Confluence Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About Confluence

Confluence is a project management solution that enables organizations to create, collaborate, organize and review project documents. The system offers both cloud-based and on-premise deployment. Confluence’s editor feature...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Confluence Reviews

3,353 of 3,353 reviews
Sort by:
Vinod
Vinod
  • Industry: Shipbuilding
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/06/2023

Modern day Knowledge Management Repository

It has greatly improved our team's ability to create, organize, and share information effectively. The platform's features such as real-time collaboration, version control, and content organization have enhanced our productivity and streamlined our workflows. While there may be some areas for improvement, such as more advanced formatting options and task management capabilities, the user-friendly interface and intuitive design have made it relatively easy to navigate and use. Additionally, the availability of integrations and Atlassian's support resources have helped us integrate Confluence with our existing business processes, further enhancing its value. Overall, Confluence has been an essential tool in facilitating knowledge sharing and enhancing collaboration within our organization.

Pros

Confluence is a powerful collaboration tool that offers several impactful features. Its most impactful features include the ability to create and organize content, collaborate in real-time, and have version control for easy tracking and reverting of changes. With a user-friendly interface and intuitive design, Confluence is generally considered easy to use, allowing users to navigate, create, and edit content seamlessly. As for integration with existing business processes, Confluence provides various integrations and APIs that make integration with other tools and systems relatively straightforward. It offers flexible options for customizations, allowing businesses to tailor the tool to their specific needs and workflows, thus facilitating a smooth integration process with existing business processes.

Cons

As an end user of Confluence, I find the tool to be quite robust for collaboration, but there are a few features that I feel could be improved or added. For instance, I would appreciate more advanced formatting options, better task management capabilities, and improved visualization options for data. Additionally, I must admit that certain aspects of the product, such as complex permissions settings and the learning curve associated with advanced features, can be difficult to use initially. When it comes to integrating Confluence with our existing business processes, the level of difficulty can vary based on the complexity of our processes and the specific integrations required. In some cases, it has been challenging and has required additional configuration or development efforts, but Atlassian does provide resources, documentation, and support to help facilitate the integration process.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Primavera Cloud and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Confluence

Less features in Workday

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

Those are planning tool but confluence come with JIRA tool as KM application.
Sarah
Sarah
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/11/2023

A superior collaborative workspace

The platform is accessible to anyone and has an open interface, letting our company set up collaborative spaces where staff can collaborate productively on a wide range of projects. It's reliable, and it made it easy to increase our property holdings. It may not be necessary to invest time and resources into teaching employees how to use Confluence because it may be extremely user-friendly.

Pros

Confluence's suite of team communication tools is crucial to any effort to increase output. It's a lot dependable and much cheaper than other options. It's essential equipment for anyone seeking total control over their team's overall performance.

Cons

It's a steep learning curve for our less tech-savvy customers to become proficient at working on our websites. The fact that the support staff is exclusively fluent in English may also be an inconvenience for some consumers. Integration with Azure DevOps is a little bit of a challenge.

Soon Kit
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 24/03/2024

Professional Software for document and team files sharing

Room for inprovement. But its good security wins it over google doc.

Pros

Stable software, never crush before. all files are kept secured

Cons

User interface can be made more intuitive.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SharePoint

Top Confluence Alternatives

Richard
Richard
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 12/07/2018

Great for collaboration, terrible as a knowledge base

It puts documentation all in one place.

Pros

We use the cloud version for customer facing knowledge base (KB). A great tool for creating and maintaining documentation and how-to articles.

Allows for numerous contributors, there are a lot of add-ons for features and functionality within a document.

Syncs well with other Atlassian tools.

Theme controls are fairly robust.

The search is in depth and comprehensive, returns results from tags and body of a page or article.

User community and KB is very helpful and responsive.

Cons

Our users are our customers, so inviting confusing and creating users is convoluted and limited. Once you designate the space as a KB, Confluence should provide user access in a way unique to a KB, but it the invitation process is still worded like a collaboration tool AND emails are NOT customizable.

