Open DevOps Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Open DevOps

Open DevOps is Atlassian’s DevOps solution, powered by the integration of Jira Software and your team’s favorite tools. By connecting seemingly disparate tools, Jira Software becomes mission control for your software toolchain,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.0
Customer Support
4.1

Browse Open DevOps Reviews

272 of 272 reviews
Sort by:
Gokul
Gokul
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 23/01/2019

Atlassian JIRA Software Review

My Overall experience in JIRA is 3 years at this point and we started using it from the Year 2016. This is used in an project called recovery with the count of 25 developers from India/USA/Canada and several business end users on the same. The stiry was easily created and went thruough several phases till deployment. I would say JIRA ease my works in managing the stories since I am the PO for whole board and connecting developers/business end users for moving the stories and completing the same.

Pros

Basically there are lot of likes about this software:

1. Clear Tracking of what is going on in the project along with version needs to be deployed.
2. Ability to Use Kanban, Scrum and other Agile methodologies in JIRA Software.
3. Ability to flag the stories which is in impediment which will show to everyone on when it was started and when it was impended.
4. Easily keep tracking of Backlog for future works and deployments that needs to be made.
5. Ability to bulk update the stories for certain categories like version, points or any others.
6. Easy in terms of reporting to generate using JQL (JIRA query language).

Cons

Some of the cons in JIRA are:

1. Some times it was ended with deadlock leads to slowness. This happens when certain users running the report across the JIRA.
2. Security is less since we can see any ones board and get to know the statuses across the enterprise.
3. JIRA is costly since it per user licenses and whole organisation have to pay according to the usages.

Piotr
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 08/07/2022

Everyday task management for everyone.

As a tester, I am using Jira daily. My main activities are creating/updating bug tickets, updating task statuses, arrange and planning my future work. Jira is a great tool, on a basic level, it is intuitive to use. A huge amount of functionalities that are built in and integrated make work much more efficient. Bug and task tracking are easy and quick. Everyone with access can check what is the progress or the latest updates on a selected topic. Customization of features is amazing, Jira admin can adapt almost everything to the company's needs. If anything is not clear, customer service is happy to help and assist with all queries. In case the existing functionalities are not enough, it is a possibility to install external plugins from the shop that can extend capabilities.
On the other hand, Jira can be problematic. It is a huge software with a large number of modules that can interfere with each other. Especially if modified by an inexperienced admin, e.g. a small change in a workflow can affect all projects that are in the company. It is vital to know what are you doing as an admin. Also, if users need new functionality, it can be reported in the Jira forum, which is tracking similar requests - unfortunately, a lot of them are there for years without updates, despite users constantly asking about that. I assume this may be because of the software itself, but explanations would be nice.
All in all, it is an amazing piece of code despite the high price and minor problems!

Pros

A great number of functionalities.
On the basic level is intuitive.
Vast possibilities for adaptation and customization.
Rather easy to integrate with other apps.
A huge number of plugins.
Customer service - in terms of personal help to do something

Cons

Some features are limited (e.g. filtering)
Customer service - in terms of requests to add new/change existing functionalities.
Rather high price

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 16/03/2019

Getting used to Jira

My use in Jira as a quality assurance officer is to manage, create, and follow up on Jiras to help developers with their work, the basic requirements for a good project management software are there however actual usability functions that allow you to make your work easier are not found. Everything feels slow and laggy and the search just breaks your heart since you can never find what you are looking for unless you know the Exact keyword or Jira number.

Pros

Jira helps you gather all the information about your development progress in one place. You can create different types of issues like To-DO, bugs ,tasks and epics. You are able to circle through different boards depending on your project which opens up the door for supporting a good number of projects while on the same web app. There are many helpful features to each "Jira" you open in order to identify its importance, priority and who is responsible for tracking and solving that "Jira".

Cons

The cons are down to accessibility, ease of use, and readability. Many features that should be automatically found such as easier Advanced filter access when searching, or viewing boards more easier, ability to click save instead of saving automatically which send unnecessary notifications to users. Cannot place notifications on specific projects when new jiras are created.

Top Open DevOps Alternatives

Carla
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/01/2022

Jira is Great for Development, but only Good for Creative

A great way to track deadlines between silos and especially developers.

Pros

Jira is out of the box free, and it's amazing because it works with everything by the same company. It also allows for easy organization of projects and silos, which intersect with each other. You can easily hand off tasks and allow people to collaborate.

