User Reviews Overview

About JIRA Service Management

Formerly known as Jira Service Desk, Jira Service Management is an IT service management solution that unlocks high-velocity teams. IT is in the midst of rapid transformation to build capabilities that enable quick delivery of...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.3

Browse JIRA Service Management Reviews

316 reviews
Sort by:
Ruban
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/06/2022

No 1 ITSM tool

It has drastically reduced time of incident and fixing that issue in a streamlined way and faster. It also helped us to record all the activity during the fix thus helping us to fix the same issue in future more quickly,

Pros

I like the alerts and current status of the ticket. I really like the ticket management activity on cloud. Workflow is easy to learn and understand. It helped use to reach client expectation. Good categorisation of issues.

Cons

Customer support sometimes are taking longer time to respond to the issues.

Ashish
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 08/06/2022

Life Savior tool for Agile Projects

JIRA is becoming one shop all for all project management needs.
It also act as a tracking warehouse for all project management and IT management activities in current agile world.
Scrum meeting actions and stories are easy to browse compared to other existing tools on premise.
JIRA is also efficient to manage code control versioning easily by rapidly varying requirements.
It saves a huge cost for placeholder for our IT Asset management when migrated from traditional software

Pros

JIRA service management is very use friendly software in day to day project activities.
JIRA has been excellent tracking tool for testing bugs, defects easily during entire project cycle.
It is very effective place holder for IT asset management and project management phases.
JIRA has capabilities to integrate with multiple ITSM management tools and reporting tools for effective reports and dashboarding.

Cons

New changes for html pages take little more time for loading when moved to production.
Version controlling sometimes create hiccups during rollback period.

Alternatives Considered

Confluence

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management

JIRA is more user friendly and easy to mange across enterprise compared to Excel. Macros behaviors were pain points during maintenance but JIRA resulted as cost effective tool for corporates model.

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

It is more cost effective and user friendly software compared to Confluence. It is easy to track for scrum stories and follow agile approach to avoid standard documentation hours
Nick
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 23/07/2022

Great for Smaller Businesses, not for the Large Enterprise

Pros

Service Management is very easy to get going "out of the box" for small organizations. We stood this up apart from our enterprise's main service management tool because we had special needs for our intake forms and this allowed us to do the customization needed without going through rigorous development through the enterprise level tool.

Cons

Form design for your main portal can sometimes be wonky, as navigating through the options takes a bit of getting used to and aren't the most intuitive at first. Workflows are also very simple and complex decision-making based on external data is not readily available.

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Service Management ultimately was chosen because it integrated perfectly with our Jira instance and allows for seamless story/epic creation from internal customer requests, porting the information over was made very easy by this fact and the workflows you can create between the two are very useful.

Top JIRA Service Management Alternatives

Hiren
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/07/2022

JIRA Service Management is excellent Saas Platform for your ready to use need & with other...

Overall good experience.

Pros

JIRA Service Managment is have lots of customization capability & also ready made template is also good. Ready made report is good but for accurate details need more tuning to the reports or create own customize report.

Cons

When reporting things come in picture that require customization. Also standard ticket type is not good enought for day to day use. So to configure all these need require experience user or consultant to understand your need & configure it.

Chris
  • Industry: Renewables & Environment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/10/2019

Ok start, missing some key features

We have a ticket workflow for IT, so things are being tracked now.

Pros

Integration with other Atlassian products. Allowed us to start tracking IT issues and requests without having to bring on yet another tool.

Cons

Would like to be able to more effectively roll out custom support portals for our users, but no native support for custom URLs makes this more difficult. It's too easy for customers to browse around and find portals for other customers.

Alternatives Considered

osTicket

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Went with Jira Service Desk as we are already using Jira and Confluence. This let us avoid yet another tool as well as provide some integration potential (which we're not taking advantage of yet).
Gregor
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 07/06/2022

Great software overall for working as a team

Overall, it works really well. We use it for a large number of issues, mostly surrounding employee payment issues and glitches. It allows us to communicate effectively across countries (most of our payments team are in Germany or Spain, whereas my team is in the UK), with the ability to create a clear story and record of issues. Honestly, it's great!

Pros

I like how easy it is to communicate over issues as a team when a ticket is created. It's easy to tag colleagues, to notify others, to add further comments and photos and to share the ticket with other colleagues. It creates a very nice, open and viewable story of the progress of each ticket. I also find Jira great when requesting access to internal systems, again it creates an easy-to-understand path of the progress of each request. I like that other members of my team can comment on my tickets and that we receive emails when there are updates.

