Joomla Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Joomla

Joomla is an open-source software design to help corporate businesses, government institutions and nonprofit organizations manage and publish website content. Supervisors can edit content using WYSIWYG editor, add/upload images,...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
3.7
Customer Support
3.8

Browse Joomla Reviews

613 of 613 reviews
Sort by:
Gustavo
Gustavo
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 23/04/2022

Joomla is a Good tool, but Wordpress does offer more.

My experience was some poor since Joomla requires to take a long road to mange easy tasks.
I stop using the platform while I finding myself striving to get some critical integrations with different platforms.

Pros

Open Source System
Good for blog entries
Easy to install

Cons

There are not many third party integrations
The community of users isn't big.
Customizing any website requires a lot of work and there is few an little quality premade layouts available.

Alternatives Considered

WordPress

Reasons for Switching to Joomla

I did choose Wordpress for many reasons. After trying long time enough Joomla, I got back into WordPress
Matt
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/07/2023

Joomla - the perfect way to start with your website

After using Joomla since 15 years I really must say: This is a great way to start your own website! It's easy to install, especially since many webhosts offer an installer to setup the basic installation without any knowledge of databases etc. You can easily customize the basic website with thousands of extensions and themes so it fits your needs perfectly. For all kind of simple websites, this is surely one of the best options and you always find some people to help in one of the many support channels.

Pros

The easy startup and the easy integration of external software makes it perfectly for starters. Also the clean seperation of backend and frontend makes it easier to understand. Me in person, I use Joomla for more then 10 websites and it's definitly my No. 1 for easy small websites.

Cons

Joomla serves well for easy websites. However, for large scale, it carries a heavy overload which might make bigger websites (several thousand visitors daily) slow. Also sometimes it's a risk to take third party extensions since you never know how good they're maintained, but that's the risk for all software packages :D

Alternatives Considered

WordPress

Reasons for Switching to Joomla

I prefer the clear seperation of frontend and backend in Joomla, while in Wordpress, this seperation is not that clear and harder to understand for starters.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 20/01/2020

Use Joomla if you like structured and guided onboarding

Joomla has quite alot of features out of the box so you can get started quickly without worrying about installing additional add-ons.

Pros

I've used Joomla from time to time, when I have no say over what CMS to use. It's fairly popular in the early 2010s. The fact that it is still around now, though it's market share has been dwindling over the decade, shows that there is still value. I love how the setup process and admin panel are so structured and guided. So it is really easy to get started with zero knowledge. The menus are all well categorised and labelled properly so you know where to find what. You won't get lost: system, users, content, etc. Just click on every single category and page, and your website will be done in no time.

Cons

The actual website layout is pretty boring and lacks creativity so it may not be suitable for all kinds of website. However, if content is more important than aesthetics or presentation for you, then Joomla may be what you're looking for. People say there is a steep learning curve, it does take awhile. Funny thing is, if you're IT saavy or know some basic coding, I find I take longer to customise Joomla than its competitors. But if you're not so good at computers, then use Joomla.

Alternatives Considered

Drupal, PrestaShop and WordPress

Top Joomla Alternatives

GoDaddy Website Builder

Adobe Dreamweaver

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 04/10/2021

Joomla still a vital CMS in 2021

Joomla is a great Open Source project that will continue to give it's users a voice on the internet.

Pros

Joomla is still a vital Open Source CMS for building websites. The ease of use and MVC model is still far superior than the other CMS's. The true power of Joomla is what you can do with the core product without needed 3rd party plugins or products.

Cons

There is a lot to say about the cons, from beginner ease of use, to backward compatibility issues, and the overall advancement of the code and services.

Alternatives Considered

WordPress

Reasons for Choosing Joomla

The Open Source Community and advanced capabilities of Joomla.

Reasons for Switching to Joomla

When I first chose Joomla, WordPress was just a blog.
Nigel Masimba
Nigel Masimba
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/12/2019

It's Ok But There Are Better Options

I use Joomla! intermittently for client websites. I never set up new websites with Joomla! as I believe there are better solutions out there. However, in the case of existing websites where Joomla! has been used for a long time and a large amount of content has been uploaded, it is usually easier to maintain the existing installation than to migrate to a new installation.

Pros

It's free and open source.
It's fast, lightweight and easy to install.
There is a large community of developers and users ready to help with advice on how to use it.