Cons

Jira has a very development based angle, so if you're trying to manage a hybrid team, it works well. But if your team is marketing heavy, it's very anti-user friendly unless a person has familiarity with code or databases. It's just sparse and less user friendly.

Alternatives Considered

Redmine

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

Wanted more customization

Switched From

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

It had nice integrations like Trello and was easy to share between developers AND marketers.
Boris
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/03/2021

Best way to track time and tasks

I have used Jira in a few projects and every time it proved to be a reliable and productive solution. Mostly we use Jira to keep track of our developer's time in the Kanban board. It is a great tool that allows the developers to actually show us how hard they work and what tasks they tackled. Jira has increased productivity in all projects I used it in.

Pros

Tracking tasks is a time consuming effort, and one that is easy to forget. Luckily, there is Jira. Jira lets you track your tasks and time spent on them without encroaching on your day. It is easy to set up (once you know what you are doing), easy to use, and a delight to look at. It provides the time tracking and issue tracking tools that any serious project requires.

Cons

It is hard to set up the first time. You need to know which functions you need and which you should remove. But once you set it up and know how it works, it is a treat to work with it.

Alternatives Considered

Asana

Reasons for Choosing Open DevOps

Trello is a nice idea organization board, but for true time tracking and issue tracking we needed Jira.

Switched From

Trello

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

Mostly because it seemed more customizable of the two.
Edwin
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 09/07/2022

Great innovated tracking tool

All our users/developers having no bad experience provide us and quickly access of what we need to do.

Pros

This jira web application has a lot of features to manage or agile projects from small teams to big teams from more than 20 people. Great connection with other applications like confluence.

Cons

Sometime it can be very slow when a lot of users using this portal. Or when there is a bug in a new version of jira when we cannot save or update tickets can be very annoying in a production project. Make sure that the update doesn’t brake anything.

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to Open DevOps

Provide a lot of features and grateful for corporate companies like banks.
Roshni
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/12/2020

Maintain your workflow according to your priorities

The scrums boards are a delight to the heart while beginning each day of work. Work of software developers has become easy. Workloads can be fitted in a scrum board to manage the tasks effectively. It gives a view to keep a check on the completeness of individual work.

Pros

Sprint planning is easy and very helpful.
Productivity is enhanced many folds after using this.
Team work becomes stronger
Easy to convey things between a team
Easy to track team member's work
Team performance becomes efficient
Integration with tools makes the tasks efficient to process
Product road map made easier than ever
Used by software developers of Expedia

Cons

Certain limitations are:-
In the beginning it is difficult to get used to it.
Collaboration feature is missing
It is basically made for software developers.
A little expensive
In the beginning managing tasks can be a challenge

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 10/10/2019

next level project management tool

Good tool for project managers and developers/analysts. Meets all modern requirements of a project management tool.

Pros

self explaining, a lot of ways to customize to meet your requirements in the project. Not only useful for project managers, but also for developers/analysts.

Cons

I have seen several instances and the tool seems to work a bit slow overall. Also when multiple users work on the same item simultaniously there are issues sometimes.
Dark theme is totally missing.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/03/2022

Best tool for Project & Product management

Very useful , easy to use and track and monitor project management activities

Pros

We used Jira every day for development and Product management for creating, assigning and updating tickets ,user stories and tasks.

Cons

Though it's A very useful and easy to use and riched with features but scrum methodology I think Azure devops board is far better in sprint management

Gabriel
Gabriel
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/01/2019

Expensive but extremely effective for project management

In a few words JIRA is a task tracking software that makes life easier when working on a project.

Once the initial setup is in place (easy to do for common scenarios ) all is left for an administrator is to manage the list of projects and user accounts.
Note that parts of the process (e.g.: customizing workflows) need to be done up-front, since this will become more complex once one or more projects are configured and in-use

As for usability, it is one of the best tracking systems I've ever used: as a developer/QA you can easily update the status of your work in a user-friendly way. As a manager, you can always get the overview you need by just opening a screen or a report (most of what you need is in place by default)

What's best about it is that as long as it is installed on-premises, it can be used as a central point of information for everyone involved with a project. The fact that it can be integrated with other common software industry tools adds further benefit from this.

