing settings isn't as user friendly as the app that I used before. You need to log on to the website to restore files which is a small inconvenience. My old backup solution had a small icon next to files so I knew at a glance which ones were already backed up, Backblaze doesn't offer that. It isn't able to back up GSuite's File Stream Drive.

John
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/01/2023

The best tools to create a secure backup system at the lowest costs

Backing up on the cloud is very important, and Backblaze enables us to control our backups from one place, and provides us with the required layers of protection for our data. We now have an integrated archive of all our files, and we can search it and access the data we need, as well as access and retrieve it with ease.

Pros

With Backblaze, I find great confidence that all the files and various data I work on are safely backed up to the cloud, and the encryption that Backblaze uses to authenticate system access and data recovery is something I greatly appreciate. Sync with Backblaze is excellent and we can keep multiple archives working with cloud backups at the same time, and we can schedule backup times with ease. I very much appreciate the notices and reports that document backup operations, as well as when an error occurs, which makes us fully prepared when any problem occurs with copying operations, and we can then call the support team, which I find very responsive, and we can always find appropriate solutions to problems.

Cons

There are no features that I do not like about Backblaze, as I find it has a simple user interface, and all the tools are clear and easy to use, in addition to that it integrates with all applications very efficiently. My only concern with Backblaze comes from the copying speed, which I find to be variable, and also because of the notification system, where sometimes I receive a notification that the copying process failed, and when I track the process I find that it is talking and that the copying was completed successfully.

Felipe
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Install and forget until you need it

Compared to other programs that need to be administered, checking ans ensuring the backups are really done and up to date, Backblaze works in the background with no limits in storage and store everything in your computer that has to be stored and offers to send you your information, should you need it in a SSD

Pros

Smooth install, initial backup and operation. Really does the work wkithout the hassle, self administered, it works for you keeping your files stored and safe

Cons

Everything is fine with this product, maybe a bundle pricing could help to have more computers in the network

Corey
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/12/2020

BackBlaze is Wonderful

I've never need support in any way. BackBlaze has never failed me once. Couldn't be happier.

Pros

BackBlaze is easy to use and is integrated into JetBackup, which I love. Their pricing gives me the flexibility to store more backups than S3. Will be a user for life so long as they don't jack up the prices.

Cons

Really wish it was compatible with incremental backups. As it is now, I have to send full backups and use more space. That's not a big deal since the pricing is reasonable, but incremental would be easier on my machine.

Allie
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 03/10/2019

Great backup!

It has been great. I have comfort knowing all my documents are backed up and my years worth of projects will not be lost!

Pros

Backblaze has been a lifesaver! I downloaded the software and it backs up my documents. My computer died earlier this year and I panicked. I was so worried that I lost everything, and I had never logged in to see my backed up information. I bought a new laptop and was able to successfully get all of my backed up documents, picture, etc from Backblaze. It was super comforting to know that my information was all there. years of work! I also utilized customer service and they were so helpful!

Cons

None! I have had nothing but a good experience with this software. It is well worth the cost!!! Get it today

Junjie
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/03/2018

Reliable continuous offsite backup

Pros

I like that Backblaze constantly runs in the background backing up everything that's on my Mac. Some of my co-workers can't be bothered with manually plugging in a hard drive to run a backup, so this works perfectly for them. Since I also have a local backup, I don't have a need to download my entire backup as yet. However it came in handy on a number of occasions when I needed to access a file on my Mac when I'm out.

Cons

I wish they could offer unlimited versioning of files so that I can rollback to an earlier version when something goes wrong. As of now, I'd need to combine that with other solutions like Time Machine or Dropbox Extended Version History.

Greg
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/11/2018

Backblaze - super affordable, stable backups

From day 1 we have been able to simply configure and always restore our data. That along with the price makes this the perfect solution to backup millions of files across 10TB of data.

Pros

The price and the simplicity of configuring it to backup our Synology rackstation. It's secure and we have always been able to restore files when needed. We have never experienced an issue with Backblaze. Would highly recommend to everyone.

Cons

The web interface could use an overhaul. It is simple enough but I feel like with a little time and effort they could turn it into something better. Note, this is a very minor con.

Chris
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/10/2018

Backblaze solved our email archive problem

Overall it solved the problem of where to store our old emails which makes repeat requests much easier to find and respond to a customer much faster.