Cons

I don't have many complaints to be honest - the only issue has arisen when creating tickets for me, it's sometimes not obvious how the priority list works. Sometimes I have created one with critical priority, but it seems to be overtaken by some created later with the same priority level. I don't know if it's an actual representation of the urgency, or if it actually affects other teams who deal with my tickets, but it feels like it might be causing my ticket to be dealt with later than tickets of the same priority created at a later time than mine.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 24/06/2022

The best project management

Pros

The ability to add ticket types, based on project needs over the year. JIRA maintains its high quality of tracking different types of issues concurrently.

Cons

The open issues feature in the mobile app needs a filtering mechanism.
No way to search the issue board based on the assignee.

Ess
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/06/2022

Jira

Have had a good experience with using JIRA so far. It was A relatively easy tool to learn. Helps keep my daily activities organized and Makes collaborating with team members quick and efficient.

Pros

Customize able for each user and overall easy to use. Can create different projects to track issues. Also acts as a knowledge base as you are Able to search and review past issues and their outcomes.

Cons

Need more easily accessible reporting features for clients/external users.

Vinnod
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 08/07/2022

Best for all types of managment

Pros

This is one such software that you can't live without. Best for project management and other project-related stuff

Cons

None. Good to go. One of the best out there

Daniel
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 29/06/2022

Jira Service Managment Surprise me for good

Pros

It's a very neat piece of software. It's interface is clean and the assistant works pretty well.

Cons

It's hard to integrate with other, legacy systems

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow Customer Service Management and Zendesk

Switched From

Zendesk
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/11/2020

Powerful and Capable, but easy to over complicate things

Initial setup can be complex but it can also be super powerful if you are able to configure it properly. It's visual scripting and workflow tool is really capable and easy to learn

Pros

Its flexibility. It's a simple statement, I agree, and you're probably reading this wondering why I'm being so vague. But JIRA software is a bit hard to summarize simply because it's just so flexible. There's no "correct" way to use it.

It's rest API is pretty powerful too and very easy to extend Jira to "integrate" with 3rd party applications that doesn't have an official Jira integration.

Cons

Creating workflows can easily become very confusing and you can easily break how your projects in Jira work if you aren't careful. With every Jira production license you also get a free dev license so that you can set up an isolated dev/staging environment. This is invaluable and highly recommended. The downside is that there is no easy way to migrate any of your changes from dev to production. But there are 3rd party plugins for that.

Chirag
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 14/02/2020

Efficient service desk for companies small, medium or large

Prior to using Jira Service Desk, were using a combination of Excel and SharePoint with workflows. We couldn't get great reports. It was hard to customize. Workflows broke without a reason because, you know, it's SharePoint. And the entire process of serving customers was dead slow. We brought in Jira Service Desk as a test bed. Within 2 hours, we were testing and customers were putting in tickets. While we used most of the default settings, the value we were generating was way beyond we ever had. Then, we set up SLAs and watch reports for a few days. We were able to see everything we wanted - who reported the issue, when, what was the priority, how many comment exchanges happened, how much time did we spend, did we meet SLAs, what was the solution, etc. Fast forward 2 years. We are now able to create strategies to service internal and external customers better based on the data from Jira. It has helped us go from making gut-feel decisioning to data-centric decisioning. Good data wins debates. Jira helped us with good data.

We are also utilizing Jira's excellent searching, dashboarding and API functionality to feed data to other systems and drive changes beyond just customers.

Pros

Jira Service Desk was very easy to get started with. You could literally sign up for it and begin using it within an hour. Ticketing system is very customizable and powerful. Customers can be added in bulk and customers can sign up for entering issues. We were able to create different projects (or service queues) so that customers could send requests for IT help, or administrative help, or help with projects. Each such project/queue had different fields. Metrics are all built into the software, so we can know how often Service Level Agreements were breached, who breached them etc. The sheer amount of customizability is a joy. However, without discipline and thoughtfulness, it is very easy to customize it the wrong way.

Cons

We feel that the price point could be lower and the speed could be a little faster. Atlassian has made improvements with speed. If a company had 5 people manning different queues and the issue volume is low, the cost would be ~1500/year for those 5 users. So, it would may not be cost effective for a small company that is watching their costs closely. We also felt that a Wiki is not built in. So, if a common solution needs to documented that spans multiple tickets, there's no way to do so. We could buy Confluence from Atlassian for an additional cost.