In the end, I should probably add that I've been using all kinds of bug tracking systems for about 15 years (starting with ancient tools like redmine going through PivotalTracker or VersionOne or JIRA) and almost all of them were either missing features that I deemed important or "spartan" usage/layouts that constraint the usage.
JIRA just provides everything that's needed in completing a project out-of-the-box (whether it's Agile, Waterfall or Kanban or whatnot)

Pros

- Overviews & quick access to information
- Possibility to integrate with most commonly used systems (it integrates with pretty much all mainstream tools, nut just the ones from Atlassian) - you can integrate it even with continuous integration tools or test management tools (e.g. TestRails)
- Security control (everything is fine grained, tools to configure fine-grain access are already integrated
- Comes out of the box with the most common work scenarios (client onside/offsite, development only/development + product management, etc)
- Reporting (easy to extract the things that matter (whether this is worked hours or development velocity)
- Version management (easy to manage what features are grouped in a release, or what fixtures were done for which version)
- Workflows can be customized to match just about any real-life usage scenario
- Allows for both on-premises (self-hosted) installation and cloud usage.
- Configurable dashboards

Cons

- Pricing - it is prohibitively expensive for small companies, although they are making steps to minimize this with the new pricing models (e.g.: a few years ago they started allowing up to 5 accounts per project and unlimited projects, for a fixed yearly fee).

Debodirno
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 13/10/2020

Jira - One stop issue tracking solution

It is undoubtedly the best thing ever introduced for project managers! For developers like us, it saves us a lot of headache to do things systematically, rather than spending time on Excel sheets.

Pros

Perfect for resource management and issue tracking, good for project managers to find out where the team is spending maximum time and helps in bandwidth allocation, understanding team velocity. With the Atlassian Suite, Jira + Confluence is a deadly duo.

Cons

Very slow! The dashboards are not fast. Also, for milestone tracking, percentage completion is not very well implemented as well as time spent does not get that much of visibility.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/06/2018

I have used Jira both as part of a team of developers and also as a Project Manager managing a...

Jira helped us to more easily manage multiple teams of software developers and gather feedback from end users for several large applications that we were developing which were at various stages of completion and usability. We were able to use our available resources in a much more optimal and seamless manner, which helped us to complete projects and resolve issues more quickly, easily track the status of specific tasks across multiple projects/teams and monitor productivity at various levels. Ultimately, this allowed us to both reduce development costs and complete our projects more quickly which in-turn increased our business revenue.

Pros

Jira is a very powerful tool for managing teams of software developers working on one, or even multiple projects simultaneously. It is very robust and feature-rich, with features such as setting up/managing individual tasks, coordinating development efforts across tasks/developers to maximize team productivity, managing/tracking issues & bugs, gathering feedback from non-technical users via Jira user stories and managing project backlogs. There in also embedded support for Scrum & Kanban boards, although I haven't personally worked with those features. The custom workflows allow users to setup and manage their projects & teams according to the needs of their business and their preferred software development framework and management style. Jira is a very comprehensive, all-in-one tool for managing smaller teams of only a few people, all the way up to very large teams of 100+ stakeholders.

Cons

Given the robust features and functions that Jira supports, there's a lot of depth and breadth to the software, so it can be somewhat complex and confusing to newer users, especially those who haven't worked much with project management tools previously. For project managers who are leading multiple teams simultaneously, things can get a bit overwhelming because the email notifications and project alerts can quickly start to become excessive, and there's no way to consolidate notifications across projects/teams.

Morgan
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/04/2022

Jira is a great intro to agile

I have used other project management software before and Jira is very simple and clean. It looks modern which is a big benefit that it has going for it.

Pros

I like that Jira is very easy to use and intuitive for the most part. It is easy to set up and explain the features and functions on a basic level. Within the week, even tech illiterate people could use it well.

Cons

Some of the terms (“story points”) etc seem superfluous. There are a lot of functions in Jira that are nice but aren’t necessary.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Asana

Switched From

GitLab
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/08/2019

Easy To Use

We use Jira on daily basis at our work.
All projects are first created on jira and respective team(Developer, tester, lead) is assigned. Estimate of the project is added. During course of project all tasks/issues for this project are raised with this project id and hours worked are logged under it.
On the whole I find Jira very convenient and easy to use.

