User Reviews Overview

About Dayforce HCM

Dayforce, provided by Ceridian, is a solution for payroll, benefits, workforce management, human resources, talent management, document management, and analytics. As a single application, Dayforce provides organizations with...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

Browse Dayforce HCM Reviews

660 of 659 reviews
Sort by:
Kelli M. Kelli M.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 16/11/2020

Managing your own settings means lots of potential for success and mess

Honestly, I am pretty neutral at this point. For each thing that has changed for the positive, there is something else that has changed for the negative. I am still optimistic this will work out for the better in the long run but as in my previous comment, implementation has been extremely difficult and we are in a severe situation with our clients and investors on the 401K funding situation.

Pros

-Ability to control the majority of your settings
-Real time gross to net calculations
-Great payroll auditing tools
-Many standard reports and ability to tweak them to your needs
-Auto setup of a lot of policy assignments based on data management criteria - eliminates human error

Cons

THE IMPLEMENTATION PROCESS - We went through at least 3 weeks worth of work to gather all our settings, decide on how we would like it built, did research on the best way to put our data in the system, even received guidance from one of their recommended consultant groups, THEN went through 16 hours of Discovery calls to talk through how we wanted the system setup. In the end though, all the job codes and mapping we requested at implementation went out the window and they setup the system based on the data from our old provider, which was a mess and part of the reason we moved in the first place.

We are now a year into this project and 6 months post-live and are STILL trying to cleanup the mess caused during implementation. My time and my team's time is dominated by this cleanup process.

Lastly - we are currently have a major struggle with funding our 401K. Apparently, 401K funding is currently only done via check and NOT ACH. We have 3000+ team members and 90+ locations - we cannot have that many 401K checks being cut bi-weekly. In order to setup as an automatic feed, there would have to be a separate file feed for each location, based on software limitations - which means 90+ file feeds - all associated with a cost to build and to maintain should there be a change required.

I truly believe (and hope) that once it's all cleaned up and all settings are the way we need them to be - we will be in a much better place but this process has been extremely difficult.

Alternatives Considered

ADP Workforce Now and UKG Ready

Reasons for Choosing Dayforce HCM

We are growing rapidly and we outgrew the functionality of our previous company. There were many things we had to do manually should now automatic in Ceridian - once its setup properly. Also, inconsistencies of setup in the previous system caused issues in reporting.

Switched From

Netchex

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM

The structure of team members have ONE record that is references by all the modules as opposed to multiple databases/records throughout the modules.
Chiquitta H. Chiquitta H.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Dayforce User

Dayforce allows our organization to house all of our employee records and performance reviews. Previously we had ADP and we had issues with retaining employee records with accurate information.

Pros

Very easy to maneuver through screens once you get the hang of what you want to see.

Cons

Terminated employees were not included in the search feature but this has recently changed and a box has been added to show those employees.

Alternatives Considered

UKG Pro

Reasons for Choosing Dayforce HCM

WE ran into alot of issues and we were needing a system that could help us sreamline our processes more efficiently.

Switched From

ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM

Dayforce seemed to have alot of the features that we were needing to be more efficient with our processes. We are excited to utilize the dashboard so that we can see where we can make improvements.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2017

Dayforce has completely changed how we do life at Kern Health Systems HR.

HR efficiencies, ROI by 60% over our other provider in the first month and a support team that truly supports their clients efforts. I feel like we have gained a partner not a vendor.

Pros

We love that we have been able to go paperless in all of our HR processes from application to termination. We no longer use paper apps, compensation change forms, benefits apps, or onboarding documents. Everything is paperless. We can look in the system and see where approvals are sitting. This has made our HR flows and processes so much easier and efficient. We also love the one employee record. From application to hire we only have to enter their information once. We have significantly cut down on our errors and the spreadsheets we used to keep to follow all of our processes. Our Onboarding is streamlined and professional. New hires can fill out all of their documents prior to the first day of work, so that we can maximize our first day with them. And finally Support. The Support Team is world class. I can't speak highly enough about the responsiveness, expertise and efficient way the support team works with their clients! Ceridian gets an A+ for their support.