Alternatives Considered

Pivotal Tracker, Trello, Basecamp and Asana

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management

Our previous solution was built on SharePoint. It was slow. Very slow. We had workflows that drove communication after an issue was entered. Workflows would break often with hard-to-understand errors and debugging them was difficult. We had to build all the reports surrounding data we collected from SharePoint. Most reporting surrounding SharePoint were manual. We spent more time debugging issues with SharePoint than the time we spent on the most demanding customer. Something had to change. We tested Jira Service Desk one day and within hours our customers were using it. There was a day and night difference between the two systems and customers were happy. Built in reports were excellent.

Switched From

Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Asana has been working on improving the speed of their software. Their slowness has been well documented on various sites. Even their own team acknowledged and worked hard. We were not just read to jump into Asana due to the slowness. Trello was great - fast and easy to use. Reporting was missing. Pivotal Tracker felt like it was well suited for dev work and was comparable more to Jira Software. Basecamp felt like it was well suited for project work. Jira Service Desk fit the bill for IT help desk, admin help desk etc.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/07/2019

A great option for on-site ICT service desk management

Overall we are very happy with Jira Service Desk; it has allowed us to provide a higher level of support to users than our previous service desk, and non-profit pricing was very beneficial for us. The software is usable in its default setup but we have found that there is still plenty of customisation that can be done if needed to suit more complex requirements.

Pros

I find the UI of Jira Service Desk very clean and modern compared to other service desks software on the market. Included with the service desk is a customisable user-facing portal for users to raise tickets in, which proved very popular with staff when raising tickets alongside traditional email tickets. Due to the way Jira splits service desks into different projects, we were able to create service desks for other departments in the organisation which helped improve productivity and workflow. There are some very useful and well-designed default reports included for ticket statistics (which can be used to keep management happy!). We found the default setup of Jira Service Desk fit our needs very well, but it is very easy to customise ticket workflows and other features to suit more complex needs.

Cons

For a service desk technician using Jira Service Desk the back-end UI for managing tickets can be a little overwhelming, however this can be fixed by editing the default workflows for tickets to hide not required information and details. The administration settings are somewhat unintuitively set out for system administrators, but once you get to grips with the layout it becomes easy enough to find what you need from the settings page. We found the instructions on the Atlassian website for setting up an external redirect with a custom URL in IIS a little sparse on detail, but a quick trip to the Atlassian forums cleared up any queries we had with the process.

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus, Freshdesk and Zendesk

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management

We switched as part of a service contract change which meant our Kaseya service desk which was provided by our MSP was no longer an option. Instead we decided to look at alternative service desk software that could be used for our needs, and as we were at the time considering implementing both OpsGenie and Confluence (which are also Atlassian products) we decided to remain in the Atlassian ecosystem and choose Jira Service Desk.

Switched From

Kaseya VSA

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

We chose Jira Service Desk as it was one of the few with a pricing model that worked for us; being a non-profit organisation, their free licencing for non-profits was a huge selling point to us. This was coupled with the fact we were at the time considering implementing both OpsGenie and Confluence (which are also Atlassian products) so we felt staying within the Atlassian ecosystem would prove beneficial.
Jack
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 21/08/2018

JSD has a lot to offer, but requires a lot to learn

JSD offers a lot for any company needing to maintain a service desk to manage the support requests it handles from its clients/customers. Because it is a Jira (Atalassian) product, it is most likely utilized along with other Jira tools, and plays quite well with those. Due to this integration aspect, thought, the layers of security necessitated within user settings requires a considerable amount of learning/training, which is not easily attained without paying for it from Atalassian. And, while I understand, respect (and even applaud) the market-oriented principle of this, it does seem a bit intentional that there are no reliable helps available outside of Atlassian (for example, any tutorials you will find on YouTube for assisting with certain user configs, settings, steps, etc. are applicable to much older versions of the software, and to a great extent, are not applicable to the current version). This would not be a negative aspect if Jira did a much better job at keeping their own internal (free) help docs, etc. up to date, so as to apply to the current version, as well. Instead, if one wants highly dependable "helps" it appears the best way to achieve that is to pay Atlassian for their training courses (at prices that are obviously calibrated toward larger companies/corporations. And blindly undertaking such would seem risky if judged by the extent to which their free user tools are kept up to date. This is not, to my knowledge, the common experience with most apps.

Pros

- Lots of tools in one place
- Integrates well with other apps (especially other Atlassian products)
- UI is clean and user friendly (customizable to a sensible extent)
- Contains useful metrics that are easy to configure and gain reports from
- Has multiple layers of user settings available for custom configuration to correlate to preferred levels of access among agents, customers, etc.

