Confluence Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About Confluence

Confluence is a project management solution that enables organizations to create, collaborate, organize and review project documents. The system offers both cloud-based and on-premise deployment. Confluence’s editor feature...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Confluence Reviews

3,379 of 3,379 reviews
Sort by:
Vinod
Vinod
  • Industry: Shipbuilding
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/06/2023

Modern day Knowledge Management Repository

It has greatly improved our team's ability to create, organize, and share information effectively. The platform's features such as real-time collaboration, version control, and content organization have enhanced our productivity and streamlined our workflows. While there may be some areas for improvement, such as more advanced formatting options and task management capabilities, the user-friendly interface and intuitive design have made it relatively easy to navigate and use. Additionally, the availability of integrations and Atlassian's support resources have helped us integrate Confluence with our existing business processes, further enhancing its value. Overall, Confluence has been an essential tool in facilitating knowledge sharing and enhancing collaboration within our organization.

Pros

Confluence is a powerful collaboration tool that offers several impactful features. Its most impactful features include the ability to create and organize content, collaborate in real-time, and have version control for easy tracking and reverting of changes. With a user-friendly interface and intuitive design, Confluence is generally considered easy to use, allowing users to navigate, create, and edit content seamlessly. As for integration with existing business processes, Confluence provides various integrations and APIs that make integration with other tools and systems relatively straightforward. It offers flexible options for customizations, allowing businesses to tailor the tool to their specific needs and workflows, thus facilitating a smooth integration process with existing business processes.

Cons

As an end user of Confluence, I find the tool to be quite robust for collaboration, but there are a few features that I feel could be improved or added. For instance, I would appreciate more advanced formatting options, better task management capabilities, and improved visualization options for data. Additionally, I must admit that certain aspects of the product, such as complex permissions settings and the learning curve associated with advanced features, can be difficult to use initially. When it comes to integrating Confluence with our existing business processes, the level of difficulty can vary based on the complexity of our processes and the specific integrations required. In some cases, it has been challenging and has required additional configuration or development efforts, but Atlassian does provide resources, documentation, and support to help facilitate the integration process.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Primavera Cloud and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Confluence

Less features in Workday

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

Those are planning tool but confluence come with JIRA tool as KM application.
Sarah
Sarah
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/11/2023

A superior collaborative workspace

The platform is accessible to anyone and has an open interface, letting our company set up collaborative spaces where staff can collaborate productively on a wide range of projects. It's reliable, and it made it easy to increase our property holdings. It may not be necessary to invest time and resources into teaching employees how to use Confluence because it may be extremely user-friendly.

Pros

Confluence's suite of team communication tools is crucial to any effort to increase output. It's a lot dependable and much cheaper than other options. It's essential equipment for anyone seeking total control over their team's overall performance.

Cons

It's a steep learning curve for our less tech-savvy customers to become proficient at working on our websites. The fact that the support staff is exclusively fluent in English may also be an inconvenience for some consumers. Integration with Azure DevOps is a little bit of a challenge.

Lucien
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/05/2024

Confluence is a robust tool for world-class engineering/product teams to create

Confluence is a critical tool for significant documentation from an engineering/product standpoint. I don't think it will be the only tool fast agile businesses will use for documentation but it is still best in class for engineering functions.

Pros

Confluence is the most trusted documentation player in the game. We use Jira for our engineering task management so naturally, the seamless vertical integration between the two tools is excellent. Confluence has an excellent template library and perhaps most importantly, the performance is always reliable. We can't use tools like ClickUp due to bugs and performance issues for long significant PRDs. The collaboration on confluence is excellent and permissions around editing is also important.

Cons

Confluence is quite clunky (much like Jira). The ability to edit isn't as easy as ClickUp or Notion and that can get frustrating when you're trying to make changes quickly.

Top Confluence Alternatives

Aleksandr
Aleksandr
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 23/04/2021

Wouldn't recommend at the moment, but things may quickly change.

It was good. Not it is just too big and heavy even for a big companies.
May be the root of this impression is that Confluence doesn't feel as a seamless system. May be this is because there a different application for different tasks and while this is exactly what you expect using a tool per task, this is somehow plays against Confluence.
On the bright side, this is a part of a bigger ecosystem, it is reliable, it has nice support, it is constantly changes to good.
May be because it is pricy.
Overall, I'd never get back to it, though Jira is still one of the best tools out there.