Cons

Prior to the newest upgrade to 53, Reporting was a bit clunky and difficult to understand. As a busy HR Leader, I don't have extensive time to take a bunch of classes to learn how to run reports. They need to be easy, user friendly and intuitive. Prior to the upgrade they were not. The new Reports module has come a LONG way in improving this. The reporting module is now in HTML and much easier to understand and use. Other than that, I cannot think of one other Con to the Dayforce system. I came from a very different provider that I was extremely displeased with, so it makes it a little more challenging to find Cons. I am very happy with the decision to move to Ceridian.

Top Dayforce HCM Alternatives

Jo F. Jo F.
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Dayforce Review

We use this for payroll currently and are in the process of implementing HR.

Pros

The system is easy for us to use. We have not had any issues with our processes.

Cons

Report Building is not as robust as we would like.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle PeopleSoft

Reasons for Choosing Dayforce HCM

Contract running out and wanted something different.

Switched From

Oracle PeopleSoft

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM

We preferred this cloud version
Tanisha W. Tanisha W.
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Software is great

AWESOME

Pros

Get one report across countries. Single platform us, and was able to help keep us in compliance

Cons

There is no roll total feature for multiple checks

Alternatives Considered

UKG Pro

Reasons for Choosing Dayforce HCM

Not in compliance

Switched From

ADP Workforce Now

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM

Single Platform
Del J. Del J.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

DayForce

Pros

user friendly, all in one platform, system admin

Cons

support takes long to resolve a problem sometimes.

Alternatives Considered

Paycom, UKG Pro and Workday HCM

Switched From

Paycom, UKG Pro and Workday HCM

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM

currently have an RFP with Dayforce
Trish C. Trish C.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Dayforce Rocks!!

I love it. It is user friendly and real time tracking which is awesome!!! Super easy to learn and teach!

Pros

I use the recruiting module a lot and I really like it. I love the talent management pool and how easy it is to use and send resumes. The talent pool keeps me organized as well,

Cons

Nothing really. Sometimes it lags in the recruiting module but otherwise I love it,

Monica C. Monica C.
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

It’s been a ride.....

Started our journey in June 2018. Thought it would be a smooth 12 weeks. Was supposed to go LIVE on October 1, pushed to January 1, pushed to April 1.
“Fired” the first Implementation team because they were not expert ICs and somewhat unfamiliar with US payroll law. Was transferred to a new PM who is great, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], and higher level IC [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] to bale out the previous team.
Much of what was built in HPW could not just be imported and had to be re-built.

Pros

Ease of processing payroll. Report writer.
More automation available compared to HPW platform.
Dayforce talks to WFM!
Earnings statements real time.

Cons

Cannot have Job Title and job code (attached to EEO code) on EE profile.
Has been very challenging building the system with complex pay policies.
New Hire form data entry does not trickle into all of the necessary fields that we use, so we have to touch about 10 screens to put all of New Hire data in.

Frances C. Frances C.
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Payroll requires accuracy

So far so good but willing to submit idea to support portal for improvement.

Pros

Accurate in reporting, easy to run simple reports, automatically to do retro pay, can automatically calculate pay checks without manually changing any. Fields

Cons

WFM reporting not that accurate if there is no pay in timesheet, no show in employee attendance, no records can be found in report with WFM

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database and UKG Ready

Reasons for Switching to Dayforce HCM

Used Ceridian Payroll web before
Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 05/06/2018

Used Ceridian Dayforce while processing Multi-State Payroll for luxury retailors

Pros

I liked the ability automate many of the different pay rules depicted by state laws such as CA's sick time and overtime within the time and attendance. It is easy to navigate and touches on all functions of HR and payroll. We used the HR piece to do our new hires, benefits, time and attendance, along with payroll was pretty decent. The import process within Dayforce was pretty smooth to work with, considering all the types of pay data that needed to go in. Overall I would recommend for anyone who wants to go automated and cut out the manual work. I was impressed even with the retro calculation feature we used to do retros.

Cons

I don't think their was anything I disliked, other than having to upgrade every few months to the next release to ensure functionality and maintain success. Otherwise no cons, but cost maybe.

Jeremy C. Jeremy C.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Retailers View of Dayforce

The overall experience that I have had has been positive. Working with our Customer Success Manager we have been able to get a solution for any obstacle that we have come up.