Users get bombarded by emails when a page is updated. The default setting is to have all users automatically watching the entire space, so when any update is made multiple emails are sent. You CANNOT set the user or group defaults for email preferences.

SSO capabilities are not available in the cloud version.

The user web service is severely limited and does not solve the issue.

While there are a ton of add-ons from the marketplace, they are all 3rd party and these can deliver way more than Atlassian's supported offerings. This was a pro, but the con is that they are also limited to what they can tie into. We tried to use a theme from the market place, but it did not support the comprehensive search capabilities, only returned tags.

Admin navigation is confusing, I use the product every day, yet I am constantly fumbling around trying to find where to go to do what I'm trying to do.

Pradeep
Pradeep
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/01/2024

Confluence knowledge management tool Review

Over Amazing experience.
Very user friendly.
Graphical user interface is very east to use and self explanatory.
Amazing experience as a senior Business analyst while managing the training for the new users.

Pros

Amazing collaboration and content sharing platform.
Can save your training material and videos and central repository.
Very easy to access and organize the knowledge base for the organization.

Cons

Some time behave very slow while updating the document to the repository.
Editing a document at the repository it self is a cumbersome task

Alternatives Considered

ClickUp

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

Strong User Community. Exceptional feedback from the users Very easy to use GUI
Calvin
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/04/2024

Confluence - User Knowledge base

I do not find myself going back to our knowledge base very often because I am typically part of the initial user training on new products and I take my own notes, But that is the beauty of the product. Even after long gaps in using the software I am able to go back into it and be productive and that is what I want in a knowledge base tool.

Pros

Its ease of use and low barriers of entry

Cons

Confluence is just a little different in how it accomplish a task, when compared to SharePoint, which means that a user well versed in SharePoint may struggle a little more than a newbie, just because they need to unlearn a few processes, which often makes those long term SharePoint users a little disenchanted by the product, but once they get over the learning curve, user acceptance on the product is very high.

Sahil
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 02/03/2024

Confluence review

Pros

Confluence is very simple to use, it feels like you have been using it for years. It has a pretty straightforward concept and sharing management feature. It can be used to collaborate or brainstorm over an idea for a project.

Cons

It's interface. It is not something which I as the user would love to see. With the current trends and AI tools, sites have improved their UI design drastically but I feel confluence is still struggling with it. The less appealing nature of it sometimes make it less useful or people refrain from using it.

Wannes
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/03/2024

Easy to use knowledge base system

the best tool I've used so far for creating a knowledge base

Pros

We love how easy it is to add pages and edit the structure of already made information pages

Cons

the global search field searches in all published pages and would be easier to limit the search to the current project. but we fixed that by adding a custom search field to our own home page.

RYAN
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/03/2024

Confluence is a great software for Company SOP and documentation storge

Overall: Great experience using it. Our company has used it for well over 3+ years and have no real issues.

Pros

Pros: Ease of use and ability to make SOPs and other internal company documentation that needs to be preserved.

Cons

Cons: Permissions can be a bit cumbersome to set up for users.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 29/02/2024

Great Knowledge Base Tool

Pros

My primary use for this tool is to reference internal company documents, goings-on, and as a general knowledge base for technical information. It is intuitive and fulfills my needs perfectly; I can find and access everything I look for on the platform and is easily searchable and organized.

Cons

I’ve had minor formatting and updating issues with this tool, but most could be solved with better maintenance by the managers of those pages.

Ajesh
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/09/2019

Finest Documentation platform

Confluence gave better documentation compared tot he old text files so that more readable format. The integration of images and diagrams make the documentation more user friendly.

Pros

Confluence gives best documentation platform for your projects. We can categorize based on different projects and sub projects. we can create links to another pages which is very useful to route to another document without searching for it. we can see all the documents related one project in one section. It gives you wide range of features to include images and diagrams to make the documentation more useful. We can also subscribe to the pages so that anyone make any changes we get notified.