Cons

- Email bounce in frequently fails (bugs?)
- Depth of Jira admin user knowledge required for strong mastery of this app; time consuming to acquire a reliable user knowledge (which is necessary to utilize the app with the least bit of efficiency)
- Help docs, support mechanism unreliable/outdated (needs to be fresh and current to be applicable to present version of app)
- Confusing settings requirements for some user modifications needs (esp. where mapping/editing workflow schemes are concerned)
- Completely inadequate amount of general helps/tutorials available outside of Atlassian (YouTube, Google search, etc. for example) which seems a bit suppressed by design. Atlassian offers extensive training, but at a premium cost.
- Costly for the overall effectiveness it provides, after factoring these negatives along with the user time required to really learn the application.

Justin Alex
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/08/2017

Highly customizable and integrates well with the Atlassian ecosystem

Customization, integrations, workflows, SLAs

Pros

Newbies to JIRA Service Desk can get a service desk project up and running in less than 30 minutes. If your organization is already using JIRA for issue tracking, then having a help desk with Service Desk is a no brainer. It allows you to integrate software teams and IT teams better within the same ecosystem.

The benefit of JIRA Service Desk, when compared with other help desk tools, is the customizability of your workflow. You can set up a workflow to be simple (with Open > In Progress > Closed statuses) or complex (with other statuses like On Hold or Waiting for Customer).

SLAs are highly configurable, with the power of JIRA's JQL functionality. So one can conjure up a query to fit their SLA needs. With the addition of custom fields, a Service Desk administrator can create fields to capture important information to streamline the help desk process.

Having Confluence also provides more benefits in which you can integrate an existing knowledge base space to a help desk project and self-serve your customers.

Finally, being in the Atlassian ecosystem enables you to add additional functionality and enhancements with the use of Apps. There are close to 1500 apps available for JIRA, and many are constantly updated by the app developers.

Cons

Administering JIRA Service Desk (and JIRA in general) can be daunting for a new user. With a number of customizations that one can do in a JIRA application, there will come a time where there can be a performance impact on the environment if the application is not governed well.

The Customer Portal (customer facing interface) is spartan in terms of customization. You can only customize so much, but it is limited in terms of branding it to suit your company's design specs.

Andrea
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Best on premise

We use on premise version. Software administration can be burdensome for a small staff, updates and monitoring can require quite a lot of time. Price raised two times since first purchase. Apart from this, the tool has enabled us to precisely structure the service desk, reducing by 70% the number of phone calls and emails to better filled forms on the customer portal and the use of a chat addon.

Pros

- High Control
- Wide choices of features
- Confluence Integration
- Very rich suite of addons on premise version...

Cons

- ...which requires extra costs
- Some features are too basic and pretty much requires addons
- Learning Curve for admin requires effort

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Switched From

Lansweeper
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/10/2020

Great Service Desk for Human Resources

Jira has transformed our 12-person HR department. We can now easily track incoming requests, are not reliant on email for communication, can create canned responses for consistency and efficiency, and we have the ability to operate 100% paperlessly.

Pros

Jira is extremely customizable, scalable, and easy to implement when compared with other SD platforms. Out of the box, it can be used as a tool to track incoming requests, however, paired with the thousands of compatible plugins, it is unparalleled. Jira SD has allowed our HR team to take our daily operations to the next level, transitioning antiquated, clunky paper processes into a 100% paperless experience.

Cons

My only complaint is when custom fields are added, you have to update every field configuration you have, individually. This is extremely time-consuming when adding multiple custom fields in an effort to create "forms" within Jira.

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Cost, ease of implementation, customization and scalability
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2022

Service Management Tool Anybody Can Use

Pros

The ease of use and anybody can use the tool for Ticketing, project management, issue tracking, dashboards etc...

Cons

The options are at times clumsy and confuse the end users when the data is too much.

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management

The cost was too high and we couldn't afford the price for the project budget.

Switched From

Track-It!
Niall
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 01/02/2022

A good option for Service Desks but check your requirements carefully

A stable, performant platform for customer support is critical and JIRA Service Management has delivered that.

Pros

Easy to set up and deploy, configuration is relatively easy, the platform is stable and performant.
There is a good 3rd party marketplace for additional apps that can be installed.
Security options like SSO are available.
Customer Support is responsive and knowledgeable.

