User Reviews Overview

About Chartio

Chartio is a cloud-based business intelligence solution that provides founders, business teams, data analysts and product teams in an organization tools to manage day-to-day business operations. Chartio's tools provide users...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.5

Browse Chartio Reviews

39 reviews
Sort by:
James
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/08/2018

One of the Best I've Used

Starting with dispersed data we now have one place for it. We also now have a single place to create reporting where before it was happening all over. Modeling a complex multi-touch model would take months to do and this technology allowed us to be up and running in less than a month. The only challenges we faced were caused by our own data quality.

Pros

The ability to pull in so many different data sets from so many different places. As a marketer pulling in data from google analytics, AdWords, automation platform, salesforce, etc. really allowed us to fast-track our reporting and made it to where we do not have to build a custom data model but get out of the box plug-ins with Chartio. The modeling is simple and easy to follow.

Cons

I really have yet to find something I dislike

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/04/2020

A highly configurable tool for the technical team and technical marketer

It’s a great experience. It present data that is critical to every single portion of our business and provides highly valuable insight in the health and performance of the business.

Pros

There is a ton you can do with Chartio right out of the box without much technical ability. THat said, the more you know about your data and how it is structured, the more you can do with Chartio. SQL skills make the platform easier to configure and use but is not a required skill.

Cons

It’s a little bit tough to handle huge data sets and make sure data connections are correct. I think that other than that the customization and configurability of Chartio is great.

Priscilla
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 16/03/2022

Good bang for buck but there are better options

Chartio is easy to use for beginners and is good for simple visualizations. However when you go into the realm of more complex queries/visualizations/embeds, then it starts to pose problems pertaining to maintenance and redundancy.

Pros

I like how easy it is to put together a graph. The visuals are simple and easy to interpret. I like how we can drag and drop titles and notes around a dashboard.

Cons

Chartio sunsetted after the acquisition. Variables were hard to use and we could not set up a generic template that can be used which meant we had to clone each individual dashboard.

Alternatives Considered

Looker and Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Chartio

Pricing was good for us and our usage was small.

Top Chartio Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 04/05/2022

Chartio is user-friendly data visualization tool for beginners

In general, I think Chartio is a great choice for a beginner data analyst and a smaller organization to get started with their data analytics, reporting and visualization.

Pros

Chartio was very user friendly. As someone who helped implement this dashboard tool for our organization, the documentation was clear and the customer support was helpful. The entire platform is easy to navigate around and figure out on one's own. On each individual chart, the data pipeline function is really powerful to allow for endless possibility of data manipulation and customization. The dashboard was easy to adjust and had a nice clean view.

Cons

The data modeling side was a bit weaker, and there were some smaller bugs that never got fixed.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/06/2018

Enterprise-grade BI for mid-market price and complexity

BI, visualization, SQL queries, Postgres visualization, BigQuery visualization

Pros

With Chartio, you can run from data to visualization in seconds, even if you don't know SQL. Chartio has a visual editor, clear and easy joins and table keys, a huge range of preconfigured data sources, and easy dashboard and folder management. Chartio is also one of the few, if not the only BI tool that can be embedded into your app and managed through tokens or SAML authentication. All in all, expect professional grade BI power without the cost or complexity.

Cons

Cons are limited for Chartio. I found no issues with the querying or visualization itself, but did run into issues clarifying errors or linking data correctly. We also struggled to auto-refresh schemas, which in an environment where schemas change constantly, means a refresh cycle every week.

Luis
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/02/2019

Chartio has been key to our success

Chartio shows us key information for our partners to see and compare our numbers with other vendors. It has been great and the partner seems to love it. However, I feel it can be better in so many ways for the user to find it easier to use.

Pros

I liked the many boards you can create with numerous amount of data within them. You can also organize them properly to be pretty to the eye.

Cons

It is hard to program and sometimes frustrating to set everything up.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/03/2018

We use Chartio for our data presentation for our team.

Pros

The ability to write SQL and pull the necessary data from our database helps our team stay on top of the most recent initiatives.