Cons

Confluence needs more integration with the CICD tools available in the market to make more automated documentation. confluence needs to provide to create diagrams for documentation so that users dont need to go for external software for that.

Alternatives Considered

Google Docs

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

In confluence I can categorize based on projects and sub projects and I can see all the documents for that project and select based on the priorities. But in google docs we need to we need to keep a separate index for each documents and the docs are separate. we need to browse through the google docs to go to next one.
Barak
Barak
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 04/02/2022

For a wiki software the FREE tier is decent. If you're planning to pay there are better options

We've been strongly recommended by colleagues to use this software as our main Wiki. We really did test A LOT of software before, and at first we were excited about Confluence. However, after about 1 year of use we decided to drop it.

It might be suitable for big, heavy, slow by nature organizations, but not for an agile SMB that needs to operate fast to get ahead. The software is buggy, unnecessarily complex, and very restricting in nature. For our purposes using Clickup Docs, Google Sites, Notion, or any other countless simpler options proved a more sane choice.

Hoping Confluence will improve the software, because there's lots of potential. However, with the current limitations we don't see ourselves giving it another chance.

Pros

The software provides a rather generous free tier. The search capabilities are quite good, and there are many page formatting options, which makes it quite a good Wiki software potentially. However, the bugs and shortcomings of this software renders it rather unusable for us.

Cons

The software is VERY buggy, tends to crash unexpectedly (we tested it on strong machines, across users and browsers). It takes FOREVER to login. Getting to your Wiki takes lots of unnecessary clicks. What's worst is that each page must hold a unique names, so if for example you plan to create several page structures (with subpages and so on) with similar names, forget about it. It's due to the legacy architectural structure of the software, and can't be easily changed. Unfortunately, that what makes it fall behind. We dropped it for favor of modern alternatives.

Melissa
Melissa
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 29/05/2022

So far, it is the best tool for teamwork

With the help of confluence, we're able to work together on our project even though our team members are located all over the world and come from a wide range of backgrounds. As a result, all of the project's information may be stored in a single location, making it convenient for everyone involved. This is a huge time-saver.

Pros

Confluence provides a safe method for sharing knowledge and working on projects among team members. The main business, Atlassian, provides a wide range of reliable plugins. Because everyone on the team can make changes to the document repository and see when and who made them, this is one of the finest features of confluence's document sharing and management system.

Cons

Many plugins are available, and it might be difficult to pick the ideal one for our purposes. This takes up a lot of time. The guidelines are typically adequate.

Federico
Federico
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/07/2022

Great product for a Small / Medium Bussiness

My experience using Confluence is great, we stopped having several places to store the same information or share results, now we share everything in one place.

Pros

Allows to have one single place for all the company's documentation, this reduces efforts and allow an easy more controlled data sharing. We have very interesting possibilities with other collaboration tools. It is very easy to use, just type, tag and share. Just like using any social network.

Cons

Even though this is a very easy to use tool, sometimes the navigation is not so easy to understand. Users cannot see edits in a document in real time like Docs in Google Drive. Lastly, some formatting options are quite basic, a little or more options would be appreciated.

John
John
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/11/2022

Our knowledge base

We were having problems to share information, and some users were not getting the right information. Knowing that we have a tool for information sharing like Confluence, we create a plan to start documenting all our processes, and now they are available across the company.

Pros

It is very useful to share all our documentation and knowledge base. All the users are now able to get updated information, and can share any documentation with the team.

Cons

It can become a bit slow sometimes, causing the pages to take longer to load and look for information.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Choosing Confluence

We were looking for a better documentation and information sharing tool

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

It was the better option for our company, thinking on how robust is the tool.
Thomas
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 22/04/2023

The Ultimate Knowledge Hub for Seamless Idea Management and Unbeatable Collaboration

Our whole team are happy users of Confluence, as the tool has been a positive and beneficial productivity tool for our team.