Pros

It is somewhat hard to speak about Confluence pros without constantly resorting to integration with other Atlassian products.
Confluence was a first haven for a lot of companies and developers, it is safe to say that most of us started their meeting with information systems world with Confluence.
It offers some sort if hierarchy for documents, crossreferences, editing. Confluence is offers a number of connectors to other products, and what is of most importance here is that confluence has a set of tools to build statistical data into user-friendly representation.
Confluence is a part of Atlassian ecosystem and this is something to keep in mind, because this is the direction developers are pushing you.
Confluence may be deployed on premises which is a significant distinction from many other products. It is costly but there is a comprehensive set of documentation, reliable techsupport.
Confluence is a handy management tool for it is capable of collecting, digesting and representing a data from various sources. Say, you may render server status page, Jira's taks flow, gantt diagram and all of them will be live.
Confluence is quite reliable system and I can not say I can remember a single bug while using it.
Mobile and desktop apps for the most platform are there.
It has notification, chats, email listings etc.

Cons

To start with it is pricy.
It is slow. The editor is hugely outdated.
It pushes you toward other Atlassian products and while the ecosystem itself is not bad, this is not something you'd want these days. Basically, it represents too much of vendor lock and there are a lot of much better substitutions.
And the overall design is stuck in 2010. It is heavy, leak, slow. User paths through different usage scenarios could use a hand of able UI designer.

Elaina
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/02/2024

It's decent and gets the job donw

It's alright and gets the job done. If it's only use was task management I'm sure it would be amazing. They've got a ways to go as far as the Knowledge base looks.

Pros

I like that it has all the required features of document management and IT loves that it connects well and integrates with their systems

Cons

The look of the website from the user standpoint is a bit bland. It looks "clunky" and outdated compared to more modern user interfaces.

Ramesh
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/04/2024

Confluence

Overall Confluence is easy to user, lgith weight and great for document management.

Pros

Lightweight browser-based tool. Easy to use. Has lots of integration with other tools such as Lucid Chart, etc.

Cons

Confluence can improve on small things such as:
1) accidental clicks, for example, accidental click on a table header sorts the table rows without the user's content.
2) When 2 or more people edit a page, it alerts that I will overwrite other users' changes. But the other user was idle and did no updates. Confluence can detect and tell me what updates the other user is doing so that I can see and understand.

Calvin
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/04/2024

Confluence - User Knowledge base

I do not find myself going back to our knowledge base very often because I am typically part of the initial user training on new products and I take my own notes, But that is the beauty of the product. Even after long gaps in using the software I am able to go back into it and be productive and that is what I want in a knowledge base tool.

Pros

Its ease of use and low barriers of entry

Cons

Confluence is just a little different in how it accomplish a task, when compared to SharePoint, which means that a user well versed in SharePoint may struggle a little more than a newbie, just because they need to unlearn a few processes, which often makes those long term SharePoint users a little disenchanted by the product, but once they get over the learning curve, user acceptance on the product is very high.

Derrick
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 09/05/2024

Simplifying Team Collaboration

Pros

It helps me create, organize, and work together with my team smoothly. For example, when we have a project, I can quickly create a page to outline our goals, share it with my team, and everyone can edit and add their ideas easily.

Cons

When I'm working on a big project with lots of images and text, it can take a while for the page to load, slowing down my progress.

Wannes
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/03/2024

Easy to use knowledge base system

the best tool I've used so far for creating a knowledge base

Pros

We love how easy it is to add pages and edit the structure of already made information pages

Cons

the global search field searches in all published pages and would be easier to limit the search to the current project. but we fixed that by adding a custom search field to our own home page.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 04/04/2024

Great Tool for Documentation

I've used Confluence as a software engineer to produce technical documentation as well as integrate that with Jira. It's a great documentation tool.

Pros

It is easy to track updates and share information to team members and folks outside our team within our company.

Cons

It can be a bit complex when it comes to formatting appropriately on a page.

Ajesh
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/09/2019

Finest Documentation platform

Confluence gave better documentation compared tot he old text files so that more readable format. The integration of images and diagrams make the documentation more user friendly.

Pros

Confluence gives best documentation platform for your projects. We can categorize based on different projects and sub projects. we can create links to another pages which is very useful to route to another document without searching for it. we can see all the documents related one project in one section. It gives you wide range of features to include images and diagrams to make the documentation more useful. We can also subscribe to the pages so that anyone make any changes we get notified.