Pros

The application is configurable but not customizable. This allows for the system to be configured how you need it to work. The new features that are continually being introduced are very interesting and are innovative in that the core focus is on improving the user experience in order to improve the bottom line of your organization.

Cons

The most frustrating part of working with the application is the new features that introduced do not always come with instructions which means there is a lot of trial and error on the configuration team's part in order to get the system to work. In general the support personal are constantly turning over which impacts our ability to consistent customer service.

Bethann D. Bethann D.
  • Industry: Packaging & Containers
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/04/2018

Dayforce helped us ditch the spreadsheets!

Pros

Dayforce is highly configurable. We are a mid-size manufacturer with plant's in 3 states, 2 different pay frequencies, and 4 different bargaining agreements. Needless to say, we have a complex payroll. Dayforce easily handles our complex pay and benefits structures, and it is easy to make changes each time there is a new bargaining agreement.
Customer support has gotten much better since they changed to a the 'pod' model - now when we call or open an online ticket, I get someone that is already familiar with our company and our Dayforce configuration.

Cons

I would like to see them offer more in-depth training for those of us that are HRIS administrators, so that we could do more of our own configuration and have less billable projects. The platform runs slow at times. Only really a problem on payroll processing days.

Jennifer P. Jennifer P.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/03/2017

Dayforce makes my life easier!!

Previously I was processing payroll and onboarding employees using 2 different systems. A time and attendance and a payroll/HR system. Switching to Dayforce has streamlined the way we handle HR incidents, new hires, payroll, time and attendance all in one easy to use the system. My employees appreciate the fact they can now take ownership and enjoy the fact that they have access to see their time, paystubs, able to change addresses, or personal info has needed. As a payroll/HR administrator, time is of the essence when processing accurate payroll. Dayforce streamlined our payroll process and what used to take 3 days, now only takes 1!!!

Pros

Payroll/HR System is easy to use and the icons they have created helps when issues need to be addressed for my managers.

Cons

Silverlight crashes a lot but Dayforce and Ceridian are moving away from Silverlight so it should not be a problem in upcoming future.

Doug S. Doug S.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Best Bang for Buck

Pros

Dayforce offers a lot of flexibility as a true single platform for HCM professionals. The system is extremely easy to use and has a robust training platform. I would recommend this product to anyone.

Cons

The API integration to other applications does need a bit of fine tuning but it works well for Passport Health.

Cindy B. Cindy B.
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Flexible Software for Evolving Needs

Pros

The system is relatively easy for users to navigate. Dayforce is consistently adding new features/options that are relevant and help HR professionals support the organization. With customizable options, organizations can build solutions specific to their unique needs.

Cons

When software is updated, some fixes create other issues (e.g., recently our ability to see applicant questionnaires ‘disappeared’ after a fix was implemented to avoid duplicate questionnaires).

Willis J. Willis J.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Compliance is key!

Dayforce helps us pay our employees and manage the employee existence. It is the #1 software for compliance.

Pros

Dayforce is very large on compliance! It is designed to complete complex payroll processes which helps us as we grow.

Cons

The recruiting module. It seems to have been unrolled quickly and without much testing and thought.

Danielle A. Danielle A.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 01/02/2017

Dayforce HCM is a great product!

We have been using Dayforce HCM since January 2015. It has increased our reporting capabilities, offered employee and managers greater ease of use, payroll processing is more accurate with less potential for errors than ever before. Overall we are happy to be using this product.

Pros

Ease of use, accuracy, it's configurable. I also appreciate working with my Customer Success Manager from Ceridian. She is very helpful and is a part of the reason we are successful using this product. I also enjoy their customer success program.

Cons

There are some work-arounds we've had to create to get the product to work for our organization. As a non-profit we'd like to make some changes in our overall set up, but the cost of making changes after implementation is typically not something we have in our budget.

Michael J. Michael J.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 22/08/2019

All in one for human resources!

Pros

Dayforce is a great platform for many HR related purposes. You can track/assign employee hours and shifts, monitor and approve time off requests, and calculate payroll. In addition, it allows employees to monitor/track their benefits, retrieve pay sheets, change direct deposit information and more.