Pros

Using Confluence you really appreciate its user-friendly interface, powerful collaboration tools and robust knowledge base management functionalities. Confluence empowered us to easily create, organize and share content with our entire team, making it our go-to solution for efficient idea management, knowledge sharing and alignment between current and future team members. Most importantely, the ability to integrate with our other tools and serbices made it seamless for keeping knowledge synced and shared across the team.

Cons

With so many great features it can be quite overwhelming for our junior and newer team members to onboard as the learning curve is quite steep.

Alternatives Considered

YouTrack, monday.com, ClickUp, Notion and Evernote Teams

Reasons for Choosing Confluence

Speed, value for money and integrations with Jira.

Switched From

YouTrack and ClickUp

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

The loading speed of documents, tickets and content, value for money and integrations with Jira.
Linda
Linda
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 27/07/2023

Excellent knowledge base and group collaboration platform

I appreciate the simplicity of the Confluence platform because it has been really helpful to my company. The intuitive design makes it simple to disseminate internal communications and choices made in meetings.

Pros

It's the greatest centralized location for everyone involved in a project or at a company to store, share, and retrieve information and data. It's helpful for teamwork because it's simple to edit, it syncs with Jira, and it can provide useful visual representations of data.

Cons

The design of Confluence just seems archaic and cumbersome to me. It's also difficult to allow access, and to copy and paste across other applications like Microsoft Office.

Florea
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/08/2023

Excelent tool with good Admins and Users

I personally had a wonderful experience with Confluence, it was a easy one link way to add most resources required (Gantt charts , project plans, date/time for Program Management timelines and mixed together you get a easy to use tool that is great at its core but with heavy customization it becomes even more awesome).You can basically start from a white blank page and end up doing a project charter with 2 attached Gantt charts, with 3 Children pages and 7 Pie Charts.

Pros

It is easily accessible and you have loads of feature to customize your knowledge(renging from Tables , custom built Boards and even Linking tickets makes it a very straight forward solution for knowledge capture) pages or project management files , tools are easy to integrate and work with (highly recommend a cooperation with Jira , as they work very well togather.)

Cons

Administration part can be a pain from time to time , unless you know exactly what roles are correct , it can become a bit confusing .

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Confluence

Past experience working with it on multiple companies.
Catherine
Catherine
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/10/2018

It should be taken seriously

As I mentioned before, I use it as a company wide manual where all employees have to leaf through it whenever they have a question on a certain procedure and if they have any changes they'd like to make to any old methods then they are encouraged to make the edits to keep the company knowledge up to speed.

Pros

Confluence is great for creating company manuals or documenting company procedures. Think of it as a formal business blog or a wiki where you can keep a record of anything from basic tables outlining company info to company policies which can then be shared with the rest of the employees so that they can in turn, learn and input their own observations and knowledge. It organizes the pages for you and it makes it easy for anyone to search, edit and add new pages to keep the knowledge growing. At my company, we use it as a manual and all new employees have to read through it as part of their training. It allows you to add photos or videos to document special past events or to just simply make the page more interesting. The formatting ribbon looks similar to Microsoft word's so if you have experience with using a Word document then it should be no problem using the different types of formating options and if you have no experience then you'll get the hang of it pretty soon as it's fairly easy to deduce what each button does. I love how it is able to save any edits you make to a page and it doesn't publish it until you are ready so you are able to make new pages and edit old ones at your own pace and once you are done you can click on "publish". It alows you to restrict what other people can and cannot edit, it sends notifications to those who have a user in your account. I would recommend it.

Cons

The interface could use more color or some pizzazz as it looks pretty dull and it reminds me of an electric appliance manual: gray and boring to the point that you feel like throwing it away but then you are too afraid to do so because you may never know when you might need it. But then again, I use it as a company manual so I can't do much there, I'm guessing if you want something prettier then go get a blogging account but Confluence gets straight to the point and it should be taken seriously.