Cons

Confluence needs more integration with the CICD tools available in the market to make more automated documentation. confluence needs to provide to create diagrams for documentation so that users dont need to go for external software for that.

Alternatives Considered

Google Docs

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

In confluence I can categorize based on projects and sub projects and I can see all the documents for that project and select based on the priorities. But in google docs we need to we need to keep a separate index for each documents and the docs are separate. we need to browse through the google docs to go to next one.
Hossein
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/04/2022

Keep everything in one place, best KMS in software projects!

We are using Confluence for more than 4 years and in multiple projects and compnaes. I can say this too is awesome and although still have lots of space for improvement, but the current version is truly reliable for enterprise-level companies.

Pros

Easy to use and high integration level with other Atlassian tools is the most interesting part of Confluence. There are more powerful software out there, but none of them has this integration level in a full bundle that Atlassian offers.

Cons

Managing tables (with a huge amount of data) is not easy here, so usually, we prefer to attach excel files, but if it was more powerful in managing sheets, definitely we like it more!

Alternatives Considered

Notion

Reasons for Choosing Confluence

Better document and file management system, Higher access level management system. Better price and very better ease of use.

Switched From

Google Drive

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

Better integration with other Atlassian tools that we use during our daily work in the company.
Ashish
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 29/05/2022

Best tool for Project Management in Industry

Confluence helped to decommission code check in tools like SVN and fileshare in organization.
Verison control feature always helps to mitigate any risk during release and build deployment activities.
It saved enough time and human efforts for data n file managments for multiple projects.
Confluence turned to be life savior for many projects in cost effctive model.

Pros

Confluence is very user friendly so no need to spend time and money on employee training and learning.
It is time saving tool in agile project lifecycle reducing heavy documentation and support.
Better customer support compared to other vendors and softwares.
Cost effective and resilient for Risk management and project planning activities.

Cons

Build deployment sometimes take time and version controlling mechanism require better practice for stability

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Choosing Confluence

Efficiency and ease of use for confluence is better than Jira. It can be integrated to different sources for data management. Easy to work within Service Now platform compatibilty with Confluence

Switched From

JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

Easy,user friendly,cost effective and version control ability to mitigate project risk
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/01/2023

Great Tool for Content Organization and Management

We have been using Confluence as a main software for content management. We use it for all our project related documentation like high level business requirements, enhancement requests, technical specs, meeting notes, project roadmaps etc. It seamlessly integrates with JIRA, which makes it such a great tool to be used by AGILE teams. Overall, Confluence is a very robust and powerful tool and it provides a central place for all your documentation.

Pros

Confluence is a great tool for having all your documentation and knowledge in one place. You can create wiki pages for each topic and group these pages under 'Spaces'. Multiple team members can work on one page simultaneously. It captures a detailed audit trail on the changes made at a page level. You can have strong control on the content publishing by defining a robust review and approval process. It has a robust search functionality and it seamlessly integrates with JIRA, MS Teams and other third party tools.

Cons

One major issue with Confluence is that when multiple people are working on one page simultaneously, then you need to refresh the page in order to see the changes made by others. Also, the access control can be complex and glitchy sometimes.I would love if the user interface for Confluence is improved.

Linda
Linda
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 27/07/2023

Excellent knowledge base and group collaboration platform

I appreciate the simplicity of the Confluence platform because it has been really helpful to my company. The intuitive design makes it simple to disseminate internal communications and choices made in meetings.

Pros

It's the greatest centralized location for everyone involved in a project or at a company to store, share, and retrieve information and data. It's helpful for teamwork because it's simple to edit, it syncs with Jira, and it can provide useful visual representations of data.

Cons

The design of Confluence just seems archaic and cumbersome to me. It's also difficult to allow access, and to copy and paste across other applications like Microsoft Office.

Florea
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/08/2023

Excelent tool with good Admins and Users

I personally had a wonderful experience with Confluence, it was a easy one link way to add most resources required (Gantt charts , project plans, date/time for Program Management timelines and mixed together you get a easy to use tool that is great at its core but with heavy customization it becomes even more awesome).You can basically start from a white blank page and end up doing a project charter with 2 attached Gantt charts, with 3 Children pages and 7 Pie Charts.

Pros

It is easily accessible and you have loads of feature to customize your knowledge(renging from Tables , custom built Boards and even Linking tickets makes it a very straight forward solution for knowledge capture) pages or project management files , tools are easy to integrate and work with (highly recommend a cooperation with Jira , as they work very well togather.)