Cons

The interface is unintuitive for beginners
It is lagging behind other similar content management systems
Depending on the issue it can take time to get support from the open-source community
Some common software integrations can be difficult to find

Alternatives Considered

Drupal and WordPress

Reasons for Switching to Joomla

It was the existing solution on an established system so it was easier to maintain the legacy than move to new systems.
George Rex
George Rex
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 02/03/2021

A Tough CMS that Could Be Better

Joomla is yet another CMS for me though, even if it was more or less an exploration to find a better application within its category. Overall, it's a tough one and I will need a passionate mindset to dive deeper into this software.

Pros

Joomla is becoming very useful for e-commerce solutions, considering the powerful extensions that are being built for it these days. And of course, as it is an open-source application it makes it easy to customize and extend to one's need. Not to forget it's also free too.

Cons

Joomla didn't have much usability support compared to major players like WordPress and Drupal. Considering the fact that there were fewer extensions available to improve functionalities and most available ones were paid. So it wasn't a friendly application to explore then.

Ralf
Ralf
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/12/2020

Powwerfull but not user friendly

I only ever use this in large and complex systems with large user/clients bases. The data is very structured and not everything packed all in just one or two tables and you need constantly join tables to get just one information. This is a system to use for something like real estate with massive of data that need to be pulled from the database very quickly.

Pros

This is a very powerful system with great data model and database structure. Everything is well separated in the database and easy to optimize. File and folder structure is also very clear and structured. This is the system to use if you have a large client/user base need different access roles.

Cons

This is a developer system. Standard user will find this very complicated and complex. Its not user friendly and the concept are very powerful but very technical.

Alternatives Considered

WordPress

Reasons for Switching to Joomla

The data model where everything is in one table with joins to a second or even third table is very slow for real estate. The property details page has so many data that WordPress requires a few hundred data queries. While Joomla does this all in just one.
Stefan
Stefan
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 03/07/2019

Joomla review

I have used Joomla to create a number of websites and Joomla made it really easy for me to do this.
Instead of writing a whole website by hand I can have a working prototype that I can showcase to the customer in a matter of hours.

Pros

Joomla as a CMS has a lot of options and is very modular, for someone who has some knowledge with web development Joomla seems like the right option .

Another thing that gives Joomla an edge over other content managing systems is that it has very good search engine optimization which is something very important if we rely on Google for site recommendations.

Cons

Joomla doesn't have a very wide choice of add-ons and templates, which we should consider when deciding on which CMS to use.

Also for regular users Joomla is harder to use since it has a somewhat steep learning curve.

Alternatives Considered

WordPress

Reasons for Switching to Joomla

For developing website that I personally take care of I always choose Joomla over WordPress. This is due to that Joomla has a model-view-controller workflow that software developers are accustomed to.
Nabin
Nabin
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 29/06/2021

Powerful CMS for growing websites

We have been developing large and complex news portals for our clients using Joomla.

Pros

Joomla is a free and open source CMS that can be customized and extended easily.

Cons

Web development speed is slower using Joomla

Alternatives Considered

Drupal and WordPress

Reasons for Switching to Joomla

Joomla is beginner friendly CMS with powerful features.
Md Billal Hossain
Md Billal Hossain
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 28/09/2021

The Best CMS For E-Commerce Store

It is great for e-commerce solution. Not perfect as a blogging platform.

Pros

- Awesome inventory system
- Easily able to create e-commerce store
- Free of cost
- Huge number of templates

Cons

- Functionality little bit messy according to other CMS. Especially according to WordPress.

Vjekoslav
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/11/2021

Still best overall CMS

I have been using Joomla since the time it was a mambo CMS. I have created a large number of websites since then and what I can say with certainty is that Joomla is still a better CMS than other opensource solutions. Joomla CMS is a great tool for creating business websites and portals with lots of articles and content.

Most popular Joomla templates allow me to create module positions where I want. I can display the modules on the sub pages where I want.

To create a multilingual website I don’t have to install additional extensions if I don’t want to.

Thousands and thousands of great extensions, modules and templates are available to expand the capabilities of the CMS system.

Pros

I love being able to create a website without additional plug-in installations or extensions. Joomla core has built-in features and capabilities to make a simpler website.

I like better visibility and management of articles and categories in administration.

I like the ability to use multiple templates on one website.

I like the ability to, for almost everything, make an override via the menu.

And what I like most is that I have complete control over the website from start to finish.

Cons

What I don’t like the most is that the process of upgrading to a new version can be problematic for people who have no experience with Joomla. I am not thinking here of the update process but of the upgrade. Eg. from Joomla 3 to Joomla 4.

But the online community is great and always helps, and there are a number of instructions so everything can be solved even if you get stuck.