Cons

Compared to other software that is payroll only, Dayforce is a little clunky. It takes too many clicks to do simple things like adjusting time clocks, approving payroll, and using it as both a team manager AND an employee. Certain features, such as a manager adding a time off request for an employee, requires Silverlight, so we can only do that with Internet Explorer and no other browser.

Response from Ceridian

Hi Michael,

Thank you for sharing your Dayforce experience. This is incredibly valuable feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts.

Wishing you continued success!

Thanks again,

Michael

Replied 26/08/2019
Mary B. Mary B.
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Dayforce = best experience in HCM

Love, Love, Love! This system has improved my daily tasked. It has also helped my work life balance. Because it is so easy to use, I am able to have be at home more with my family.

Pros

I am a big fan of the payroll features. I have been in the payroll field for 27 years and no other system compares to the Dayforce experience.

Cons

Customer support. We know more about the product then support

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Very Helpful!

Recruting was are biggest problems, with Dayfore it's much easier to reach a larger group of individuals. And much easier for applicants record keeping.

Pros

Easy to navigate, you have everything you need from start to finish when hiring and recruiting and Payroll is not as complicated as with other systems. You also have all of the employees information in one place. Making life much easier.

Cons

Some reports are not as easy to find. But customer service are very knoledgable and helpful.

Mary O. Mary O.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 31/07/2017

Great functionality & configurability, with effective service & support

Pros

The functionality! We have some complex policies / procedures that other vendors simply told us could not be automated. However, we have been able to automate not just successfully but accurately these complex policies to improve our internal customer satisfaction and remove a lot of the administrative burden. Ceridian is also clearly dedicated to excelling and staying ahead of the industry's needs, as clearly reflected in their willingness and execution to implement clients' ideas based on their individual needs.

Cons

Silverlight plug-in is a problem especially for my Mac users; however, they are working on getting rid of this, thankfully. In addition, they had to address some implementation inefficiencies.

Monica A. Monica A.
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2019

I like the product but I wish I had more capability to do things on the app like approve time...

Pros

Some capabilities via mobile, Cerdian has a full platform. I do not have to add other products to it, the analytics and reporting capabilities once I learn how to use them

Cons

The message center. Because I am an administrator I get all messages. Therefore, I cannot see when I have things that I need to do directly for my team. Someone has to call me to remind me to approve things for my team. I wish I could get a special notification when I need to approve something for my team, like a buzzer or something. Since notifications are in Dayforce and no email notification comes thru to tell me to approve something for my team, it makes things challenging.

Craig B. Craig B.
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 02/12/2016

Dayforce a Big Hit!

Since our inception into Ceridian products in 2015 - we have had such great services and products to help our business in maintaining our payroll program. In many ways, it is helping and yet we know we have seen ways that Ceridian is not helping because we are a smaller company. But as we grow, we will want Ceridian to be part of the growing. Dayforce has lots of interesting tools and ways to help any company. With Ceridian's team to help customize it to our actual needs, Dayforce has been helpful, intuitive and easy to use by everyone.

Pros

Appearance, easy to use, lots of tools, staff have yet to say it is not a good program..this is big.

Cons

Really nothing to say in the negative.

Lynne B. Lynne B.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/11/2017

We went live with Dayforce Payroll January 1st 2017

Our vacation and sick time and are recorded and approuved online.
Being able to calculate payroll in the present and in the futur.
Managers are able to view their employees hours and track sick and vacation time.
Timesheets are done online, no need for paper timesheets.

Pros

I work in the payroll department and I am very satisfied with the Payroll and benefits modules. I am pleased to see all of my payrolls for the whole year, to be able to calculate and make changes for the whole year. The benefits module is very helpful for employees to see the amount of their life insurance, health and dental benefits. The vacation and sick days are also online, employees can see their balances as of today and also in the futur. After some training, I am much more comfortable using the Reporting module, I can build reports to our needs.

Mariel W. Mariel W.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 17/10/2018

Associate Payroll Manager

Pros

I really like the My Pay feature that shows when an employee has a net pay difference from the last pay period. It has been incredibly helpful when auditing the payrolls for inaccurate benefit changes or tax chanages.

Cons

The standard payroll reports have a lot of information that isn’t needed when processing payroll. It would be helpful to have the ability to filter out what isn’t needed before running the reports in excel format, such as the earnings register report.

660 reviews