Cons

There are limits to the charts that's can be presented - in terms of types of charts like pie charts vs bar graphs.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2017

Ease to implement, manage and use

Pros

I like that you can easily integrate data from Amazon Redshift to CSV files, blend them by using the Data Pipeline and visualize them interactively in Dashboard.

Cons

The grafical user interface when inserting custom functions in the Data Pipeline; the visualization can be improved.

Sasha
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
N/A

4.5
Reviewed on 09/07/2015

Chart.io makes us smarter

Pros

The visualization tools are great for spotting trends, board meetings, investor updates, and dashboards. But mostly they are constantly updating the product, which shows they love and care about data analysis and visualization.

Cons

Creating dashboards is easy to do, hard to make look good.

Ling Ling
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 04/10/2017

Chartio offers a dashboard-like style of organizing data into tables and charts.

Organizing data into a report and downloading capabilities.

Pros

- Many different chart options are available -- great for graphs!
- Able to organize data into a table format.
- Able to highlight certain data values, or change the text to make things more noticeable.
- Activity log
- Ability to search for any report/dashboard.
- Able to add any data tables you need.
- Great support team

Cons

- OR statements are a bit cumbersome, but glad the option exists and is doable.
- Depending on the data used, sometimes other chart views aren't possible aside from tables.
- The dashboard-like style is okay, but having lots of tables in one dashboard makes me wish I could view the reports in a list-form instead.
- Customized styling/formatting (e.g., highlighting with conditional formatting) doesn't show up in the expanded view for tables.
- Inability to group like-items together -- this might be possible, and I just haven't discovered it yet.

Ayhan
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/04/2021

Easy to Use with Charts and Deep Dive Queries

It is a robust and collaborative tool that helps us to collect and visualize our kpis and metrics. It also allows us to throw alerts for certain types of events which completes overall experience.

Pros

It enables you to create rapid dashboards and charts with extensive selection. It also has ability to write your own queries directly to the data tables that you connected. It allows you to track other chart data to understand the written queries behind it.
It also has drag and drop charting which is also helpful to engage with team members with no experience on querying.

Cons

Share links are not well designed so you need to make sure you click share and get the link on the screen. Otherwise it limits your environment and which is hard.
Even though there is a well documented help center, for datetime functions, most of the time it is hard to handle even if you use sql common functionalities.

Jan
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/04/2019

Great choice for all our reporting and BI needs

From starting with very few and scattered reports to - after over three years - building all out multifacetted reporting for a strongly growing ecommerce business, Chartio has served us well. The tool keeps evolving and customer care and support has always been excellent :)

Pros

The framework is robust and performant, the platform allows for quick and insightful analyses as well as powerful report programming equally well which makes it a great bridge between solutions that anyone can setup and framworks that require more advanced programming skills.

Cons

There is room for improvement on the adaptability of some of the reports' design options.

Nono
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2018

Great way to dig deep into analytics or a general overview!

Pros

Chartio is a powerful software that we rely on to keep track of our marketing efforts. It's great for gathering data from multiple sources and displaying them brilliantly in simple and colourful charts. It's also super reliable.

Cons

You may need some SQL knowledge even to create simple charts. Also, customization can be limited sometimes.

Todd
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/12/2015

Analyst to Executive - the only dashboarding tool we need

Pros

Chartio is simply, simple. Regardless of whether you are a data scientist (me) or an executive (my co-founder), Chartio just lets you get the dashboard creation process done with least number of clicks. It's powerful enough for exploratory analysis and the user access controls makes controlling information an absolute breeze.

Cons

My only grime is not supporting a larger number of native integrations. Google Analytics, Salesforce and Segment are great however I'd like a few advertising and finance partners added.

Heather
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2017

Best analytics tool for a startup

Chartio has been a game changer for our business analytics function. We chose to use it because of its ability to use raw SQL (making it incredibly flexible). There is a bit of a learning curve for non-technical ops people, but once you're over the hump, the functionality and insight into key metrics is unparalleled. Their customer service is top notch as well...always available and willing to help with specific use-case questions.