Alternatives Considered

WordPress

Reasons for Switching to Joomla

Wordpress is the most popular CMS and clients sometimes ask for a website to be created in Wordpress. Wordpress is also a good CMS, but it took me a long time to accept that I can't create a website without 10-15 extra plugins.
Sergey
Sergey
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/07/2018

Zero $0 investment, resulting in a great looking website

Not only I learned something new, which I've never known before, I was also able to present a great looking product to a higher level management, which really didn't cost company a penny.

Pros

I came to use Joomla when I needed to build a web based portal for my company to organize internal resources and data. While I can't call myself a Linux guru, it really took me 15 minutes to get my initial Joomla website up and running. Instructions are very clear and simple. Joomla was my first CMS product to evaluate. While it did take me a couple of days to understand it's structure, from that point, building a website was as easy as 123. Everything is visual. You don't have to be a great programmer / web developer to get along with this product. With the amount of available free and paid plugins, sky is really your limit to your web site customization. While my website was fairly simple (as that's the way I wanted to have it), I've seen examples of very complex high end websites, built on Joomla. My favorite feature is a backup. It so happened several times, that I managed to break my website. Restoring from a backup and going back live was so easy, it was hard to believe. Provided this was a totally free solution (Ubuntu Linux + Joomla CMS), I couldn't ask for a better software for my project.

Cons

Really nothing. Like I said it did take me a couple of days to understand how to add content and structure it, but once this was figured out, the rest was a breeze.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/10/2023

Joomla

a free and powerful tool, it allowed me to create my first website and gave me a taste for learning web design.

Pros

this tool is a solution for quality, secure and large sites

Cons

no need to know php to use joomla, it's easier to set up a blog with joomla

Alternatives Considered

Drupal

Reasons for Choosing Joomla

for advanced features

Switched From

Drupal and WordPress

Reasons for Switching to Joomla

very effective for website security
Alvaro
Alvaro
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 10/07/2018

CMS that is fully customizable

Joomla! CMS is one of the first out there, and it keeps improving. Support is easy to find via their active Open source community. The setup requires a little reading up, but once you get past this initial hurdle, everything else is easy to use, intuitive, and super flexible to suit everyone's need.

Joomla! is also a good choice in teaching young IT and Web enthusiasts since it is open source and fully extensible and customizable. It will run on older hardware, and minimum requirement will not be a problem.

Pros

Joomla! has been around for decades, and the reason for such popularity and continued use is that it is easy-to-use and manage, it is open source and has a huge and active community that maintains it. The community provides extensive documentation, FAQs, and support for almost any question or issue you may encounter.

Joomla! can be set up locally and easy to deploy to the Internet publicly. The security features have significantly improved through the years.

This CMS comes with an intuitive dashboard. And there are many third-party integrations available for setup. Since this is open source, the elements are customizable to suit your needs.

Cons

Setting up may require an initial (steep) learning curve. May be not as easy to set up as Wix or Weebly. Hence may require the admin to be more-or-less tech savvy (and not just a beginner).

Hang
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 07/06/2022

Top 3 CMS

1. Joomla is both users friendly and smart phones friendly, and easy to build;
2. For the non-programmers, Joomla is a "logic module", they can learn by doing;
3. Joomla is a free CMS, so if you build a simple small or middle-size website, you pay only domain fee and server fee. But since 2019, the prices of almost all apps, themes which are used on Joomla, have increased 40% to 150%.

Pros

As a CMS, Joomla is more powerful than WordPress (which originally is a blog platform), Joomla can be used on the broader fields, I used it to build hunting site, Chinese acupuncture site, a blog site, several different kinds of eCommerce sites. Joomla is more easy to build sites and make SEO.

Cons

1. It is little bit hard to add ads such as Google ads (need 3 steps);
2. it has only limited layout selections; if you hope to build different layout design, you must be a good php programmer;
3. If you want to change/modify the original designs, such as change homepage's background color, or make the homepage broaden, or delete the top space of the homepage, you MUST access the php program to modify.

Erik
Erik
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 24/09/2019

Joomla review

Overall experience was pleasant. I do however favor other content management systems a little more based on functionality and ease of format, but still overall very positive.

Pros

I liked how organized and user friendly this content management system was. It was very easy to show my clients that they could help edit and change things on their own website instead of calling me every day to make simple changes that only take a couple minutes. Those couples minutes don’t really add up enough to pay out enough to compensate my time being used for free each time they were to call and ask about simple changes. The “what you see is what you get” functionality made this possible. I also liked that I could get into the backend of a website and control the coding instead of just using the “wysiwug” (what you see is what you get)

Cons

What I liked least is that if a website didn’t maintain all the necessary updates and were stuck on a way older model, it would make it extremely difficult to jump and skip all the necessary updates to the newest one. I had one website that had never been updated to the newest joomla, running on a very old version, that made creating the website a nightmare and wasnt sure how to jump to the newest version without having to take a million steps in between.