Cons

Reporting on SLAs is poor, overall reporting is ok but could be better.
Costs ramp up significantly as Atlassian Access is required if you want SSO, this is an addtional charge per user.
The pricing is done on a per user tier level e.g. 101-200 users is a price so you have to pay for 200 user accounts even if you only have 101 actual users.

Alternatives Considered

Salesforce Service Cloud

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Costs, features, configurability
Eva
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/06/2021

About Jira - Project Planning

The initial setup was quite a challenge but, here we are. It's an awesome system for tracking project issues, especially for new clients during onboarding.

Pros

It's a good platform to track issues that are being handled by each individual in a project. It also has the option for notification being sent out when an item has been resolved, closed, or has gone overdue.
If it's configured correctly to have a backup, the team members involved can always learn from the past incidences reported. This will ensure that the team leader will be able to identify recurring items, timelines it took for resolution, and the team member assigned to resolve such items. This ensures that such items are priority issues that need in-depth understanding for them to be resolved permanently.

Cons

As an organization, we have not been able to integrate Jira with osTicket, which our customer Experience team uses. This means we have two Systems, and at times this can be overwhelming to track issues on both Jira and osTicket.

Robert
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 07/09/2019

Best ticket system

The business problem Jira service desk solves is allowing anyone to put in a request from a service department from one portal & be able to access that portal anywhere in the world and not just on our internal network.

Pros

Jira Service desk works great. We use it in a media company in all of the service departments to track requests from Media ingest, to graphic requests, to crew requests. Our producers can easily log in from anywhere and fill out customized forms for the type of service they are looking for. The department gets the request in seconds and can start fulfilling it right away. In a fast pace news world, this allows us to get what is needed for broadcast air done fast while keeping track of all the work we have to do.

Cons

There are some features that you would think would come right out of the box with jira service desk that doesn't. The only way to get them is to buy a plug-in from their market place. Some features that we would like to see is having the requester see who is assigned the order & allow them to request updates to their requests.

Erik
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2018

Dig Deep Before Buying

It has solved some of our immediate business needs out-of-the-box or with moderate configuration effort. But as a full solution it is missing a handful of simple, but crucial, features. It definitely "feels" like a second version. It needs a third.

Pros

JSD is relatively intuitive and easy to learn without needing tons of documentation. Initial pricing is attractive. A decent plugin community fills some gaps, but be expected to pay on top of the initial JSD pricing.

Cons

Many "obvious" features are either missing or do not work as expected.

For example: in many cases, once an internal user is added to an issue, they no longer receive notification about internal comments. This is completely unintuitive, unexpected, and has caused many people frustration: https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDSERVER-3410

Another example: Email traffic about an issue is *always* public. Do not allow your staff to reply to JSD's emails as customers will also get emailed a copy! https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDCLOUD-3499

The worst part is, despite there being a few years' of discussion, and new comments added monthly by newly-affected JSD customers, Atlassian has no comments on the issues.

In some cases a plugin (more $) can help, but in some cases even the plugin manufacturers can't help as JSD doesn't expose enough info in their plugin API.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/07/2018

Unlike others, doesn't need complex configuration

With the help of Service Desk we get feedback from users about the bugs they find in the product. As the result, we fix them really fast. By adding fields that users need to add while submitting bug, we decrease time that is needed to reproduce bug or clarify the issue. Also, we can communicate with user directly if needed.
At the same time user can always get back and see status of ticket they submitted.
Also, it says a lot when you see Atlassian using its own product and using it really well.

Pros

When you use this application as an addition to JIRA, it is a great tandem. I adviced my company to use Service Desk when we were discussing how to receive bugs and ad-hoc requests. We are using this application fro several years and we do not think about changing it.

Cons

The only bad point that I can mention about Service Desk is its price. A lot of clients I worked with complained about it. They manage really carefully the number of users that are Agents (users you actually pay for), and get really upset if they were not carefull enough and their bill was higher then they expected.

Mihai
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/02/2020

Jira Service Desk the best tool for support

For me JSD was a challenge that thought me a lot. The product is awesome but there is still room for improvement.

Pros

What I did like the most about JSD is the fact that you have a customer portal, a way to track and view your tickets at any time.
You can customize the product to at very last detail without too much trouble.

Cons

The stability of the software can be a sensitive balance after you reach 500.000 issues created on your instance.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk
Rami
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2020

A best-of-breed Platform for Help Desk and Service Management!

Pros

Scalability.
Flexibility to be tailored to particular organizational needs.
Very rich in terms of features.

Cons

Setup can be made a bit simpler.
Could use more ready 'templates' that can be used to quickly roll out the product for production.

316 reviews