Pros

It integrates with Segment, so we can pull in data from many of our other end products/platforms

Cons

The ability to integrate dashboards into your own website is available, but the product itself in this form performs very poorly in this case. Chartio is much better used as a stand-alone product. If you want users across your company to view dashboard data without eating up "seats", your best option is to schedule static dashboards via email.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/07/2019

Very Useful Data Tool

I love using it to track!

Pros

A very organized way of tracking data and trends for our company

Cons

Sometimes some of the pages/reports were a little busy.

Ryan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 07/12/2015

Chartio review for Shazam

Pros

Chartio is the fastest, easiest way to put an attractive front end on top of 'big data' like an Amazon Redshift instance. It's powerful enough to use SQL code to create dashboards, but flexible and easy enough to allow some end-users to create their own.

Cons

Nothing really, their customer support has been excellent, and the product has worked better than our expectations.

Phil
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Surpassed Expectations in Use and Customer Service

Highly recommend Chartio for its ease of use and superior customer service. Whenever we have questions the help team responds back extremely quickly and in detail. Probably my favorite part of the service!

Pros

Customer Service is A+++ and I hope they know how good they are.

Tamas
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
N/A

4.5
Reviewed on 09/12/2015

It just works as expected.

Pros

Easy to use, both for building and viewing the dashboards.
They release new features quite often and they just know what features I missed before.

Cons

I don't know who viewed my dashboards and when. It would be nice to have usage statistics.

Al
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/09/2019

Chartio Review

Overall a great tool that provides valuable data driven insights for business teams.

Pros

Provides valuable insights and dashboards for teams into metrics and goals. It’s a great way to view various aspects of our KPIs to see how we’re on track towards our goals.

Cons

Somewhat cumbersome when trying to filter charts and not as easy for non admins to create a quick chart, etc.

Karim
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4.5
Reviewed on 07/07/2015

spin up a metrics dashboard in no time!

Pros

ability to generate SQL queries very easily and quickly visualize in dashboards is great! Very easy to ramp up on this software and use it.

Cons

the visualization is simple, would be great if more advanced capabilities are offered, e.g. dynamic visualization

Michelle
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

4
Reviewed on 16/07/2015

Chartio - Great for small businesses

Pros

Chartio does a great job providing ease of use for both a technical and non-technical audience. The interactive mode makes it easy to pull and display simple data, and query mode gives the opportunity for more complex and custom queries. It is easy and quick to put together and customize dashboards. Chartio also very easily connects to many types of data sources and even allows for CSV uploads. It is an affordable product that provides a significant amount of value for the money.

Cons

The connection to GA is great, but it would be even better if the customization of queries and formulas was easier to navigate. Also, the opportunity for more HTML customization would be useful. Lastly, while Chartio can handle large data sets, it would be great if the queries on more complex data pulls could display more quickly.

Tyler
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/07/2015

Changed the Way We Work

Pros

Chartio has allowed my team to become even more successful by allowing us to look at and turn raw data into real time quantifiable information that is easily understood and interpreted on all levels.

Since I personally began using Chartio about 5 months ago, I have seen how it has evolved within our company with how we have been able to use this data on a daily basis to provide us with more valuable information that we can use to make better decisions, day in and day out.

Cons

It could be tough for users to use who are not familiar or have no knowledge or training on how to set up the different charts and view different metrics outside of the data that is set up for the users.

Steve
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/03/2018

Beautiful, clean dashboards! Great for SQL data too

Chartio has allowed us to take action on our data.

Pros

There's a lot to like here. The dashboards are clean and attractive. A solid group of features and dashboarding tools. Pretty cool SQL mode if you need to access SQL server.

Cons

There are some data sources (Salesforce) that it would be nice to have a simpler direct connection with. We work around this by using Heroku & postgres.

Gina
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 04/01/2019

Very happy with this software so far

Pros

This product has made all things data less of a mundane headache on a day to day level and also made things easier for clients.

Cons

I would love to see a better variety of integrations offered and for the product to be compatible with mobile more easily.

39 reviews