Cons

Administration part can be a pain from time to time , unless you know exactly what roles are correct , it can become a bit confusing .

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

Past experience working with it on multiple companies.
Catherine
Catherine
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/10/2018

It should be taken seriously

As I mentioned before, I use it as a company wide manual where all employees have to leaf through it whenever they have a question on a certain procedure and if they have any changes they'd like to make to any old methods then they are encouraged to make the edits to keep the company knowledge up to speed.

Pros

Confluence is great for creating company manuals or documenting company procedures. Think of it as a formal business blog or a wiki where you can keep a record of anything from basic tables outlining company info to company policies which can then be shared with the rest of the employees so that they can in turn, learn and input their own observations and knowledge. It organizes the pages for you and it makes it easy for anyone to search, edit and add new pages to keep the knowledge growing. At my company, we use it as a manual and all new employees have to read through it as part of their training. It allows you to add photos or videos to document special past events or to just simply make the page more interesting. The formatting ribbon looks similar to Microsoft word's so if you have experience with using a Word document then it should be no problem using the different types of formating options and if you have no experience then you'll get the hang of it pretty soon as it's fairly easy to deduce what each button does. I love how it is able to save any edits you make to a page and it doesn't publish it until you are ready so you are able to make new pages and edit old ones at your own pace and once you are done you can click on "publish". It alows you to restrict what other people can and cannot edit, it sends notifications to those who have a user in your account. I would recommend it.

Cons

The interface could use more color or some pizzazz as it looks pretty dull and it reminds me of an electric appliance manual: gray and boring to the point that you feel like throwing it away but then you are too afraid to do so because you may never know when you might need it. But then again, I use it as a company manual so I can't do much there, I'm guessing if you want something prettier then go get a blogging account but Confluence gets straight to the point and it should be taken seriously.

Janosch
Janosch
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/11/2018

Versatile, powerfull, easy to use

As with other Atlassien products Confluence is just a charm to use. It is a great Wiki and it continues to be the gift that keeps on giving the more atlassian products you combine with it. I would absolutely chose Confluence again in the past and in the future. If you manage it smart (by setting up well conceptualized wiki spaces and making people patreons of certain areas in order to avoid cluttering) I could not imagine any solution better suited to Knowledge management and business documentation than Confluence.

Pros

We use Confluence for serval years now, together with Jira (Ticket Management) and Bamboo (Build Server). It has proven its value time and again for us and provided us with clear, easy to navigate and edit business documentation for almost all areas of business. The Editor is esy to use, there are Plugins for all imaginable use cases (for example specific PDF exports) and a great FAQ and very helpful community. The Editor for content is fantastically in terms of ease of use and results to be generated. Also all Articles are stored versioned, so you can easyly go back a version, or check what has been changed in case you have to get back up to speed on a topic you left checking a while ago. You can follow authors, topics or wiki Spaces so Confluence keeps you in the loop about what is happening. In case you work on confidential material the user access management is just a dream to use, simple, powerful and without any ruged edges. Additional Features are added and when they are they are well thought through and perfectly conceptualized. I never have found a feature which did not deliver what it promised and more. Some are not for me but the ones that were introduced and sounded interesting generally were. This is THE tool for anyone who wants to document all kinds ok business knowledge from simple things like HowTo or FAQ Article to complex branches of deccsion documentations connected to development progress (by Jira ticket integration).

Cons

Confluence has a lot of great features. The main Issue with Wiki Systems often is they work great in teh beginning and later become bogged down with badly maintained content or just forgotten structures. The search for the wiki still is not perfect. It has improved and is fine to use but I have seen better. There are also not a lot of features that support administrators in decluttering a large or huge Wiki and sometimes we had issues for complex, nested user rights. Also as always the case when you have an ecosystem of plugins, you have to make sure anything is compatible with a new version before you update, especially if it is a third party extension. Don't get me wrong, there is not much to complain here, you have to really look hard in order to find anything bad about Confluence.

David
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/08/2019

Wiki Engine on Steroids

We are using Confluence as our internal documentation storage system. It allows us to easily create documentation and share it among our various teams while controlling access to the teams. It is better than a document storage system for this purpose, as it allows us to create the documents on the fly, cutting a step out of the process and making documents easier to manage. We host it on site, so it is more secure than a solution like Google Docs as it's not on the web.