Janosch
Janosch
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/11/2018

Versatile, powerfull, easy to use

As with other Atlassien products Confluence is just a charm to use. It is a great Wiki and it continues to be the gift that keeps on giving the more atlassian products you combine with it. I would absolutely chose Confluence again in the past and in the future. If you manage it smart (by setting up well conceptualized wiki spaces and making people patreons of certain areas in order to avoid cluttering) I could not imagine any solution better suited to Knowledge management and business documentation than Confluence.

Pros

We use Confluence for serval years now, together with Jira (Ticket Management) and Bamboo (Build Server). It has proven its value time and again for us and provided us with clear, easy to navigate and edit business documentation for almost all areas of business. The Editor is esy to use, there are Plugins for all imaginable use cases (for example specific PDF exports) and a great FAQ and very helpful community. The Editor for content is fantastically in terms of ease of use and results to be generated. Also all Articles are stored versioned, so you can easyly go back a version, or check what has been changed in case you have to get back up to speed on a topic you left checking a while ago. You can follow authors, topics or wiki Spaces so Confluence keeps you in the loop about what is happening. In case you work on confidential material the user access management is just a dream to use, simple, powerful and without any ruged edges. Additional Features are added and when they are they are well thought through and perfectly conceptualized. I never have found a feature which did not deliver what it promised and more. Some are not for me but the ones that were introduced and sounded interesting generally were. This is THE tool for anyone who wants to document all kinds ok business knowledge from simple things like HowTo or FAQ Article to complex branches of deccsion documentations connected to development progress (by Jira ticket integration).

Cons

Confluence has a lot of great features. The main Issue with Wiki Systems often is they work great in teh beginning and later become bogged down with badly maintained content or just forgotten structures. The search for the wiki still is not perfect. It has improved and is fine to use but I have seen better. There are also not a lot of features that support administrators in decluttering a large or huge Wiki and sometimes we had issues for complex, nested user rights. Also as always the case when you have an ecosystem of plugins, you have to make sure anything is compatible with a new version before you update, especially if it is a third party extension. Don't get me wrong, there is not much to complain here, you have to really look hard in order to find anything bad about Confluence.

David
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 07/08/2019

Wiki Engine on Steroids

We are using Confluence as our internal documentation storage system. It allows us to easily create documentation and share it among our various teams while controlling access to the teams. It is better than a document storage system for this purpose, as it allows us to create the documents on the fly, cutting a step out of the process and making documents easier to manage. We host it on site, so it is more secure than a solution like Google Docs as it's not on the web.

Pros

We use Confluence on a daily basis to document various aspects of our organization. There is a large variety of built-in templates for a variety of sorts of documents. We heavily utilize the how-to articles to record procedures. Although it does link with other Altassian products, like Jira, we don't use that functionality currently as we run Confluence on-site and Jira in the cloud. The upgrade to version 6 greatly increased the usefulness of the product, as it brought in concurrent editing, ala Google Docs, which was functionality we needed when developing procedures for an event as a group. The search and indexing capabilities make it easy to find a document if its location is not obvious.

Cons

Search and indexing can lose usefulness in the event you have many similar documents, like say a checklist that is executed often. I would like a function to be able to click a check box to "ignore results like this." The initial setup of Confluence was not completely straightforward, however, we were installing on an older version, version 5. (The upgrade to version 6 went much smoother.) I would prefer an omnibus install package if it doesn't currently have that rather than having to install PostgreSQL and the application. The LDAP integration could have been a little bit smoother than it was, although it is in line with the other Atlassian products I have integrated.

Jinan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 11/07/2020

Jira is incomplete without confluence!

Overall, I am very satisfied with the confluence. Multiple architects collectively decided to use that over Sharepoint. The key reason is the seamless integration between these two products (Jira and Confluence). For an example, by simply writing the issue key on confluence page would automatically create the link to Jira ticket while reflecting the status of the ticket. This would allow visibility for Release Planning, while allowing you to write an appropriate decisions such as Go-No-Go on the same page.