Pros

Its very simple and efficient tool to track, manage projects and capture efforts .
It gives very clear idea of status of project (in-progress, ready to test, ready for release etc) , items being worked on in the project and team working on it under one tab.
A tester can raise defects with severity under project tab and assigns to developer which automatically informs developer through email. Developer fixes defects and assigns it back to tester.
It arranges the work assigned to user on the basis of priority shows it on the very first dashboard page after login.
It has capability to log hours along with description of work done. The hours logged can exported to report format and verified for every member working in project.

Cons

Not big cons as such.
The only con I see is it does not support peer programming. Any issue can be assigned only to one person. If multiple people are working on a single issue or multiple leads are reviewing code jira does not really have capability to support this.

Wassim
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/01/2020

Great product for managing software projects

It is been amazing and it helped us to get more organized during the development lifecycle of our products. Also, it could be very powerful on the automation side by adding a few add-one from the market place.

Pros

It is very flexible and customizable which makes it easy to manage every different kind of software projects whatever the size of the product is.

Cons

The flexibility of the system comes at the cost of usability, so it is a little more complex to use the advanced feature of the system like their query language

Alternatives Considered

Wrike

Switched From

GitLab
Kajetan
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 30/05/2022

Extremerely rich management ecosystem.

Jira helps to track work not only at a team level, but also at a company level. It helps to show dependencies between task, projects and long term plans.
At first sight, the abundance of features might seems daunting, but Jira is a tool definitely worth investing time into as it quickly turns into might weapon in hands of experienced user.

Pros

Jira is an extremely rich management ecosystem with dozens of features, which seems to applicable to almost any company or team.

Cons

Because of the abundance of features, Jira definitely has a steep learning curve. Not only finding or configuring new options might challenging, but even the basic interface requires some time to get used to. Especially for people, who don't have previous experience.

Vladimir
Vladimir
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/05/2022

Jira was what we needed to easily manage multiple projects and teams

Pros

Boards flexibility: combining projects, teams, tasks levels and more as desired in one or multiple boards to make easier to keep tracking of the work and also to provide visibility of the progress to stakeholders without distractions. Dashboards that we can display in the office so people can keep focus on what's important.

Cons

A task can't be in one sprint and the sub-tasks in another: Sometimes we have the situation where a task was not completed within the original sprint and we need to move everything to the next sprint when I rather keep the sub-tasks in the sprint where they were completed.

Victor
  • Industry: Think Tanks
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 07/05/2018

JIRA is the go to application for development, devops, and for some ops

Pros

It is purpose built for managing software development. For that it it very well suited from stories to bug fixes in the life cycle. In devops, there are great integrations and strong capabilities for stand-up, deployment, upgrades, and changes in operations tied to triggerable events from JIRA. In an ops environment JIRA is a workable tool, but is not ideal. That said it may be worth compromising to have a single tool across the entire organization.

Cons

While JIRA is the go to tool for dev and devops, it is weak in an operations environment. Time tracking and assignment of tasks are highly manual. Queue view are customizeable, but difficult to manage at scale. Analytics are very very poor. I tried exporting data for analytics on DOMO. While I could get that to work, the process remained highly manual and therefore not a workable dashboard environment. JIRA tools, widgets, and dashboards are reasonably customizable, but again not purpose built for ops. For example, time tracking is not start/stop/context driven.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/02/2020

Top Tier Project Management, Ticket Management, Release Management software

We used JIRA in our recent projects to manage the development in the Agile way.
The support of JIRA made the coordination and releases more and more manageable.
As long as we followed the Agile best practice, we gained the tracability, ownership and project status in a straightforward and intuitive way.
So the developers can focus on what they need to develop, managers know the status top down.

Pros

Jira is becomming more and more popular.
Together with Confluence, Github, Jenkins.
it offer platform to manage the projects into a well-designed hierarchy.
Keep tracks of the relationship between requirement, task, development , deployment and release.
It integrated with Confluence for the knowledgebase.
Github to the soucecontrol and defect tracking.
Jenkins for the deployment.
Big community are making it better and better.

Cons

I didn't like Jira at the beginning.
While that was about 12 years ago.
The recent releases are much more mature. Not too much to complain.

Chris
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2019

Excellent - but server version's admin overhead too large for a small team

A small business team of 5 development staff used JIRA for a number of years very successfully. We relied on it daily to plan and manage our software development tasks. For medium to large teams of software developers, I would highly recommend it. But for a small team like ours the admin overhead to keep it up-to-date with plugins and complex update release processes which usually meant some downtime, was too much.