Pros

We use Confluence on a daily basis to document various aspects of our organization. There is a large variety of built-in templates for a variety of sorts of documents. We heavily utilize the how-to articles to record procedures. Although it does link with other Altassian products, like Jira, we don't use that functionality currently as we run Confluence on-site and Jira in the cloud. The upgrade to version 6 greatly increased the usefulness of the product, as it brought in concurrent editing, ala Google Docs, which was functionality we needed when developing procedures for an event as a group. The search and indexing capabilities make it easy to find a document if its location is not obvious.

Cons

Search and indexing can lose usefulness in the event you have many similar documents, like say a checklist that is executed often. I would like a function to be able to click a check box to "ignore results like this." The initial setup of Confluence was not completely straightforward, however, we were installing on an older version, version 5. (The upgrade to version 6 went much smoother.) I would prefer an omnibus install package if it doesn't currently have that rather than having to install PostgreSQL and the application. The LDAP integration could have been a little bit smoother than it was, although it is in line with the other Atlassian products I have integrated.

Jinan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 11/07/2020

Jira is incomplete without confluence!

Overall, I am very satisfied with the confluence. Multiple architects collectively decided to use that over Sharepoint. The key reason is the seamless integration between these two products (Jira and Confluence). For an example, by simply writing the issue key on confluence page would automatically create the link to Jira ticket while reflecting the status of the ticket. This would allow visibility for Release Planning, while allowing you to write an appropriate decisions such as Go-No-Go on the same page.

Pros

Confluence offers pretty good UI for creating excellent documents (requirements or design). It does support pretty much all features of Microsoft word for creating a great documentation. Between all Atlasssian products, if you are tight on budget, I would suggest you to get Jira and confluence combo. It’s indeed great tool combo for the remote agile teams to work together due to their seamless integration.

Cons

One thing that I loved on the share point that’s not great with confluence is integration with the Microsoft office products. To be very frank, I feel this is not a big drawback as now a days, web interface is pretty much replacing the traditional interface.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SharePoint
Prince
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/01/2021

Documentation Resource and Sharing

Confluence is a nice tool to keep documentation organized as long as you remember where you're putting it (bookmarks). The tool is not sophisticated enough to provide ease of mind but it does provide a place to store documentation and the ability to share it or set permissions to intend on the correct people to view the items. Overall I as well as others use it but its also not the best and we all know it can be loads better in terms of features and formatting.

Pros

The rich text central location of document storage and the ability to share based on permissions is a nice-to-have tool for large companies or groups. Utilization is tricky as every team or group will use it in their own way and organize their own way so even if you implement this in your company and you're browsing another department's documentation, you will find essentially that it is just their own internal documentation which requires a little bit of a lucky search to find what you're looking for. Essentially this is a glorified document cloud storage which allows version control, permissions, and sharing.

Cons

It is not much different than say any other software or tool available in this category. It has some nice features like version control and seeing a complete history of who made changes to what along with comments and a social feature to it where you can subscribe but honestly there is so much more potential here especially from a company like Atlassian. I just feel they really dropped the ball here by not implementing better integration with some other apps which are already available. Example is that their spreadsheet implementation is a nightmare. The formatting almost always behaves irradicably and it has the bare minimum when it comes to these spreadsheets. Why not implement at least at the base of other offerings? For a paid product, the level of quality is expected to be much more.

Rosy
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/03/2022

Great to work with for a remote company

We are a remote company, and we need all of our policies and processes in one place.

Confluence has really helped us to solve this particular aspect, as now we can just put everything together in one document - the final user now don't have to keep navigating to multiple places in multiple platforms, as now everything is maintained in confluence.

Pros

Since we work remotely, confluence is the main repository for our documents (I belong to the People & Ops team and we have a lot of policies and processes documents to maintain).

Here is what I like the most about confluence:

1. I feel its a perfect combination of a word and a presentation file; you can be as creative as you want with your content with no length limit (like in a presentation file)
2. I absolutely love how we can create sections within the document - makes the whole document look absolutely organized
3. We also can create indexes like in books so it's very convenient to find any particular topic that we are looking for
4. Easy to create and share any document
5. If you are collaborating with multiple people on a document, it's very easy to assign a certain task to them using the tagging and action item feature
6. You get amazing options to complete your document - layouts, table, heading, alignment of text/images, emoji
7. Also if you have not tried the insert function yet, you are missing out a whole deal there - with so many options to choose from, this makes the document very very interactive

Cons

All the features in confluence are great. However, since I am also a user of the google sheet and word, the only pinch I feel - and this is about every time I use Confluence - is the lack of font to choose from.