Raju
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/04/2023

Join the Community and Discover Joomla's Power

It is a free CMS which can be used to build your website and make it look good and attractive. It is completely free to use so worth a try.

Pros

1. Joomla is designed to be search engine optimization (SEO) friendly and includes features such as meta tags, sitemaps, and URL rewriting.2. It has a large and active community of users and developers who contribute to the software by creating templates, extensions, and plugins.3. It is highly scalable and can be used to create websites and applications of any size, from small blogs to large e-commerce sites.4. Joomla can be easily integrated with other applications and services, such as social media platforms, payment gateways, and CRM systems.5. It provides users with a comprehensive support system that includes forums, documentation, and community-based support.

Cons

It is slower sometimes and might require some training to use it. However, many video tutorials are available in YouTube.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/01/2021

An Open Source Classic- but not for everyone

In my opinion, Joomla! is still a tool for geeks, who prefer functionality over aesthetics. If you want to exercise full control over your website, from the hosting to the design, this is one of the best choices on the market. Your site can easily be adapted and expanded thanks to a myriad of plugins or extensions. I personally prefer giving up control to have less hassle with the developing part, and prefer a smoother look.

Pros

I started using Joomla! 3.1 when I did a course on Open Source Systems whilst unemployed. We were able to choose between Wordpress and Joomla!- and I chose Joomla! because I was already using Blogger, and knew that WP was somewhat similar. I liked the fact that the backend was fairly easy to use for the actual writing part- optimal for beginners. This was similar to what I was used at writing blogposts. I liked that there are many plugins available that integrate smoothly- which tends to be a big problem in Wordpress (many bugs).

Cons

For a fair beginner, setting up a server was rather challenging. Also, I am a bit of a design geek- and the "look" of the platform (something I know doesn't deter most programmers) hurt my taste back then. I noticed that this has since improved with version 4, and I am aware that I am being superficial here, and probably not part of the target group- who have different priorities, like usability, extendability, speed etc.

Alternatives Considered

WordPress

Reasons for Switching to Joomla

Experience, curiosity, novelty
Joseph
Joseph
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/11/2017

In many ways better than Wordpress

Pros

Instead of focusing on Joomla only I tell you why Joomla is a better alternative compared to Wordpress in many scenarios when you are not looking for blog only solution. (Of course when it comes to Blogs there's EasyBlog for Joomla).

WordPress was and is technically inferior compared to Joomla because of
– spaghetti codes
– no multilingual option out of the box
– nor access levels and control
– nor proper menu management (for those with portals to manage 50+ menu items)
– no template, plugin and language overrides (always creating a child theme is really something that shouldn’t exist in the first place)
– nor user groups and a lot of other noes…

Cons

The reason Wordpress is still better in many scenarios is thanks to the amazing 3rd party plugin developers (who can rely on the raw purchasing power of myriads of Wordpress users) like Yoast, Woocommerce and multitudes of others and the fast and easy interface.

Since Joomla now have a SEO plugin similar to Yoast (called PWT SEO) there are fewer and fewer reasons not to choose Joomla.

Lisa
Lisa
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/11/2016

Joomla Is Robust and Extensible

I've been using Joomla! for almost 10 years, since the very early days of the project. It's come a long, long way since then, and it remains one of the most flexible and feature-rich CMSes out there. The caveat is that any novice will have difficulty learning the ins and outs of Joomla unless they are massively dedicated to pouring over pages of documentation. When compared to WordPress, it has more out-of-the-box features but is a little less user-friendly in terms of getting up and going.

Pros

The built-in ACL is excellent, allowing you to easily create user-focused site without adding a ton of plugins. Joomla beats WordPress in user management, menu management, and template management out of the box. There is very little that you can't do with this software.

Cons

Many people don't keep the software up-to-date, which leads to security concerns and has given the impression that Joomla is insecure. It's not any more or less than other open source software, but it HAS to be kept up-to-date, and with all open source CMSes security software is a must. SEO isn't quite as easy in Joomla but I hear that's changing with upcoming releases.

Jenny
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 19/01/2018

Joomla is an amazingly versatle way to build great websites fairly easily.