Pros

We receive over 1,000 emails a month just between mechanical and electrical after sales support. I am the 'gatekeeper' of the email archives. We originally had them on a separate server, but that became buggy. And it wasn't searchable. With backblaze you can back up automatically every day anything and everything on the computer, and be able to retrieve it at any time. This eliminated the need to have a separate hard drive that everyone would have to map to, and the plug into their computer if they needed an older email.

Cons

The only downside is the backup can take a while if you don't have it set to do it every day. If you do it every week and you have a lot of data it could take hours for it to backup.

Sunil
Sunil
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/01/2018

Excellent backup option with great support

Pros

After being forced to find an alternate backup solution for our home business, we came across Backblaze and gave it a try. This has been a home-run for us, and we'll definitely continue to use it. The setup is fairly simple and straightforward, and being able to adjust options regarding when and the amount of resources used to backup files is great.
When we encountered an issue, their support center was prompt in replying to us and did an excellent job at explaining what the cause of the issue was.
The ability to restore an entire folder or an individual file regardless of location is very nice, and the price is very competitive for the options they provide.

Cons

There's really not a whole lot that I'd change. A benefit is the support articles and answers found in the community.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 04/05/2018

Cloud backup plans are nothing new but Backblaze does it best

Backblaze provides a simple setup and peace of mind when dealing with valuable data.

Pros

Pricing is great for Backblaze and setup is beyond simple. The persistent backups mean no user is ever in fear of losing valuable data. We've implemented Backblaze for all our employees machines. An underrated feature that I hope I never have to use is they'll send you a physical copy of your backup if you ever find yourself in a severe emergency backup situation!

Cons

I really, really can't think of any negatives to say about Backblaze. While I think the price is fair I guess it could be bundled a little better for larger organizations who need a lot of machines backed up.

Carl
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/06/2021

Set it and forget it

Generally works great without me having to do anything. But I have had issued with the backups getting desynchronized.

Pros

Once it's been set up, you rarely have to think about it. It works in the background.

Cons

Because you rarely need to think about it, if it stops working it could be a while before you notice there's an issue.

Changing/deleting a bunch of files all at once can cause the backup to become desynchronized, and the only way to fix it is to uninstall and reinstall the app start the backup over from scratch.

Anthony
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2018

Sign up, Set it, Forget it

Pros

I have literally had to do nothing after I signed up and followed the step-by-step process. I feel comfortable knowing that I have a 100% backup of my whole computer.

Cons

I, like many in this day and age, often wonder the security level of this backup storage service. There is some pretty serious content some folks may have stored in their backup...how secure is it? I just don't know yet. There is a constant tug-of-war on my perception of my content's safety and security. This is not specific to BackBlaze, but is inherently present because of the nature of this business.

Amber
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/03/2019

Backblaze

Overall experience with Backblaze has been very good. The admin console this very easy to use and makes it simple to download backups.

Pros

Backblaze is a dependable backup solution. This software has been so helpful for all the remote users we have.

Cons

I wish Backblaze had the capability to automatically download data that has been backed up on a previous computer and dump it onto a different computer.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/04/2019

The best no-fuss backup solution around.

Pros

Backblaze has one of the easiest on-boarding process of any backup software I've used. It's seriously software that most end users would be able to easily configure on their own computer. Such an intuitive interface that still has powerful features for those looking to tweak things.

Cons

I really don't have anything negative to say about Backblaze. Their service and emergency recovery support are second to none, and the no-fuss pricing per computer with no storage caps makes price forecasting a breeze.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/01/2018

The safest, most worry free back up solution out there!

Pros

Runs seamlessly in the background.
Reports by email of issues that arise.
Incredibly affordable.
Super customizable.
Fast uploading (along with you having a fast internet connection).
Solid reassurance that your files are safe and backed up.

Cons

Can send your internet data allotment in a month into overages. Just be careful that you aren't backing up a Terabyte of Files and not having it consume your allowed data usage for the month. I learned that one the hard way, but it was my fault.

Chris
Chris
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/05/2018

Dead simple backup that works exactly as it should

Pros

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! It is so easy to use, and I have it on all of my machines. Setting it up is so easy that I can recommend it to anyone. It finds what needs to be backed up and automatically transfers it in the background. And, best of all, it does not kill your Internet connection when it is transferring.

Cons

Absolutely nothing at all. Everything from setup to restoring files works intuitively. I've used a TON of backup programs, and Backblaze is just perfect.

138 reviews