Pros

Confluence offers pretty good UI for creating excellent documents (requirements or design). It does support pretty much all features of Microsoft word for creating a great documentation. Between all Atlasssian products, if you are tight on budget, I would suggest you to get Jira and confluence combo. It’s indeed great tool combo for the remote agile teams to work together due to their seamless integration.

Cons

One thing that I loved on the share point that’s not great with confluence is integration with the Microsoft office products. To be very frank, I feel this is not a big drawback as now a days, web interface is pretty much replacing the traditional interface.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SharePoint
Prince
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/01/2021

Documentation Resource and Sharing

Confluence is a nice tool to keep documentation organized as long as you remember where you're putting it (bookmarks). The tool is not sophisticated enough to provide ease of mind but it does provide a place to store documentation and the ability to share it or set permissions to intend on the correct people to view the items. Overall I as well as others use it but its also not the best and we all know it can be loads better in terms of features and formatting.

Pros

The rich text central location of document storage and the ability to share based on permissions is a nice-to-have tool for large companies or groups. Utilization is tricky as every team or group will use it in their own way and organize their own way so even if you implement this in your company and you're browsing another department's documentation, you will find essentially that it is just their own internal documentation which requires a little bit of a lucky search to find what you're looking for. Essentially this is a glorified document cloud storage which allows version control, permissions, and sharing.

Cons

It is not much different than say any other software or tool available in this category. It has some nice features like version control and seeing a complete history of who made changes to what along with comments and a social feature to it where you can subscribe but honestly there is so much more potential here especially from a company like Atlassian. I just feel they really dropped the ball here by not implementing better integration with some other apps which are already available. Example is that their spreadsheet implementation is a nightmare. The formatting almost always behaves irradicably and it has the bare minimum when it comes to these spreadsheets. Why not implement at least at the base of other offerings? For a paid product, the level of quality is expected to be much more.

Charles
Charles
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 04/04/2022

Good software, but not quite GREAT software.

We needed a document/knowledge depository. We ended up using Confluence for Knowledge Depository, it had too many limitations and too expensive to integration to use for Document Management. It did the job for knowledge management, but was very similar in features and functionality to other products that do this as well. We tried to adapt it for Customer Success management and meeting note taking but many users found it too difficult to use it regularly and it became shelf ware for this purpose.

Pros

I like the version control features of Confluence, it's very easy to use and visibly see changes. Being able to build account dashboards with tasks from various business reviews was also a nice feature though had some limitations.

Cons

The bullets formatting can be very frustrating and acts very strange sometimes. Confusing sign-in credentials for SSO when used with JIRA.

Netanya
Netanya
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/10/2023

Collaboration Tool that Helps my team Accomplish More

Collaboration friction is a story of the past. Confluence use is a new normal that has changed our work-life for the best. Productivity can be seen in completion of our rotations on timely manner. All of which is courtesy of Confluence

Pros

I have to say that Confluence is an innovative solution that stand out from others of it's calliber in the market . Acquisition and implementation costs were within our budget range. It is also soo easy to use for everybody in our team thanks to it's UI that is perfectly tailored. Most of our work as the vet society in Vetcare Africa is usually outside the office and Confluence has to engage and collaborate as a team working on different rotation projects. It is remote friendly and centralize all the information in one space from tasks allocated to each one of us to projects from where we can coordinate and get status update on our peers as well as shared projects. It is therefore easy to get everyone at par across teams through comments, mentions and notification. It is also flexible enough with options to create plans with texts, tables, images etc . Imagine all of these in one single place and has customizable templates

Cons

I have not encountered any single dislike with Confluence. It is an easy to use tool that enhances collaboration by also integrating with tools like Microsoft Teams and Google Drive

3,353 reviews