Its versatility and flexibility make Joomla a great product to work with once you get your head around how it works. There are plenty of tutorials to help the process so it doesn't take long.

Pros

I love the versatility of Joomla - its ability to make your website anything you want it to be. I have been using it since its inception and being free to start off with is a big winner, and many of the addons are free, so it doesn't take much to set it up and get going. There is a wealth of information available to help you and lots of support groups to join to help you get the most out of the product. I believe Joomla leads the way in many web design standards and is a world class product produced and maintained by a talented and dedicated team of volunteers.

Cons

Sometimes it is hard to sift through all the info in forums and support sites to find out what you need, and because it has evolved so rapidly, there is a lot of stuff out there from older versions that slows down searches.

Iqra
Iqra
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/06/2020

Best Software or CMS for the Web Development

I use Joomla in my few websites because it's a free and open-source content management system. I have created a number of online applications using Joomla. Joomla is really a professional CMS and for me, the importance of Joomla is too much. I really love this CMS. I always install first using the localhost, then I create the website offline with Joomla then I transfer the content from the local server to the remote server.

Pros

If you want to be a web developer, first learn the Joomla and then create your personal or business websites with Joomla. Because Joomla is a flexible platform for the website creators. You can build professional websites and powerful online applications using Joomla. Joomla is a search engine friendly and mobile-friendly content management system.

Cons

There are lots of benefits and features of Joomla. I am using Joomla for last few years, and I never faced any problem in Joomla. For me, SEO is very important for my websites, so Joomla always helps me. According to me, there are no cons, Joomla is perfect.

Bill Laurel
Bill Laurel
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 10/04/2023

Joomla review

Pros

Joomla is an excellent open source content management system that is perfect for creating websites, blogs, and online stores. It is simple to use, has a vast selection of features, and is highly customizable, making it very flexible. You can use it to build any sort of website, from a small personal blog to a large corporate website. It is also very extensible, offering hundreds of third-party extensions that can be used to add further features.

Cons

Joomla has some disadvantages, such as difficulty in modification and extension, especially for those with limited knowledge in coding. It can also be slow and resource-intensive, particularly on shared hosting plans. Additionally, there is an absence of modern visual design elements, as well as incompatibility with more recent technologies like HTML5 and CSS3.

Nairoby
Nairoby
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/09/2018

An easy to use and understand handler

For developers I recommend Joomla

Pros

Joomla is free software therefore we can review it from head to foot without problem and adapt it to
our needs, for this we must have knowledge in php and database, depending on the level of knowledge and the ability to understand foreign source code, you can achieve wonders with Joomla.

My beginnings with Joomla were with version 1.7 and migrating it to 2.5 was quite tedious, so much was
the impact that I decided to forget about the previous version and start a new website, which was a boost perfect to update the design, select a good template and modify it as required;later the migration of 2.5 to 3 following the tutorial of the official page was much more Simple and fast, I had no problems with the database.

Joomla allows the installation of infinities of modules, plugins and extensions that facilitate the work and allow to diversify the page, making it attractive, has extesiones for the management of the security to avoid hacking; changing the language for me was fundamental.

There is a large community to find information about Joomla.In terms of user management and administration, it is very broad, with profiles and groups an important level of security is maintained

The way to classify the articles by categories, allows you to have an organized and clean website.

Cons

- If it's a blog what you need to do, I do not recommend using Joomla

- Some plugins or modules can be security holes.

- Also some plugins or modules offer features that you only get if you pay, of course this does not depend directly on Joomla but on the developers of each module, but it can be frustrating when you want to add functionality and you can not pay it.

Jacob
Jacob
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 08/12/2018

Option to consider for the creation of Website

My experience with Joomla has been regular, I have used it for certain projects of websites, but the truth is that the result has not been as I have expected and as much as I have tried to achieve it becomes uphill due to the same limitations that this manager has. content, I feel it is an option to consider but as long as they take into consideration the others that exist in the market and know their benefits and their disadvantages.

Pros

The things that I like most about Joomla is that it is open source, therefore any one can code freely, there is also a large library of plugis that solve problems and the possibility of working with already designed templates, whether they are paid or free.

Cons

Joomla has some things that I do not like and is that it stays behind its competitors, the benefits it has are very simple compared to other content managers, basically its main use is only for websites that are blogs, and so So much is short when it comes to talking about e-commerce sites, the configuration of SEO or positioning is more complicated and less effective than its competitors and besides them it is more complex to use than others with which better results are achieved. It is also good to clarify that in my opinion the library of both paid and free templates are very basic in comparison to the class of websites that we see today.

613 reviews