Pros

Very customisable, server version great for installing in house, integrates well with other software such as Confluence. Fast and effective project and development management software. Excellent support.

Cons

Steep learning curve. Admin overhead too big in the end for a small team to keep core product and plugins up-to-date.

Yuri
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/04/2020

Strong candidate for agile/scrum teams

Overall, I see it very functional for our organization as it's an excellent way to keep track of all the changes/updates/improvements in a top-down manner: starting from user story and ending in the code changes.

Pros

I see JIRA as a strong match for agile programming.
I like the ability of the sprint management, easy filtering of the Canvas board by multiple filters (like name/component/etc.).
I also like that it can be integrated with GitHub:
- I can see all the commits and pull request associated with the story (and it saved there forever)
- The stories automatically flow in the sprint canvas boards when the status of the pull request associated with the story changes.

Cons

A lot of bureaucracy is required for opening a new JIRA story/bug/feature/etc. I understand that this inevitable, yet, it's very confusing at the beginning and requires some learning curve to get into the software.

Donald
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/07/2019

JIRA Review

JIRA allowed comprehensive communications between various departments (i.e. designers, developers, graphics, testing, QA) so that everyone knew the status of "events" real-time.

Pros

In my role as a Project Manager for software development, the developers used JIRA to manage the development cycle and we jointly use JIRA for problem reporting, testing, quality control and resolution. JIRA provided and tracked the information between groups so there was no confusion as to the status of a particular issue or trouble ticket. The ability to review "tickets" and see the status was very beneficial from a management perspective.

Cons

There was somewhat of a learning curve just to get started but that improved with repetition. Although I was not directly involved with setup and configuration, that seems to be a little more complex than originally though.

Andrew
Andrew
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 06/12/2018

Bug Tracking Tool

We moved from homegrown bug tracking to JIRA and the benefits were immediate and huge. The functionality, customization, search and speed of the system was so much better than the system it replaced. The learning curve was short for many and the increases in visibility across the organization made the development function much more transparent. JIRA was used to ramp up our agile development approach and with the right leadership we made great gains here too in terms of cultural change and code delivery speed.

Pros

Visual, real-time, fast. Great for logging, tracking and monitoring bugs and enhancements. Great search functionality. Made project management much easier with greater visibility of workload and any issues that are stuck or blocking progress.

Cons

My organization tried to use JIRA for bottom-up project planning by defining features, applying estimates, linking etc. This level of deconstruction didn't always fit well with how developers work and ignored the big picture in some cases. The result was massively overestimated timelines and overwhelm for the team.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 29/10/2018

Many Features but Many Manual Configurations

We have stopped using JIRA at this point due to the cost vs. the team size we have these days, but it served us extremely well when we were using it. I was not one of the individuals to set it up originally, but I was tasked with administering it once those individuals left the company. Overall, the administration of the software was pretty simple and straightforward, but I found it difficult to add new boards, tables, etc. when I found it to be necessary. All of the customizations and plugins are super useful if you know what you're doing from a tech standpoint. Many plugins come at an additional cost, and that cost is set by the developer and will vary. I would definitely recommend using JIRA for large teams who need or would a good degree of complexity for tracking projects they are working on.

Pros

You have the ability to implement many extra plugins that have been designed specifically for JIRA. There are a lot of customizations you can make within the interface without the need for addtional plugins as well.

Cons

There is a lot of manual setup required. A lot of times, it seems like you need to create multiple pieces within the console in order to get something working properly. When I would set up new boards and categories, I found myself having to redo my work on a few occasions because I would miss a setup when setting up certain references.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/03/2019

good project management software for Enterprises

as mentioned earlier, it is the steep learning curve that can deter users and hence we needed to retain their enthusiasm while training by showcasing some of the great functionality of this tool.

Pros

It is a very good tool for project management especially tracking project steps at a very detailed level and workflows for the various steps in the project can be incorporated into this software. It also facilitates communication with the all the members involved in the project when configured. Helps devops environment very well.

Cons

Since this software can get into great granularity, there is a very steep learning curve involved for users to get started with this great product. While it takes time to train users and get them comfortable, once they are past the learning curve, they seem to really enjoy using this tool.

272 reviews