The default font is good as it makes the whole document look very professional. But for documents where we actually want to add more fun, I believe, we would definitely need more fonts :)

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/02/2018

A robust and feature-rich collaboration/documentation software that sets the standard

The best wiki/collaboration/documentation software I've used professionally.

Pros

- Lots of visual tools for organizing information, as well as molding communications: gliffy diagrams, code blocks, cells, spreadsheets.
- Permissions model for segmenting information is greatly useful for organizations that create lots of documents and require some controls on searching and access to documents based on role.
- Web-based interface for administrators of Confluence is convenient for managing content, delegation and authorization work.
- There are many free software solutions in this sector of software, but generally require significant development to provide the value and features offered by confluence out of the box.
- Development and improvements continue to be deployed, Confluence has not been static
- Add-ons available through Atlassian marketplace to allow for further feature-adds for organization needs. I work in an IT environment, and diagrams for networks, software, process flows are invaluable for documentation purposes.
- Shortcut commands for savvy power users saves lots of time inserting tools and setting up formatting with ease, once you are aware them.

Cons

- Having used confluence for over 6 years, I have seen Confluence become more reliable with every update. At times, when something would go wrong with text formatting (bullet point indentation, for example), a power user could go to a tab of the document page you were working on, and edit the markup language of the page to correct the quirky formatting issue. This feature was removed. To the credit of Confluence, fixing such issues is less and less necessary, but power users like myself still miss it.
- The permissions models can be confusing at times, even for highly technical people supporting the software. I do not think this is an issue with Confluence, but rather, a caution to administrators who approach permissions from different eco-systems.

Lautaro
Lautaro
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 06/05/2023

Confluence: A Comprehensive Collaboration and Knowledge Management Tool

In summary, Confluence is an excellent collaboration and knowledge management tool for teams of all sizes and industries. Its range of features, intuitive user interface, and seamless integrations with other Atlassian tools make it a versatile platform for creating, sharing, and organizing content. While it may have some drawbacks, its strengths make it a valuable asset to any team looking to improve their collaboration and knowledge management efforts.

Pros

Confluence is an enterprise-grade collaboration and knowledge management tool developed by Atlassian. It is a web-based platform that enables teams to work together seamlessly, share information, and create and store content in a centralized location.One of the most significant advantages of Confluence is its versatility. It can be used by different teams in various industries, including software development, marketing, project management, human resources, and customer support. The platform provides teams with a range of features to create, share, and organize content, including pages, blogs, comments, templates, and macros.One of the key benefits of Confluence is its intuitive user interface, making it easy to use and learn. It has a WYSIWYG editor that enables teams to create rich content with ease, and the platform is highly customizable, allowing teams to tailor it to their specific needs.Confluence also integrates with various other Atlassian tools, including Jira, Trello, and Bitbucket, which allows for seamless collaboration across different teams and departments. The platform also offers various add-ons and integrations with third-party tools, further expanding its functionality..

Cons

However, like any software, Confluence has its drawbacks. The platform can be slow at times, and its pricing may not be affordable for small businesses or startups. Additionally, while Confluence's search functionality is powerful, it can be challenging to navigate, making it difficult to find specific content.

Netanya
Netanya
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/10/2023

Collaboration Tool that Helps my team Accomplish More

Collaboration friction is a story of the past. Confluence use is a new normal that has changed our work-life for the best. Productivity can be seen in completion of our rotations on timely manner. All of which is courtesy of Confluence

Pros

I have to say that Confluence is an innovative solution that stand out from others of it's calliber in the market . Acquisition and implementation costs were within our budget range. It is also soo easy to use for everybody in our team thanks to it's UI that is perfectly tailored. Most of our work as the vet society in Vetcare Africa is usually outside the office and Confluence has to engage and collaborate as a team working on different rotation projects. It is remote friendly and centralize all the information in one space from tasks allocated to each one of us to projects from where we can coordinate and get status update on our peers as well as shared projects. It is therefore easy to get everyone at par across teams through comments, mentions and notification. It is also flexible enough with options to create plans with texts, tables, images etc . Imagine all of these in one single place and has customizable templates

Cons

I have not encountered any single dislike with Confluence. It is an easy to use tool that enhances collaboration by also integrating with tools like Microsoft Teams and Google Drive

3,379 reviews